Ellisville, MO 
Bluebird Park Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #9 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 164ft.   3 / 164ft.   3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Enjoyable Is Not The Word That I Would Use To Describe Bluebird!

1    10/22/2015   11/1/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
Pros: The Bluebird Park DGC is like two different courses in one. Holes 1-4 play up,down and through some very rough, extremely tight and challenging terrain. Then 5 to 8 opens up and give you reason to take a breath again before finishing with quirky little # 9.

Bluebird Park is a large city park with aquatic center, tennis courts, playgrounds areas, picnic facilities and a dog park. The disc golf course seems to be in a section of the section little used by the general park population. I understand why, It's too rough and treacherous to let mere mortals in there, only us crazy disc golfers can venture in!

The course has a small kiosk at the beginning. There's a small sign pointing you to the disc golf course. There is a mailbox at the beginning. It was filled with cobwebs. The course has these nifty little tee signs. They're brand new looking, made out of a stone quartz material, with the information painted on. They are very pretty and I think they'll hold up to the vandals. The tee pads are natural, very rough and ugly. The baskets are single chain Discatchers with the yellow bands and multiple numbers on them. I personally didn't have any putts spit out.

Hole # 1 plays 261-347 down an extremely tight fairway on a sloping hillside. Miss right or hit a tree and it could be really difficult to recover.

# 2. 257-377' plays along the same sloping ridge only with a tighter 20 foot wide fairway. Footing was extremely treacherous here. I didn't even want to miss right and have to climb down and back up the steep embankment.

# 3. 170-258' Another tough hole throwing an anhyser shot downhill shot all the time praying you don't have a rollaway down the steep bank. And just walking to these baskets is a test of your balance, agility and overall fitness level. I'm truly surprised I survived these holes.

# 4 was the most difficult hole for me although not quite as scary. It's 256-304' playing uphill with a tight impossible angle, all on the hillside of the mountain.

By now, playing by myself, I'm thinking about how I'm not having any fun, there's too much pressure on me to execute perfect throws, I hope just to not to go tumbling down the deep ravines and probably break a major bone or two and mostly I'm hating on this course!

Then the course opens up into some open fields. # 5, although a blind basket placement ends up being a rather boring hole with the basket sitting out in the middle of an open field.

# 6 was a very cool hole 466-701'. It's a long straight downhill with the large open field narrowing to a smaller gap before opening up again. The basket was placed on the far edge in the woods. Good challenge!

# 9 was a very strange little finishing hole. It's just a short 164-180' uphill throw over the "Cross At Bridge Sign". The basket sits up in the trees above you to the right.
Cons: Crummy natural tee pads.

Very treacherous footing, loose rocks, makes walking dangerous, especially on first four holes. I can't imagine playing this course after rains.

Extreme sloping hillside and dense trees making first four holes as much luck as skill. Errant shots punished harshly.

Lack of maintenance is obvious.
Other Thoughts: As challenging as this course is, there just wasn't the enjoyment factor here for me. Playing alone, I was so concerned with shot placement and so worried about caroms skipping down the steep, nasty embankments on the right and to top that off, the trekking from pad to basket was extremely nerve wracking. And I actually killed it with great shots (for me) on the first three holes before crumbling on # 4.

Much of my rating is always based on my personal enjoyment factor and it just wasn't there for me at Bluebird. It's not a course to tackle alone. It's a not a course for beginners or those who can't control their drives or those not in decent physical condition. And seeing how much of this describes me as a disc golfer, it's not surprising that this course was not to my liking.

Billy Goat Rough

1    10/8/2014   10/8/2014
Review By: jasonrigler
Played: 67  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park
lots of wildlife
first half is shaded
some helpful signs
challenging placements
open field was mowed
good exercise
offers a good challenge for very technical play.
Cons: not beginner friendly
some tee signs are not descriptive
would be dangerous if wet
first few holes are really only suited for goats due to the steep angles and loose rocks.
Other Thoughts: 2 seems like a low rating but the truth is despite it's character, some elements of the course make it difficult to play. The first few holes required a lot of caution. You must watch your footing. the holes are not very long but the slopes and trees are aggressive and the lines are small. I didn't mind playing the course but I wouldn't bring any non dg friends there to learn. My wife (a good lefty) and i played it blind and shot +5 and +4. 1 was fine. 2 was brutal. 3 was a blind downhill toss. 4 was was a tough uphill toss with minimal lines. These holes basically required carefully placed layups. 5-8 were easy pars, birdies once you know the basket placements. 9 was an odd hole. I guess you throw over the sign that tells you to use the bridge. The course was very lefty friendly, or righty sidearm. Even well placed shots could roll away at times. And we spent too much time looking for discs that hit a tree and rebounded down a hill. I have also played Kircher in Eureka which is the opposite of this course. Better for beginners, very flat, faster play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ridgeline Walker...

1    9/22/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: dandruff1138
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very interesting course, no one else was playing so we had the place to ourselves. Holes are a good balance for challenging/distance, especially for a beginner.
Cons: Tees, forget about it. Also some of the holes you will be walking perpendicular to a ridge, so you are constantly throwing along a slope that is just shy of being uncomfortable to walk on.
Other Thoughts: Had fun, only a 9'er but there is another 9'er just down the road to make it 18! http://www.dgcoursereview.com...e.php?id=1669

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9

1    9/5/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly multi-use park, but in an area without much interference from other park uses. Half of the holes are in tight woods with narrow fairways and plenty of punishment if you get off the fairways. The other half of the holes play out in the open with mowed fairways through taller grass rough. Both sections of the course have great use of elevation, nearly every hole has enough up or down to keep things interesting, and makes for some tricky greens with roll-aways possible.

There is a nice variety of hole shapes for a 9 hole course, I was glad I carried my full bag. There is some distance, along with a couple shorter reachable holes for variety. There are basic tee signs and next tee signs where necessary, so it's not too difficult to follow the course.
Cons: The tees are terrible. They are natural and marked with painted rocks that can easily be moved. Some were unclear where they were, the second set of tees was basically invisible unless you know where to look. The pads were often slanted and rutted out, making for pretty poor footing on drives. The baskets are showing their age and don't catch all that well.

A few holes play near walking paths, we had a couple people come around blind corners as we were throwing so keep an eye out. There are some long walks here, and the course doesn't end at the parking lot, so it feels like you do as much walking between holes as you do on the actual course. The long grass rough on some of the middle holes is not my favorite obstacle, especially on blind shots where it's hard to get an exact mark of where your disc went in.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun 9 hole course and surprised me with how much variety there is. The elevation is used very well to make some fun downhill shots and tough uphill ones too. Beginners will probably find this one a little tough and punishing. More experienced players will find some good challenges here, and will need to hit some different lines through the woods to score well. This one isn't a must play, but it's worth a stop if you're in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/1/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: discdork
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: challenging technical, woody,elevation changes
Cons: can be a muddy mess at times , no teepads
Other Thoughts: this seems to be the least liked course in the st.louis area but its still a classic in my opinion many local golfers would not have a shot style or two with out getting there ass kicked here at some time

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Rough

1    6/15/2007   1/15/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 49  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some challenging shots on some very steep hills. Hole one is a dogleg left around a steep hill. Don't miss right and you better have a flat landing or you are at the bottom of the hill. The deer are all over and they will watch you miss putts and secretly laugh at your lame attempts. Very tough tight shots combined with a couple of wide open shots. This could be a fantastic 18 hole course with the right work. Scenery is just fantastic.
Cons: No tee boxes. No signs. No cards with maps. You just have to search out the next hole. Some are easy to find, some are darn near impossible like #8. Some moderate hiking skills are required but there isn't a lot of up and down traversing.
Other Thoughts: Great park but lots of runners and walkers using the trails. Lukas Liquors is just down the road 5 minutes away and they have the best selection of beer and wine in the St. Louis area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Much room for improvement

1    11/27/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 35  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Cool layout. The fact that most of the pins are set on slopes and nearly all of the pins aren't visible from the tee makes shot selection/control very important. This is definately NOT a huck-it-and-hope-for-a-good-lie course.

Good signs to point you towards the next tee.

The series of signs that points DG'ers from the park entrance to the parking area right by the first tee is the best i've seen in the StL area, but they could use one or two more.
Cons: Tee signs to show you where the pin is are crap.

Hole 3's basket broken.

Newbies will get confused finding their way from 4 to 5, then finding the pin for 5.

No established par markings on the tee signs.

Tee pad markers consist of painted 5-lb concrete blocks that aren't anchored to anything and as such can be moved at a whim. That makes the already fairly useless tee signs (and yardage measurements) even more worthless.
Other Thoughts: Even though it is only a 9-hole course, this park has great potential if someone with course design knowledge and/or someone with a few $1000 burning a hole in their pockets would jump in.

The deer that live in the park are either fearless or very hungry. Never got so close to a deer until i made my trip to Bluebird. (Walking from the pin for 8 to the tee for 9)

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.