Boise, ID 
Bogus Basin - Pioneer Share
Uploaded By: canadian_l3acon Hole #6 (Taken 8/2014)
-- / 452ft.   -- / 582ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Do Not Attempt To Play This Course Alone!

1    7/25/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As I drove up to the ski area at Bogus Basin, I was hoping to go into the lodge and get a better map and maybe find out some information about the course. Instead, not a chance, everything was locked up tight. So now I was trying to play this course alone.
# 1 tees off from the corner of the large basketball area. The hole is just a simple little 125' toss. The tee pads are natural and difficult to find. The baskets are older Innova models which are kind of beat. # 2 plays along a ridge about 200' away. # 3 plays back across the ridge. The ground here has been scraped bare by a dozer and some logging has been taken place It's bare and rough and unsightly.
# 4 I found a pad and looked down a beautiful, downhill fairway. I couldn't spot a basket to save my soul. I thought to myself that the basket should sit in that clump of trees 600' down this steep mountainside. But I'm not walking 500 or 600 feet down a mountainside to find the basket and then hiking back up again. So I skip throwing and hike down the mountain and eventually find the hidden basket right in the clump of trees where I figured it was. So I miss probably one of coolest throws here. And now I'm practically lost. I look up this steep hillside and I spot a basket about 450 straight up ahead of me. You're a 6200 ft. elevation and I have no intention of playing to that basket. As I'm trudging up this steep hill, I find the # 5 basket hidden in the brush off to the left. By now, I am a defeated, beat down, tired old disc golfer and this course and mountain have mentally crushed me. I barely have a will to live let alone the will to keep playing this course.
Cons: The thick bushes, some are waist/chest high, will completely devour your discs.
Poorly signed, if any at all.
Rough natural tee pads.
Impossible to play alone-Don't attempt it.
More serious hiking than disc golfing.
Other Thoughts: I don't know but I believe if you're going to advertise that you have a disc golf course, you should at least put forth a minimal amount of effort to make it playable. Some simple laminated signs would help out a lot and would take almost no # or effort. Tee pad work would take more manpower.
I've played a number of ski resort courses and this was my least favorite of them all. The mountain scenery is beautiful to look at but I would have gotten more enjoyment of just hiking around up here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/3/2014   7/3/2014
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 31  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros:
Beautiful views
Good variety of shots required
Holes not excessively long like some mountain courses.
Creative basket placements on many holes.
Cons: Cons:
Navigation was difficult even with a map. Markers pointing to the next tee would have been useful.
Brush was very heavy in many places. My friend lost 2 discs in one round. Spotting HIGHLY recommended on the upper course.
The dirt tee pads needed more visible markers. The blue (long tee) and white (short tee) wooden stakes were not easy to see from a distance.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts:
I enjoyed playing the course, but the heavy brush was a big negative. Bring bright colored discs and playing alone is not recommended; you will need to take turns spotting with other players. The lower course (which is now 18 holes) is supposed to be much less brushy. I plan to play it soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Back Nine??

1    6/22/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: ARManiac
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful place to play with awesome views and overall was a great challenge.
Cons: No back nine!(?) We played the front nine and then looked all over the place for the back nine with no luck. Tee boxes yes, but no baskets. When did they take these out? Why is it still listed as an 18 hole course?
Tee boxes not real well marked any more.
Also easy to lose discs even with a spotter.
Other Thoughts: Allow extra time to look for discs in the thick undergrowth and maybe to pick up some of the trash that inconsiderate people have left all over.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/22/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: PSPerkins
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Requires every throw in the book, and then some. Each hole is very different from the others and requires a different kind of approach. Good mix of long, short and middle distance holes. Players whose long throws might give them an advantage on other courses have little advantage here. They must dial it back a bit and get more technical to play this successfully.

Baskets and approaches were marked with pink flags to help first timers know where to throw. This also helped make each pin spottable - there were only a few holes where it was difficult to spot the basket from the tee though it often took several minutes of careful looking to find them. Binoculars might have bene helpful in some cases.

It seemed like there was considerable thought put into pin placement on this course, the holes are well laid out and make good use of the surroundings.

Course splits after nine holes, making it possible to play-picnic-play which when considering the roughness of the terrain one might consider the best way to go.

Course was fairly well played so finding our way (at least on the front 9) was more or less a matter of following the footpaths.
Cons: One big one: Tee boxes. They are not clearly marked at all and often quite difficult to find. When we arrived we saw a pile of teebox signs heaped up against the side of the lodge so they took them down for whatever reason and replaced them with two wooden stakes driven into the ground on either side of the box - which is pretty easy to miss if you don't know where to look. This was way more of an issue on the back 9 than the front.

There were two sets of tees for most holes but we played the blue tees the whole way as they were easiest to find. We printed a course map and were very glad we did. Without it we would have been wandering up and down some quite steep terrain searching for the next tee alot more than we already had to.
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutely not a walk in the park. The back nine are even tougher than the front 9. Hole #15 is straight up the steepest hill you have ever thrown a disc up. Bring good shoes and be prepared to hike. This is an "expedition style" course that tromps you through the woods and across huge ravines and up and down some pretty steep slopes. Be prepared and bring lots of water as there is none on the course.

People have left a lot of trash out there which always disgusts me. We picked up quite a bit of it but there was more than we were prepared to carry out. If the next 5 people who played it did the same it would be cleaned up but empty beer cans and other trash was littered around the whole course which is pretty shameful.

Overall though, I had an absolute blast playing this course. My legs hurt when I was done from the hiking but it was a truly fun and challenging course. Had a 600' tee shot from hole #4 which I will remember the rest of my life so that's saying something right there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Bogus Basin Classic

5+    8/21/2009   9/21/2011
Review By: chrism
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was very challenging easily taking half the day to complete. A few in your face uphill throws, big downhill drives and unique basket placements.
Cons: Takes a day trip to play and when you are done you are too beat up to play more. Sadly this course has been relocated higher up the mountain. My hope is that they can maintain both the old and new courses.
Other Thoughts: My longest drive ever was on hole 4 with a huge downhill but shapely tee box throw. This course should be renamed Bogus Basin Classic, and a new entry made for the new layout.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging mountain course

2-4    7/10/2010   7/11/2011
Review By: theabacus
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging course with many unique and varying holes. Plenty of obstacles, yet great fairways as well. Big course, it is a hike. Lots of elevation gain and drop. Good balance between long holes and short technical holes. Well marked and established. If you can stay out of the rough, discs are easy to find. Typically not busy. Great course for avid disc golfers wanting a good long course. Pro and amateur tees. Combination of hyzer and anhyzer (RHBH) holes test the player.
Cons: Not for the beginners. The rough is often left very wild. Depending on the year and when you play it, grass can get high. Watch out for mountain bikers on the trails.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course for the avid disc golfer. Highly recommended. Great course to frequent. Not for beginners.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bogus Basin

1    8/18/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: mawman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: To the extreme. What a challenging, fun course. Yes there is a lot of climbing (for DG), it is a ski area. The scenery is incredible. It's 10-15 degrees cooler than the valley.
Cons: The poison ??? oak/ivy. Lots of it on #2. Jeans highly recommended! You better be on your "marking" game. All those pretty trees/bushes will devour your discs.
Other Thoughts: I played with my 15 & 10 year old sons. Welcome to disc golf right? They loved it. It was a little much for my 10 year old's strength but he had a lot of fun. We had lunch on the deck. No chairs but the tables were out. Next time we'll bring lawn chairs.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 not for the easily winded

1    7/8/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: doompaul
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is an absolutely stunning course, full of all different kinds of shots that will challenge any level of player. The holes are very well thought out. The course really forces you to think out your shot. The scenery will blow you away. The course was empty on the weekend that we played.
Cons: up big hill, down big hill, up big hill, down big hill. This really isn't a slag on the course as much as it is a commentary on my weight and age. There was a ton of poison oak on the back nine. at least I think that's what it was. My high school horticulture classes have long faded from memory. All I know was that it was shiny leaves low to the ground. If you are a beginner like me, you will spend a bit of time trudging thru high grass looking for your disk.
Other Thoughts: Aside from my griping...this was easily the most stunning course I have ever played. Time to lay off the donuts so I can make it thru again.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A full day of disc

1    7/21/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: blakeob
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some incredibly challenging holes that make you think about what you're doing, and help even the field with players who just have big arms.
Cons: Easy to lose your discs. The "grass" is huge, so even when you're in the fairway of a hole it can be hard to see. Best if you have a spotter. The trees are really thick in places, so even if you know which tree it went in sometimes it's hard to spot it from there. Sometimes it's a bit hard to find the tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: A group of us were all playing the course for the first time and had a blast. It was nice taking a break from the cleanliness of Anne Morrison's well groomed holes. One thing to be aware of is how far your disc can fade when you're throwing down hill. Not taking that in to account will absolutely result in some lost discs.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Bogus Basin

1    6/19/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: Corneone
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging with the elevavation changes from tee to basket. Thick brush and trees add to the challenge of getting to the basket along with finding your disc when thrown out of sight.
Cons: Course is very hilly. Consider this course your daily workout.
Other Thoughts: This is disc golfing to the extreme! Many long drives, difficult up hill shots. Be sure to wear good shoes as terrain is uneven and rugged.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.