Kingsport, TN 
Borden Park Share
Uploaded By: prerube Hole #5 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / --   3 / 201ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 There's nothing wrong with a short course

5+    3/20/2010   3/20/2010
Review By: KMorgan
Played: 68  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Its short, but beginner friendly. Everyone needs a place to start and this is perfect.
concrete tees, numbered posts, and available maps online for first-timers.
Cons: For those looking for more challenge this might not be as fun. However, there are alternate tees on some course maps that definitely make it more impressive.

Biggest problem is water. Drainage is very poor and the first 3/4 holes get very squishy after a few rainy days.
Other Thoughts: I started out on this course and still hit it up whenever I can. yea there is the bias of being a local, but the love of the sport also really cant let me give this course a bad rating. I throw around 400+, but still find this course to be the most enjoyable. If you really love and appreciate disc golf you wont be dissapointed.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/19/2009   3/19/2010
Review By: tyedyeteebyrd
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Simple and short course good for beginners
Cons: Confusing lay out you can stand on one tee and see 3 holes you can easily throw to nasty mud pits and ditches. The one on the last hole stunk.
Other Thoughts: If you like short easy courses then this course is for you. Bring a map though you'll need it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short, fun, and relaxing

1    7/21/2009   1/30/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course is in a nice city park. There are 18 tees, signs, and baskets that are all sufficient for play. Each hole is well-designed with isolated trees and ditches as obstacles. The holes begin to get a little repetitive on the front 9, but the back does have some variety- including #17 which is only 140' but the hole is a complete 180 degree anhyzer for RHBH throwers!

Every hole is relatively short by today's standards and there is no undergrowth or rough, but that makes this a great course: 1) for practicing mids and putts, 2) for having a relaxing round with your friends, and 3) for beginners, amateurs, casual players, and families to have a great disc golf experience.

Again, this a great course to introduce someone to disc golf, to practice your skills, and to have fun. There are multiple chances for birdies and aces for players of all skill levels.
Cons: Navigation was somewhat tricky in a few spots. There are multiple baskets and tees in view from everywhere, so it is hard sometimes to know which basket you are throwing at and which is the next tee the first time you play. It is not too hard to figure out, but I would recommend taking a map (found under the links tab on this site and also at www.lakefrontdiscgolf.com ).

This course is very popular and can get pretty crowded in a hurry. The course itself is not too crammed when you factor in the amount of space given, but it can feel a little crowded when busy. Also, since there is not much separating fairways, and the holes are short, you will always see and hear lots of other players during evenings and weekends especially. You will also have to look out for other park users- I especially remember a picnic shelter being dangerously close to hole #5's basket.
Other Thoughts: As far as comparing this to all courses in the world, it is pretty simple and basic. Most people would eventually grow bored with it over time and would want to move to more challenging courses (which is great that there are other options in this area.) But... as far as courses of this style and purpose go, this is an excellent one. (It would be nice to have a course like this close to my home for taking out the wife, kids, first timers, etc.)

I had a lot of fun on this course as it allows for a much more relaxed round (compared to courses like close by Warriors Path).

Beginners, families, and casual players- this is a perfect course for you. Experienced players and pros- you will have fun seeing how low you can go.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/27/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: b_rad44
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great for beginners or family play
Cons: confusing hole layout, easy to get lost, hole fairways overlap, very wet
Other Thoughts: Though I would not personally go back for a round, would be great for a creative date or outing with the kids

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/5/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: tnbruisers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course for new players or younger children.
Holes are short.
Hard to lose a disc.
Cons: Short tee pads.
Course set-up is confusing at times.
Course was very wet.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fun course to practice on or to take the kids to play on. Will visit this course again.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 C = As average as the come

5+    5/11/2005   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bogs and Birds

1    4/10/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Any beginner-suitable course with minimal chance to lose a disc is a good thing.

Tees marked by large numbered posts with distances on them. Short concrete teepads (mostly) help orient you towards next basket,

Map at http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../ed1c8410.pdf was very useful for following the course.

Ace/birdie/work on your ~200' approach shots for experienced players.

Near amenities.
Cons: Since the course is in a neighbourhood park, some holes play near pavilions and a walking path.

Since the bulk of the course is below street level, it is very flat, and the ground becomes, and stays, very saturated - wear waterproof boots, and certainly have a towel to clean your discs!

Can't see the basket numbers from the tees, so at times it becomes confusing which basket to throw towards (hence the need for the aforementioned map).
Other Thoughts: Holes range in distance from 140' to 253', with 2/3rds of them falling in the 175'-225' range. A couple large trees near the basket are the typical obstacles.

For players familiar with Calvert near DC, this course is similar but with 1/3rd the trees, 1/3rd the tees, and 3x the water saturation.

Good starter course for local beginners and practice course for those more experienced, but probably not worth the diversion for someone travelling in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/14/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: Mando
Played: 100  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: If you live in Kingsport, the course is a nice, centrally-located place to practice.
Visually appealing, park-like stand of big hardwoods. The course is a short drive from Warriors Path, so it makes for a nice combo in Kingsport.
Cons: Short and lacking variety.
Other Thoughts: The Tri-Cities now has 4 courses with the other two being Winged Deer and Steele's Creek.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

5+    7/10/2008   2/3/2009
Review By: ThrowTennesseeDCM
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Place for beginners to start and practice or for experienced players to work on their short game.
Cons: Horrible when its wet. like a big mud bowl. entire course can be played with putter.
Other Thoughts: This course is very well designed for the space allowed

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Little Course

1    11/24/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: readmedottext
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept, tees marked, central location. Rotary club did a great job setting up another course in the Kingsport area.
Cons: Course is just slightly confusing. The tees are well laid out and marked, along with distance, but they don't always follow each other, logically.
Other Thoughts: I don't live in Kingsport, havent in over 10 years, but it's nice to see this course. It's bordered by factories, including an abandoned textile mill, and housing that was originally provided by the factories for workers. This is a nice little course, and I will definately be back to play it again next time I am in town.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.