Knightstown, IN 
Boondocks Farms Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #7 (Taken 7/2010)
5 / 290ft.   5 / --   3 / 400ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Very fun!

1    7/13/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: flickaway
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of open distance holes and wooded technical holes. The distance holes had tight fairways, though, which was a nice bonus. Chuck it, but be accurate! The couple of holes with elevation change was particularly nice!
Cons: A couple of the gravel tees could use a touching up to make the tee box better defined.
Other Thoughts: A very fun course. Worth the money, though with the hour drive added to it made it costly. Would make the drive often if cheaper.

Also, wish the clubhouse had posted hours. The available chilled bottle water was nice, though ($1).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Fun Gets Rocking on 8!

1    11/10/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 159  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From the carved totems in the driveway to the "evil petting zoo" (really, don't pet, the signs say they bite), to the festival area at the bottom of the drive, Boondocks Farms has a plethora of activities and amusements, and the disc golf course is increasingly enjoyable and memorable as you play along the field side wood lines to start, and it really begins to rock and roll by the time you enter the woods on hole 8. With nice DGA baskets (including a practice basket beside the gift shop/ ticket cabin to the left of the upper parking area) and gravel tees marked by red stakes (the 'sticks', short tees) and, well, 'stones' for the long tees, there is a considerable amount of challenge out here for the intermediate level disc golfer.

Several of the initial holes simply fade into the edge of the wood line or hyzer (rhbh) around the huge namesake stone sign (on hole 4). But almost every hole takes clever advantage of the rolling terrain. When you get to the woods, you'll encounter blind pin positions (8, 11, 15 & 17), really cool ravine crossers (15!) and tight but highly rewarding lines through the trees (well, every woods hole!). Even from the long tees, an experienced player will enjoy executing great shots for a chance at a lot of deuces out here.

The infrastructure (bridges, next tee signage when needed, minimalist but nice looking tee signs, a kiosk map and map/scorecards attached to the honor box) is all pretty impressive, and shows that they re-invest that pay for play money in the course.
Cons: The bigger arms in our traveling league mentioned they'd like to have seen a couple of big bomb shots out here, but I truly don't mind the shorter, more technical stuff here. Some folks have issues with pay to play, but at $5/ round or $8 all day, I saw where they've probably reinvested all of it and more on the course. If I saw any 'con' at all, it was probably that the short tees didn't create many distinctly different lines than the longs (which we played). Hole 9 seemed to be the biggest exception, with a distinctly different look, and 12 'short' has a slightly more open line down the hill than the 'long' (they stand side by side). Well, maybe one other thing: with (mostly) unboxed gravel, the stones marking the long tees sometimes roll out of position.
Other Thoughts: Hole by hole (rhbh descriptions):
#1 - slightly downhill anny into the wood line,
#2 - slight uphill and open, then turn to the right to
#3 - longer downhill with the creek to the right & long,
#4 - sweeping hyzer down around the sign, more creek to the right of the green, turn left, up to
#5 - a longer anny into the wood line, then come back out uphill to
#6 - a gap shot over bridge, and step up to long
#7 - long flex anny with a more generous green than appears from the tee, then into woods for
#8 - blind, tight, short multi-lane shot with the left being a little more open, turn right to long
#9 - very reachable sweeping hyzer down the hill (short is more direct, but tight), then cross bridge, walk down the drive to
#10 - has a sign by the drive, and tees uphill, finishing right, then you walk to the left and shoot
#11 - a beautiful, blind, tight hole where your drive needs to drop out of sight to the first terrace below, and NOT go long…walk back up to the top for either #12 tee - a narrow gap, but easily reachable drop shot below, turn left to
#13 - challenging, low-ceiling hyzer to hillside basket position, then forward to short, or up left to the hilltop for the long
#14 - a really pretty fade that can be reached with a very controlled drive, and play the long tee for the best thrill on
#15 - probably the signature hole: uphill, blind, with a ravine on the other side, with the basket actually reachable over the blind ravine! You could play -through- the shack at the top of the hill left as a mando, but that would be silly. Cross the incredible bridge to drop in your putt, and turn left to the ridge topping
#16 - hyzer that plays longer than 210' (there might be more pin positions here than we thought?), then forward to
#17 - a long, blind, right-fading shot (don't throw hyzer to the basket you see to the left, that's 10, and you'd endanger folks on 11's tees), finish forward to
#18 - a right-fading beeline downhill through the trees, across the creek to the basket just before the drive. Whew!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Boondocks

1    10/27/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: kingjames1014
Played: 83  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --New teesigns- Sticks(short tees) and Stones(long tees)
--Topography not usually seen in Central Indiana
-- Wide Variety of shots
-- Good baskets that catch well
-- Dual teepads offer different lanes
Cons: -- A few fairways and tees were rutted up after a recent BMX race. Owner has done an excellent job is smoothing things out before the Tournament. Fresh gravel on some tees made for a little loose footing.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course when i played it the first time. None of the holes seemed "gimicky".

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It's good, but I don't know if I'll ever be back

1    7/20/2013   7/25/2013
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good morning. And by morning, I mean "good whatever it is when you read this review. And if you aren't having a good day, then get out of your mood. Do you have any idea how lucky you are to be alive? I mean...come on". So at the risk of being Polly Positive, let's get this review started with the good stuff.

The area - This course sits on 160 acres of beautifully groomed, wonderfully taken care of real estate. The fairways were mowed very closely, and the rough was incredibly high. The trees were trimmed nicely and there were baby goats by a couple of the holes. I hate to use the word "picturesque", but this place really does sit on a little slice of heaven, out in the middle of absolutely nowhere.

Baskets - Were nice and well taken care of. They catch well and I got no spitouts all day.

Shot variety - There are plusses and minuses to the shot variety out at Boondocks. There are lots of elevation changes, which is great. The front 9 is WIDE open, but there really are no long holes. The back 9 is all wooded holes, all about the same length. Around the 310 mark or so. But the good news is that the trees and the elevation changes really challenge you to pay attention and work different shot shapes. The other good news is that you don't need a ton of different discs to play out here. So bring a smaller big and leave the big drivers at home.

Extras - There are homemade benches on a couple of holes. There is a port-o-let right there on hole 1, along with a little cabin where you can get drinks and so forth.

Tee pads - There are multiple tee pads on most holes. This is a super nice touch, even if the pads are all gravel. I played from the longs, and they were considerably harder than the shorts. I always like the idea of having alternate shots on every course.

There is some signage on the course. The signs that are there are super helpful. There are also lots of "next hole this way" signs, which I always appreciate as a first time visitor to a course.
Cons: This is an easy one for me, and drags this course down a TON. This is a pay to play course, which is fine. I play other PTP courses and don't mind. But five bucks to play ONE round?! Are you out of your mind? yeah, it's eight bucks to play all day, but that is literally four times more to play than other courses nearby that are also pay to play. And since this place is literally an hour from everywhere, I can't imagine going back and spending the money to play there. I would go back for a tournament, but not to play casually.

Tee pads - I really don't like gravel pads. I won't take off any points, but I would prefer the rubber mats over the straight up gravel.

There are a lot of signs missing, so you are playing the hole blind. That could use a lot of work.

I do wish there were more of a variety in distance on this course, Everything feels like it's 310 ish. I would love to see a big bomber hole here , either in the open part or the woods. They definitely have the land to do it.
Other Thoughts: At the end of the day, this is a good course. It's nicely taken care of. But to be super honest, it's not "go out of your way to experience it" nice. If you see a tournament here, go play it. But don't spend the five bucks and the gas money to get out of your way to play a round here.
"Good" works perfectly for this course. So a 3.0 it is.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

True gem

2-4    3/29/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: lukejones
Played: 52  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Category 1: "Essential Properties of a Good Course"
Baskets- Mach 5, in good condition. Highly visible sign with hole number on top of basket was helpful.
Tee Pads- Very generous size, all pee gravel. Most were level and had adequate traction. A few were sloped, but really didn't impact my round at all.
Navigation- One of the easiest courses to navigate I've played to date. The owners have done a fabulous job with clear signage throughout the course, and distance from baskets to the next tee was short.

Category 2: "Combine with Cat I to make a great course"
General course design- Outstanding! Course flowed very nicely. Hole 9 ended reasonably close to the parking lot. It's hard to choose a favorite hole, but I'm torn between Holes 11, 12, and 14. Very nice elevation changes and challenging approach/putts made these holes very fun. There were many other fine holes, but these were the most memorable. The first several holes on the front 9 are mostly open, but have well defined fairways like you'd expect on a ball golf course. I really enjoyed the opportunity on these to go for it. The remaining holes meander through the woods for a fair, but challenging test….none too long, but precision is more critical than distance on these.
Course Maintenance- Overall, the course was in excellent shape. Nice bridges over several ravines/ditches. Grass was short. Trash bins on several holes. It's clear money collected to play the course is going right back into the maintenance. Benches were present on several holes and were plenty big to accommodate even a large group.

Category 3: "bonus attributes to make an excellent course"
Chickens, goats, sheep and a turkey adjacent to hole 4?!
For central Indiana, this course had a nice amount of elevation changes from tee to baskets……not major; we're not Tennessee or Kentucky, but for Indiana, it was a nice change of pace!
Epic holes: I mentioned Holes 11, 12, and 14. Many others were fun, I just especially loved these holes.
Nice variety of hole distances. I played all as par 3 which seemed right.
I threw a variety of shots at this course in the wooded holes, using a lot of my bag. I found the long distance drivers weren't entirely useful on most wooded holes so those stayed put. Most useful was the Buzzz Ti for placement.
Overall, pretty challenging test! I improved by 6 shots on my 2nd 18, but if you're not careful and focused on every hole, the course can get you. Didn't make a lot of birdies (again, playing all par 3s) from the Pro tees, but most holes, a very well executed shot could make birdie possible which I liked. Not too many birdie gimmies (except maybe the first couple holes which were a good warmup).
The weather today was excellent (55 degrees after a long rough winter!), but we had the course to ourselves.
A small gift shop by the first tee appeared to have some discs for sale, but it was closed today.
Cons: Tee signs- Most tee signs were down when I played (possibly for the winter season) so I was a bit unsure of hole distances.
This course was very well thought out…..if I had 1 complaint on course design, I would have tried to incorporate at least a couple true par 4's or even a long par 5.
Other Thoughts: I think 4 is a very fair rating for this course. Stretching out a few holes to true Par 4 or 5 lengths (Par being what an expert would expect to score) could boost my rating to 4.5.
Given this course was one of the higher rated courses within an hrs drive from Columbus, IN my wife and I gave it a try. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and serenity of the property. We will definitely be back!
The cost is $5/round or $8/all day. I personally have no issues paying $5-8 to play a well thought-out, 4+ star caliber course and thought the cost was well worth the fun afternoon the course provided us.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    10/29/2011   10/29/2011
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nice facilities, bridges, signs etc
-Challenging throws at times
-Excellent woods holes
-Nice land, especially in fall months
-Place that sells discs and has maps and other literature
Cons: -Front 7 is sorta boring and repetitive
-This course will eat discs very easily; between cornfields next to fairways, and deep woods with muddy creeks, play with a big group with good eyes
-5 dollars may be a bit much, 2 would be easier to swallow, especially if you lose a disc on the course at that price
-course affiliated members of this site will thumbs down your review if you con the price, lol
Other Thoughts: -Wear heavy clothes to walk through the woods
-Course takes a lot of walking to complete (not a bad thing)


4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Right Off The Interstate

1    11/23/2010   1/27/2011
Review By: jjohans
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.9 Years
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great wood/field balance
Interesting holes
Right off the interstate
Fun, fun, fun
Cons: Pricey ($5)
Other Thoughts: Hit this course on a long road trip to Chicago. Great place to stop! Played a cold windy round that ended up being one of my best. Cool buildings, bridges, and elevation changes throughout the course. Be sure to do well on the more open front nine, because the back nine is much more difficult in the woods.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A Diamond in the Rough

5+    11/29/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a beautiful setting. I rate this an excellent course because it has alot of character. There are no boring holes, and I feel each hole has its own unique way of making you use various skills. The front 7 being mostly open and then going into the woods gives it an awesome arrangement. I love the downhill tee-offs this course offers. I'm not the best at throwing uphill for sure, but there are a couple of those, too.
Cons: There are alot of large thornbushes. It's not necessarily the course's fault. I guess I should take the blame for throwing discs into them. :)
Other Thoughts: I'm looking forward to playing competitively on this course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

1    11/14/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: Warrick1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked course with open field holes to start and then more challenging ones to finish. The holes are fun to play and easy to follow. The woods section is challenging with some narrow fairways and many elevation changes. The first 6-7 holes play around some fields and are good warm-ups. The rest of the course is in the woods.
Cons: Tee boxes need work. They are composed of small, hard packed gravel and several were washing away. If the ground is wet the woods section would be pretty muddy. We played under dry conditions and it was fine. Tee signs also need work.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun and challenging course to play and worth the $5 fee and drive from Indy. The farm has many other activities as well and would be a great place for a family day out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate challenge

2-4    7/26/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 170  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a nice mix of Open then wooded holes. The "Front 9" are the Open and ends kinda close to the parking lot. Nice layout for beginners,from the other activities in the park,giving DG a try. A few holes are a challenge for beginners,keeping them interested and showing the possibilities of hole design. The "Back 9" has a nice mix of technical and "wooded open" short (called sticks) and long (called stones,on scorecard). Mach V targets, with number plates. Footbridges are well built,solid. Natural Directional,Tee signs & post's. (See pics,I'll post a.s.a.p.) With Tee signs having Sponsor info. & hole layout, showing both tees. (That helps on the back 9) Crushed stone Tee pads,done well. Front 9 fairways are well maintained,cut & trash free. Scorecards available with maps on the back. Practice basket about 50ft from #1.
Cons: Some Tee signs need work, atleast the ones facing south. A few Tees also need work,rain run off. Atleast the ones on the sides of hills. The fairways on the back 9 needed to be cut. Carefull going down the hill on #12? very small sticks & stones made me slip.Need to have a spotter on a few holes or play it safe. I lost a disc "going for it" on #15. if you find it my name & number is on it.....But just give it to a newbie. A few, 3/4, pop/water bottles found. But it's not like someone is dumping their trash,as I've seen before,but not at this course.
Other Thoughts: About 30 minutes from I-465/I-65,From Indy's Eastside. They use the "Honor System" for Entry Fees & Drinks. If you feel $8 all day is to costly,pay $5. It has been a few years since I last played here and I could tell the Entry Fees are going back into the course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.