Kingsport, TN
Borden Park Share
Uploaded By: prerube Hole #11 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / --   3 / 188ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Adequate

5+    9/15/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: lammersk
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to get to if you are around Kingsport and you want to try out disc golf.
Cons: 1. No signs showing the layout of a hole.
2. No signs showing how to get to the next hole.
3. Most of the baskets are unmarked and those marked have a small number painted on the pole.
4. When I played there were a number of trees with white markings on them that made me wonder if they were supposed to be mandatories. One definitely was, but I still don't know about the others.
5. More than once, I threw at a basket from the tee and when I got to my disc looked up and saw two baskets that could actually be the one I should be throwing at.
Other Thoughts: This is not a terrible course. Download the map from here and take it with you because you will need it.

Experienced golfers will bypass this in favor of Winged Deer or Warriors Path. Serious beginners would be better served driving to Steele Creek or maybe even making the trek to Sugar Hill.

I've been disc golfing for less than six months and started out at this course. If it was better marked it would be maybe a point higher, but it was frustrating having to pull out the map to try to figure out where to go next or which basket to throw at. Of the 5 courses I rotate through, this ranks lowest - behind Winged Deer, Steele Creek, Warriors Path and Sugar Hill.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short Course, Perfect for Beginners

5+    7/11/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very short, most holes between 150 and 220 feet. Longest hole 253 feet.
- Every hole is a Par 3 which makes score-keeping easy to remember.
- Only few holes with heavy tree hazards.
- If you aren't looking for a challenge, this course is for you!
Cons: - Difficult to navigate. There are no signs or trails pointing to next hole.
- Be weary of weather conditions; if it rained recently this course will hold water for a few days.
- Located in a rough part of town.
- Poor course management. e.g. grass rarely mowed and fallen trees remain
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I ever played and, as a beginner at the time, helped me build driving and putting skills. Great course to bring a friend who is a young player and may need help navigating from hole to hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Borden Park

5+    7/5/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: bigegan18
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for having fun with friends and just enjoying playng disc golf.
Great place to introduce new players to the game.
Course is short, so you can play 2 rounds without feeling exhausted.
Good course to work on mid-range and putter throws.
Cons: Course lacks course layout and signage on holes.
Advanced players may not like the lack of challenge.
Course holds water badly.
Other Thoughts: Borden Park is a good short course to warm up for a course like Warrior's Path or to just have a good time playing. Great course to bring new players to play for the first time. The course isn't very challenging, which new players will enjoy, but advanced players may not. The course needs to have signs installed at the tees showing the layout of each hole. Since this isn't a big course, the holes come close to one another at a few locations and can get confusing as to which target is the correct one for the hole you're playing. This course also holds water pretty badly so after a good reain it is like a swamp.
Overall though Borden is a good short course to play and have a good time with friends and family. It may not be a challenging course, but it does it's job perfectly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Has a Place in the World of DG

1    6/10/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Fills a Niche. Not every course in the world needs to be championship level. Beginner friendly, kid friendly courses that help introduce players to the game and give them somewhere to go where they can build their game and get to a level where they can then successfully visit other, harder courses are important to the sport of disc golf. This is especially true of the Johnson City / Kingsport area where there are several championship level courses available.
- Different Level Players can have fun there together. For example: My girlfriend loved this course because she could Par almost everything and even got some birdies… while I enjoyed the putter/midrange practice and ACE RUNS.
Cons:
- The Ghetto. From what I could tell -- by visual inspection of most of the other park patrons (especially the non-disc golfing public) -- this park is in Kingsport's ghetto. Not that that's a scary place… but still, watch your valuables in your car.
- Run Down / OLD. Everything about the park looked run down or old. The tee-sign posts were sun-baked and heavily graffitied with Ace announcements and other lesser desirable messages. The baskets looked older than almost any baskets I've ever seen, and a few of them were damaged (bent, leaning, missing chains).
Other Thoughts:
- Pitch-N-Putt. I played the course with an Aviar, Roc and my putter (Legacy Clutch). I shot a -12 with 3 missed putts. I only state to illustrate the pitch-n-putt nature of the course. I could have used a few other discs to shape shots on a few of the holes, but didn't want to carry the extra weight.
Simply put, if you're an advanced player, Borden is a great place to practice your upshots / drives with putters, etc… If you're a beginner, Borden would be a great place to learn the sport of disc golf.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Borden Park

5+    4/20/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: Prototype
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very short course within the city. The thing that I like the most about this course is that you can really learn your mid range and putters here. If you want to work on driving the said discs this is the course for you. Another pro for this course is that it is close to everything in Kingsport.
Cons: When it rains, stay away from this course. It holds water and you will get muddy. It is very short and sometimes hard to tell which basket to throw to.
Other Thoughts: Nice place to take some one who is just beginning. This is also a confidence building course. Very nice contrast to Warriors Path disc golf course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 More fun than challenging

1    5/29/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Borden Park is a decent little course. It doesn't offer a lot of challenge, but it does provide some fun holes.
- There are some decent holes here. The biggest obstacle throughout the course is trees. Course is relatively flat with only several holes having slight elevation. A couple holes are doglegs (including an extreme dogleg right on #17) or have mandos, which add to the challenge. The back nine is more challenging than the back. One of the biggest obstacles, and an unintended one at that, is a large tree that fell down about 20 feet in front of the basket for #11. I'm guessing the tree will soon be removed, but for the time being, it makes this hole just a little more challenging.
- Lots of birdie chances and ace runs. Accuracy is more important than distance, so leave the drivers in the bag. Longest hole is 253 feet, with holes averaging slightly more than 200 feet.
- Great course for beginners. On the Sunday afternoon I played, the course was getting a fair amount of play, including a couple and their two young children.
- Great compliment to Warriors Path. This is almost the complete opposite of that course, so most players should fine their niche in either of these courses.
- Course, for the most part, gets better from beginning to end. Back nine is much better than the front with more challenging holes and much better layouts.
- Very nice, clean park which appears to get lots of usage. Course uses most of the park, and for the most part, doesn't interfere with other park users.
Cons: The biggest issue is the lack of signage. There are hole number posts at each tee pad, but that's it. Many holes play close to each other, and most baskets are missing hole numbers. The course map is decent, but even using one, a buddy and I played one hole to the wrong basket because several are so close together. Next tee signs or hole numbers on the baskets would help the problem.
- There's an overall lack of difficulty here. Advanced players aren't going to be challenged, and may dislike it.
- A few too many open holes for my taste. On one hand there aren't too many, so it could be worse. On the other hand, the first two holes & #18 are all open, so you begin and end your rounds with a thud.
- Course has poor drainage. There had been a heavy rain three or four days earlier, but there were still areas that were very muddy. It reminded me of the old front 9 at Orangeburg, SC, which had to be pulled for getting flooded too often after heavy rains.
Other Thoughts: I had little to no expectations for this course, but I was surprised how much I enjoyed it. Sure, I'd just finished a grueling round at Warriors Path, but I was still impressed this course had a decent "fun factor."
- As stated above, I was impressed how well this course played off of Warriors Path. This is a nice warm-up or cool down after hitting up Kingsport's signature course. Any frustrations you have from that course can be eased with a string of birdies here.
- #15 was a good to very-good hole. It's a 241 foot slight downhill shot that has both a right and left-side route to the basket, which is blanketed by a tree. This is the only hole that truly requires a good shot to put you in birdie range. Overall, the stretch of #14 - #17 is the best part of this course. Each hole offers something different - #14 (slightly uphill shot), #15, #16 (dogleg left with low ceiling under branches) & #17 (sharp dogleg left).
- Nothing too special, but Borden does its thing pretty well. Add the tee signs and arrows, and there will be no problems. Obviously, Warriors Path is the must play, but if you have time, check out Borden

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course

1    7/19/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: gcanter2376
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy short holes. Some required someskill to avoid a tree or other hazard. Good for beginners.
-Lots of birdie opportunities.
Not much chance to lose disc.
Cons: -Very short. I dont recall one hole I couldnt play with just my mid-range or putter.
- Do not go after a rain. It turns to a swamp.
-I got the feeling I was playing in the ghetto.
- No holes that really peaked my interest.
-As small as it is its really hard to navigate to next teepad.
-Lots of holes are to close. Very easy to throw at someone on another whole.
Other Thoughts: Borden is not a bad place for beginners. Not much going on for players with any skill. My friend decribed it as a putt putt type disc golf course. Use your putter and throw around a few obstacles.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Frustration without challenge

2-4    6/22/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads and posts that told the distance to the baskets
- A handful of well designed holes that required some thought no shot
- Aces and birdie opportunities, I am a mediocre player and I deuced half of the holes finishing 8 under par.
- Nice place to take beginnners
- little chance of disc loss.
Cons: - Flow was rough, It felt like the course twisted into itself numerous times with no real direction. The baskets either need larger numbers or the tees need tee signs with pictures, also the baskets need an indicator for what direction the next tee is, for such a small open course it was hard to find the next tee. maybe spray paint the top post that points in the direction of the next tee.
- A lot of straight open shots with little difficulty and little variety.
- Tee pads are too short.
- Some baskets are in rough shape, the worst is11 which is dented and listing to the left.

Other Thoughts: The description of the course says challenge without frustration, I think it was the other way around. Course was very frustrating and scoring well under par was simple.

Better holes on the course:
5) 201 ft straight shot over a small rocky ditch, first hole that began to look interesting
7) 200 ft straight shot with the tee under low branches
12) 245 ft straight shot with some trees in the way. Played twice, both times this was my only bogey.
14) 167 ft uphill shot that uses a large fallen tree to protect the right side.
15) 241 slight right down hill with the basket slightly back up the hill. This hole should have a mando to prevent the easy shot. This is also the only hole with chance of disc loss.
16) 198 ft straight shot with the dense canopy forcing you to stay low and flat.
18) 207 ft. straight shot trees force you to stay low on the right, or you can go high or flat to the left.

Worst holes:
9) Tee faces basket 10. When you finish 9 you are standing right next to basket 10 wondering where the heck the tee pad could possibly be, I was tempted to skip right to tee pad 11 which was right next to the basket.
17) It's just a 140ft sharp right turn, you have to stand on the basket sideways to see the tee.

(photos added)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Random holes in a park

2-4    7/16/2009   5/27/2010
Review By: agouge
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good place for new players to learn. It can be fun to play a course like this once in awhile for a nice confidence booster. There are some trees.
Cons: The first time you play this course it is hard to follow the course. This is because the course has no flow or idenity. Too often you seem like you are playing the same hole, a 200 feet hole with one or two trees in between you and the basket. They are not many holes that you step up to the teebox and see a fun or exciting hole.
Other Thoughts: I am not giving the low rating because this course is short or a beginner course. I am giving it a low rating because the course lacks and idenity and after you have been playing over one month or so there is just no reason to come out here when the area has courses that are more interesting to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 There's nothing wrong with a short course

5+    3/20/2010   3/20/2010
Review By: KMorgan
Played: 68  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Its short, but beginner friendly. Everyone needs a place to start and this is perfect.
concrete tees, numbered posts, and available maps online for first-timers.
Cons: For those looking for more challenge this might not be as fun. However, there are alternate tees on some course maps that definitely make it more impressive.

Biggest problem is water. Drainage is very poor and the first 3/4 holes get very squishy after a few rainy days.
Other Thoughts: I started out on this course and still hit it up whenever I can. yea there is the bias of being a local, but the love of the sport also really cant let me give this course a bad rating. I throw around 400+, but still find this course to be the most enjoyable. If you really love and appreciate disc golf you wont be dissapointed.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.