Knightstown, IN 
Boondocks Farms Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #18 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 220ft.   4 / --   3 / 282ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Pro Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very fun!

1    7/13/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: flickaway
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of open distance holes and wooded technical holes. The distance holes had tight fairways, though, which was a nice bonus. Chuck it, but be accurate! The couple of holes with elevation change was particularly nice!
Cons: A couple of the gravel tees could use a touching up to make the tee box better defined.
Other Thoughts: A very fun course. Worth the money, though with the hour drive added to it made it costly. Would make the drive often if cheaper.

Also, wish the clubhouse had posted hours. The available chilled bottle water was nice, though ($1).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Fun Gets Rocking on 8!

1    11/10/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From the carved totems in the driveway to the "evil petting zoo" (really, don't pet, the signs say they bite), to the festival area at the bottom of the drive, Boondocks Farms has a plethora of activities and amusements, and the disc golf course is increasingly enjoyable and memorable as you play along the field side wood lines to start, and it really begins to rock and roll by the time you enter the woods on hole 8. With nice DGA baskets (including a practice basket beside the gift shop/ ticket cabin to the left of the upper parking area) and gravel tees marked by red stakes (the 'sticks', short tees) and, well, 'stones' for the long tees, there is a considerable amount of challenge out here for the intermediate level disc golfer.

Several of the initial holes simply fade into the edge of the wood line or hyzer (rhbh) around the huge namesake stone sign (on hole 4). But almost every hole takes clever advantage of the rolling terrain. When you get to the woods, you'll encounter blind pin positions (8, 11, 15 & 17), really cool ravine crossers (15!) and tight but highly rewarding lines through the trees (well, every woods hole!). Even from the long tees, an experienced player will enjoy executing great shots for a chance at a lot of deuces out here.

The infrastructure (bridges, next tee signage when needed, minimalist but nice looking tee signs, a kiosk map and map/scorecards attached to the honor box) is all pretty impressive, and shows that they re-invest that pay for play money in the course.
Cons: The bigger arms in our traveling league mentioned they'd like to have seen a couple of big bomb shots out here, but I truly don't mind the shorter, more technical stuff here. Some folks have issues with pay to play, but at $5/ round or $8 all day, I saw where they've probably reinvested all of it and more on the course. If I saw any 'con' at all, it was probably that the short tees didn't create many distinctly different lines than the longs (which we played). Hole 9 seemed to be the biggest exception, with a distinctly different look, and 12 'short' has a slightly more open line down the hill than the 'long' (they stand side by side). Well, maybe one other thing: with (mostly) unboxed gravel, the stones marking the long tees sometimes roll out of position.
Other Thoughts: Hole by hole (rhbh descriptions):
#1 - slightly downhill anny into the wood line,
#2 - slight uphill and open, then turn to the right to
#3 - longer downhill with the creek to the right & long,
#4 - sweeping hyzer down around the sign, more creek to the right of the green, turn left, up to
#5 - a longer anny into the wood line, then come back out uphill to
#6 - a gap shot over bridge, and step up to long
#7 - long flex anny with a more generous green than appears from the tee, then into woods for
#8 - blind, tight, short multi-lane shot with the left being a little more open, turn right to long
#9 - very reachable sweeping hyzer down the hill (short is more direct, but tight), then cross bridge, walk down the drive to
#10 - has a sign by the drive, and tees uphill, finishing right, then you walk to the left and shoot
#11 - a beautiful, blind, tight hole where your drive needs to drop out of sight to the first terrace below, and NOT go long…walk back up to the top for either #12 tee - a narrow gap, but easily reachable drop shot below, turn left to
#13 - challenging, low-ceiling hyzer to hillside basket position, then forward to short, or up left to the hilltop for the long
#14 - a really pretty fade that can be reached with a very controlled drive, and play the long tee for the best thrill on
#15 - probably the signature hole: uphill, blind, with a ravine on the other side, with the basket actually reachable over the blind ravine! You could play -through- the shack at the top of the hill left as a mando, but that would be silly. Cross the incredible bridge to drop in your putt, and turn left to the ridge topping
#16 - hyzer that plays longer than 210' (there might be more pin positions here than we thought?), then forward to
#17 - a long, blind, right-fading shot (don't throw hyzer to the basket you see to the left, that's 10, and you'd endanger folks on 11's tees), finish forward to
#18 - a right-fading beeline downhill through the trees, across the creek to the basket just before the drive. Whew!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

True gem

2-4    3/29/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: lukejones
Played: 52  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Category 1: "Essential Properties of a Good Course"
Baskets- Mach 5, in good condition. Highly visible sign with hole number on top of basket was helpful.
Tee Pads- Very generous size, all pee gravel. Most were level and had adequate traction. A few were sloped, but really didn't impact my round at all.
Navigation- One of the easiest courses to navigate I've played to date. The owners have done a fabulous job with clear signage throughout the course, and distance from baskets to the next tee was short.

Category 2: "Combine with Cat I to make a great course"
General course design- Outstanding! Course flowed very nicely. Hole 9 ended reasonably close to the parking lot. It's hard to choose a favorite hole, but I'm torn between Holes 11, 12, and 14. Very nice elevation changes and challenging approach/putts made these holes very fun. There were many other fine holes, but these were the most memorable. The first several holes on the front 9 are mostly open, but have well defined fairways like you'd expect on a ball golf course. I really enjoyed the opportunity on these to go for it. The remaining holes meander through the woods for a fair, but challenging test….none too long, but precision is more critical than distance on these.
Course Maintenance- Overall, the course was in excellent shape. Nice bridges over several ravines/ditches. Grass was short. Trash bins on several holes. It's clear money collected to play the course is going right back into the maintenance. Benches were present on several holes and were plenty big to accommodate even a large group.

Category 3: "bonus attributes to make an excellent course"
Chickens, goats, sheep and a turkey adjacent to hole 4?!
For central Indiana, this course had a nice amount of elevation changes from tee to baskets……not major; we're not Tennessee or Kentucky, but for Indiana, it was a nice change of pace!
Epic holes: I mentioned Holes 11, 12, and 14. Many others were fun, I just especially loved these holes.
Nice variety of hole distances. I played all as par 3 which seemed right.
I threw a variety of shots at this course in the wooded holes, using a lot of my bag. I found the long distance drivers weren't entirely useful on most wooded holes so those stayed put. Most useful was the Buzzz Ti for placement.
Overall, pretty challenging test! I improved by 6 shots on my 2nd 18, but if you're not careful and focused on every hole, the course can get you. Didn't make a lot of birdies (again, playing all par 3s) from the Pro tees, but most holes, a very well executed shot could make birdie possible which I liked. Not too many birdie gimmies (except maybe the first couple holes which were a good warmup).
The weather today was excellent (55 degrees after a long rough winter!), but we had the course to ourselves.
A small gift shop by the first tee appeared to have some discs for sale, but it was closed today.
Cons: Tee signs- Most tee signs were down when I played (possibly for the winter season) so I was a bit unsure of hole distances.
This course was very well thought out…..if I had 1 complaint on course design, I would have tried to incorporate at least a couple true par 4's or even a long par 5.
Other Thoughts: I think 4 is a very fair rating for this course. Stretching out a few holes to true Par 4 or 5 lengths (Par being what an expert would expect to score) could boost my rating to 4.5.
Given this course was one of the higher rated courses within an hrs drive from Columbus, IN my wife and I gave it a try. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and serenity of the property. We will definitely be back!
The cost is $5/round or $8/all day. I personally have no issues paying $5-8 to play a well thought-out, 4+ star caliber course and thought the cost was well worth the fun afternoon the course provided us.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Diamond in the Rough

5+    11/29/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a beautiful setting. I rate this an excellent course because it has alot of character. There are no boring holes, and I feel each hole has its own unique way of making you use various skills. The front 7 being mostly open and then going into the woods gives it an awesome arrangement. I love the downhill tee-offs this course offers. I'm not the best at throwing uphill for sure, but there are a couple of those, too.
Cons: There are alot of large thornbushes. It's not necessarily the course's fault. I guess I should take the blame for throwing discs into them. :)
Other Thoughts: I'm looking forward to playing competitively on this course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

1    11/14/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: Warrick1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked course with open field holes to start and then more challenging ones to finish. The holes are fun to play and easy to follow. The woods section is challenging with some narrow fairways and many elevation changes. The first 6-7 holes play around some fields and are good warm-ups. The rest of the course is in the woods.
Cons: Tee boxes need work. They are composed of small, hard packed gravel and several were washing away. If the ground is wet the woods section would be pretty muddy. We played under dry conditions and it was fine. Tee signs also need work.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun and challenging course to play and worth the $5 fee and drive from Indy. The farm has many other activities as well and would be a great place for a family day out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

1    4/5/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: tom_kovach
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Boondocks Farm has created an excellent 18 hole course for South Central Indiana by making great use of the natural woods and drastic elevation changes. Many of the holes have substanial elevation declines with somewhat narrow paths that make for some really amazing downward shots on hole.
- Nice mixture of shots
- Alternate Tee shots
-Well Marked Course
-Signs with hole placement

Great hike through some nice woods after a few wide open holes at the beginning to get you warmed up. Pay the "honor" $5 bucks b/c its well worth it.
Cons: The course has the holes marked with designated par's, but these seemed pretty giving. Usually I play all holes par 3 to avoid confusion, but this course makes it difficult for some holes to get there in 3, but are managebale on a good toss. I scored -12 by course par, but 2+ by all 3's. I'd like to know how the locals play it.

-Watch where disc goes when get in the woods b/c there are some blind holes and deep drops in elevation
- Thick briars prevelant
- Gravel tees, but in good condition
Other Thoughts: A must play course if you are in this area or Indianapolis (just about 30 min max from I465/ I70). It is right off I70 and easy to find. We need more courses like Boondocks to continue to increase popularity of disc in the region. I will be back to play there again very soon.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  A round with no headaches

2-4    4/20/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: ProverbPete
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A well marked course that flows together perfectly. There are signs for every pro tee, marking pars along with a hole map. To reduce confusion between holes, Boondocks farm has constructed wooden signs pointing you in the direction to the next tee.This course mixes distance with shorter more technical wooded shots.The front seven holes are more open field drives, with a couple of spider-web type trees jutting out from the tree line. There is enough distance on a couple of the front seven baskets to really be able to open up and rip it. Hole eight welcomes you to the woods with ferocity. The next 10 baskets make this course worth the drive. (right around an hour from myself) There is a mixture of shots which forces you to get creative. There are hooks right, left, great elevation changes and just diversity in general. Really a hell of a lot of fun. Pro shop next to Tee 1 with cold beverages and some discs fro sale if you shank one too far into the woods.
Cons: Some of the back 11 holes are a little short, but the trees make up for it in difficulty. Not many problems, course designer made great use of the land available to him. Front 7 could use some more diversity. Wish the tees were concrete, but you get used to the gravel.
Other Thoughts: While getting ready to play our second round of the day, happened to notice multiple Superbowl winner Adam Vinatieri just chewing the fat with the shop keep. Apparently he had just finished shooting in an archery contest that Boondocks Farm was hosting earlier that morning. Pretty cool as I am a huge Colts fan.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Why Pay So Much?

1    3/6/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: Discsloth
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: You get the fields and then the woods. You get to rip it and then go tech. I love this type of course.
Cons: 8 bucks! Are you joking? This will run off most D golfers. LOWER the costs, please. Or make it free!

Around Halloween there are ghosts and caskets and sheets and crap. It really screws up the disc golf and you would be a fool to pay around then to play.
Other Thoughts: Could be awesome if 2 bucks to play.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    6/7/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: Victory33
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2009
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good distance shots, decent elevation changes, First 7 holes are pretty open, the rest are heavily wooded, challenging course, variety of different shots (Doglegs, tunnel shots, etc.). Pro and Am Tee Pads on most holes. Open putting tee for practice. Course navigates fairly easily and each hole brings something new.
Cons: *Suggested* Pay course, easy to lose discs in wooded area without spotters, some really thick bushes in wooded area. Almost too many trees on some shots, but most holes have a line to take.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course, it is a trip from Indianapolis, but well worth it. Lots of variety, which forces you to use different shots. Might want to wear some thin pants in the woods, thorn bushes and such.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.