Bozeman, MT 
Bohart Ranch X-C Ski Center - Lower Share
Uploaded By: Danger Hole #7 (Taken 6/2010)
-- / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Lower = Easier

1    6/21/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: dmbfan
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great use of a cross country ski course in the summer!
-Not many junk or throw away holes. Most holes seemed to be thoughtfully designed and require a gap to be hit or a shot to be shaped a specific way.
-Plenty of birdie-able holes to keep things interesting.
-Course was easy to follow from one basket to the next tee.
Cons: -All the tee pads are dirt and some are real small and most were pretty uneven.
-There are a few plain holes on the back nine. I guess they are a good opportunity to shave strokes but they also could be made to be more challenging.
Other Thoughts: I would have given this course a 4 or 4.5 if it had cement tees. I heard that cement tees are in the works which would really improve this course. Other than the small dirt tees I liked everything else about this course, especially the views! Most of the holes are both fun and challenging at the same time. Definitely worth the 20 ish minute drive from Bozeman/ Interstate 90.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I Want More Courses On XC Ski Resorts!

1    10/8/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 235  Reviewed: 226  Exp: 13.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the easier of the two courses on site with all of the holes being reachable from the tee pad if I remember correctly. Lots of great elevation both up and down and you can really feel how high up you are with all of the heavy breathing at 6500 feet or so. The good news is you get some really fun holes and along with the breath taking hike you get some breath taking views as well! Some of the uphill holes to start out with are very challenging with how far up the hill you have to travel. A couple of my fellow reviewers speak of navigation problems and we had a couple but nothing that took the wind out of our fun sails. Hole 18 is a nice big downhill open throw to the basket with a nasty bit of rough and a ravine or some kind of water behind and right of the basket so plan accordingly when judging your tee shot.

Hole nine is a so awesome, it combines a couple of different things that I really enjoy about playing new courses in that it has an iron hoop as a target and a risk versus reward elevated tee. The hoop is very large and getting an ace is very possible but if you blow by it with any speed you are looking at a par or even a bogey. I was playing with my friend who just moved to Bozeman and he hit the hoop on the top and it skipped the disc down the hill and he missed his birdie. Love this type of unique target, never seen a giant steel hoop as a target; I really hope they never replace that with a chain basket.
Cons: There is enough room out here to move some baskets back a few hundred feet and have some really fun and challenging par four or even par five holes out here. Most of the holes were fun and somewhat challenging with only one hole coming to mind that was a little strange. I can't remember what hole it was but it was a very short hole where the basket was cemented into a tire. This hole is a 150 or so foot throw with the basket in the most open part of the fairway, just moving this hole left or right ten feet or more would add one or two of the small trees on the edge of the fairway. There a lot of trails out here and though we didn't have much trouble I think some could be confused so a sign or two in the strange spots could help with navigation. The tee pads though they didn't bother me might get slippery after some rain but I'm not sure how much it rains up there, either way they didn't bother me much.
Other Thoughts: So here is a life saving tip for you: DON'T PLAY HOLE 18 ON THURSDAY! Apparently they have biathlon training on that day and the shooting range is open which is very close to hole 18. Trust me you don't need the birdie that bad that you are willing to take a bullet! The course costs $5 a day per person for non locals and locals can get a seasonal pass for $75. Some will argue that this is a steep price but you get two awesome courses and you don't have to play Rose Park all year!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 bohart lower 18

1    8/21/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: bayoubola
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great setting and nice views.
-Challenging course with lots of trees
-Risk/reward shots next to the ravine
-Fairly well maintained for a seasonal mountain-type course
Cons: -Dirt tee boxes, short, uneven, and have stumps... rubber or cement would go a long way
-A little difficult to follow for first timers - several of the pins are not visible from the box, be sure to grab a map from under the sing-in sheet
-there are no tee box signs with pin distance and basic map
-needs overall better design and pin placements for some of its holes
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun course. Difficult yet fair. I could tell that the course has been maintained during the summer. The fairway grass was trimmed, and there wasn't much brush and logs and such along the fairway edges and tree lines. Many holes need more of a mid-range technical shot rather than big arm drive. The 'hoop' hole is a really cool ace opportunity. The crosswinds and updrafts were unbelievably strong and make an interesting dynamic to the game. The locals were really nice and pointed me in the right direction when I got lost on the back 9. The course needs only to improve its tee boxes and tee box signs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice challenging course, but too wooded and tough navigation

1    8/16/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: Feli
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: If you like "roughing it," this is an ok course, but bring plenty of water... and maybe bear mace (you will see lots of tracks). This is a decent, senic course off the beaten path (near 16 mile marker in Bridger Bowl), but it needs major improvements in signage, tree overgrowth, and overall course layout to be a high quality course.

It's $5 in the drop box to play for the day (two 18 hole courses), and it does have fair quality chain baskets. There's a basic 18 that's heavily wooded and an "upper 18" that is also pretty wooded but also in a field of long grass a portion of it. You will get lost frequently due to it being a poorly mapped course, so set aside about a half day and bring a lot of water if you plan to play both 18s.
Cons: Bohart ranch DG is pretty challenging due to frequent elevation changes, some long holes, and dense forests. You will beat up your discs on the trees since you'll have no idea where you're shooting on about half the holes. There are signs with hole number/par, but it's a total guessing game as to distance, hole layout, and then where the next tee will be (you will figure out very fast that the handwritten map is basically junk).

The tees are far from great: a dirt patch with a few boards or logs as a border - some lack enough room for any real run-up, others have roots to trip on. The course's signage is even worse: tee signs that tell you hole number and par, but there's no indicators as to distance, dogleg direction, etc. Since you won't be able to see the basket on most holes, that gets old very fast - esp on the holes where the fairways are full of trees. When you finish a basket, the next tee box is usually a good distance away, so it becomes a guessing game as to which way (again, trust the map at your own risk).

All in all, it's basically a XC ski and horse ride trail system where they threw down some logs and boards as tees, walked ~400ft aroudn the next corner, and put up a basket. The elevation is a challenge, the dense forests are a challenge, and the poor signage is a challenge. With the three combined, it really becomes a chore to play this course and misses what was (hopefully) the original goal: a fun day of DG.
Other Thoughts: Bohart really ends up being a bit too much for most casual players. If you live in the area and will play it many times, maybe it's better... probably still heck on your discs with all the trees, though. Apparently they have tournaments here, but I probably would've considered asking for a refund after my outing.

The nature environment is nice, but taking down some random fairway trees and/or at least having decent signs would go a long way. When many holes already have significant elevation changes and blind doglegs, it'd be nice to not have so many random fairway tree clusters to damage and lose discs among.

It's a nice idea and good location, but the DG course here is basically just thrown together. If you go, bring plenty of water, wear good shoes, and try to have (or follow) someone who knows the layout fairly well.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/25/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 7.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Most beautiful terrain I have played on yet
-Baskets on every hole, except for 'the hoop' on hole 9
-'The Hoop' on hole 9
-Seclusion
-Variety variety variety
-Benches at most tees
-Marked tee pads, and map provided at entrance
-Very fun to follow course flow
-Natural tees are flat and safe enough for run-up's
Cons: -Natural tees
-Flow may be confusing for first timers that forgot to grab a map
-While there is lots of variety, the variety is not spread throughout the course
-No Smoking (hey, I follow the rules)
Other Thoughts: Bohart Ranch is an absolutely beautiful course situated on a private ranch in the shadow of the Bridger Bowl Ski Area. Dense pine forests with interspersed meadows and ski trails really add to the seclusion of the course. The yellow and purple wildflowers found in the meadows (at least this time of year) were amazing.

The pictures originally uploaded to the webpage seem to differ a bit from the ones I have uploaded. The most recent photos (as of June 2010) are the ones uploaded by myself and have a tee sign in each picture.

Every hole incorporates some type of elevation change, and most holes have a very definite line that you have to follow. As most courses are in this region of the world, side-arm friendly holes dominate the majority of the holes, although there were some lovely backhand shots.

While there is a ton of variety, as I mentioned in the 'cons,' they all seem to come in groups. The beginning of the course has some nice, long shots that really make you pull that big arm out in a hurry. Holes one through 8 were all quite long. Hole 3 was a very long uphill shot, although there was an alternate tee if the main one intimidates you. In fact, most holes had an alternate, easier tee to shoot from if that's your thing. Hole four was a fun, narrow tunnel shot across a ridge. If a tree doesn't stop your wayward disc, it will roll into oblivion. Five is a 'signature' downhill with a narrow beginning, open middle, and protected pin.

I personally thought hole 9 was really cool. Instead of a basket, there is a large red hoop begging to be aced. It's a long, relatively open downhill shot. The great thing about it, is if you decide to 'go for it' and miss, you will be shooting for par or bogey in a real hurry. While tempting to go for the hoop, this is a very easy birdie shot if you just convince yourself to lay up.

Holes ten through thirteen continue the same trend of the first nine, although the fairways open up quite a bit and flatten out. They are still fairly long shots though, and are hard earned par threes.

Holes fourteen through seventeen are all extremely short. Some were ace runs, but the majority were birdie runs because the pins are relatively protected. Nonetheless, its seemed to me that they are more or less 'filler holes' that could have been a bit longer (not that I am complaining!). I would have instead liked to see some of these shorter holes interspersed throughout the course instead of back to back, as they really are good, they just don't belong together, and all at the end.

Hole 18 is an awesome awesome awesome downhill shot that is relatively unprotected. Nonetheless, a small tree in front of the tee and a few farther down really make you think hard about your backhand shot. A few on the left also add some difficulty to a sidearm. Great downhill throw.

Holes 17 and 18 are closed on Thursdays from 4 to 8 because the biathlon course is open at that time. I could not find the 'upper meadow' final 9, so that may just be a locals thing for the time being. The course is open from 8am to 8pm, so keep that in mind. Be sure to pay the $5 and sign in. This course is an absolute must if passing through the Bozeman area due to its fun design and fantastic beauty.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous Course

5+    6/28/2004   9/2/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 192  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 24.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the most scenic places you will ever play - just the drive up Bridger Canyon alone is worth the price of admission! I used to play this course for years before it had baskets and was glad to see that they had them finally in '04. The course uses the cross-country ski trails to make many of the fairways and several open cuts of field bordered with rugged MT forest and elevation changes to make shots honest. The view from the elevated tee of hole #5 (called "The Dead Horse Hole") looks out to the Bridger Mountains and is one of the best in disc golf. Hole #9 (the one with no basket - just a big hoop) is a great example of risk/reward. Most will go for the ace, however, since the tee is elevated and the fairway downhill, if you miss the target, you will sail away down into the trees beyond and may have trouble getting the birdie at this juncture. The scenery is what makes this course the best, but it is a very enjoyable throw as well.
Cons: Tee pads are natural and can get slippery when wet.

Most of the fairways are much like ball golf and lack trees IN the fairway. I wish more of them had a peppering of trees to create more shaped shots.
Other Thoughts: I never saw bears in the many times that I played there - but that does not mean they don't exist in the region. I just don't think you're nearly as likely to see a grizzly as you would up toward Glacier Ntl. Park or in the Bob Marshall Wilderness.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous

1    8/28/2004   8/28/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 124  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 21.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the most beautiful courses I ever played. Steep hills, views of the other mountains, tall evergreens & meadows. It's private and remote, so when I played it I had all the scenery to myself---wonderful!

Lots of fun holes, lots of chances to throw up and down hills. I expected some open "downhill ski slope" holes, and was happily surprised that it's all cut through the woods instead.
Cons: I got caught by rain and some places got quite slick.

Dirt teepads and the non-basket on #9.

I had the place to myself, and the thought of bears did weigh on my mind a bit.
Other Thoughts: To me, well worth the pay-to-play. Heck, I paid a lot more for gas just to get there.

The setting is so nice that even if it had 18 boring holes, I'd want to play it again.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Much Improved Lower

2-4    7/6/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 123  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course in the foothills of the Bridger Mountains. Plenty of open and tight throws that play up and down through the hills and woods with gorgeous views of the surrounding mountains. Some of the holes have been tweaked a little due to the newly installed cement tees. Although this is the easier of the Bohart courses, there is still plenty of challenge to be found. It is quite easy to add up the strokes if you get off in to the woods off the fairways. A few fun ace run opportunities to be found and hole 18 has to be one of my favorite finishing holes on any course with a nice bomb down the hillside. OB creek and road comes in to play on a few holes. Hole 16's tee was moved back and to the right making it a more challenging almost island-like hole. No two holes are the same out here and it really makes for an enjoyable experience.
Cons: The course can be a little hard to navigate the first few times. Tee signs need to be updated with correct info. Poor quality baskets for such a top notch course and hole 9 has a large hoop instead of a basket which is quite a bummer. They do replace it with a basket for tournaments though. Some areas that have thick brush are full of thorns so watch out. The mosquitoes and horse flies can get pretty nasty in the summer.
Other Thoughts: With two high quality courses in one amazingly gorgeous location, Bohart should be a must for any disc golf destination. With the addition of updated signs and better baskets this course would earn a higher rating. Make sure to bring plenty of water for all of the hiking up and down the hills as there are no water fountains out here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Golf in the wilds!

1    6/25/2007   10/25/2008
Review By: domromer
Played: 76  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 13.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not the world most challenging course but beautiful and with enough variety to keep it interesting.

Definitely worth playing if you happen to be visiting yellowstone and have stashed a few discs in your luggage.
Cons: It was hard to find. Otherwise I can't think of many cons.
Other Thoughts: This course is set in the middle of the Montana wilderness. The Elk were bugling in the fall while we were there and there was also bear scat on the course!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful scenery, and fun to play.

7/17/2008   7/19/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 26.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely stunning Montana scenery, lots of elevation changes, good map, generally well marked and easy to follow.
Cons: Could use a little more distance on a few holes, and a few more holes along the sides of hills would be better use of the elevation, in my opinion, instead of just uphill and downhill. I wish my wife could have played, but because of the no dog rule, she had to stay in the car with the dog.
Other Thoughts: I have to admit, getting to the course, and not being able to bring my dog bummed me out. She loves to come with us as we golf, so it sucked to have to leave her in the car. I realize that when you own a course, I guess you can make whatever rules you want, but I don't understand this one. I mean, you have to pay to play, and sign in each time you play, so how hard would it be to have you sign in your dog also, have a sign asking people to clean up after their dogs, and then if you have problems, you could simply ban the problem people, not all dogs, but hey, I digress. Lets get back to the course:

It is set in a beautiful, hilly, forested area outside of Bowman on land used for cross country skiing, and most of the holes follow some of the ski trails. The fairways are usually well defined by the trail system, so the course if pretty easy to figure out. There are a couple of big uphill and downhill shots, including a "Top of the World" type finishing hole that ends up in a meadow near the start. There is one odd hole, on number nine, there is no basket, just a giant metal wheel about 7 feet in diameter to shoot through, and since it is a clear downhill shot, I imagine aces are fairly frequent on this hole. I wish there would have been some more distance added a few times, quite a few of the holes seemed to be 150-220 foot aces runs, which I am sure some people love (who doesn't love an ace?), but I wish the course would have stretched out a bit. All in all, certainly well worth playing, even though in general, I hate having to pay to play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.