Orchard Park, NY
Chestnut Ridge - The Ravine Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #15
4 / 157ft.   4 / 214ft.   3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Blue Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Fun, challenging course

1    8/24/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: JacksonV1993
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This a very challenging, yet fun course to play. I had fun here and was able to impress myself a lot, but it put up a big challenge for me at the same time. The course has a few open holes in the beginning, and several wooded holes throughout. This is a great course to work on accuracy, but there are a couple holes that allow you to throw bombs in the open
Cons: It is very easy to lose a disc on this course. The heavily wooded fairways and deep ravine make some discs difficult to locate. It doesnt help that there are several hills throughout the fairways that sometimes prevent you from seeing where it lands
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was an amazing course. My first time playing it I played two rounds, and would have easily played more if I had enough time. Although I would not reccomend this course for a beginner or first-timer, it is an excellent challenge for anyone with little experience to several years of experience. Two thumbs up

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Ridge

2-4    3/30/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 71  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great elevation changes.
-Tight, technical course after the first three holes.
-Restrooms in the main building.
-A HUGE sledding hill in the wintertime. Bring a sled for a few runs!
-"The ridge", which runs through the course offers a great risk factor. You won't really lose your plastic, but you'll hate climbing down to get it!
-There are a few holes here that could be signature holes.
-Very scenic any time of year.
-Multiple tees on every hole.
-Tons of parking, and well marked signs from the highway make getting there easy.
Cons: -Tee pads are horrible. This is the busiest course in the Buffalo area, and the natural tees are starting to become a hazard. I've heard concrete is on the way.
-Crowded. Not just crowded, but crowded with a pretty rowdy crowd. Hate to ding a course for this, but unruly groups all around you can detract from the round. Play earlier in the day.

Other Thoughts: -I had Simpletwist show me around here earlier in the day, but even then the crowd was pretty boisterous. I guess the locals call them "Ridge Rats", and a couple of them tried to grab our discs too.
-They are adding another 18 holes here this year, which should absolutely help with the congestion.
-Crowding aside, this course is worth a stop. The technical side of this course will compliment some of Buffalo's bigger courses making a trip to the area a worthwhile experience!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Chesnut Ridge Park

5+    9/17/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: Abystran
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Course is beautiful, and well designed. The main path winds in and out of the woods, and is slightly rugged (lots of roots and rocks), but a fairly easy hike... I'd leave your sandals at home though.

If you're looking to hone your thumber, or standard overhand shot- this course will give you plenty of chances, the course layout is almost entirely through a moderately dense deciduous forest. Just be prepared to hit some trees.

Picnic shelters, grills, and garbage cans are scattered throughout the park. For family (or large group) frolfers- its a great day trip if you have kids. If they get tired after the front nine- it's easy to take a sit-down, picnic/BBQ breather at almost any point.
Cons: - No concrete tees... would be nice, especially in the springtime- gets a little muddy.

- A little more variation in hole types would be nice- all wood shots can get a little frustrating after awhile (Trees, Trees, and more trees)

- The ravine is beautiful, but terrible. Perfect shots can quickly turn into a 20 minute "slide down the ravine" debacle.

- While the shelters have garbage cans- can placement on the course is pretty sparse- sometimes the emptys can build up.

- Can sometimes be extremely crowded.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a well designed, fairly challenging course (due to the high level of tree-obstacles)... Definitely worth a drive.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Winter Fun

2-4    1/15/2010   1/2/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing view on the first hole. Nice changes in elevation. Nice tunnel shots through trees. Three different tees for all skill levels.
Cons: Poor signage and tee markings. Many, many, many trees. Difficult to see baskets when leaves are on trees. no "next tee" signs.
Other Thoughts: worth going to play if you are in the area. print the map!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Das Ridge

5+    10/12/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: chuckgalbo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course that takes you threw the woods at Chesnut Ridge. Good course to go to and practice side arms. Blue tees are one of the hardest sets of tees that i have ever played.
Cons: The Ridge Rats. Very popular course. Young kids go to the course and trash it. They will throw their discs at you because there are a lot of blind shots where they can not see the basket.
Other Thoughts: You get one of the best views of buffalo that you can get on top of the hill at hole 1. Get a nice shot of the city, Ralph Wilson stadium and the Niagara Falls.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I love/hate this course

5+    10/12/2008   10/12/2008
Review By: Nerdboy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I got hooked on disc golf at this course. The front nine are the toughest, starting off going down, then coming back up, a steep grade with the ever present ravine on your right. The back nine is much flatter, though still densely wooded and incorporating the creek and ravine. The ravine on the back nine is much smaller and not so deep. This course is so well designed, so deceptive. They've made excellent use of the ravine as a hazard, often placing baskets within feet of the edge. Going for it can punish your score sheet, and a moment's lapse in focus usually means a hike- which I view as a plus due to the exercise. There are plenty of ways to get safely down into the creek, so don't fret. I've never lost a disc here in two years.
Cons: The tees are a mess. Muddy when wet, roots, rocks, uneven- Watch your step- it'd be easy to twist an ankle here.
The saddest thing is that disrespectful people litter and wreck the forest, ruining one of Western New York's gems. This old hardwood forest is a treasure, along with the 'New Deal' free-standing stone structures and architecture. I guess you can't change people, but I agree that more garbage cans would help. Show some respect!!!
Do yourself a favor and print a map from nrdg.net site. Many people get turned around and miss #13 & #14.
Other Thoughts: I'd love to see improvements in the tees and creek crossings and signage, but until the destruction ends, who would invest in it? Some tree pruning would be great, I've often sworn to bring a saw. :)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.