Orchard Park, NY 
Chestnut Ridge - The Ravine Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #1
4 / 259ft.   4 / 336ft.   3 / 381ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 ACE

1    7/30/2007   8/24/2009
Review By: Timebanditkid
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: I hit an ACE on hole #1 Pro pad 381'. BEST SHOT OF MY LIFE! sidewinder laid down and woosh right over the fence thru the trees and ching!
Cons: Messed up my knees running down the hill to check on the glory.
Other Thoughts: Conrad Young saw the whole thing.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Ridge

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Bglo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2009
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -I loved this course
-Its challenging
-Great scenery
-Loved the ravine
Cons: -Lots of trees, but that makes it more challenging so its not really a con
-Kind of muddy
Other Thoughts: -I just played at the ridge for my first time, and it was great, i defantely plan on going many more times

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/22/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: Hattrick12488
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good variety of challenging shots off the tee. Abundance of trees make the course tough to master. Great contrast between the front and back nine even though all 18 are through the woods.
Cons: Tees are often muddy and some have roots right in the middle of them. Several tee markers are missing. Some tees may be tough to find if no one in your group has ever played the course before.
Other Thoughts: Accurate drives are key here, with power drives playing a much smaller part. The course is often crowded on nice days, sometimes causing a jam at the tees. While less challenging than Black Diamond at Emery Park, this is my favorite course in Western New York.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best wooded cousre i ever played

5+    5/28/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: there are a lot of trees on this course but for a wooded cousre the fairways are exceptionaly wide this is ny fav buffalo cousre
Cons: on 15 the sigin is down so when you cross the bridge to get to 13 keep walking because the first hole you will se is 15 and if your not familiar with the cousre then you will probably play 15 as 13
Other Thoughts: there is a large ravine that runs along the first three or four holes that is quite deep and a pain to get you disk out of if you loose it

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

9 is enough!

2-4    9/10/2010   5/30/2009
Review By: ssejhill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2013
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Chestnut Ridge is a change of pace from Como, Beaver Island and Evangola. Love the ravines and the elevation changes. Loved holes 1 and 9.
Cons: TREES!!! The course plays through way too much of the woods. After the first 9 holes I was going to grade the course out around a 4, maybe even a 4. After playing all 18 the grade just kept descending down to a 2. The course is starting to need lots of repairs. 1/3 of the signs are missing. Tees are missing, mud bogs at the tees, difficulty finding hole 10 (you have to walk through the basket area of 17), trash all along the course (very few garbage cans or bags) ...
Other Thoughts: I hadn't played this course since it opened in 2001 (nearly 8 years ago) and after today I don't think I'll be back anytime soon. Chestnut Ridge Park offers so much potential for a top-notch course, but I think they failed to utilize all of the parks strengths. A few, maybe even half, of the holes being in the woods would have been plenty. All 18 in the woods is over kill. I only occasionally saw other disc golfers while I was there but you knew they were there because ever 30-60 seconds you would hear a "thunk" as another disc hit a tree.

My suggestion would be to play 9 at Chestnut Ridge and then drive to Como to finish off the day.

UPDATE 9/10/10 -- played another round tonite and left with a bit more favorable impression, however the course still is lacking in many respects. Topping the list is [1] the need to replace signage that has been removed or stolen for many of the holes and [2] getting garbage cans placed throughout the course. The course is strewn with garbage at nearly every tee. I look forward to when the NRDG gets to putting in the proposed second course at Chestnut (Eternal Flame course) and hope they utilize more than just the heavily wooded areas of the park. It would be really nice to mixup the holes a bit more. A mix of 9 holes through the woods and 9 holes that are a bit more open would be great and would nicely challenge all aspects of your game. Until then we will frequent Como and Emery as courses that are far more complete and well laid out.

UPDATE 9/17/13 - Took my daughter for a round here after a run in the park. The course hasn't changed to match and still has many CONS. Signage is mostly there now, but so many tees are missing; tee pads, when found, are rutted and muddy; and garbage is still a HUGE problem. The Eternal Flame course may have even been quashed because of the state of this course. It needs help ... lots of help.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult and Challenging

5+    5/24/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: Sche3067
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tough course where trees will have you thinking on the right approach. Also great for practicing accuracy. Wooded Areas keep you cool during the hot summer days. There are many different ways of approaching a shot from the tee. Unique tees that is very different from each other.
Cons: Since this course is very popular you may find yourself waiting for others to finish. Blind spots around the course may cause people to hit you with their disc (doesn't happen very often). People have taken signs from the holes which tell you were the tees/pins are. Ridge Rats that leave trash on the holes. In some spots the tees are muddy right where you begin a new throw. Easy to lose a disc if you're not careful. People sometimes move the colored wood tee blocks. Not enough garbage cans.
Other Thoughts: Favors the forearm throwers for right handers and vice versa for left handers. learn how to throw your disc more than one way for this course or you'll be in some pretty tough situations.

hole 13 and 14 are to the right of the trail after you cross the bridge from 12

the picture for the blue tee on hole 18 is wrong, there is a path to the left that leads up to a dirt platform which is the blue tee

** Always keep an eye on where the disc lands. It is easy to lose a disc here esspically if you get it under a bunch of leaves on the ravine. Be careful with your throws the ravine will eat your disc alive

Bring Insect Repellent

****BE CAREFUL ON HOLE 7! STEEPEST CLIFF ON THE COURSE

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and fair Pars

1    8/24/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: greenrod1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course designed around the Ravine make for challenging and yet go for it opportunities.You will need to test most all your shots through this course. Release well and score well,If your a little off it could be a long day. I have had it both ways
Cons: OK I saw at least two trash containers on this course ,but that wasnt enough as there were beer bottles and cans all over. If only people would be more considerate and pack out what they packed in.The back nine seemed a little haphazard when compared to the thought out well front nine.
Other Thoughts: Want to play course again and again

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Ridge

5+    3/10/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: Pyro419
Played: 17  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent all around course, very challenging 18 through the woods snaking over and around a deep gorge and creek. Lots of elevation change, both throwing downhill and uphill.
Cons: Can be a bit frustrating at times, alot of densly wooded fairways. You will hit trees. Other than the occasional cry for a chainsaw... no substantial cons.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, about 5 min. away. I play at least 5 rounds a week here. I have heard and read alot of complaints about "RIDGE RATS" making a mess, Look, this is a very very popular and heavily played course. Instead of complaining about the mess. DEMAND GARBAGE CANS!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Das Ridge

5+    10/12/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: chuckgalbo
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course that takes you threw the woods at Chesnut Ridge. Good course to go to and practice side arms. Blue tees are one of the hardest sets of tees that i have ever played.
Cons: The Ridge Rats. Very popular course. Young kids go to the course and trash it. They will throw their discs at you because there are a lot of blind shots where they can not see the basket.
Other Thoughts: You get one of the best views of buffalo that you can get on top of the hill at hole 1. Get a nice shot of the city, Ralph Wilson stadium and the Niagara Falls.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I love/hate this course

5+    10/12/2008   10/12/2008
Review By: Nerdboy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I got hooked on disc golf at this course. The front nine are the toughest, starting off going down, then coming back up, a steep grade with the ever present ravine on your right. The back nine is much flatter, though still densely wooded and incorporating the creek and ravine. The ravine on the back nine is much smaller and not so deep. This course is so well designed, so deceptive. They've made excellent use of the ravine as a hazard, often placing baskets within feet of the edge. Going for it can punish your score sheet, and a moment's lapse in focus usually means a hike- which I view as a plus due to the exercise. There are plenty of ways to get safely down into the creek, so don't fret. I've never lost a disc here in two years.
Cons: The tees are a mess. Muddy when wet, roots, rocks, uneven- Watch your step- it'd be easy to twist an ankle here.
The saddest thing is that disrespectful people litter and wreck the forest, ruining one of Western New York's gems. This old hardwood forest is a treasure, along with the 'New Deal' free-standing stone structures and architecture. I guess you can't change people, but I agree that more garbage cans would help. Show some respect!!!
Do yourself a favor and print a map from nrdg.net site. Many people get turned around and miss #13 & #14.
Other Thoughts: I'd love to see improvements in the tees and creek crossings and signage, but until the destruction ends, who would invest in it? Some tree pruning would be great, I've often sworn to bring a saw. :)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center