Ellisville, MO 
Bluebird Park Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #1 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 White Tee: R to L, softly-curving fairway across mildly deep valley

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 On Second Thought...

1    8/21/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: DaddyD
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most holes were extremely challenging and required more strategy than driving power. If you overthrow, you could end up with a roller that ends up farther away from the hole than the original tee was. It was much better to settle for shorter, controlled shots with good placement than go for the pin.

Holes 5-8 were in a wide-open grassy area and the fairways were mowed and wide, giving you an indication of where the hole was, since 5-7 were not visible from the tee locations due to hill crests. A narrower path was mowed from each of these holes to the next tee area.

Hole 9 was a real trip! You shoot across a small stream and up a hill at about 1 o'clock, but are instructed to take a detour to the right to use a bridge to cross the stream for your next shot.
Cons: As we started the course, my sons actually were scared of it, because of the obvious difficulty and the density of the woods right off the bat at hole 1. I have to admit that it was a bit scary.

The tee signs are nearly useless and we only successfully found 2 sets of white tee blocks. The blue tee blocks were loose and scattered at some holes.

Each hole was an adventure, and I learned immediately of the value of having a spotter halfway to the hole not only to point out where the hole was but also to point out where each disc landed (or rolled to). We didn't do that on hole one and spent about 10 minutes looking for one disc.

The course is big on extremes. You move straight from four nearly impossible holes with tongue-dragging elevation changes to wide-open pasture throwing on holes 5, 6, 7 and 8. The only real challenge with these was that you were driving blindly on 5, 6 and 7 since you could only see hole 8 from its tee. The others were over a hill crest or around a bend.
Other Thoughts: This course was our second choice during this weekend trip with my sons. First choice was Creve Coeur Lake 18-hole course, but when we got there, we found a sign saying it was "reserved" the whole weekend. No information about a tournament or anything, just a big "public NOT welcome" sign at tee one on a "public" course. I was tempted to go ahead and play. What's the worst they could have done? Told us to leave? Oh well.

For most of Blue Bird Park, I thought it was a mistake for us to play, but as it went on, I really started to enjoy it. I don't know if I would want to play it frequently, but definitely would like to try it again on a day-trip to STL with some DG friends, now that I know where all the pins are and what I'm in for.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/10/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: urdone00
Played: 123  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 35.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good 9 hole course with plenty of elevation changes. 1st couple of holes are wooded then it opens up some.
Cons: there is a good walk between 4 basket and 5 tee, if you havent seen it before you most likely will play to wrong basket
Other Thoughts: with what the parks department let the course designer use , this is a fun and challenging 9 holes with the exception of hole 5.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Everything a disc course should be

1    5/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: green_hornet915
Played: 100  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging loved the start in the heart of the woods and the tough shot selections need all your skils here. The course opened up as you get to the later holes.
Cons: I thought they had a good thing going til the open holes the woods are where I like to play. For only playing blue bird once we found our way around pretty easy.
Other Thoughts: A must play if you are a real dger tough hick but worth it

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Toughest little 9 hole in St. Louis

5+    12/13/2009   1/21/2010
Review By: Emptv
Played: 74  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 29.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great road signs in the park giving directions to the course. Elevation changes through woody terrain & not very many other golfers play this very tough course, so you usually get through the round seeing only wildlife and great scenery. This will give you something extra to enjoy while shooting your round.
For the first 3 holes, feel lucky to come out better than +2, then cross the bridge for #4 which is a challenging par 3. After crossing a ravine to get to hole 5, a nice open drive over a hill with backyard out of bounds awaits. #6 is the signature hole with another good rip for a drive, while the basket is barley tucked back in the woods. Walking back up the side of #6 fairway will take you to #7 tee pad, which is a short open shot over the crest of the hill, which puts the basket out of sight from the pad. #8 is one more field shot on the top of the hill. Down the hill and across the jogging path to pad #9 and you will tee up the hill, shooting at around a 1 o'clock spot. Usually you will throw straight and dogleg around to the right.
Cons: A 9 hole course, no recyclable containers, and not enough trash cans. Natural tee pads, not leveled, with marker stones that are not planted in the ground. 2nd set of tee pads are gone, known only to a few of us old locals and they are totally overgrown. The baskets are terrible for catching disc, but everyone playing is shooting at the same baskets. This is a very coarse course; it is hard on your body, disc, and score. Tee signs are good for holding your bags up but not for much information because of the movable tee stones. Never any scorecards in box, no drinking fountains, and no restrooms on the course. Lots of tiny livestock in the summer time, ticks and chiggers.
Other Thoughts: This is the toughest 9 hole course in the Saint Louis area, IMHO. Lots of signs directing you where to go and plenty of deer, chipmunks, fox squirrels, bluebirds, foxes, and even spotted a eagle soaring overhead. Basket #3 has been repaired, new paint on a couple of others, and the stolen basket, #6, has been replaced. Close proximity to 9 hole courses, Watson Trails, John Schroeder Park, Kircher Park as well as being close to St. Charles County.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/1/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: discdork
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: challenging technical, woody,elevation changes
Cons: can be a muddy mess at times , no teepads
Other Thoughts: this seems to be the least liked course in the st.louis area but its still a classic in my opinion many local golfers would not have a shot style or two with out getting there ass kicked here at some time

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Woods 101

1    10/19/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: jartiv
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Challenging wooded shots.
- Open field holes 5-8 let you pull out your drivers but still challenge hour accuracy.
- Elevation not only challenges your drive, but also effects your footing.
Cons: - Dirt Tees
- Difficult to navigate
Other Thoughts: Looking at some of these reviews... ticks and hiking are cons? I thought DG was an outdoor sport? But yea, bring the 40% deet.

Not every course is Winthrop Gold. A DGer can learn ALOT from a place like Bluebird Park. The elevation changes can be quite extreme... especially when you find yourself off the fairway. I learned how to improvise and develop new stances at Bluebird: an invaluable skill no matter what course you play. Play Bluebird a couple of times and you may learn a couple new ways to save par.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Hike

1    5/16/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: heger_246
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: If you like to hike, this is your course. You may find a disc to take home.
Cons: The course follows a narrow path through the woods.Very possible for one to twist an ankle during a throw. You may lose a disc for someone else to take home. People do not respect the land. There are beer cans/bottles everywhere. No variety of shots. You are either in the woods or in a wide open field for 3 holes.
Other Thoughts: If you want to play and are thinking about Bluebird, just play at Paul A. Schroeder. It is a MUCH better course and only four miles away.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, but there are better nearby

5+    6/22/2007   3/22/2009
Review By: drewbiggs
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very technical( you are playing in a forest most of the time). Beautiful park.
Cons: A deer tried to murder my dog, I usually get a tick or two when playing this course. Some of the holes are just plain ridiculous.
Other Thoughts: If you live nearby and have 45 minutes, why not?

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Rough

1    6/15/2007   1/15/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 49  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some challenging shots on some very steep hills. Hole one is a dogleg left around a steep hill. Don't miss right and you better have a flat landing or you are at the bottom of the hill. The deer are all over and they will watch you miss putts and secretly laugh at your lame attempts. Very tough tight shots combined with a couple of wide open shots. This could be a fantastic 18 hole course with the right work. Scenery is just fantastic.
Cons: No tee boxes. No signs. No cards with maps. You just have to search out the next hole. Some are easy to find, some are darn near impossible like #8. Some moderate hiking skills are required but there isn't a lot of up and down traversing.
Other Thoughts: Great park but lots of runners and walkers using the trails. Lukas Liquors is just down the road 5 minutes away and they have the best selection of beer and wine in the St. Louis area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    12/22/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: FENTONflyer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course had a lot of elevation changes so much so it was detrimental to play. The course had very good signs to notify where the course began.
Cons: The park's mountainous nature made it very poor for a quality disc golf course. Some of the holes were nicely marked and others were extremely difficult to find. Finding where the baskets were located was extremely difficult at times. The course does not swing itself around very well to its beginning.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very frustrating outing. The course made me want to quit that day for the first time yet. Granted some of the poor taste in my mouth in reference to bluebird could have been the wind and temperature conditions, but i still thought it was a terrible course.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.