Disc Golf Store
Bonita Springs, FL 
Bonita Springs Recreation Center Share
Uploaded By: Cerealman Hole #7 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / --   3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Crazy Layout

1    2/16/2014   2/18/2014
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Uses what trees the course has well to add technical shots.
- Has the long open holes at the end to let it rip.
-Part of a very nice rec center
- Most holes have tee pads, and footing is fine for the ones that do not
- has real baskets
Cons: - Impossible to navigate without the map
- A few holes with risk of water. I am not a fan of water holes where your disc can just get lost and theres nothing you can do about it
- There are not signs throughout the course
- The few holes that have a lake on the right and then a barb wire fence on the left.
Other Thoughts: This course is a good one if you are in the area. You NEED to have a map from this site or from the rec center to navigate properly in a time efficient manner. The course just plays around the outskirts of the rec center's property.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun then Dull

1    12/27/2013   12/27/2013
Review By: tylerc
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great fairly fun shots on the first 7 and last 2. the fairways were there but most of the shots were all rhbh straight to fade. great park with a lot to do there. mostly concrete pads.
Cons: transition between 7 and 8 then 16 and 17 was long and weird but if I hadn't looked at the map before I would've had no idea where to go! holes 10 to 16 were all along the road and most of those teepads were on the sidewalk. we spent probably 15 minutes looking for pads for the holes until we realized they were all on the sidewalk then we had to wait for cars because most shots would be thrown over the road or fading into the road and one hole went over the road.
there were also little or no signs on the holes. some had labels on a post near the pads wit ha number of the hole but no distances. there was a map on 2 holes but one had fallen on the ground a long time ago..
Other Thoughts: if I play here again I will just play 1-7 then 17-18 twice because that would be way more fun than bothering with the other holes

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bonita Springs Rec Park

1    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Plays around a multi-use recreation facility
• Fairly close to the interstate for those that are traveling.
• Old school course style (shorter)
• Concrete Tee Pads, Two sets of tees per hole. Posts with colored numbers tell you which teepad. (Red and Blue)
• Though, it will pass as a course for beginners, the water hazards may prove intimidating to newcomers. It would be easy to install a shorter third tee that wouldn't require a water tee in the future. …or they could just skip the water holes.
• Maps are available at the rec center.
• Discs for sale in the rec center as well (price 12$-24$) They did have a sharp Bonita Springs Stamp
• 9 holes could be played for a quick round, though it may be a long walk back to the parking lot.
• Shot shaping lines through the trees, water carries, and open field throws.
• For the most part, it was segregated from other activities
• The teepads were very grippy! Some teepads are on risers.
• Other activities here as well, Very nice indoor rec center, ball fields, and plenty of parking
Cons: • Be mindful of the Cornfield to the left of holes 1 and 2, It's on private property. So I'm not going to suggest going through the opening that is behind basket #4 to retrieve your disc if it goes over the fence. That would be wrong. FYI Fence didn't appear to be electrical, just barbed wire.
• Course didn't have a harmonic flow to it. Felt kind of obnoxious, and doesn't really flow well.
• Course does play behind a baseball field, they don't yell fore in Baseball, so heads up!
• You do have a long walk to 8 and to 17 through the ball fields.
• Baskets play to close to each other on some holes
• Course felt very vanilla, and didn't have a big fun factor for me.
Other Thoughts: There are a lot of plus and minuses to this course. I drove a long way to play here, and it was okay. I wasn't wow'd, but I wasn't let down either. If I lived in Bonita Springs, then I would probably have a different view. I think that it's a nice place to play for those that live nearby. It does come with its challenges, and you will have some options when it comes to choosing your lines. The short tee's felt more like beginner tees, and the longs felt more like a standard tee. Which is why I still think a beginner could start here, but the water carry on the shorts feels outta place for a beginner. The average player could easily hyzer to safety, but the beginner probably is looking at a daunting task at getting across. Of course, this is coming from someone that threw his disc into the pond on that hole. (Came out of my hand wrong )

In retrospect, I'm glad I got to play here. It's not a bad course by any means, but it may be a little lack luster for those that are traveling or on a road trip. I would say if you are road tripping, plan to hit this course with another course. (i.e. Estero) This way you make the trip worth your time. If you are in the area, then it's worth a stop. It's big enough to host a tournament, but its design could leave one wanting more.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Jekyll and Hyde Course

1    8/25/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: thrembo
Played: 84  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 39.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Multiple tees and pin positions.

+ Scenic front nine with a small lake and mature trees.

+ Course map available, I strongly advise getting one.

+ Discs for sale on site.

+ Park clean and well maintained.
Cons: - Course somewhat hard to navigate. GET THE MAP!

- Back nine kind of boring.



Other Thoughts: This was a tough course to review. It starts out looking very cool and fun to play, but quickly becomes hard to navigate, and then finishes up with easy boring holes.

A fun round of golf can be had here, but I would reccomend the nearby new Estero course for a more modern dg experiance, and a potentialy less frustating round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not my kind of course

1    8/13/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: ARIK HANZIN
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First few holes were pretty and fun.

Some of the tee pads were nice - not slippery or dangerously elevated
Cons: TERRIBLE course flow - This place had me absolutely baffled. I'd finish one hole and have to walk past about 4 holes before I got to the next one. After about hole 7, the holes almost seemed to be randomly placed!

In addition to the confusing order, many of the tee pads and baskets were unmarked, making this course a navigational nightmare.

No shot diversity - I didn't get a chance to use any muscle or any tricky anhyzers or overhands.

No defined fairways/rough - This is what really got me, after the first couple, all the holes were just a tee, a couple of randomly placed trees, and a basket. I could make a better hole out of my back yard!

Other Thoughts: In my opinion, the first 6 holes were decent, but then the place just totally fell apart. I spent way too much time figuring out which tee corresponded to which basket, or which direction the next hole was, and way too little time deciding which shot or disc to use.

Also, I had been told from other reviews that there were only 9 holes with multiple tee pads to play like 18; this is no longer the case. There are 18 holes, however the back 9 are not even worth playing. Not only are they in no apparent order, but they seem to have been hastily thrown down in a median between the parking lot and the street. None of these back nine have marked tee pads so you got to guess which one to shoot from and all of them are only about 100 ft, boring, and the same.

All in all, I'd say this place would be a nice practice spot if your a local, but this is not where u wanna go to play a scored round with your buddies.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/27/2011   3/10/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 42  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course has a good mix of obstructions and obstacles making for a fun but challenging game. from the first tee if you pull your shot right your taking a swim. the second hole you have to have a straight shot finishing with fade to the right (as of last time i played). take a respite at the little pavilion on the way to the third hole. fourth hole has a pretty stagnant drainage ditch to the right and a ton of pepper hedge. the seventh hole you throw over a lake which quite a few discs get lost in, including my starfire. but theres people who go out and retrieve them. make sure you have your info on your disc, cus they will contact you and return your disc. the back 9 plays out past the baseball fields and close to the road. a few tee areas are actually the sidewalk. there are 2 or 3 tee pads per hole, some being for night dg.
Cons: mosquitos, being south florida, and there being a good sized pond in the middle of the park which the first 9 play around. not much i can complain about though, as far as the course goes, i like it a lot.
Other Thoughts: the main office by the course sells discs at a pretty good price. they will take your info so if you lose it, it can be returned. when your done, go back to the light, make a left and then go over the train tracks, make a left at the light, which is old 41, and on the left about a block is Buffalo Chips. go treat yourself to the best wings around.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Mediocre

1    10/22/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in a decent multi-purpose recreational center/athletic facility. Nice Innova baskets on part of the course with sufficient cement tee pads and nice painted wooden pilings driven into the ground with hole number and distance at each tee. Multiple pin locations at most holes (although I really didn't look closely to verify their existence). An abundance of trees and various other man made barriers and obstacles to challenge you. The course utilizes much of the available land, and water is present near several of the holes.
Cons: Terrible course flow. After throwing hole one, you're staring straight at hole 11 instead of 2. Tee off areas for holes 9 & 18 are parallel to each other, while tee 17 is directly behind tee 8 (I actually did a double take to make sure I wasn't seeing things- am I missing something here?). Baskets lining Pine Avenue are in horrible shape- rusty and battered, and there are no tee off locations on this side of the course. Some baskets have rudimentary gold magnets with hand cut numbers on them, further confusing the numbering issue. The water on the course is typical Florida scunge- hardly a thing of beauty.
Other Thoughts: I do not consider myself a stupid individual, but this place left me totally bewildered. I can only surmise that BSRC is under course renovation- what else could explain the schizophrenic layout of this place? Half of it looks OK with good tees, baskets and signs while the other side of the course is a complete disaster with rusty baskets, no markings and no true tee off areas. There is literally a row of about four baskets lining Pine Avenue. Maybe if I'd played with a local, it would have helped, but I only wound up frustrated. After reading the reviews and playing the sub par Bay Oaks course, I expected a lot better. I would also upgrade the informational board located at the beginning of the course and put a real solid directional map on it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 revamped!!

1    9/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: bigflicknick
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The boys are constantly improving this course!! they added more baskets to eliminate dual holes. extended it through the park.
Cons: navigation from 7 to 8 is tricky . you need to go through the center of the baseball area, past the concession stand. reverse that to come back for 17 and 18.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Lefty's Nightmare

2-4    6/30/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: zud00
Played: 116  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Dual tees present a different look at each basket making an 18 hole layout.
*Trash cans and benches throughout the course.
*Risk-reward comes into play on many holes where water comes in play.
*Variety of hole distance and fairways (tightly wooded to mostly open).
*Discatcher baskets and practice basket with markings in the ground at different distances to the practice basket and around different obstacles.
*Tee stations marked with painted posts in the ground made for easy navigation.
*Plenty of shade available throughout the course for those hot days.
Cons: *Most holes favor righties as they can throw a hyzer over the water (if needed) and use the natural fade of the disc to stay dry.
*Tee signs were only at a few holes, making it a guessing game on distances on most holes.
*No elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: This course is located at a nice recreation center with many other activities available ranging from a skate park, basketball courts, ball diamonds, playground, and a community swimming pool.

Since the course plays around a pond, water comes into play on many holes. This could be a turn-off to newer players or players who just don't like playing around/over water. In terms of water, this is definitley not a beginner friendly course.

Overall I enjoyed this course. Alternate tees provide for a different feel of the course and the water presents a challenge and will make you think twice before throwing. I really liked hole 7/16 throwing over the water and letting the disc fade towards the basket.

Hit this course up if you don't mind playing around water, if you're a righty, or if you want a challenge. Pass it up if none of those sound appetizing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It's Ok

1    3/17/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: raaf13
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Upkept very well
Staff very friendly
Easy to navigate
Most holes are well designed
Cons: Only 9 holes (multiple tees for 18)
To much water, fences, etc (to many places to lose discs)
1 of the holes (2 if playing 18) involve a very long shot over deep water.
Signage on each hole is not very detailed, hard to follow
Other Thoughts: I went to Marco Island for Spring Break and this is the nearest course I could find. Maybe I am spoiled by Michigans courses! But its definitly a solid course and worth playing

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.