Orchard Park, NY 
Chestnut Ridge - The Ravine Share
Uploaded By: osborncl Hole #7 (Taken 7/2015)
4 / 197ft.   4 / 255ft.   4 / 331ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 White Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

5+    6/3/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: pat12344
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play this course 2-3 times a week (in the summer) for the last 5 years. It is a great course to work on accuracy due to the heavily wooded nature of the course. A lot of elevation changes and paths along the creek make for an exciting round. Being in the woods helps keeps you cooler on hot days, which is nice. A fun course to play in the winter as well. No leaves on the trees makes it easier to navigate but deep snow drifts of several feet make discs hard to locate. Overall, the best course in the area by far in my opinion, and playable in any weather conditions.
Cons: RAVINES!! Holes 1-7 (4-6 especially) all play along the side of a very steep, deep ravine. Wayward shots have a way of finding the ravine. I actually developed my backhand toss to suit these holes (being lefty a right hook on 4-6 will find the ravine). Another con is waits. A lot of high school kids love to come out on this course, and they will be in groups of 6+ several times. A lot of people are stopping after every hole to smoke and there seems to be a lack of etiquette by mos tplayers to let faster players play through. Also, sloppy conditions in the tee boxes after a rain can really affect driving.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and reccomend it to anyone looking to challenge their accuracy. Big drives are devalued here as this course requires precision. I play Evangola and Beaver Island all the time and rarely compete for the lead with my friends who throw much longer than me, but typically compete here due to my accuracy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite course to date!

5+    5/17/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: Chuck Cagle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has everything you need in a course. Places for long drives. Tough fairways that demand Hyzers and Anhyzers. the Ravine and hill give you demanding places to shoot your disc or risk a risky climb so bring your hiking gear. A Rope would be a good thing too.
Cons: Tee's are dirt and w/the WNY rain muddy alot of the time. They need to install concreate tee's. Baskets are right on the edge of large cliffs although a challange it is a big risk and not family safe from time to time. An adult would have to fetch poor throws alot and could get real sore climbing all day.
Other Thoughts: I play here almost everyday . The trees are plentifull. Somtimes a great shot off by 3" will hit a tree and cost you a boggy. Then a bad shot 3' wide ends up not hitting anything. But a Great player will be challeged at every hole in a different way. Chestnut Ridge > Emory imho

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Creme De La Creme

5+    10/14/2009   2/23/2010
Review By: RonnieBeetleDick
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Best Course in WNY... A variety of different holes great for both forehand and backhand... As well as some holes for the big guns and the more accurate... Mixes up Well... Shit loads of fun
Cons: Leaves... in the fall there are a million leaves and its very easy to lose a disc
Other Thoughts: Id Recommend it to Everyone... Super fun course for all skill levels

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Winter Fun

2-4    1/15/2010   1/2/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 70  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing view on the first hole. Nice changes in elevation. Nice tunnel shots through trees. Three different tees for all skill levels.
Cons: Poor signage and tee markings. Many, many, many trees. Difficult to see baskets when leaves are on trees. no "next tee" signs.
Other Thoughts: worth going to play if you are in the area. print the map!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Das Ridge

5+    11/25/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course has a lot of elavation change and plays in the woods. There is a decent amount of variety in the shots you have to make.
Cons: A couple hole have a poke and hope feel. Some hole are really unsafe. The natural teepads and ridgerats (local vandals) are the biggest downsides.
Other Thoughts: If your in the area and want to play this it isn't bad but it's not worth a trip on its own.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course Around

5+    8/28/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging, but still fun for amatuers. Lots of variety from hole to hole. Lots of elevation changes make for interesting holes. Easy to follow, not confusing, signs on most holes. Course stays relatively dry, even during rainy months. The sledding hill is a great way to start. Opportunity for Aces for pros.
Cons: The ravine is steep and can be difficult to navigate if you're tracking down a disc. Lots of scummy people leave trash EVERYWHERE(course has about 2 trash cans). Back 9 seems like an afterthought compared to the front. WARNING, this course can get VERY CROWDED on weeknights and weekends.
Other Thoughts: This course was more fun before the sport started gaining popularity. Would've been 4 - 4.5 a few years ago but the trash and crowds kill this for me lately.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/30/2007   8/24/2009
Review By: Timebanditkid
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.7 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: I hit an ACE on hole #1 Pro pad 381'. BEST SHOT OF MY LIFE! sidewinder laid down and woosh right over the fence thru the trees and ching!
Cons: Messed up my knees running down the hill to check on the glory.
Other Thoughts: Conrad Young saw the whole thing.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Ridge

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Bglo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2009
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -I loved this course
-Its challenging
-Great scenery
-Loved the ravine
Cons: -Lots of trees, but that makes it more challenging so its not really a con
-Kind of muddy
Other Thoughts: -I just played at the ridge for my first time, and it was great, i defantely plan on going many more times

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/22/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: Hattrick12488
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good variety of challenging shots off the tee. Abundance of trees make the course tough to master. Great contrast between the front and back nine even though all 18 are through the woods.
Cons: Tees are often muddy and some have roots right in the middle of them. Several tee markers are missing. Some tees may be tough to find if no one in your group has ever played the course before.
Other Thoughts: Accurate drives are key here, with power drives playing a much smaller part. The course is often crowded on nice days, sometimes causing a jam at the tees. While less challenging than Black Diamond at Emery Park, this is my favorite course in Western New York.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best wooded cousre i ever played

5+    5/28/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: there are a lot of trees on this course but for a wooded cousre the fairways are exceptionaly wide this is ny fav buffalo cousre
Cons: on 15 the sigin is down so when you cross the bridge to get to 13 keep walking because the first hole you will se is 15 and if your not familiar with the cousre then you will probably play 15 as 13
Other Thoughts: there is a large ravine that runs along the first three or four holes that is quite deep and a pain to get you disk out of if you loose it

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.