Orchard Park, NY 
Chestnut Ridge - The Ravine Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #4
4 / 211ft.   4 / 274ft.   3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    9/10/2012   9/22/2012
Review By: Safbo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is among the older ones in WNY, so is has the status of being good. Good thumber, tomahawk, roller, etc course, being as wooded as is it is but mind the ravine!
Cons: Again course is older and could use some repairs. Also can be confusing in the back half to find your way from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: Over all an ok course if you really don't like driving far of the tees and want to get close to nature. Could stand a make-over, but is still a busy place.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

9 is enough!

2-4    9/10/2010   5/30/2009
Review By: ssejhill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2013
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Chestnut Ridge is a change of pace from Como, Beaver Island and Evangola. Love the ravines and the elevation changes. Loved holes 1 and 9.
Cons: TREES!!! The course plays through way too much of the woods. After the first 9 holes I was going to grade the course out around a 4, maybe even a 4. After playing all 18 the grade just kept descending down to a 2. The course is starting to need lots of repairs. 1/3 of the signs are missing. Tees are missing, mud bogs at the tees, difficulty finding hole 10 (you have to walk through the basket area of 17), trash all along the course (very few garbage cans or bags) ...
Other Thoughts: I hadn't played this course since it opened in 2001 (nearly 8 years ago) and after today I don't think I'll be back anytime soon. Chestnut Ridge Park offers so much potential for a top-notch course, but I think they failed to utilize all of the parks strengths. A few, maybe even half, of the holes being in the woods would have been plenty. All 18 in the woods is over kill. I only occasionally saw other disc golfers while I was there but you knew they were there because ever 30-60 seconds you would hear a "thunk" as another disc hit a tree.

My suggestion would be to play 9 at Chestnut Ridge and then drive to Como to finish off the day.

UPDATE 9/10/10 -- played another round tonite and left with a bit more favorable impression, however the course still is lacking in many respects. Topping the list is [1] the need to replace signage that has been removed or stolen for many of the holes and [2] getting garbage cans placed throughout the course. The course is strewn with garbage at nearly every tee. I look forward to when the NRDG gets to putting in the proposed second course at Chestnut (Eternal Flame course) and hope they utilize more than just the heavily wooded areas of the park. It would be really nice to mixup the holes a bit more. A mix of 9 holes through the woods and 9 holes that are a bit more open would be great and would nicely challenge all aspects of your game. Until then we will frequent Como and Emery as courses that are far more complete and well laid out.

UPDATE 9/17/13 - Took my daughter for a round here after a run in the park. The course hasn't changed to match and still has many CONS. Signage is mostly there now, but so many tees are missing; tee pads, when found, are rutted and muddy; and garbage is still a HUGE problem. The Eternal Flame course may have even been quashed because of the state of this course. It needs help ... lots of help.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.