St. Louis (Ellisville), MO 
Bluebird Park Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #2 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 257ft.   3 / 257ft.   3 / 317ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ole Bluebird

5+    6/5/2012   12/5/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: 1) This is one of the first courses that I played regularly when I began playing.
2) For only 9 holes, this course packs a decent punch.. you are forced to pull a few different shots out of your bag that may or may not work, due to..
3) Unforgiving, densely wooded holes that have some type of steep grade on each and every hole. (1-4 can be exceptionally rough)
4) Tee Signs
5) Relatively easy to navigate
6) Relatively secluded with tons of wildlife around.
7) Park is extremely clean and also offers. Walking/workout trail, dog park, water park, softball fields, pavilions, bathrooms etc.
Cons: -Concrete Pads
-More Trash Cans
-Better course Maintenance/ Care
-Restroom/ Water closer to the course
Other Thoughts: Awesome 9 hole Course.. I wish is was played and utilized more!! Great design Dave Mac and Gateway Disc Sports--- Should try to get an additional 9 holes in there, plenty of room!

 not for the faint of heart

1    10/8/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: joy4all
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good challanges await to test your skills. Holes 1-4 are steep hills with tons of trees and punishment for bad throws. 5-8 basic openess. 9 is steep upshot.
Cons: 9 has a sign in the way if your a low sidearm throwing flicker. the rocks on 1-4 are everywhere to hurt your feet let alone slide down a hillside, just plaine poor footing. pads on 1-4 are horrible natural messes.
Other Thoughts: If you have bad knees or poor sense of balance skip this course. Wear good rugged hikers not sneakers.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 On Second Thought...

1    8/21/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: DaddyD
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most holes were extremely challenging and required more strategy than driving power. If you overthrow, you could end up with a roller that ends up farther away from the hole than the original tee was. It was much better to settle for shorter, controlled shots with good placement than go for the pin.

Holes 5-8 were in a wide-open grassy area and the fairways were mowed and wide, giving you an indication of where the hole was, since 5-7 were not visible from the tee locations due to hill crests. A narrower path was mowed from each of these holes to the next tee area.

Hole 9 was a real trip! You shoot across a small stream and up a hill at about 1 o'clock, but are instructed to take a detour to the right to use a bridge to cross the stream for your next shot.
Cons: As we started the course, my sons actually were scared of it, because of the obvious difficulty and the density of the woods right off the bat at hole 1. I have to admit that it was a bit scary.

The tee signs are nearly useless and we only successfully found 2 sets of white tee blocks. The blue tee blocks were loose and scattered at some holes.

Each hole was an adventure, and I learned immediately of the value of having a spotter halfway to the hole not only to point out where the hole was but also to point out where each disc landed (or rolled to). We didn't do that on hole one and spent about 10 minutes looking for one disc.

The course is big on extremes. You move straight from four nearly impossible holes with tongue-dragging elevation changes to wide-open pasture throwing on holes 5, 6, 7 and 8. The only real challenge with these was that you were driving blindly on 5, 6 and 7 since you could only see hole 8 from its tee. The others were over a hill crest or around a bend.
Other Thoughts: This course was our second choice during this weekend trip with my sons. First choice was Creve Coeur Lake 18-hole course, but when we got there, we found a sign saying it was "reserved" the whole weekend. No information about a tournament or anything, just a big "public NOT welcome" sign at tee one on a "public" course. I was tempted to go ahead and play. What's the worst they could have done? Told us to leave? Oh well.

For most of Blue Bird Park, I thought it was a mistake for us to play, but as it went on, I really started to enjoy it. I don't know if I would want to play it frequently, but definitely would like to try it again on a day-trip to STL with some DG friends, now that I know where all the pins are and what I'm in for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/10/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: urdone00
Played: 123  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 34.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good 9 hole course with plenty of elevation changes. 1st couple of holes are wooded then it opens up some.
Cons: there is a good walk between 4 basket and 5 tee, if you havent seen it before you most likely will play to wrong basket
Other Thoughts: with what the parks department let the course designer use , this is a fun and challenging 9 holes with the exception of hole 5.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Toughest little 9 hole in St. Louis

5+    12/13/2009   1/21/2010
Review By: Emptv
Played: 74  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 28.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great road signs in the park giving directions to the course. Elevation changes through woody terrain & not very many other golfers play this very tough course, so you usually get through the round seeing only wildlife and great scenery. This will give you something extra to enjoy while shooting your round.
For the first 3 holes, feel lucky to come out better than +2, then cross the bridge for #4 which is a challenging par 3. After crossing a ravine to get to hole 5, a nice open drive over a hill with backyard out of bounds awaits. #6 is the signature hole with another good rip for a drive, while the basket is barley tucked back in the woods. Walking back up the side of #6 fairway will take you to #7 tee pad, which is a short open shot over the crest of the hill, which puts the basket out of sight from the pad. #8 is one more field shot on the top of the hill. Down the hill and across the jogging path to pad #9 and you will tee up the hill, shooting at around a 1 o'clock spot. Usually you will throw straight and dogleg around to the right.
Cons: A 9 hole course, no recyclable containers, and not enough trash cans. Natural tee pads, not leveled, with marker stones that are not planted in the ground. 2nd set of tee pads are gone, known only to a few of us old locals and they are totally overgrown. The baskets are terrible for catching disc, but everyone playing is shooting at the same baskets. This is a very coarse course; it is hard on your body, disc, and score. Tee signs are good for holding your bags up but not for much information because of the movable tee stones. Never any scorecards in box, no drinking fountains, and no restrooms on the course. Lots of tiny livestock in the summer time, ticks and chiggers.
Other Thoughts: This is the toughest 9 hole course in the Saint Louis area, IMHO. Lots of signs directing you where to go and plenty of deer, chipmunks, fox squirrels, bluebirds, foxes, and even spotted a eagle soaring overhead. Basket #3 has been repaired, new paint on a couple of others, and the stolen basket, #6, has been replaced. Close proximity to 9 hole courses, Watson Trails, John Schroeder Park, Kircher Park as well as being close to St. Charles County.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Woods 101

1    10/19/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: jartiv
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Challenging wooded shots.
- Open field holes 5-8 let you pull out your drivers but still challenge hour accuracy.
- Elevation not only challenges your drive, but also effects your footing.
Cons: - Dirt Tees
- Difficult to navigate
Other Thoughts: Looking at some of these reviews... ticks and hiking are cons? I thought DG was an outdoor sport? But yea, bring the 40% deet.

Not every course is Winthrop Gold. A DGer can learn ALOT from a place like Bluebird Park. The elevation changes can be quite extreme... especially when you find yourself off the fairway. I learned how to improvise and develop new stances at Bluebird: an invaluable skill no matter what course you play. Play Bluebird a couple of times and you may learn a couple new ways to save par.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Southside 3

1    11/13/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 154  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded course set on pretty serious slopes. Very little (no) forgiveness for errant throws or rolls. A couple of open throws, but all but one has the sloping ground to consider.
Cons: It's only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun on this course, and although Saint Louis has more than a couple beautiful 18 hole courses to play, if you are on the south end of town, play Bluebird, Paul Schroeder and Watson trails. They're all 9 holes and about 10 minutes or so from one another and deserve to be played.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I hated it.

1    6/26/2007   6/26/2008
Review By: Chucktown
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2009
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice park, course starts out with 3 challenging holes that threaten you at each throw with a result of your disc rolling down the hill. First few holes are wooded and the last are mostly open. Good range of distances.
Cons: Like I said the first three holes will definitely result in somebody walking down a steep hill. Not very challenging after the first few hole, mostly open areas for the final holes.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad 9 hole course, but definitely very challenging for any beginner. Has some nice variety but unfortunately only 9 holes.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 9 hole that's worth the trip

5+    10/17/2007   1/22/2008
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2008
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm not usually impressed with 9-hole courses, but this is a definite exception. With challenging elevation and heavily wooded, this course gets your attention in a hurry.

Holes 1-4 are in the woods, with the baskets on # 2 & # 3 set just right to send your upshot rolling 30 ft downhill. The ground is compacted with no woodchips, so what might look like a nice shot will skip and land far away from your intended target. Holes 5-8 are in the open, but they still hold a lot of challenge. The pins for # 7 & # 8 are set on a slope and can leave you a long comeback on a missed putt. # 9 is a short, uphill wooded shot, probably the least challenging hole on the course. At least you can leave on a deuce note!

It is a very nicely put together course.
Cons: The tees are not so great. There used to be a second set of tees, but they seem to be long gone and forgotten.

Somebody has taken downed logs and placed them as sort of a makeshift disc stop for rollaway putts on # 2, which is totally cheating.

The baskets are old single chain 1st generation DisCatchers, so they don't catch very well. There was also a basket with sticks shoved into the basket attachment in lieu of actual bolts.
Other Thoughts: After traveling to a lot of parks where you have to wander around forever just to find the course, it was nice to see a course so nicely marked. The main sign points the direction you need to turn to get to the course, and two signs reassure you as you drive back to it that you are still going the right way. Holes 1-3 and 9 are on one hillside and 4-8 are on another, and there are two signs pointing the way to hole # 4 and a big sign in front of the tee for # 9. You rarely see this much signage on a disc golf course.

This nine hole is certainly no pitch and putt. It is definitely worth the trip. Stay and play two rounds!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.