Orchard Park, NY 
Chestnut Ridge - The Ravine Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #7
4 / 197ft.   4 / 255ft.   3 / 331ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Blue Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  4.5 Star Course

5+    8/12/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: EricBoski
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This Course has a bit of everything, a couple open field drives right off the bat, as you move on into the trees your drives need to be more precise, and to top it off the death drops where you may think you have a good shot as it rolls all the way down the hill into a ravine. With that said I have never actually lost a Disc there, and it is my Home field Course. In all, the holes are well spread apart which makes it for a great round of Disc Golf...
Cons: Begginers Beware! There are trees all over the place, which can make pros second guess themselves.
Other Thoughts: The tees are not concrete but most holes are easy drives.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/3/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: pat12344
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play this course 2-3 times a week (in the summer) for the last 5 years. It is a great course to work on accuracy due to the heavily wooded nature of the course. A lot of elevation changes and paths along the creek make for an exciting round. Being in the woods helps keeps you cooler on hot days, which is nice. A fun course to play in the winter as well. No leaves on the trees makes it easier to navigate but deep snow drifts of several feet make discs hard to locate. Overall, the best course in the area by far in my opinion, and playable in any weather conditions.
Cons: RAVINES!! Holes 1-7 (4-6 especially) all play along the side of a very steep, deep ravine. Wayward shots have a way of finding the ravine. I actually developed my backhand toss to suit these holes (being lefty a right hook on 4-6 will find the ravine). Another con is waits. A lot of high school kids love to come out on this course, and they will be in groups of 6+ several times. A lot of people are stopping after every hole to smoke and there seems to be a lack of etiquette by mos tplayers to let faster players play through. Also, sloppy conditions in the tee boxes after a rain can really affect driving.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and reccomend it to anyone looking to challenge their accuracy. Big drives are devalued here as this course requires precision. I play Evangola and Beaver Island all the time and rarely compete for the lead with my friends who throw much longer than me, but typically compete here due to my accuracy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite course to date!

5+    5/17/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: Chuck Cagle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has everything you need in a course. Places for long drives. Tough fairways that demand Hyzers and Anhyzers. the Ravine and hill give you demanding places to shoot your disc or risk a risky climb so bring your hiking gear. A Rope would be a good thing too.
Cons: Tee's are dirt and w/the WNY rain muddy alot of the time. They need to install concreate tee's. Baskets are right on the edge of large cliffs although a challange it is a big risk and not family safe from time to time. An adult would have to fetch poor throws alot and could get real sore climbing all day.
Other Thoughts: I play here almost everyday . The trees are plentifull. Somtimes a great shot off by 3" will hit a tree and cost you a boggy. Then a bad shot 3' wide ends up not hitting anything. But a Great player will be challeged at every hole in a different way. Chestnut Ridge > Emory imho

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/28/2008   4/28/2008
Review By: Buffalo disc golfer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hard shots with trees in almost every shot. Alot of variety, every hole is different. This is a great place to work on your accuracy. I recommend you skip the red tee's and go straight for the whites tee's for max fun. But also the Blues are a good challange for any player. After your done take a look at buffalo the view is great.
Cons: Most signs are missing. Ask around if you cant find hole 13 and 14. Watch your step. Lastly please be careful climbing down the gorge. Sometimes it better to walk all the way to hole 3 or up to go 9 and get your disc's back.
Other Thoughts: Bring a map if you can so you can find 13, 14. Alot of people walk right by.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A mostly wooded course, length wise is probably a bit above average. 18 holes with three tees per hole. Every shot makes you think. This is a great course for a tournament. Not a beginner friendly course but seems to be packed every day. Seemed to favor lefties a bit, but not to the extent where it's a problem. A lot of mini level changes, and a ravine that seems to show up on every hole. Almost every basket is totally blind from the long tee, making it a course where locals probably have a huge advantage. Playing long tees is a fun challenge. All three Tees have a degree of difficulty to them. The more I play this course the more I have enjoyed it.
Cons: The ravine can be dangerous. Watch your step.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

8/10/2007   8/10/2007
Review By: Dribble
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun course in the middle of a jewel of a park.Friendly locals. Trash cans!
Cons: Far from Rochester.
Other Thoughts: A good time..

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.