Kansas City, MO 
Blue Valley Park - Short Course Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #5 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 172ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice warmup for Big Course

2-4    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's quite a bit of elevation and it's used pretty well, to help keep the holes unique. Pretty much every hole has a different elevation pattern. 1 and 4 both straight downhill, 3 and 7 are both straight uphill, but still one of the best varieties I've seen. 10/10

Shouldn't have much of a problem finding discs except if you go long on the fourth hole. There's tall grass behind the fourth hole but it's probably good since it helps stop discs from rolling into the lake. If you go right on the first hole you could easily get a bad bounce and roll way down possibly to the lake (happened to my dad). 9/10

Navigation on the holes themselves is pretty easy once you find the tees. 8 of the 9 baskets can be seen from them, number 5 is up over a hill, but it's pretty easy to tell. The only problem is that since the course is so short baskets are relatively close together and the tees don't always point exactly the right way, but just use common sense and you'll be fine. 9/10

Navigation between the holes was fine after you can figure out which is the first tee. Finding the last tee is also a little tricky, it's back pretty much straight right of 8's tee. The first tee is the closest to the playground, and if you see which basket is number 9 it's right next to it which is how I found it. 7/10

The obstacles here are used pretty well, especially for how short it is. No hole is completely wide open except for 4(unless you count the lake behind) and 9 is also wide open until you get right next to the basket. I really like the use of low hanging branches on a couple uphill holes. 7/10

There's a pretty good variety of openness on this course, there aren't many shots that are heavily wooded, but there are some open and some moderately wooded holes. 7/10

The holes require a pretty good variety of shot paths. 2 pretty much requires right to left, 3 and 7 require low shots, and 8 requires a left to right. 7/10
Cons: Course maintenance is pretty bad, there are some benches present, but most of them are flipped over. It's been well mowed both times I went, but other than that... 2/10

The tees are concrete, but they are some of the worst concrete tees I've played on. They're pretty small, too small for my runup anyway. 3/10
Baskets aren't very good, some are a little tilted making shots from one side easier than others. 2/10

Not very much variety in distance, as most holes are pretty short. I haven't been playing very long and I didn't need a driver except for the uphill holes with overhangs that forced a low throw and the last hole. The last hole is quite a bit longer (about 450) and is more like a normal hole. 2/10

This course definitely isn't good if you're a more experienced player looking for a challenge, the length shows it's obviously meant for beginners. Plus, the park map shows it as a "Junior Course" and it serves this purpose well. 2/10

No alternate hole positions, probably because there isn't much room for them. 0/10

Most of the holes are fairly straightforward with not a ton of options for how to play them. There are a couple exceptions like 2 or 6, but overall 4/10

There's water and restrooms at the start, benches are turned over though. A little bit of shade. 5/10 on comfort
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, it was a lot better than I expected based on the other reviews.

Both times I've played the long course I played this course first as a warmup because I didn't want to try throwing on 800 foot holes cold. It's good for this or if it's a hot day and you don't feel like playing a full 18 on the long course.

I also want to point out that the course is referred to as a "Junior Course" on site, and I believe it should be evaluated with this is consideration.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing at least once..

2-4    5/21/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: KC Red
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Nice playground available for those golfers with children. Centrally located to city core. Elevation changes add challenge. Much more playable than the big course there.
Cons: No signage. Very odd shaped tee pads. They are shaped in a way that they point to the basket I guess but they are still strange. Finding way from tee pad t tee pad is not intuitive. Finding tee pad for 9 was challenging the first time.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot of potential for the land here. The big course is way too long for the average player and the short course could be made more challenging. The course is in the middle of a blighted area. This is not a place I would feel safe at after dark.

 …and it has a beautiful pond.

1    3/25/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This a fairly wide open 9 holes. It has the strangest shaped cement tee pads with no real rhyme or reason to them. Don't get me wrong they are plenty big enough, but don't expect them to show you they way to the hole. (See hole photos to understand this.) The pond has very nice and has a unique walking pier on it. It comes into play on hole #4 at the basket if you get a bad skip or just plain overthrow the hole by 50 feet or so. This is a odd layout, but uses the elevation very well. There are just a few trees on this piece of land and they may come into play a little, but straight shots are golden here. Since these holes are built on or around some decent sized hills, the greens can be a bit of a challenge. #9 green was on top of a mound and I can see where this one can make you really bear down if you played here often. The baskets were in good shape.
Cons: Now while the pond scenery is nice, the view next hole #6 & #7 is bit more "rundown" homestead style. (I did not however, put those photos in hole gallery.) There were no tee signs and except for tee pad #9, it should not be too hard to find your way around. #9 tee pad is back behind you when finishing #8 not too far from tee pad #7. Most of these holes were fairly short except #9. There are no bathrooms or message board. Parking is along the street. It does not appear to be too well maintained as the grass seemed to be getting a bit long.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor for me was a bit lame. I hate beating down hard work, but this just did not do it for me. I liked hole #9 because of the basket on the mound, but outside of that, there just isn't a lot to get excited about. I do not really recommend this stop for a road trip. If you came here to play the 10,000+ foot monster 18 hole course, there is no sense wasting time doing this 9 holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awful orientation

1    9/28/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good for beginners, short arms or a warmup for the larger course next door. Does have some decent elevation challenge to it, and something the big course doesn't have, a shot on Hole 4, where you could put it in the water (although you're going to have to really overthrow it). Very scenic. And despite its easy nature, gets slightly more challenging with each hole. Holes 4 and 8 albeit nothing spectacular, are the best of the bunch.
Cons: Its well, short, and not very challenging. No tee signs, no map, and quite possibly the most bizarre shaped tee pads I've ever seen. They are supposedly the same "shape of the hole" tee pads that are on the big course, but they're even more irritating here as they seem to either be diamond shaped or way off kilter. Ghetto neighborhood views along holes 6 & 7. Greens are completely open. Your biggest obstacle on approaches will be the wind.
Other Thoughts: Having seen so many great courses in KC, the BIue Valley Short Course is really disapointing. In fact, I'd say the whole park (which is otherwise beautiful) is disapointing. I found it bizarre that I did not see a single disc golfer on either course while I was there, and I'd say the design of both of these courses is a problem. One is too little and the other is too much. Perhaps a do over (like say two still challenging but not so extreme 18 holers) is necessary? Perhaps while maintaining the big course pads so they can be used for championship caliber events?

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Relatively short, open, grassy, with some elevation changes

11/1/2007   3/15/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole has some elevation change. Good for Juniors, new players, and shorter throwers. Quite a contrast to the regular long course in the same park.
Cons: Very open and grassy with only a few scattered trees. Very little length variety or fairway shape variety; every drive is straight because it's so open. The open greens aren't very challenging.
Other Thoughts: Course Level = probably Red.

See http://www.playdg.com / for pictures and descriptions of each hole.

Special Note: I rated this course Below Average, but I recognize that building this course took lots of vision, time, money, and work. Since I don't want to downplay these efforts, I'm not posting my usual review notes in the Files section. If you want to read more specifics about my evaluation, please send me an email to <playdiscgolf @gmail.com> and I'll send you a file with more details.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for first timers, or a quick warm up for the big course

2/28/2008   2/28/2008
Review By: Koronin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent for novice players looking to gain control, easy targets.

Good for experienced players to warm up on with a putter before playing the big course.

Cons: Location.
Dogs

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.