Bozeman, MT 
Bohart Ranch X-C Ski Center - Lower Share
Uploaded By: dj cabron   (Taken 7/2010)



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Well designed mountain course

2-4    7/6/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: Darkgreen
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. This course illustrates the difference between the courses that are jammed into a space without much thought and courses that are designed by experienced disc golfers that know what they want out of a course. There are a couple of tight fairways but most holes are somewhat open. But even the more open fairways have some challenge to them, whether it is a clever elevation change, a tricky turn, or a few trees standing in such a way to make your shot difficult. Good risk/reward birdie attempt shots. Overall this course is open enough that beginners could have a fun time while at the same time more advanced players can go for tight shots and low scores but be challenged to do so.
I played here last year as well and the course was in a little rougher shape at that time. There are now pads for every tee (if I remember right) and I think some brush and dead trees have been cleared out since last year. It is nice to see effort being put into the course.
I know some people don't like the hoop hole, but I think it fits in with the local charm of the area and the course.
Beautiful mountain views. I wish I could describe them more but I wouldn't do them justice. Go play this course and find out.
Cons: It can be tricky finding the next teepad on a couple of holes, especially where some of the teepads are close to each other and the course layout crosses itself. This isn't a huge detraction, it might just take you a minute or two to find your way. Once you've played the course, after that you will find your way easily. There are arrows pointing you to the next teepad on some holes, but I don't think on all of them. There is a map that you can grab at the sign in area that does help a little bit, but if you can I recommend printing out the nice one in the links/files tab.
I also wish there were better tee signs that gave the distance to the basket and a better idea of the hole layout on some of the blind shots. Again, not a huge problem after a little scouting. If it is your first time playing this course, some of the blind shots you would want to scout even if there were good tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I played here once last year and three times this year while on vacation. I played the upper course as well, and the upper makes this spot even more of a great disc golf destination. I hope the course owner and the local group continue to make improvements on the course. Good on them for what they have done so far. I will definitely be back next year.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

First course I ever played

2-4    7/2/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: Eric123
Played: 60  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very challenging well developed with nice elevation and wooded shots. Beautiful scenery and wildlife on the course. Great location 20 minutes from bozemon.
Cons: None come to mind
Other Thoughts: Made trek from denver to replay this course awesome experience.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 biased

5+    8/17/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: jharr
Played: 84  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: .all lower teeboxes are now poured, 10x5 concrete
.hole2 got longer and a lil straighter, still has left to right shape
.hole 3 moved back behind skitrail, but the fairway has also been cleared of several stumps and a downed tree, this is the "straight up a hill" throw, still an easy 3 with two 930 rated throws
.11 teebox shifted right off skitrail, makes the tilted fairway more pronounced and brings right side trees into play, still one of the best views on the lower
.15 teebox bumped left uphill and basket pushed a lil straighter, an easy rhbh hyzer no more, needs some D late trees to swat down pure hyzerbombs
.16 also shifted off skitrail to the right, pinching the throw, demanding a straight to turnover (rhbh), another rhbh mindless hyzer tweaked into interesting

the rest of the teepads have been poured in their traditional locations, plans are to pour maybe 9 of the upper this fall
Cons: .always more to do, we've got brushpiles layin around so hope you dont land in or behind them, we are moving what we can and will burn some in the winter
.$5...thanks for the support, buy a season pass early for best value next yr, free play may return as teebox sponsership becomes a reality in the future
.no dogs... sorry but that is a huge can of worms in this uber dog-friendly town, your reward is no fido-poo piles and a greater chance of seeing wildlife
Other Thoughts: been doing lots of other work for our upcoming tourney, he just mowed again and we've been doing huge cleaning esp. on the newer upper course, mostly just deadstuff but should be more humane in the areas just offthe fairways-this also applies on the lower...

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and Thoughtful

1    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: OldDog
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 38.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting in the forests and mountains of Montana
Very easy to follow - a tribute to the designers because this is not an easy feat in a ski area
Challenging and yet reasonable. I walked away wanting to play it again, even though I struggled with many holes.
Nice length for my arm with various lengths
Concrete T-pads were about half installed when I was there
Great map made finding the holes a snap
Curves both ways, hills up and down, tight forested holes and open ones, too.
Cons: Be in shape to hike the hills!
Big arms might consider it too short for 4 stars, but I would disagree.
It costs $5.
Other Thoughts: I have played all over the US and this is one of my favorite courses, blending aethetics with challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lower = Easier

1    6/21/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: dmbfan
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great use of a cross country ski course in the summer!
-Not many junk or throw away holes. Most holes seemed to be thoughtfully designed and require a gap to be hit or a shot to be shaped a specific way.
-Plenty of birdie-able holes to keep things interesting.
-Course was easy to follow from one basket to the next tee.
Cons: -All the tee pads are dirt and some are real small and most were pretty uneven.
-There are a few plain holes on the back nine. I guess they are a good opportunity to shave strokes but they also could be made to be more challenging.
Other Thoughts: I would have given this course a 4 or 4.5 if it had cement tees. I heard that cement tees are in the works which would really improve this course. Other than the small dirt tees I liked everything else about this course, especially the views! Most of the holes are both fun and challenging at the same time. Definitely worth the 20 ish minute drive from Bozeman/ Interstate 90.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I Want More Courses On XC Ski Resorts!

1    10/8/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the easier of the two courses on site with all of the holes being reachable from the tee pad if I remember correctly. Lots of great elevation both up and down and you can really feel how high up you are with all of the heavy breathing at 6500 feet or so. The good news is you get some really fun holes and along with the breath taking hike you get some breath taking views as well! Some of the uphill holes to start out with are very challenging with how far up the hill you have to travel. A couple of my fellow reviewers speak of navigation problems and we had a couple but nothing that took the wind out of our fun sails. Hole 18 is a nice big downhill open throw to the basket with a nasty bit of rough and a ravine or some kind of water behind and right of the basket so plan accordingly when judging your tee shot.

Hole nine is a so awesome, it combines a couple of different things that I really enjoy about playing new courses in that it has an iron hoop as a target and a risk versus reward elevated tee. The hoop is very large and getting an ace is very possible but if you blow by it with any speed you are looking at a par or even a bogey. I was playing with my friend who just moved to Bozeman and he hit the hoop on the top and it skipped the disc down the hill and he missed his birdie. Love this type of unique target, never seen a giant steel hoop as a target; I really hope they never replace that with a chain basket.
Cons: There is enough room out here to move some baskets back a few hundred feet and have some really fun and challenging par four or even par five holes out here. Most of the holes were fun and somewhat challenging with only one hole coming to mind that was a little strange. I can't remember what hole it was but it was a very short hole where the basket was cemented into a tire. This hole is a 150 or so foot throw with the basket in the most open part of the fairway, just moving this hole left or right ten feet or more would add one or two of the small trees on the edge of the fairway. There a lot of trails out here and though we didn't have much trouble I think some could be confused so a sign or two in the strange spots could help with navigation. The tee pads though they didn't bother me might get slippery after some rain but I'm not sure how much it rains up there, either way they didn't bother me much.
Other Thoughts: So here is a life saving tip for you: DON'T PLAY HOLE 18 ON THURSDAY! Apparently they have biathlon training on that day and the shooting range is open which is very close to hole 18. Trust me you don't need the birdie that bad that you are willing to take a bullet! The course costs $5 a day per person for non locals and locals can get a seasonal pass for $75. Some will argue that this is a steep price but you get two awesome courses and you don't have to play Rose Park all year!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 bohart lower 18

1    8/21/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: bayoubola
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great setting and nice views.
-Challenging course with lots of trees
-Risk/reward shots next to the ravine
-Fairly well maintained for a seasonal mountain-type course
Cons: -Dirt tee boxes, short, uneven, and have stumps... rubber or cement would go a long way
-A little difficult to follow for first timers - several of the pins are not visible from the box, be sure to grab a map from under the sing-in sheet
-there are no tee box signs with pin distance and basic map
-needs overall better design and pin placements for some of its holes
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun course. Difficult yet fair. I could tell that the course has been maintained during the summer. The fairway grass was trimmed, and there wasn't much brush and logs and such along the fairway edges and tree lines. Many holes need more of a mid-range technical shot rather than big arm drive. The 'hoop' hole is a really cool ace opportunity. The crosswinds and updrafts were unbelievably strong and make an interesting dynamic to the game. The locals were really nice and pointed me in the right direction when I got lost on the back 9. The course needs only to improve its tee boxes and tee box signs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice challenging course, but too wooded and tough navigation

1    8/16/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: Feli
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: If you like "roughing it," this is an ok course, but bring plenty of water... and maybe bear mace (you will see lots of tracks). This is a decent, senic course off the beaten path (near 16 mile marker in Bridger Bowl), but it needs major improvements in signage, tree overgrowth, and overall course layout to be a high quality course.

It's $5 in the drop box to play for the day (two 18 hole courses), and it does have fair quality chain baskets. There's a basic 18 that's heavily wooded and an "upper 18" that is also pretty wooded but also in a field of long grass a portion of it. You will get lost frequently due to it being a poorly mapped course, so set aside about a half day and bring a lot of water if you plan to play both 18s.
Cons: Bohart ranch DG is pretty challenging due to frequent elevation changes, some long holes, and dense forests. You will beat up your discs on the trees since you'll have no idea where you're shooting on about half the holes. There are signs with hole number/par, but it's a total guessing game as to distance, hole layout, and then where the next tee will be (you will figure out very fast that the handwritten map is basically junk).

The tees are far from great: a dirt patch with a few boards or logs as a border - some lack enough room for any real run-up, others have roots to trip on. The course's signage is even worse: tee signs that tell you hole number and par, but there's no indicators as to distance, dogleg direction, etc. Since you won't be able to see the basket on most holes, that gets old very fast - esp on the holes where the fairways are full of trees. When you finish a basket, the next tee box is usually a good distance away, so it becomes a guessing game as to which way (again, trust the map at your own risk).

All in all, it's basically a XC ski and horse ride trail system where they threw down some logs and boards as tees, walked ~400ft aroudn the next corner, and put up a basket. The elevation is a challenge, the dense forests are a challenge, and the poor signage is a challenge. With the three combined, it really becomes a chore to play this course and misses what was (hopefully) the original goal: a fun day of DG.
Other Thoughts: Bohart really ends up being a bit too much for most casual players. If you live in the area and will play it many times, maybe it's better... probably still heck on your discs with all the trees, though. Apparently they have tournaments here, but I probably would've considered asking for a refund after my outing.

The nature environment is nice, but taking down some random fairway trees and/or at least having decent signs would go a long way. When many holes already have significant elevation changes and blind doglegs, it'd be nice to not have so many random fairway tree clusters to damage and lose discs among.

It's a nice idea and good location, but the DG course here is basically just thrown together. If you go, bring plenty of water, wear good shoes, and try to have (or follow) someone who knows the layout fairly well.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/25/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Most beautiful terrain I have played on yet
-Baskets on every hole, except for 'the hoop' on hole 9
-'The Hoop' on hole 9
-Seclusion
-Variety variety variety
-Benches at most tees
-Marked tee pads, and map provided at entrance
-Very fun to follow course flow
-Natural tees are flat and safe enough for run-up's
Cons: -Natural tees
-Flow may be confusing for first timers that forgot to grab a map
-While there is lots of variety, the variety is not spread throughout the course
-No Smoking (hey, I follow the rules)
Other Thoughts: Bohart Ranch is an absolutely beautiful course situated on a private ranch in the shadow of the Bridger Bowl Ski Area. Dense pine forests with interspersed meadows and ski trails really add to the seclusion of the course. The yellow and purple wildflowers found in the meadows (at least this time of year) were amazing.

The pictures originally uploaded to the webpage seem to differ a bit from the ones I have uploaded. The most recent photos (as of June 2010) are the ones uploaded by myself and have a tee sign in each picture.

Every hole incorporates some type of elevation change, and most holes have a very definite line that you have to follow. As most courses are in this region of the world, side-arm friendly holes dominate the majority of the holes, although there were some lovely backhand shots.

While there is a ton of variety, as I mentioned in the 'cons,' they all seem to come in groups. The beginning of the course has some nice, long shots that really make you pull that big arm out in a hurry. Holes one through 8 were all quite long. Hole 3 was a very long uphill shot, although there was an alternate tee if the main one intimidates you. In fact, most holes had an alternate, easier tee to shoot from if that's your thing. Hole four was a fun, narrow tunnel shot across a ridge. If a tree doesn't stop your wayward disc, it will roll into oblivion. Five is a 'signature' downhill with a narrow beginning, open middle, and protected pin.

I personally thought hole 9 was really cool. Instead of a basket, there is a large red hoop begging to be aced. It's a long, relatively open downhill shot. The great thing about it, is if you decide to 'go for it' and miss, you will be shooting for par or bogey in a real hurry. While tempting to go for the hoop, this is a very easy birdie shot if you just convince yourself to lay up.

Holes ten through thirteen continue the same trend of the first nine, although the fairways open up quite a bit and flatten out. They are still fairly long shots though, and are hard earned par threes.

Holes fourteen through seventeen are all extremely short. Some were ace runs, but the majority were birdie runs because the pins are relatively protected. Nonetheless, its seemed to me that they are more or less 'filler holes' that could have been a bit longer (not that I am complaining!). I would have instead liked to see some of these shorter holes interspersed throughout the course instead of back to back, as they really are good, they just don't belong together, and all at the end.

Hole 18 is an awesome awesome awesome downhill shot that is relatively unprotected. Nonetheless, a small tree in front of the tee and a few farther down really make you think hard about your backhand shot. A few on the left also add some difficulty to a sidearm. Great downhill throw.

Holes 17 and 18 are closed on Thursdays from 4 to 8 because the biathlon course is open at that time. I could not find the 'upper meadow' final 9, so that may just be a locals thing for the time being. The course is open from 8am to 8pm, so keep that in mind. Be sure to pay the $5 and sign in. This course is an absolute must if passing through the Bozeman area due to its fun design and fantastic beauty.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Gorgeous Course

5+    6/28/2004   9/2/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the most scenic places you will ever play - just the drive up Bridger Canyon alone is worth the price of admission! I used to play this course for years before it had baskets and was glad to see that they had them finally in '04. The course uses the cross-country ski trails to make many of the fairways and several open cuts of field bordered with rugged MT forest and elevation changes to make shots honest. The view from the elevated tee of hole #5 (called "The Dead Horse Hole") looks out to the Bridger Mountains and is one of the best in disc golf. Hole #9 (the one with no basket - just a big hoop) is a great example of risk/reward. Most will go for the ace, however, since the tee is elevated and the fairway downhill, if you miss the target, you will sail away down into the trees beyond and may have trouble getting the birdie at this juncture. The scenery is what makes this course the best, but it is a very enjoyable throw as well.
Cons: Tee pads are natural and can get slippery when wet.

Most of the fairways are much like ball golf and lack trees IN the fairway. I wish more of them had a peppering of trees to create more shaped shots.
Other Thoughts: I never saw bears in the many times that I played there - but that does not mean they don't exist in the region. I just don't think you're nearly as likely to see a grizzly as you would up toward Glacier Ntl. Park or in the Bob Marshall Wilderness.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.