Orchard Park, NY 
Chestnut Ridge - The Ravine Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #8
3 / 174ft.   3 / 228ft.   3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Blue Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
On my way to Buffalo, NY

1    5/5/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: obi1keno
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a good variety of 18 holes. It is fairly long in my opinion and took about 1.5 hours to play in it's entirety. It's a good mix where some holes are nice and long while others are shorter and technical. There are also a few really challenging and fun putts where the basket is just feet from the edge of a 10-15 foot ravine. Can make for really ballzie putts.

It's practically on the route from Central PA to Buffalo, NY or Niagara Fall if you're traveling Rt. 219. The park that the course resides in is very large and there are plenty of other things to do there so if you're on a trip with the fam, they can do other things in the park while you disc it up!

One final nice feature is a place just behind the main building (to the left of Hole #1) that can be used as a driving range of sorts. It's downhill and wide open so throw away and get some practice in why don't you!
Cons: While the holes have a great variety, some are just down-right impossible. The trees are just too thick on some holes with absolutely no clearing what-so-ever. Basically you'll be launching you disc tree to tree. It really stinks on Hole #18 because you can't even see the basket from the tee and there is basically no way to avoid the trees to get there. It would have been nice if some small clearings were made as tiny fairways of sorts.

Also, I played around 530PM on a Monday and the place was packed! There were large groups playing with 5+ people playing which slowed things down a bit. Groups were kind and let me play thru though. Lots of high-schoolers there playing / chatting / smoking so expect some bizarro stuff if you're going after school ends for the day.

One final con was that it was SUPER muddy. I'm told it hadn't rained there in days, yet some holes had giant mud pits you had to walk / putt through. It's likely due to the high foot traffic.
Other Thoughts: This being my first time to the park, I had a REALLY hard time finding the first tee/hole. Basically you want to park in the GIANT parking lot at the main entrance (there will be a giant, green sign there for Chestnut Ridge Park). Once parked, head over to the main building (looks like a big camp hall) and go to the right side of the building. The first tee is the dirt pad on the right-back side of the building and you are throwing your disc down the hill, over the fence on the right to hit the hole in the wooded area at the bottom of fence. This was very strange to me.

I also was a little disappointed with the tees. They were just dirt (which I had read in other reviews) but really you can forget about having three to choose from. Most of the blue tees were mud pits and there were tree roots everywhere! It made it difficult to get a big approach for long drives. Frankly all the players I saw on the course throw from the same spot. Sometimes it's the white tees, sometimes it's the blue. It all depends on the mud really. If it's your first time playing there I highly suggest staying behind a group so you can see where they throw from and where the holes are. Better yet, ask if you can join them. With being so close to Canada, you're sure to meet up with some friendly folk! I'll be playing there again next time thru (although I will be bringing some other shoes to wear).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    9/10/2012   9/22/2012
Review By: Safbo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is among the older ones in WNY, so is has the status of being good. Good thumber, tomahawk, roller, etc course, being as wooded as is it is but mind the ravine!
Cons: Again course is older and could use some repairs. Also can be confusing in the back half to find your way from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: Over all an ok course if you really don't like driving far of the tees and want to get close to nature. Could stand a make-over, but is still a busy place.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beware of the Ravine

2-4    9/1/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 87  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - some very nice looking scenic holes centered around one big ravine
- good mix between hyzer and anhyzer drives
- three sets of well marked tees that stick out of the ground for easy finding (Although you might have to look abit to find certain ones because they are not always near each other) The signs can be useful to find the tee you are looking for
- There are signs, but they are not always where you would expect to find them
Cons: - The big con is no tee pads which are very important to this course because of all the tree roots. On almost all the holes you have to be careful about tripping on roots
- It can be difficult to navigate certain holes I have gone to the wrong hole several times and had to go back and play the earlier holes. They have added some directional signs, make sure you pay attention to them. Also a map is available on this site or the niagra region disc golf site. When you go from 14 to 15 you have to cross back over the tee of like hole 12 or 13.
- Some of the baskets are awfully close to the ravine. It is relatively easy to have your disc go over the ravine. There is no ropes or steps leading down which means in order to get your disc you have to shimmy down the pretty steep ravine which could be even more dangerous in wet weather
- Although some of the holes are excellent (15 for example) after a while many of the holes tend to be be monotonous
- Because of the high traffic of the course, this course is run down with lots of trash and bottles lying around.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is fun but it can be frustrating not to be able to get a drive because of the lack of tee-pads. This is a also a very technical course so if you are looking for a course to really fling it, this is not for you. There are only three holes that are not in the woods. If you play this course on a weekend make sure you start early (8am or before) because it gets busy awfully quick.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 chestnut

5+    5/20/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: you're in the shade during the summer heat
good for beginners
Cons: quite short, pars 5 play more like long par 3s or short 4s
Other Thoughts: short, finesse course, what do we need to do to get the other Chestnut course put back in?!?!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  down the ravine!

5+    11/5/2011   11/19/2011
Review By: i2bdiscin
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2012
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: its a challenging course with a nice layout that flows nicely with good signage. you need alot of finesse shots on some holes or you will find your self going down the ravine. theres acouple holes that you can just use power, but still need some luck to clear some trees. its definetly one of the better courses in new york., one that i would say compares is perhaps basil marella in rochester? its an easier emery i can say that if you ever been there. overall great course.
Cons: could use concrete or at least rubber pads! tough to play here in fall with the leaves very easy to lose your discs!!
Other Thoughts: its a great course for pros and amatuers. great for a challenge every time and if you live close by then it does the job that some of the rochester courses do with a less driving! defintely give it a 4.0 rating would be a 4 1/2 even a 5 with concrete pads. its a great wooded course!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Fun, challenging course

1    8/24/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: JacksonV1993
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This a very challenging, yet fun course to play. I had fun here and was able to impress myself a lot, but it put up a big challenge for me at the same time. The course has a few open holes in the beginning, and several wooded holes throughout. This is a great course to work on accuracy, but there are a couple holes that allow you to throw bombs in the open
Cons: It is very easy to lose a disc on this course. The heavily wooded fairways and deep ravine make some discs difficult to locate. It doesnt help that there are several hills throughout the fairways that sometimes prevent you from seeing where it lands
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was an amazing course. My first time playing it I played two rounds, and would have easily played more if I had enough time. Although I would not reccomend this course for a beginner or first-timer, it is an excellent challenge for anyone with little experience to several years of experience. Two thumbs up

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  4.5 Star Course

5+    8/12/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: EricBoski
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This Course has a bit of everything, a couple open field drives right off the bat, as you move on into the trees your drives need to be more precise, and to top it off the death drops where you may think you have a good shot as it rolls all the way down the hill into a ravine. With that said I have never actually lost a Disc there, and it is my Home field Course. In all, the holes are well spread apart which makes it for a great round of Disc Golf...
Cons: Begginers Beware! There are trees all over the place, which can make pros second guess themselves.
Other Thoughts: The tees are not concrete but most holes are easy drives.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

the ridge

5+    7/30/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: description: most holes are quite tight and run around/through a giant ravine making a very creative course layout

multiple tees: small wooden markers with par and distance written on them allowing for slight variations of each hole.

hole design: first three holes are more open before you hit the woods and never leave them. hole one starts on the top of a giant sled hill and gives you a 381 foot downhill shot that you can weave through a fairway in some woods or swing out into the open far to the left over o.b. and hope to drop back right over a fence much closer to the basket.
holes in the woods provide a lot of variety. fairways run right and left, many holes have slight or drastic elevation, and holes run alongside or cross over the ravine. for instance, 9 is an awesome hole that tees off on one side of the ravine, over an island/plateau at the same height, and onto the other side of the ravine. 15 is my favorite hole of the course, teeing off along the side of the ridge, zig zagging 341 feet over the ravine to a basket probably 20 feet below the tee. another great hole is 12, which has a tremendous drop off behind the basket, easily 20 feet.

difficulty: high. chestnut is not very long, but the course is tight. with that said, the fairways are fair and can really test your concentration.

uniqueness: to design a course in this location was genius. the only other wooded courses in wny with so much variety are basil (rochester) and joralemon (check it out if you're ever in albany).
Cons: tees: horrendous. natural tees that are very worn with roots nearby to avoid. concrete would be a HUGE help.

signs: old. not every tee has one. Need to be updated.

pars: to make every blue tee a par three (as listed on dgcr) seems a bit ridiculous to me for such a tight course. we play the blue tees but refer to the different pars written on the signs

crowds: you must show up early. we arrived around 12 on a saturday. horrible mistake. it was so busy, we skipped the first 9 and played the back, thinking the crowds might dwindle. when we returned to play the front, it was even more crowded then before with HUGE groups. that sucked.
Other Thoughts: we try to take a trip to chestnut every year, if not more than once. Good course to play first, then pair with como

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Ridge

2-4    3/30/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great elevation changes.
-Tight, technical course after the first three holes.
-Restrooms in the main building.
-A HUGE sledding hill in the wintertime. Bring a sled for a few runs!
-"The ridge", which runs through the course offers a great risk factor. You won't really lose your plastic, but you'll hate climbing down to get it!
-There are a few holes here that could be signature holes.
-Very scenic any time of year.
-Multiple tees on every hole.
-Tons of parking, and well marked signs from the highway make getting there easy.
Cons: -Tee pads are horrible. This is the busiest course in the Buffalo area, and the natural tees are starting to become a hazard. I've heard concrete is on the way.
-Crowded. Not just crowded, but crowded with a pretty rowdy crowd. Hate to ding a course for this, but unruly groups all around you can detract from the round. Play earlier in the day.

Other Thoughts: -I had Simpletwist show me around here earlier in the day, but even then the crowd was pretty boisterous. I guess the locals call them "Ridge Rats", and a couple of them tried to grab our discs too.
-They are adding another 18 holes here this year, which should absolutely help with the congestion.
-Crowding aside, this course is worth a stop. The technical side of this course will compliment some of Buffalo's bigger courses making a trip to the area a worthwhile experience!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wow, that ravine again!

1    10/12/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee positions. Excellent variety of shots need, and lines to hit. You must have different skills for many of the holes. This course doesn't really favor FH or BH players. I never felt like anything was repetitive.

Risk vs reward is everyhwere here. The ravine along several of the holes is the obvious example. Put a disc down there and it will cost you strokes, as well as one heck of a climb. It got me once. Plan your shots and throw accurately, and you can score well here. A big arm isn't needed, but there are a few places to let it rip a little bit. No huge elevation, but a little bit to help mix it up. There is also a small creek throughout the course. You shouldn't lose discs, but it will make you think. Course is also easy to navigate.
Cons: Just terrible natural tee pads. Nothing nice to say about them at all. There are signs, but they are in need of repair and/or updates.

For people that like to really throw bombs, this isn't your kind of place. Any length offered here still requires some control.
Other Thoughts: I played horribly, but really enjoyed this course. The design and landscape really makes up for the poor signs and tee pads. Most of the course plays through the woods and tight fairways. But there aren't any fairways with no lines, and only a few that make you do a double take. They can be tight, but hit your spot and it's OK. With Emery not to far away there is something in the area for everyone. They are both challenging, but offer totally different feels and looks. Emery is the pretty girl, but Chestnut Ridge is a course that won't disappoint either.

May 30, 2012 UPDATE : Came back to see thenRavine again. This course has tons of upside, but looks like it gets no support from the park or maintenance. Garbage is at almost every hole, amd spread around the course. Pick your stuff up people. Pads still suck. There are a few plinko type holes, but this could be a very nice course with some work. Too bad it appears no one locally has the time, money or desire to take proper care of it. Great terrain and possibilities remain, but until someone takes up the cause this course won't ever reach its potential.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.