Bonita Springs, FL 
Bonita Springs Recreation Center Share
Uploaded By: Cerealman Hole #7 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / --   3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Crazy Layout

1    2/16/2014   2/18/2014
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Uses what trees the course has well to add technical shots.
- Has the long open holes at the end to let it rip.
-Part of a very nice rec center
- Most holes have tee pads, and footing is fine for the ones that do not
- has real baskets
Cons: - Impossible to navigate without the map
- A few holes with risk of water. I am not a fan of water holes where your disc can just get lost and theres nothing you can do about it
- There are not signs throughout the course
- The few holes that have a lake on the right and then a barb wire fence on the left.
Other Thoughts: This course is a good one if you are in the area. You NEED to have a map from this site or from the rec center to navigate properly in a time efficient manner. The course just plays around the outskirts of the rec center's property.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bonita Springs Rec Park

1    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Plays around a multi-use recreation facility
• Fairly close to the interstate for those that are traveling.
• Old school course style (shorter)
• Concrete Tee Pads, Two sets of tees per hole. Posts with colored numbers tell you which teepad. (Red and Blue)
• Though, it will pass as a course for beginners, the water hazards may prove intimidating to newcomers. It would be easy to install a shorter third tee that wouldn't require a water tee in the future. …or they could just skip the water holes.
• Maps are available at the rec center.
• Discs for sale in the rec center as well (price 12$-24$) They did have a sharp Bonita Springs Stamp
• 9 holes could be played for a quick round, though it may be a long walk back to the parking lot.
• Shot shaping lines through the trees, water carries, and open field throws.
• For the most part, it was segregated from other activities
• The teepads were very grippy! Some teepads are on risers.
• Other activities here as well, Very nice indoor rec center, ball fields, and plenty of parking
Cons: • Be mindful of the Cornfield to the left of holes 1 and 2, It's on private property. So I'm not going to suggest going through the opening that is behind basket #4 to retrieve your disc if it goes over the fence. That would be wrong. FYI Fence didn't appear to be electrical, just barbed wire.
• Course didn't have a harmonic flow to it. Felt kind of obnoxious, and doesn't really flow well.
• Course does play behind a baseball field, they don't yell fore in Baseball, so heads up!
• You do have a long walk to 8 and to 17 through the ball fields.
• Baskets play to close to each other on some holes
• Course felt very vanilla, and didn't have a big fun factor for me.
Other Thoughts: There are a lot of plus and minuses to this course. I drove a long way to play here, and it was okay. I wasn't wow'd, but I wasn't let down either. If I lived in Bonita Springs, then I would probably have a different view. I think that it's a nice place to play for those that live nearby. It does come with its challenges, and you will have some options when it comes to choosing your lines. The short tee's felt more like beginner tees, and the longs felt more like a standard tee. Which is why I still think a beginner could start here, but the water carry on the shorts feels outta place for a beginner. The average player could easily hyzer to safety, but the beginner probably is looking at a daunting task at getting across. Of course, this is coming from someone that threw his disc into the pond on that hole. (Came out of my hand wrong )

In retrospect, I'm glad I got to play here. It's not a bad course by any means, but it may be a little lack luster for those that are traveling or on a road trip. I would say if you are road tripping, plan to hit this course with another course. (i.e. Estero) This way you make the trip worth your time. If you are in the area, then it's worth a stop. It's big enough to host a tournament, but its design could leave one wanting more.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Jekyll and Hyde Course

1    8/25/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: thrembo
Played: 84  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 39.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Multiple tees and pin positions.

+ Scenic front nine with a small lake and mature trees.

+ Course map available, I strongly advise getting one.

+ Discs for sale on site.

+ Park clean and well maintained.
Cons: - Course somewhat hard to navigate. GET THE MAP!

- Back nine kind of boring.



Other Thoughts: This was a tough course to review. It starts out looking very cool and fun to play, but quickly becomes hard to navigate, and then finishes up with easy boring holes.

A fun round of golf can be had here, but I would reccomend the nearby new Estero course for a more modern dg experiance, and a potentialy less frustating round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Lefty's Nightmare

2-4    6/30/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: zud00
Played: 116  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Dual tees present a different look at each basket making an 18 hole layout.
*Trash cans and benches throughout the course.
*Risk-reward comes into play on many holes where water comes in play.
*Variety of hole distance and fairways (tightly wooded to mostly open).
*Discatcher baskets and practice basket with markings in the ground at different distances to the practice basket and around different obstacles.
*Tee stations marked with painted posts in the ground made for easy navigation.
*Plenty of shade available throughout the course for those hot days.
Cons: *Most holes favor righties as they can throw a hyzer over the water (if needed) and use the natural fade of the disc to stay dry.
*Tee signs were only at a few holes, making it a guessing game on distances on most holes.
*No elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: This course is located at a nice recreation center with many other activities available ranging from a skate park, basketball courts, ball diamonds, playground, and a community swimming pool.

Since the course plays around a pond, water comes into play on many holes. This could be a turn-off to newer players or players who just don't like playing around/over water. In terms of water, this is definitley not a beginner friendly course.

Overall I enjoyed this course. Alternate tees provide for a different feel of the course and the water presents a challenge and will make you think twice before throwing. I really liked hole 7/16 throwing over the water and letting the disc fade towards the basket.

Hit this course up if you don't mind playing around water, if you're a righty, or if you want a challenge. Pass it up if none of those sound appetizing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Furthest South course in USA except Hawaii

1    1/6/2010   1/6/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 713  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/8/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Most playable course in the Fort Myers area. It beats the tight fairways at FGCU and the nasty Palm shrubs at N. Ft. Myers, and the lameness that is Bay Oaks in Ft. Myers Beach. Open enough to throw cleanly, yet enough challenge with the forced water carry holes and some tighter fairways.

2) Shelter is right in the main intersection of 2 basket - 3 tee, and 4 basket - 5 tee, and also a big shelter for vehicles or something is located near 6 basket.

3) Benches are located on a few holes including hole #1 which is always nice to have around the first tee area. Garbage cans are also located on holes #1, 3 and 5 junction, and 8 basket area. I never saw much garbage here except down in the water edge.

4) Nicely visible telephone posts painted white with red #'s on the top. The course also has signs on the long tees with descriptions, distances, and hole layout maps.

5) Challenge is ever present on this course except hole #6 (and 15). When there isn't water there is a tight fairway to thread and plenty of trees to avoid.

6) Course is setup as a front 9 back 9 to create 18 different holes. You can play all shorts, all longs, front or back. The setup starts with a long for #1, short for #2, long for #3, and short for #4 and goes all the way like that through 18. The holes played from short and long definitely change the hazards and the challenge, so this course can handle the front back scenario better than many where the longs are simply an extension of the shorts.

7) Dual concrete tees on all holes (except #14) where the tee is raised up in a retaining area and rubber mat is used. They look rough and brutal so don't fall but they are not slippery at all which is the important thing.

8) Practice basket is available near the 1st tee always a plus for a little warmup putting before a round.
Cons: 1) Baskets are starting to look old and worn out. Rust is visible in many places on chains and baskets. A few of the baskets also seemed to be leaning slightly on the posts.

2) Course has zero elevation change on any hole. There really arent any hollows or slight rises. The only place where there is elevation is down into the water or the slight channel around #2 green.

3)Course is not beginner friendly in my opinion because of the water carries required and the tightness of most fairways. The water channel on the right of 4 I imagine will catch a lot of beginners discs too.

4) Course is still overgrown in my opinion, but only because I am not from Florida. I know this is typical and I also know people do go in to try and thin some of this out. I played with Roller Coasters and he said someone even went into the water in front of #7 (and 16) and trimmed down some of the reeds which I could imagine were troublesome to the tee shot.

5) Course layout can be a little confusing because of the switchback from 3 to 4 and then back again past 2 basket to go to #5 tee. Once played though it isnt that bad.

6) Course really lacks variety in shot shaping. Everything is virtually a simple hyzer or straight shot. This happens because of the layout going clockwise around the pond. They could create a couple anhyzers however with some different basket placements like on hole #6. Now there are 3 basket placements per hole (except 6) so maybe this was just the current setup it is hard to tell.
Other Thoughts: Bonita Spring Rec. Center is an all around average course. There is certianly a large amount of challenge on this course witht he water and tightness of most fairways. There are plenty of trees to knock you down (and in my case catch your disc too, although after 35 minutes of searching after my round I did find it stuck in the crease of a palm frond, I was determined as I have already lost 1 Wraith on this long trip of mine. It seems to be in good shape and the amenities and facilities are all there in adequate distribution. There is something about the palmetto shrubs that just irk me but it is simply a mainstay in Florida. There may or may not be much that can be done to keep those palmettos from taking over a course (much like Buckthorn in the north). I just hate having to search for discs so often and not even be able to see them easily. The water apparently is normally really low this time of year because it is typically the dry season, and in a few weeks the level may be way down again taking away a lot of the trouble on that course. I had a good time and I always appreciate playing with a local so Thank you Roller Coasters for your guidance. Glad we could also get the travel tags exchanged since I missed my chance with jrawk a few days ago.

I had to lower the overall rating of this course after playing all the other courses now between St. Pete and Naples. I think in the end it is just an average course. I will return, but would more likely go to North Fort Myers, North Port CHarlotte, or Sarasota.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Multiple tees make it 18

1    3/1/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: wi2ny05
Played: 193  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice facilities and easy to find. There were some local there for their weekly that were more than willing to talk about the course.
Cons: Holes 3 and 4 double back on each other depending on the pin placement. Not horrible but could have been designed a little differently.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.