Orchard Park, NY 
Chestnut Ridge - The Ravine Share
Uploaded By: osborncl Hole #3 (Taken 7/2015)
4 / 192ft.   4 / 218ft.   4 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 White Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Winter Fun

2-4    1/15/2010   1/2/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 65  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing view on the first hole. Nice changes in elevation. Nice tunnel shots through trees. Three different tees for all skill levels.
Cons: Poor signage and tee markings. Many, many, many trees. Difficult to see baskets when leaves are on trees. no "next tee" signs.
Other Thoughts: worth going to play if you are in the area. print the map!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Das Ridge

5+    11/25/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course has a lot of elavation change and plays in the woods. There is a decent amount of variety in the shots you have to make.
Cons: A couple hole have a poke and hope feel. Some hole are really unsafe. The natural teepads and ridgerats (local vandals) are the biggest downsides.
Other Thoughts: If your in the area and want to play this it isn't bad but it's not worth a trip on its own.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course Around

5+    8/28/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging, but still fun for amatuers. Lots of variety from hole to hole. Lots of elevation changes make for interesting holes. Easy to follow, not confusing, signs on most holes. Course stays relatively dry, even during rainy months. The sledding hill is a great way to start. Opportunity for Aces for pros.
Cons: The ravine is steep and can be difficult to navigate if you're tracking down a disc. Lots of scummy people leave trash EVERYWHERE(course has about 2 trash cans). Back 9 seems like an afterthought compared to the front. WARNING, this course can get VERY CROWDED on weeknights and weekends.
Other Thoughts: This course was more fun before the sport started gaining popularity. Would've been 4 - 4.5 a few years ago but the trash and crowds kill this for me lately.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ACE

1    7/30/2007   8/24/2009
Review By: Timebanditkid
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: I hit an ACE on hole #1 Pro pad 381'. BEST SHOT OF MY LIFE! sidewinder laid down and woosh right over the fence thru the trees and ching!
Cons: Messed up my knees running down the hill to check on the glory.
Other Thoughts: Conrad Young saw the whole thing.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Ridge

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Bglo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2009
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -I loved this course
-Its challenging
-Great scenery
-Loved the ravine
Cons: -Lots of trees, but that makes it more challenging so its not really a con
-Kind of muddy
Other Thoughts: -I just played at the ridge for my first time, and it was great, i defantely plan on going many more times

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/22/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: Hattrick12488
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good variety of challenging shots off the tee. Abundance of trees make the course tough to master. Great contrast between the front and back nine even though all 18 are through the woods.
Cons: Tees are often muddy and some have roots right in the middle of them. Several tee markers are missing. Some tees may be tough to find if no one in your group has ever played the course before.
Other Thoughts: Accurate drives are key here, with power drives playing a much smaller part. The course is often crowded on nice days, sometimes causing a jam at the tees. While less challenging than Black Diamond at Emery Park, this is my favorite course in Western New York.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best wooded cousre i ever played

5+    5/28/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: there are a lot of trees on this course but for a wooded cousre the fairways are exceptionaly wide this is ny fav buffalo cousre
Cons: on 15 the sigin is down so when you cross the bridge to get to 13 keep walking because the first hole you will se is 15 and if your not familiar with the cousre then you will probably play 15 as 13
Other Thoughts: there is a large ravine that runs along the first three or four holes that is quite deep and a pain to get you disk out of if you loose it

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

9 is enough!

2-4    9/10/2010   5/30/2009
Review By: ssejhill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2013
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Chestnut Ridge is a change of pace from Como, Beaver Island and Evangola. Love the ravines and the elevation changes. Loved holes 1 and 9.
Cons: TREES!!! The course plays through way too much of the woods. After the first 9 holes I was going to grade the course out around a 4, maybe even a 4. After playing all 18 the grade just kept descending down to a 2. The course is starting to need lots of repairs. 1/3 of the signs are missing. Tees are missing, mud bogs at the tees, difficulty finding hole 10 (you have to walk through the basket area of 17), trash all along the course (very few garbage cans or bags) ...
Other Thoughts: I hadn't played this course since it opened in 2001 (nearly 8 years ago) and after today I don't think I'll be back anytime soon. Chestnut Ridge Park offers so much potential for a top-notch course, but I think they failed to utilize all of the parks strengths. A few, maybe even half, of the holes being in the woods would have been plenty. All 18 in the woods is over kill. I only occasionally saw other disc golfers while I was there but you knew they were there because ever 30-60 seconds you would hear a "thunk" as another disc hit a tree.

My suggestion would be to play 9 at Chestnut Ridge and then drive to Como to finish off the day.

UPDATE 9/10/10 -- played another round tonite and left with a bit more favorable impression, however the course still is lacking in many respects. Topping the list is [1] the need to replace signage that has been removed or stolen for many of the holes and [2] getting garbage cans placed throughout the course. The course is strewn with garbage at nearly every tee. I look forward to when the NRDG gets to putting in the proposed second course at Chestnut (Eternal Flame course) and hope they utilize more than just the heavily wooded areas of the park. It would be really nice to mixup the holes a bit more. A mix of 9 holes through the woods and 9 holes that are a bit more open would be great and would nicely challenge all aspects of your game. Until then we will frequent Como and Emery as courses that are far more complete and well laid out.

UPDATE 9/17/13 - Took my daughter for a round here after a run in the park. The course hasn't changed to match and still has many CONS. Signage is mostly there now, but so many tees are missing; tee pads, when found, are rutted and muddy; and garbage is still a HUGE problem. The Eternal Flame course may have even been quashed because of the state of this course. It needs help ... lots of help.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult and Challenging

5+    5/24/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: Sche3067
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tough course where trees will have you thinking on the right approach. Also great for practicing accuracy. Wooded Areas keep you cool during the hot summer days. There are many different ways of approaching a shot from the tee. Unique tees that is very different from each other.
Cons: Since this course is very popular you may find yourself waiting for others to finish. Blind spots around the course may cause people to hit you with their disc (doesn't happen very often). People have taken signs from the holes which tell you were the tees/pins are. Ridge Rats that leave trash on the holes. In some spots the tees are muddy right where you begin a new throw. Easy to lose a disc if you're not careful. People sometimes move the colored wood tee blocks. Not enough garbage cans.
Other Thoughts: Favors the forearm throwers for right handers and vice versa for left handers. learn how to throw your disc more than one way for this course or you'll be in some pretty tough situations.

hole 13 and 14 are to the right of the trail after you cross the bridge from 12

the picture for the blue tee on hole 18 is wrong, there is a path to the left that leads up to a dirt platform which is the blue tee

** Always keep an eye on where the disc lands. It is easy to lose a disc here esspically if you get it under a bunch of leaves on the ravine. Be careful with your throws the ravine will eat your disc alive

Bring Insect Repellent

****BE CAREFUL ON HOLE 7! STEEPEST CLIFF ON THE COURSE

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and fair Pars

1    8/24/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: greenrod1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course designed around the Ravine make for challenging and yet go for it opportunities.You will need to test most all your shots through this course. Release well and score well,If your a little off it could be a long day. I have had it both ways
Cons: OK I saw at least two trash containers on this course ,but that wasnt enough as there were beer bottles and cans all over. If only people would be more considerate and pack out what they packed in.The back nine seemed a little haphazard when compared to the thought out well front nine.
Other Thoughts: Want to play course again and again

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.