Bozeman, MT 
Bohart Ranch X-C Ski Center - Lower Share
Uploaded By: Danger Hole #7 (Taken 6/2010)
-- / 308ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Well designed mountain course

2-4    7/6/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: Darkgreen
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. This course illustrates the difference between the courses that are jammed into a space without much thought and courses that are designed by experienced disc golfers that know what they want out of a course. There are a couple of tight fairways but most holes are somewhat open. But even the more open fairways have some challenge to them, whether it is a clever elevation change, a tricky turn, or a few trees standing in such a way to make your shot difficult. Good risk/reward birdie attempt shots. Overall this course is open enough that beginners could have a fun time while at the same time more advanced players can go for tight shots and low scores but be challenged to do so.
I played here last year as well and the course was in a little rougher shape at that time. There are now pads for every tee (if I remember right) and I think some brush and dead trees have been cleared out since last year. It is nice to see effort being put into the course.
I know some people don't like the hoop hole, but I think it fits in with the local charm of the area and the course.
Beautiful mountain views. I wish I could describe them more but I wouldn't do them justice. Go play this course and find out.
Cons: It can be tricky finding the next teepad on a couple of holes, especially where some of the teepads are close to each other and the course layout crosses itself. This isn't a huge detraction, it might just take you a minute or two to find your way. Once you've played the course, after that you will find your way easily. There are arrows pointing you to the next teepad on some holes, but I don't think on all of them. There is a map that you can grab at the sign in area that does help a little bit, but if you can I recommend printing out the nice one in the links/files tab.
I also wish there were better tee signs that gave the distance to the basket and a better idea of the hole layout on some of the blind shots. Again, not a huge problem after a little scouting. If it is your first time playing this course, some of the blind shots you would want to scout even if there were good tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I played here once last year and three times this year while on vacation. I played the upper course as well, and the upper makes this spot even more of a great disc golf destination. I hope the course owner and the local group continue to make improvements on the course. Good on them for what they have done so far. I will definitely be back next year.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 biased

5+    8/17/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: jharr
Played: 84  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: .all lower teeboxes are now poured, 10x5 concrete
.hole2 got longer and a lil straighter, still has left to right shape
.hole 3 moved back behind skitrail, but the fairway has also been cleared of several stumps and a downed tree, this is the "straight up a hill" throw, still an easy 3 with two 930 rated throws
.11 teebox shifted right off skitrail, makes the tilted fairway more pronounced and brings right side trees into play, still one of the best views on the lower
.15 teebox bumped left uphill and basket pushed a lil straighter, an easy rhbh hyzer no more, needs some D late trees to swat down pure hyzerbombs
.16 also shifted off skitrail to the right, pinching the throw, demanding a straight to turnover (rhbh), another rhbh mindless hyzer tweaked into interesting

the rest of the teepads have been poured in their traditional locations, plans are to pour maybe 9 of the upper this fall
Cons: .always more to do, we've got brushpiles layin around so hope you dont land in or behind them, we are moving what we can and will burn some in the winter
.$5...thanks for the support, buy a season pass early for best value next yr, free play may return as teebox sponsership becomes a reality in the future
.no dogs... sorry but that is a huge can of worms in this uber dog-friendly town, your reward is no fido-poo piles and a greater chance of seeing wildlife
Other Thoughts: been doing lots of other work for our upcoming tourney, he just mowed again and we've been doing huge cleaning esp. on the newer upper course, mostly just deadstuff but should be more humane in the areas just offthe fairways-this also applies on the lower...

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/25/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Most beautiful terrain I have played on yet
-Baskets on every hole, except for 'the hoop' on hole 9
-'The Hoop' on hole 9
-Seclusion
-Variety variety variety
-Benches at most tees
-Marked tee pads, and map provided at entrance
-Very fun to follow course flow
-Natural tees are flat and safe enough for run-up's
Cons: -Natural tees
-Flow may be confusing for first timers that forgot to grab a map
-While there is lots of variety, the variety is not spread throughout the course
-No Smoking (hey, I follow the rules)
Other Thoughts: Bohart Ranch is an absolutely beautiful course situated on a private ranch in the shadow of the Bridger Bowl Ski Area. Dense pine forests with interspersed meadows and ski trails really add to the seclusion of the course. The yellow and purple wildflowers found in the meadows (at least this time of year) were amazing.

The pictures originally uploaded to the webpage seem to differ a bit from the ones I have uploaded. The most recent photos (as of June 2010) are the ones uploaded by myself and have a tee sign in each picture.

Every hole incorporates some type of elevation change, and most holes have a very definite line that you have to follow. As most courses are in this region of the world, side-arm friendly holes dominate the majority of the holes, although there were some lovely backhand shots.

While there is a ton of variety, as I mentioned in the 'cons,' they all seem to come in groups. The beginning of the course has some nice, long shots that really make you pull that big arm out in a hurry. Holes one through 8 were all quite long. Hole 3 was a very long uphill shot, although there was an alternate tee if the main one intimidates you. In fact, most holes had an alternate, easier tee to shoot from if that's your thing. Hole four was a fun, narrow tunnel shot across a ridge. If a tree doesn't stop your wayward disc, it will roll into oblivion. Five is a 'signature' downhill with a narrow beginning, open middle, and protected pin.

I personally thought hole 9 was really cool. Instead of a basket, there is a large red hoop begging to be aced. It's a long, relatively open downhill shot. The great thing about it, is if you decide to 'go for it' and miss, you will be shooting for par or bogey in a real hurry. While tempting to go for the hoop, this is a very easy birdie shot if you just convince yourself to lay up.

Holes ten through thirteen continue the same trend of the first nine, although the fairways open up quite a bit and flatten out. They are still fairly long shots though, and are hard earned par threes.

Holes fourteen through seventeen are all extremely short. Some were ace runs, but the majority were birdie runs because the pins are relatively protected. Nonetheless, its seemed to me that they are more or less 'filler holes' that could have been a bit longer (not that I am complaining!). I would have instead liked to see some of these shorter holes interspersed throughout the course instead of back to back, as they really are good, they just don't belong together, and all at the end.

Hole 18 is an awesome awesome awesome downhill shot that is relatively unprotected. Nonetheless, a small tree in front of the tee and a few farther down really make you think hard about your backhand shot. A few on the left also add some difficulty to a sidearm. Great downhill throw.

Holes 17 and 18 are closed on Thursdays from 4 to 8 because the biathlon course is open at that time. I could not find the 'upper meadow' final 9, so that may just be a locals thing for the time being. The course is open from 8am to 8pm, so keep that in mind. Be sure to pay the $5 and sign in. This course is an absolute must if passing through the Bozeman area due to its fun design and fantastic beauty.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

A Much Improved Lower

2-4    7/6/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 104  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course in the foothills of the Bridger Mountains. Plenty of open and tight throws that play up and down through the hills and woods with gorgeous views of the surrounding mountains. Some of the holes have been tweaked a little due to the newly installed cement tees. Although this is the easier of the Bohart courses, there is still plenty of challenge to be found. It is quite easy to add up the strokes if you get off in to the woods off the fairways. A few fun ace run opportunities to be found and hole 18 has to be one of my favorite finishing holes on any course with a nice bomb down the hillside. OB creek and road comes in to play on a few holes. Hole 16's tee was moved back and to the right making it a more challenging almost island-like hole. No two holes are the same out here and it really makes for an enjoyable experience.
Cons: The course can be a little hard to navigate the first few times. Tee signs need to be updated with correct info. Poor quality baskets for such a top notch course and hole 9 has a large hoop instead of a basket which is quite a bummer. They do replace it with a basket for tournaments though. Some areas that have thick brush are full of thorns so watch out. The mosquitoes and horse flies can get pretty nasty in the summer.
Other Thoughts: With two high quality courses in one amazingly gorgeous location, Bohart should be a must for any disc golf destination. With the addition of updated signs and better baskets this course would earn a higher rating. Make sure to bring plenty of water for all of the hiking up and down the hills as there are no water fountains out here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.