Kansas City, MO 
Blue Valley Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 744ft.   4 / 744ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
 World Class Course

5+    4/17/2016   4/18/2016
Review By: Jamidanger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are about 12 new placements out there, most were used at the 2016 City of Fountains. The Parks Department is keeping up the grass and rough very well. Majestic fairways and challenging greens throughout the Big course, took our foursome about 3.5 hours. Every hole has options and challenges and is a 'must play' for any serious golfer.
Cons: Plenty of parking, but bring water food and TP . There is some debate over cutting of challenging rough
Other Thoughts: Mixed use public park, so be safe and courteous. Great park for bird watchers

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course

5+    1/23/2016   2/28/2016
Review By: jaketaco
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best Tee pads of any course I have played. They are very big, which is good because the course is long, and sometimes you need a good run-up. Tees are also shaped the same as the hole's layout (so if the hole curves right, so does the pad)

Nice course design. There are many holes that I want to just empty my bag on. The course is long, but most of the big 500' holes are at least slightly down hill, several are across valleys, so even for intermediate throwers, its not as intimidating as it seems.

The course plays back to the parking lot after hole 10, which is nice, since the course takes a while to play.

Couple of the holes have red baskets, that you can play to for a shorter hole number 9 in particular. So, you can play it as a 300' hole as opposed to the 900' monster that it is, or you can play it as two holes. There is one other hole in addition to 9 that you can play as two holes, then skip 17 and 18, to make it a little shorter course.

They have recently added several shorter pin placements to add some mixture of short and long holes.

Course is mowed pretty regularly greens are almost always in good shape, only once or twice has the rough been really tall when I played

Cons: Signage needs updated. Some are faded really badly, and others are missing.

Couple holes you have to cross a road to next tee (holes 3, 8 and I think 14), which can be confusing if its your first time. (again where signage would help)
Other Thoughts: This in my opinion is a phenomenal course. It takes a while to play, and it will let you know really quickly what kind of shape you are in. As stated in earlier reviews, it is not a beginner friendly course. It doesnt mean you cant try. I played this for the first time after only playing a few months. Course is never super busy, so its a nice venue to practice driving. Water Works may get all of the attention in KC, but if you have a couple hours to play a course (and not get stuck behind other groups) this is a must-play in KC.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, but physical

2-4    11/21/2015   12/24/2015
Review By: Omega.Rider
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - good tee pads
- well-groomed
- challenging
Cons: - LONG. A buddy and I clocked over 6 miles in one round with LOTS of up-hill/down-hill.
- long shots aren't great for noodle arms like me
Other Thoughts: The views from the hill tops are impressive. It's a great place to take pictures of your buddies throwing from a hilltop with whole vistas ranging out behind them.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Physically Tiring Course

2-4    11/7/2015   11/9/2015
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
- Nice teepad setups.
- Elevation changes galore!
- A fair amount of differing shots.
- In a mixed use park, but the course for the most part avoids it.
- Grass is generally mowed.
- Navigation can get a little tricky.
- Short course mixed in with long course.
- Baskets need a little TLC.

Other Thoughts: Overall not really a course for beginners due to length more than anything else. If you're good at bombers this is a course for you.

The park is overall nice, but the neighborhood that's around it is sketch. I would not play this course near dusk/after dark, but during the morning/afternoon I felt relatively safe.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Local favorite, great to watch the pros throw when they're in town.

2-4    6/27/2015   6/27/2015
Review By: Boss Man
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Great variety of throws from huge dog legs to wide open 800'+ downhill bombs. It'll test your ability to transition from a full power rip to more "placement first" mindsets. Bring water, especially if it's warm out.
Cons: Course is slightly interrupted by fallen trees from recent storms but still playable by all means. Definitely recommend tracking pin placements, newer players might struggle with longer course placements but still worth the experience regardless.
Other Thoughts: Tee pad #6 is currently unplayable due to a fallen tree on top of it (as of 6/27/15). Easy enough to tree of a few feet to the side. Otherwise all other holes play as usual. Course takes roughly 2.5-3 hours to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not for beginners.

1    1/19/2015   1/19/2015
Review By: DGchamp
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course has excellent tees, shaped like the fairways. There is plenty of space to run up. If you like elevation, the is plenty of that. Plenty of distance for big arms to really rip it.
Cons: Not a good beginner course (I am a beginner,I should know.). Because of the huge distances, throwing 200-300 feet takes a few shots just to get there.
Other Thoughts: A couple flat holes might be nice.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Unique throw in the ghetto!

2-4    12/3/2014   12/4/2014
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 32  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very unique course, even in the midst of everything KC has to offer. Never played anything like this and that's a good thing!

The elevation here is insane! And I thought Water Works had crazy elevation changes. You are throwing up and down a series of very steep hills everywhere and it is simply a blast.

There are lots of different shots here, in my opinion. I used a much fuller bag than I usually carry and needed it. While "long" is the dominant theme, the elevation and different left vs. right looks really help keep the course interesting until the final hole.

This park is very wooded and the trees are used very well to create lots of challenging shots everywhere. I didn't feel there were any overly boring or plain holes here and that's always nice.

Although this park is huge and has shelters and other amenities, the DG course appears to be kept away from them fairly well. You cross a small pavilion going from 3-4 and are within sight of a playground shooting on 16, but that's about it. Unless you grossly overshoot on a few holes, you're also pretty well away from the roads too. Little chance of non-DGers interfering with your drives unless people picnic in the fairways or something (more on that later!).

Tee pads are amazing and very clever. They're basically the shape of the fairway, so if you're a bit lost they might help you out.

Signage was generally good and provided not only distance and par info, but elevation change, and also pointed you in the direction of the next hole. It was mostly present and in readable condition except for on a couple holes. In addition, there are large metal numbers atop each sign to help you see where you're going. Nice touch.

Plenty of benches and trash cans around. Shame the trash cans don't get used more though (more on that later).

Baskets seemed to be in very good condition. Flags atop them are in good shape and crucial to course navigation.

The scenery here is very pretty. There's a lake in the park and the woods are very beautiful in fall as well. Even in winter when I was here, I enjoyed it. The park is huge and prior to DG, I had no idea it even existed.

There is parking right by hole 1 and easily accessible from hole 11 if you need anything from your car, which you might given the length of this course. I'm assuming there are bathrooms in one of the shelters somewhere but didn't stick around to find out.

Don't get me wrong, this course can punish bad drives with a lost disc pretty easily, but it's still open enough that I personally thought you can really crank it on multiple holes without worrying TOO much. You do have to keep your eyes on your discs though, they'll roll with the amount of elevation here. In my opinion that's way less frustrating than almost losing a disc 3 feet off the fairway in a field that just needs to be mowed. Granted, it was December when I played so maybe that's an issue here too. I'll have to come back and see.
Cons: Blue Valley would really have been even better with a couple shorter holes to break it up a bit. With so many woods around I'm not sure why there isn't a tunnel shot or something more technical mixed in for fun. It would also help to make the course more accessible for all skill levels, without taking much away from the course as-is.

I really question the purpose of the "junior" course. The teepads and random baskets that comprise it are more confusing than anything else, and easy to throw at on a few holes of the main course. If you're a beginner, there's better options all over KC to hone your skills than trying to mess with the short course here in my opinion.

Navigation isn't really that bad here with a map, but as mentioned the alternate baskets don't help anything really. The "flow" is generally decent but there are areas that might leave you wandering (3-4, 13-14).

There was trash everywhere out here. Fast food wrappers, cups, grocery bags, boxes. Most of it didn't look like DG trash either, so I'm assuming this park does get some use, just not when I was there.

I might get downvoted for listing this as a con, but let's be honest, this park is in a bad neighborhood. Not the WORST in KC and it didn't stop me from playing here alone (which maybe wasn't really smart in retrospect), but there's bars on several of the house windows here for a reason. I didn't get hassled or anything, but did see lots of shady characters around (think random men driving around and around and around the park roads, occasionally staring at you, and stopping at random places to stare into space). Definitely keep your head on a swivel out here and be alert.
Other Thoughts: This place is a challenge and is gorgeous. Very unique and I would definitely recommend if you are in the area. While the area is rough and I wouldn't hang out here anywhere close to dusk, it's not so horrible I would skip this park because of it - that would be a shame.

All in all, solid 4.0 course. I mainly docked for the lack of a couple shorter baskets, the confusing junior course, trash laying everywhere, and yes, a smidge for the neighborhood. That's just my opinion because it does influence the enjoyment of the round if you don't feel entirely safe playing somewhere, but if you don't agree, that's okay! That's why we each get an opinion and I could easily be wrong, just want people to know what they're getting into. Happy discing!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 blue valley long

1    6/20/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: ustenido
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pin flags on each hole.
The tee box signs are unique and easy to spot.
The comcrete tee pads are esch shaped into the same dimensions of an arial view of the hole.
Not only is this course long, but it is a unique blend of up and down slopes. For example, both holes 17 & 18 exceed 700 feet, but they are valley shots, and a part of one large rolling hill. This means that its important to know how to throw far and strait, plus make good decisions - like is it better to approach short and up a steep hill, or moderately long but flat?

Utilizes man made mounds to elevate baskets. This minimizes or imcreases effective distance which is a sneaky way to manipulate a par grade
Cons: The listed par is not a great resource for beginners. The slopes and distances at this course are one of the more extremes in the country. It is a true tournament course for the best in the world. If you have ever wondered what it would be like to play disc golf on a traditional golf course, go play blue valley long.
Other Thoughts: There are alternate shorter teeboxes, but do not be fooled beginners! Many of these will force you into an uphill battle. There is a short 9 hole course on the other side of the lake that is a better course to hone your skills.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 64  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + awesome distances, downhill, uphill, over valleys, etc
+ best tee pads in KC
+ great piece of land + views
+ good variety of shots and shapes
+ good ratio of difficulty/practicality
+ elevation is insane
Cons: - 2-3 shorter holes with tunnel shots or else would make this course even better
- navigation will be hard the first time, even with a map
- course was in the wide open configuration, but the maps haven't been updated, nor tee signs
-limited parking
Other Thoughts: *should be noted I played the Wide Open configuration with red positions, which is significantly shorter but still longer than any course in KC.

There is a lot to say about this course. For one, the neighborhoods is not that bad, it's a massive park and people aren't just walking around on it looking to rob you or bother you. Cliff Drive is the worst by comparison.

2. Distances will prevent 150 ft throwers and out-of-shape people from not coming, but that is not a con to the course. This is the only course in KC I have played where Par actually means something

3. Has most of the same features as Water Works but does them better in my opinion. I would put this course at the top of KC courses

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 love the front nine, not sure about the back

2-4    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 80  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in great condition, and the tees are concrete and huge. The tees also have an interesting shaping, supposed to represent the shape of the hole. 10/10

The elevation changes here are extreme, the course is definitely in the top three (along with Water Works and Swope) of hilliest courses I've played. There is also a lot of variety in elevation patterns from hole to hole. 10/10

Lots of obstacles combine with the elevation and length to make every hole challenging. I like that there is a combination of individual trees as obstacles to force shot shapes and forested areas to make large areas where your misses can't go. 9/10

There's a great variety of openness on shots. A few holes are wide open and very long, while many are more wooded. Most holes have obstacles on either the drive or the approach which is nice because you can have open drives to bomb away while not having any boring holes. 9/10

There are many ways to play several of the holes (example: should I go around or under this tree). Holes 3, 4, and 5 are great examples of this early on and it continues throughout. I like that this course makes the player think. 9/10

There are some holes that require a certain shot path, or at least heavily encourage it. This requires players to throw every shot to be successful. 8/10

Course maintenance is pretty good. The grass is mowed, every hole has benches and signs. The reason I'm taking some off is that the baskets on the back nine almost all have the wrong numbers AND flags on them, it doesn't seem like it would be too hard to fix this. 7/10

Benches and lots of shade is good. There are water fountains and bathrooms somewhat close to the first tee, but there isn't really anywhere to grab some along the way without going a little while out of the way and with how long of a course this is there really should be more water fountains. After nine isn't too bad to go back to the start, but it's still a hike. 6/10
Cons: Navigation of the holes themselves is pretty good on the front nine, there are flags on the baskets with the correct numbers. On the back nine, it's very confusing because none of the baskets have the correct numbers. tee 10 goes to basket that says 11, 16 goes to a flag that says 18. I'm really not sure about 11-14, I found four baskets and three tees. I think maybe 12 and 14 shared a tee. There was a sign that said 12, with a 14 in spraypaint. 15 and 16 were a bit tricky but I think I figured them out. There was a mystery basket that could be seen from the 15 tee, I couldn't find a tee that seemed to go for it, but I found a total of 21 baskets... This is WITH a map, so I can't imagine how frustrating it would be without one. (see update) 2/10 overall.

Navigation between holes is about the same. Pretty easy on the front nine with arrows that said next tee on the signs, but as mentioned above the back nine is tough even with the signs. 3/10

This course does not provide a challenge for all levels, You need to be at least an intermediate player if you want to do well, and even then it would still be tough. If you're a beginner don't come here unless it's to play the "junior" course. There are a few shorter tees interspersed through the long course, but they're even more confusing than the long course tees, so I don't see any point in bothering with them. 2/10

There isn't much variety in the distances. Most of the shorter holes are uphill while the even longer than long ones are downhill. There are a couple exceptions, with 2 and 11 being ONLY 500 feet, but overall every hole is pretty long. 3/10

Discs aren't the easiest to find. There are lots of blind shots with some fairly heavily forested areas. Plus the extreme hills make it very possible for discs to end up nowhere near where they land, which makes it very hard when you can't see them land anyway. 3/10

Alternate hole positions aren't great, most holes do have one, but it doesn't really change the feel of the holes. Most holes just play the same but with one extra shot (and 1 higher par). Both times I've been every hole was in the same position. 4/10
Other Thoughts: Without a doubt the most difficult course I have ever played, and most of the holes weren't even in the longer options.

Uniquely long, especially in how consistently long pretty much every hole is. I think there are about four holes that were par 3's and all the rest were 4 or more.

The first time I played here I only played the front nine and the short course because it was 108 degrees and I loved it. I came back with a map to play the whole thing but even with a map I couldn't figure out a few holes.

7/14/13 Update:
I finally figured out the navigation on this course. The problem is that there are actually two courses set up at the same time that share most of the tees and baskets. Many of the holes have two baskets on them, with one to use if play the "short" configuration (which is still longer than any course in the KC area) and the other to play the "long" configuration, which is about 11000ft. I played this course recently and it is currently set up in the long positions, but you can still play the short positions (though currently the basket for hole 14 is missing). In the future the first hole can tell you whether the course is set up to be long or short. If the first basket you see has a flag on it, it is set up short, if not and there is a flag on the basket over the hill past the playground, it is set up long.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.