Orchard Park, NY 
Chestnut Ridge - The Ravine Share
Uploaded By: osborncl Hole #4 (Taken 7/2015)
4 / 211ft.   4 / 274ft.   4 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Great Walk In The Woods

1    9/11/2016   9/11/2016
Review By: The Don
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course. It was an awesome walk in the woods with my buddies. Constantly hitting trees gets annoying but it's so cool to be in the woods and crossing creaks and walking up and down ravines and little hills.
Cons: Hole 1 starts on the left side of a fence but the basket is on the right side. Don't throw too far right or you'll go over the cliff but take the safe shot in the field and you gotta go over the fence.
Hole 10 is hard to find. After you finish hole 9 cross the road and walk past tee 17 and then you'll find tee 10 on top of the little hill.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the drive. I highly recommend it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Real Wow

1    6/20/2016   7/5/2016
Review By: whitefedora
Played: 240  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros: 18 barstamped discatchers in surprisingly good shape.
3 tees per hole in relatively good shape. Not perfect, but good enough.
Tons of great shot shaping required. Plenty of elevation changes and risk reward. Just really fun, challenging golf.
The ground cover is mostly non existent, so losing a disc means you don't want to try and get it out of the ravine.
Plays remote from the rest of the park. Feels very much like disc golf dedicated land.
Mostly easy to navigate with just a couple tricky parts.
Really nice large sign/map by hole 1 and the giant sledding hill.
Two 9 hole loops that go near the parking lot.
Really nice wood work. Loved the bridge that crossed the ravine in the back nine.
Cons: A couple of the holes felt a little bit tree heavy, but I feel like you mostly just have to figure out how to play the hole.
The tee pads could be leveled again.
Some of the signs are missing.
Very popular amongst the "chucked" crowd. I was pretty surprised to see as many people as I did for how challenging of a course this was.
Other Thoughts: There are some really unique and fun holes here and some more typical looking holes that are just fun to play. The bomber hole right off the back down the slope was super fun to crush a putter down. Loved playing around and in the ravine. This is the kind of course that feels special and with a little bit more love could be really premiere. The longs are crazy challenging and you'd really have to be on point to play well from those. Surely if you played here all the time, you'd start to get good pretty quick. Or quit. One of the two.

I'm excited to get back here again some day for sure. Shoot, I'd like to try that giant sledding ramp sometime in the winter too, lol

So Good and So Bad

5+    4/25/2016   5/3/2016
Review By: toddnick
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great design utilizing the ravine on nearly every hole.
- Lots of elevation change/you will be hiking as well as disc golfing.
- Beautiful water features on several holes.
- 15 holes are spent in the woods; each is unique and fair.
- Lots of risk/reward on tee shots and also on approach shots with baskets next to the ravine.
- Some memorable holes (1, 3, 9, 12, 13, 15).
Cons: - Trash, by far the worst course in the Buffalo area.
- Crowds
- Tee signs that are hard to read because they are up so high on trees.
- Takes 20 minutes to get your disc from the bottom of the ravine and several baskets are less than 5 steps from the edge.
Other Thoughts: I love short, wooded courses with lots of elevation change and beautiful scenery. This course has all of the above in spades. But it also has real issues with crowds and trash.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unique & technical course

5+    7/3/2015   7/16/2015
Review By: osborncl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - BRAND NEW Terrecon tee pads for the whites and just about half the blues have Terrecon as well (very similiar to concrete but more sustainable & earth friendly)
- BRAND NEW signage along with some of the most unique yet well put together old school signage
- Designed by Doug O, the man who made the WNY Disc Golf scene what it is today
- "The Ravine" is a major obstacle on just about every hole, some holes more than others. Easily one of the best obstacles to have to deal with while playing a round of golf
- Heavily wooded, very technical
- The locals
- Hole 1 & Hole 9 both are signature holes although you could say that for most of this course
Cons: - The biggest problem is and (for now) will always be the amount of bad people this course attracts. People who do not treat the course with the respect it deserves. After theses latest additions to the course all the locals are hoping to change the face of this course. So far, so good
- The amount of traffic during peak hours as this is the most popular course in town as of now
- Course can be very sloppy after long periods of rain
- Could use a few more benches on some holes but that is just getting picky
Other Thoughts: I have played 86 disc golf courses around North America and I feel as if this place would easily make my Top 10. I can't imagine calling any other course around my "home" course. I was raised on this course and it has never looked any better than the way it looks today! Keep up the good work WNY Disc Golf, NRDG, and everyone else involved at this place, the hard work & dedication is bound to pay off.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Love it!

5+    7/6/2015   7/7/2015
Review By: LKiener3
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Brand new teepads!
Brand new signage!
A dedicated group of people who try to keep it clean and well maintained!
Fun and challenging holes.
A great mix of long and short holes with natural obstacles.
Plenty of fun events held there.
Cons: It can get a bit overcrowded at times.
There has been a general lack of respect for the course with littering and vandalism but the baskets are always sound and there have been great leaps forward with the dedicated Ridge group at keeping it clean and maintained well.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/20/2015   6/1/2015
Review By: oneCarney
Played: 36  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great variety of shots.
-Good Overall course flow
-Handful of Ace runs
-No Gimme Holes
-Plays well for both RHBH & LHBH players.
-Memorable shots and holes
Cons: -Signage could be updated/improved
-At times this course can get trashed. I have personally filled a Garbage bag full of bottles and other various garbage and have seen others doing the same, but there is too much left
-Finally, the biggest con about this course are the Treacherous tee pads. Nearly all of them are uneven and are hazardous when dry.
-Tee pads are even worse after a snow/rain storm
-Did I mention, how bad the Tee pads are there?
Other Thoughts: This is and will always be one of my all time favorite courses to play. On a clear day you can see Ralph Wilson Stadium, Downtown Buffalo, and Niagara Falls from the Tee of Hole 1. Also Hole 15 has a great line to it another one of my favorite shots.

CAUTION: The Ravine is very steep, so you must be careful retrieving discs. After heavy rain or when the snow is melting in the spring the water level can be high and very fast moving, it can take your disc from hole 7 back through the tunnel at hole 3, I seen'd it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 On my way to Buffalo, NY

1    5/5/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: obi1keno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a good variety of 18 holes. It is fairly long in my opinion and took about 1.5 hours to play in it's entirety. It's a good mix where some holes are nice and long while others are shorter and technical. There are also a few really challenging and fun putts where the basket is just feet from the edge of a 10-15 foot ravine. Can make for really ballzie putts.

It's practically on the route from Central PA to Buffalo, NY or Niagara Fall if you're traveling Rt. 219. The park that the course resides in is very large and there are plenty of other things to do there so if you're on a trip with the fam, they can do other things in the park while you disc it up!

One final nice feature is a place just behind the main building (to the left of Hole #1) that can be used as a driving range of sorts. It's downhill and wide open so throw away and get some practice in why don't you!
Cons: While the holes have a great variety, some are just down-right impossible. The trees are just too thick on some holes with absolutely no clearing what-so-ever. Basically you'll be launching you disc tree to tree. It really stinks on Hole #18 because you can't even see the basket from the tee and there is basically no way to avoid the trees to get there. It would have been nice if some small clearings were made as tiny fairways of sorts.

Also, I played around 530PM on a Monday and the place was packed! There were large groups playing with 5+ people playing which slowed things down a bit. Groups were kind and let me play thru though. Lots of high-schoolers there playing / chatting / smoking so expect some bizarro stuff if you're going after school ends for the day.

One final con was that it was SUPER muddy. I'm told it hadn't rained there in days, yet some holes had giant mud pits you had to walk / putt through. It's likely due to the high foot traffic.
Other Thoughts: This being my first time to the park, I had a REALLY hard time finding the first tee/hole. Basically you want to park in the GIANT parking lot at the main entrance (there will be a giant, green sign there for Chestnut Ridge Park). Once parked, head over to the main building (looks like a big camp hall) and go to the right side of the building. The first tee is the dirt pad on the right-back side of the building and you are throwing your disc down the hill, over the fence on the right to hit the hole in the wooded area at the bottom of fence. This was very strange to me.

I also was a little disappointed with the tees. They were just dirt (which I had read in other reviews) but really you can forget about having three to choose from. Most of the blue tees were mud pits and there were tree roots everywhere! It made it difficult to get a big approach for long drives. Frankly all the players I saw on the course throw from the same spot. Sometimes it's the white tees, sometimes it's the blue. It all depends on the mud really. If it's your first time playing there I highly suggest staying behind a group so you can see where they throw from and where the holes are. Better yet, ask if you can join them. With being so close to Canada, you're sure to meet up with some friendly folk! I'll be playing there again next time thru (although I will be bringing some other shoes to wear).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/10/2012   9/22/2012
Review By: Safbo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 22.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is among the older ones in WNY, so is has the status of being good. Good thumber, tomahawk, roller, etc course, being as wooded as is it is but mind the ravine!
Cons: Again course is older and could use some repairs. Also can be confusing in the back half to find your way from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: Over all an ok course if you really don't like driving far of the tees and want to get close to nature. Could stand a make-over, but is still a busy place.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beware of the Ravine

2-4    9/1/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 114  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - some very nice looking scenic holes centered around one big ravine
- good mix between hyzer and anhyzer drives
- three sets of well marked tees that stick out of the ground for easy finding (Although you might have to look abit to find certain ones because they are not always near each other) The signs can be useful to find the tee you are looking for
- There are signs, but they are not always where you would expect to find them
Cons: - The big con is no tee pads which are very important to this course because of all the tree roots. On almost all the holes you have to be careful about tripping on roots
- It can be difficult to navigate certain holes I have gone to the wrong hole several times and had to go back and play the earlier holes. They have added some directional signs, make sure you pay attention to them. Also a map is available on this site or the niagra region disc golf site. When you go from 14 to 15 you have to cross back over the tee of like hole 12 or 13.
- Some of the baskets are awfully close to the ravine. It is relatively easy to have your disc go over the ravine. There is no ropes or steps leading down which means in order to get your disc you have to shimmy down the pretty steep ravine which could be even more dangerous in wet weather
- Although some of the holes are excellent (15 for example) after a while many of the holes tend to be be monotonous
- Because of the high traffic of the course, this course is run down with lots of trash and bottles lying around.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is fun but it can be frustrating not to be able to get a drive because of the lack of tee-pads. This is a also a very technical course so if you are looking for a course to really fling it, this is not for you. There are only three holes that are not in the woods. If you play this course on a weekend make sure you start early (8am or before) because it gets busy awfully quick.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 chestnut

5+    5/20/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: you're in the shade during the summer heat
good for beginners
Cons: quite short, pars 5 play more like long par 3s or short 4s
Other Thoughts: short, finesse course, what do we need to do to get the other Chestnut course put back in?!?!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.