Saco, ME
Boom Field Share
Uploaded By: Jimb Hole #14 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 365ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Approach



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Refreshing surprise

5+    8/21/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 38  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good course to work out and learn a new disc or a variety of throw types as there isn't a lot of punishment for those high and left slips or crash and burn bites to the right. It has a great landscape and scenic views. I love the hanging basket on #12. It has a good variety of holes with distances varying from about 190-790 feet. Even though it is mostly a field course, there are plenty of holes tucked into or around a brush or woods line. This is a relaxing play. The signs are spectacular. Distances and pars written with a great bonus of a verbal description of the basket location. Directions to next tee are well marked. There are also local businesses that have advertisements above each sign at each tee, which I think is great for the course and the sport--one where lack of funding only hurts courses' upkeep. The large wooden spools littered all over the course rock!
Cons: The pars on this course are very generous. A 67 for the course will assuredly be played as a par 3 (54) course for most experienced players that can air out a disc off the tee. I think hole #4 is a par 4 at 790 feet hole #10 could be a 4 with a long tee shot bootleg right, hole #16 could be a 4, so that would make this a par 57 course which seems about right. It really depends on philosophy. In ball golf, pars are calculated assuming 2 putts. In disc, this is very 50/50 with some courses like Carousel in DE giving you pars that assume a parked approach and a one putt (there's 800 ft. par 4's multiple times). If you play a one putt style, this is a par 3 course with the exception of the beasty hole #4, which is a drive/ drive/ approach/ putt par 4, making the course a par 55. Watch out for rough on the right of 5, down the hill on 6, the right of 7 and 8, right of 14, left of 15...those spots could pose big problems in the summer. Fairway grass was long but not too bad...wear light shoes, as your feet will be wet. Boots won't save you. The course holds a lot of water. A few places, namely hole 12/13, have a design flaw with 2 completely parallel holes, causing some retracing of steps. 12 used to play opposite but discs were traveling OB out of the property causing issues with adjacent property owner, so they switched it and hung the basket which was a nice perk.
Other Thoughts: I am a Philly area dude whose family originally hails from Biddeford, so I end up this way of few times a summer and this is my vacation home course being 10 minutes from where I stay. I like the open style hilly course--a change of pace from the majority of other courses on east coast being wooded. Wind and wet ground are the primary obstacles.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice in August

1    8/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: g8orade
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful property that plays down a contour and up from both ends. Well maintained as of today, I didn't have any of the drainage nor mowing issues mentioned in another review. Mostly open and breezy, a few wooded shots. 12 basket is up in a tree; I like those.
No one else playing early afternoon on a beautiful August day in Maine. Worth the drive out from Wells/Kennebunk.
I really like the community sponsorship idea, businesses have taken up each hole and they are well marked. Scorecards have a map. There are bug spray and even loaner discs out to use.
Cons: If you're looking for long and narrow this isn't it. The rough in the middle is waist high and pretty impenetrable. Watch the poison ivy that is also growing beneath the taller stuff.
A few holes are pretty short.
Mix of tee pads, some concrete others more like tarpapered wood.
Other Thoughts: Coming off route 1 northbound, the turn onto Pine Rd is immediately past the river bridge. Pay to play is honor system, and the scorecards have a map.
Really pretty property I enjoyed the visit and would recommend it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 WINTER PLAY REVIEW

1    2/13/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: dsm767
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very open and a good place to work on different types of backhand and distance management skills as wells as different anhyzers and hyzer shots. seems like a good course for any other months rather then winter ( read on) for all backhand players.
Cons: for those of you with bad back hand shots that side arm and flick with less then 300' average i would not challenge a friend who can out drive you backhand every time its not the course that skill with beat power; as an example there is a long 723' par five for the fourth hole it is a long hole and can seem longer than it is i am a distance thrower and it was a hard 4 for me.
Other Thoughts: I did play this course in Feb of 2011 the circumstances were knee high snow with sheeted ice on every hole which was not only tiring on the way to each basket and hole but if you over shot there were a lot of narrow banks your disc can slide down in the winter, i was the only one out of my buddy and brother to be under after the first 9 holes and after much talking down, it was my first trip to the course after all we had to trudge back tot he car from the 10th hole because my friend had stepped into one of the rivers that had almost frozen over in winter and it soaked his boot. longest 9 holes i ever played, longest walk back to the car i have ever had. 30+ minutes in knee high snow shins were frozen and bruised for weeks from the ice on the snow breaking through for new holes on every step. Bring extra gear in winter!!! otherwise seems like a good course for any other months for all backhand players.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/19/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: kanekasey9
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Liked this course . The setting was very peasefull. It is a very New England setting. The course is very well marked, the baskets are easy to find. If you like well open shots this is the course to go to.
Cons: Don't really have any.
Other Thoughts: Was on vaction in York Beach, the ride to the course was very easy. Will go back next year.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 boom

5+    9/8/2008   7/6/2010
Review By: kfitz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good mix of elevation, long and short, strait aceable, hidden aceable holes, the elderly man who lives in the house by it was very friendly
Cons: little over grown most of that summer, drainage was an issue

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.