Kingsport, TN
Borden Park Share
Uploaded By: prerube Hole #3 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / --   3 / 201ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short Course, Perfect for Beginners

5+    7/11/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very short, most holes between 150 and 220 feet. Longest hole 253 feet.
- Every hole is a Par 3 which makes score-keeping easy to remember.
- Only few holes with heavy tree hazards.
- If you aren't looking for a challenge, this course is for you!
Cons: - Difficult to navigate. There are no signs or trails pointing to next hole.
- Be weary of weather conditions; if it rained recently this course will hold water for a few days.
- Located in a rough part of town.
- Poor course management. e.g. grass rarely mowed and fallen trees remain
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I ever played and, as a beginner at the time, helped me build driving and putting skills. Great course to bring a friend who is a young player and may need help navigating from hole to hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Has a Place in the World of DG

1    6/10/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Fills a Niche. Not every course in the world needs to be championship level. Beginner friendly, kid friendly courses that help introduce players to the game and give them somewhere to go where they can build their game and get to a level where they can then successfully visit other, harder courses are important to the sport of disc golf. This is especially true of the Johnson City / Kingsport area where there are several championship level courses available.
- Different Level Players can have fun there together. For example: My girlfriend loved this course because she could Par almost everything and even got some birdies… while I enjoyed the putter/midrange practice and ACE RUNS.
Cons:
- The Ghetto. From what I could tell -- by visual inspection of most of the other park patrons (especially the non-disc golfing public) -- this park is in Kingsport's ghetto. Not that that's a scary place… but still, watch your valuables in your car.
- Run Down / OLD. Everything about the park looked run down or old. The tee-sign posts were sun-baked and heavily graffitied with Ace announcements and other lesser desirable messages. The baskets looked older than almost any baskets I've ever seen, and a few of them were damaged (bent, leaning, missing chains).
Other Thoughts:
- Pitch-N-Putt. I played the course with an Aviar, Roc and my putter (Legacy Clutch). I shot a -12 with 3 missed putts. I only state to illustrate the pitch-n-putt nature of the course. I could have used a few other discs to shape shots on a few of the holes, but didn't want to carry the extra weight.
Simply put, if you're an advanced player, Borden is a great place to practice your upshots / drives with putters, etc… If you're a beginner, Borden would be a great place to learn the sport of disc golf.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 More fun than challenging

1    5/29/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Borden Park is a decent little course. It doesn't offer a lot of challenge, but it does provide some fun holes.
- There are some decent holes here. The biggest obstacle throughout the course is trees. Course is relatively flat with only several holes having slight elevation. A couple holes are doglegs (including an extreme dogleg right on #17) or have mandos, which add to the challenge. The back nine is more challenging than the back. One of the biggest obstacles, and an unintended one at that, is a large tree that fell down about 20 feet in front of the basket for #11. I'm guessing the tree will soon be removed, but for the time being, it makes this hole just a little more challenging.
- Lots of birdie chances and ace runs. Accuracy is more important than distance, so leave the drivers in the bag. Longest hole is 253 feet, with holes averaging slightly more than 200 feet.
- Great course for beginners. On the Sunday afternoon I played, the course was getting a fair amount of play, including a couple and their two young children.
- Great compliment to Warriors Path. This is almost the complete opposite of that course, so most players should fine their niche in either of these courses.
- Course, for the most part, gets better from beginning to end. Back nine is much better than the front with more challenging holes and much better layouts.
- Very nice, clean park which appears to get lots of usage. Course uses most of the park, and for the most part, doesn't interfere with other park users.
Cons: The biggest issue is the lack of signage. There are hole number posts at each tee pad, but that's it. Many holes play close to each other, and most baskets are missing hole numbers. The course map is decent, but even using one, a buddy and I played one hole to the wrong basket because several are so close together. Next tee signs or hole numbers on the baskets would help the problem.
- There's an overall lack of difficulty here. Advanced players aren't going to be challenged, and may dislike it.
- A few too many open holes for my taste. On one hand there aren't too many, so it could be worse. On the other hand, the first two holes & #18 are all open, so you begin and end your rounds with a thud.
- Course has poor drainage. There had been a heavy rain three or four days earlier, but there were still areas that were very muddy. It reminded me of the old front 9 at Orangeburg, SC, which had to be pulled for getting flooded too often after heavy rains.
Other Thoughts: I had little to no expectations for this course, but I was surprised how much I enjoyed it. Sure, I'd just finished a grueling round at Warriors Path, but I was still impressed this course had a decent "fun factor."
- As stated above, I was impressed how well this course played off of Warriors Path. This is a nice warm-up or cool down after hitting up Kingsport's signature course. Any frustrations you have from that course can be eased with a string of birdies here.
- #15 was a good to very-good hole. It's a 241 foot slight downhill shot that has both a right and left-side route to the basket, which is blanketed by a tree. This is the only hole that truly requires a good shot to put you in birdie range. Overall, the stretch of #14 - #17 is the best part of this course. Each hole offers something different - #14 (slightly uphill shot), #15, #16 (dogleg left with low ceiling under branches) & #17 (sharp dogleg left).
- Nothing too special, but Borden does its thing pretty well. Add the tee signs and arrows, and there will be no problems. Obviously, Warriors Path is the must play, but if you have time, check out Borden

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course

1    7/19/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: gcanter2376
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy short holes. Some required someskill to avoid a tree or other hazard. Good for beginners.
-Lots of birdie opportunities.
Not much chance to lose disc.
Cons: -Very short. I dont recall one hole I couldnt play with just my mid-range or putter.
- Do not go after a rain. It turns to a swamp.
-I got the feeling I was playing in the ghetto.
- No holes that really peaked my interest.
-As small as it is its really hard to navigate to next teepad.
-Lots of holes are to close. Very easy to throw at someone on another whole.
Other Thoughts: Borden is not a bad place for beginners. Not much going on for players with any skill. My friend decribed it as a putt putt type disc golf course. Use your putter and throw around a few obstacles.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Frustration without challenge

2-4    6/22/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads and posts that told the distance to the baskets
- A handful of well designed holes that required some thought no shot
- Aces and birdie opportunities, I am a mediocre player and I deuced half of the holes finishing 8 under par.
- Nice place to take beginnners
- little chance of disc loss.
Cons: - Flow was rough, It felt like the course twisted into itself numerous times with no real direction. The baskets either need larger numbers or the tees need tee signs with pictures, also the baskets need an indicator for what direction the next tee is, for such a small open course it was hard to find the next tee. maybe spray paint the top post that points in the direction of the next tee.
- A lot of straight open shots with little difficulty and little variety.
- Tee pads are too short.
- Some baskets are in rough shape, the worst is11 which is dented and listing to the left.

Other Thoughts: The description of the course says challenge without frustration, I think it was the other way around. Course was very frustrating and scoring well under par was simple.

Better holes on the course:
5) 201 ft straight shot over a small rocky ditch, first hole that began to look interesting
7) 200 ft straight shot with the tee under low branches
12) 245 ft straight shot with some trees in the way. Played twice, both times this was my only bogey.
14) 167 ft uphill shot that uses a large fallen tree to protect the right side.
15) 241 slight right down hill with the basket slightly back up the hill. This hole should have a mando to prevent the easy shot. This is also the only hole with chance of disc loss.
16) 198 ft straight shot with the dense canopy forcing you to stay low and flat.
18) 207 ft. straight shot trees force you to stay low on the right, or you can go high or flat to the left.

Worst holes:
9) Tee faces basket 10. When you finish 9 you are standing right next to basket 10 wondering where the heck the tee pad could possibly be, I was tempted to skip right to tee pad 11 which was right next to the basket.
17) It's just a 140ft sharp right turn, you have to stand on the basket sideways to see the tee.

(photos added)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short, fun, and relaxing

1    7/21/2009   1/30/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course is in a nice city park. There are 18 tees, signs, and baskets that are all sufficient for play. Each hole is well-designed with isolated trees and ditches as obstacles. The holes begin to get a little repetitive on the front 9, but the back does have some variety- including #17 which is only 140' but the hole is a complete 180 degree anhyzer for RHBH throwers!

Every hole is relatively short by today's standards and there is no undergrowth or rough, but that makes this a great course: 1) for practicing mids and putts, 2) for having a relaxing round with your friends, and 3) for beginners, amateurs, casual players, and families to have a great disc golf experience.

Again, this a great course to introduce someone to disc golf, to practice your skills, and to have fun. There are multiple chances for birdies and aces for players of all skill levels.
Cons: Navigation was somewhat tricky in a few spots. There are multiple baskets and tees in view from everywhere, so it is hard sometimes to know which basket you are throwing at and which is the next tee the first time you play. It is not too hard to figure out, but I would recommend taking a map (found under the links tab on this site and also at www.lakefrontdiscgolf.com ).

This course is very popular and can get pretty crowded in a hurry. The course itself is not too crammed when you factor in the amount of space given, but it can feel a little crowded when busy. Also, since there is not much separating fairways, and the holes are short, you will always see and hear lots of other players during evenings and weekends especially. You will also have to look out for other park users- I especially remember a picnic shelter being dangerously close to hole #5's basket.
Other Thoughts: As far as comparing this to all courses in the world, it is pretty simple and basic. Most people would eventually grow bored with it over time and would want to move to more challenging courses (which is great that there are other options in this area.) But... as far as courses of this style and purpose go, this is an excellent one. (It would be nice to have a course like this close to my home for taking out the wife, kids, first timers, etc.)

I had a lot of fun on this course as it allows for a much more relaxed round (compared to courses like close by Warriors Path).

Beginners, families, and casual players- this is a perfect course for you. Experienced players and pros- you will have fun seeing how low you can go.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/27/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: b_rad44
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great for beginners or family play
Cons: confusing hole layout, easy to get lost, hole fairways overlap, very wet
Other Thoughts: Though I would not personally go back for a round, would be great for a creative date or outing with the kids

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/14/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: Mando
Played: 92  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you live in Kingsport, the course is a nice, centrally-located place to practice.
Visually appealing, park-like stand of big hardwoods. The course is a short drive from Warriors Path, so it makes for a nice combo in Kingsport.
Cons: Short and lacking variety.
Other Thoughts: The Tri-Cities now has 4 courses with the other two being Winged Deer and Steele's Creek.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.