Easton, MA 
Borderland State Park Share
Uploaded By: Dean   (Taken 4/2011)
Practice Basket



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Borderland Bash

1    8/21/2014   9/13/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Borderlands State Park is super crazy awesome. The dual tee, and dual basket layout is the best I have seen at achieving a disc golf double helix, 18 holes that feels like 36. Instead of the white tee being on a similar line as the blue, but shorter distance, here they are frequently carved out on a separate line with a totally different look. Placement on every available tee area or pin location were skillfully chosen, this layout rocks. Tees were good, nicely done rubber mats, usually spacious and level. Very complete signage marking every tee. A pair of Chainstar baskets on every hole, white and blue. All were in good shape, as I recall. While the 4 configurations of each hole optimize versatility, the park is an ideal setting for disc golf. The course mixes in woods, with sometimes extremely rocky fairways, and grassy meadows and hills, with a few scattered trees. Elevation can be a factor, but usually in moderate amounts. Water is never a major issue. Playing the longest blue/blue layout would be epic, I chose to play a slightly less difficult white/blue layout. Did not fare too well. Finished with a 65, 1 over par. It is a short walk from the parking lot and the practice basket, past the visitor center to the first tee. From the first hole you know you're in for a treat. I can't give hole by hole breakdown, but they are all quality just about any angle. 2 is a monster par 5 on the blue pin. 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, and 15, were all cool, 3 being my favorite. The blue pin is on the edge of a boulder, and if you miss right side you are putting from the bottom of it 8 feet beneath the level of the pin. I did just that, and two putted for par. The rocky outcroppings and stone walls dividing parts of some holes are a great element.
Cons: Parking toll at park entrance $2. The front nine is interrupted by a long walk between holes 4 and 5. After 4, you walk past the 18th tee, across the grass, into the woods again. There are no trash cans, guests in the park should pack out their trash. Should but don't, litter was on the ground throughout. Not a ton, but way too much for a park this nice. Dogs must remain on a leash.
Other Thoughts: One or two average holes, majority good to great. Borderlands was fun and totally worth the visit. Rating of over 4 fully valid. A course that has complex and interesting personality.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not bad, odd criss crossing layout

1    8/3/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: jnicola
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good baskets
Relatively easy to navigate
Most tees are not excessively wooded
Lots of tee signs with measured distances
Multiple basket and tee combos scales course to any skill level and/or keeps course fresh.
Cons: Many tee/basket combos result in potential collision situations as the paths cross and cannot see each other. Watched a group almost huck into another group but fortunately they spotted a disc flying by.

Some baskets are heavily wooded and I could see easily losing a disc.

Many sections are used as shortcuts by wandering park goers.
Other Thoughts: I like what they tried to do with the multiple tee pads and baskets, but this opens up a fair bit of confusion and on a few holes risks of throwing at others.

A few holes are quite heavily wooded and throwing a disc off the fairway not only yields a wasted throw, but stands a good chance of causing you to lose the disc entirely.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

"I want my $2 !"

5+    6/19/2014   6/19/2014
Review By: HomemadeBasket
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two very well kept, level, rubber pads on each hole.
Two excellent condition baskets on each hole.
4 available layouts to challenge all skill levels.
Excellent layout, flow, and design of course.
Good blend of shots needed to score well here.
Fair lines and basket placement on each hole.
Course favors placement and approach much more than distance.
Practice basket and open field next to parking lot.
Clean, beautiful park, clean beautiful course.
Upkeep is very good here.
Plenty of parking, only $2 to park.
Drinking fountains available in season, bottle water for purchase outside bathrooms.
Bathrooms at hole one (ranger station).
Cons: Course takes on and retains water. Things can get muddy after rains.
No set par for alternate course layouts.
No water holes.
High volume of traffic at peak times.
High volume of rec players lacking etiquette.
Other Thoughts: Great course. I would pay $5 to $10 a day to play this gem. The 45min drive from my home is well worth the pleasure and peace I get from playing here. There really isn't a standout signature hole (Blue 2 maybe?) but that doesn't seem to matter. Each hole presents a different challenge in a very even and consistent manner. This is a solid 4 star course that will have you comparing the other coursers you play to it. If you are thinking about playing this one, stop thinking, pack your bag, and hit the tee.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful wooded course

1    6/18/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 88  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Set in an absolutely beautiful wooded state park.

2 rubber tee pads on each hole, with a tee sign for each. Tee signs are good, with distances to both baskets (see below), as well as accurate topography. I don't usually love rubber teepads, but these were almost all completely flat, and even a bit wet, they performed well.

2 different baskets on each hole (DGA and Discatcher). White/blue placement. I LOVE this concept. You can play this course in 4 different configurations, which offers a very high replay factor. All baskets caught well.

Navigation was pretty simple, with signs at nearly every hole pointing out the proper direction. Hole 4 to 5's transition is long, and not overly intuitive.

Heavily wooded course, but there were fair lines on every hole. Some were tight, but if you're throwing well that day, very satisfying to hit.

Brooms on nearly every hole to sweep off the tee pads was a nice touch.

Great course for all skill levels, as the white/white configuration isn't overly long.

Decent elevation changes in many spots, although no "top o' the world" shots are found here.
Cons: Not many to speak of.

Rubber tee pads aren't the greatest, but these are about as good as they get.

$2 for parking, but it's a pittance for what you're getting. If anything, it probably helps to keep the chuckers away.

No water in play here (with the exception of some marshy areas).
Other Thoughts: This is probably one of my new favorite courses. If you prefer open courses, this probably won't be your cup of tea.

Parking is ample here.

Lost disc box near the visitor center.

In my opinion, this is a must play if you're in the area. Be prepared to hike a bit, though, as the terrain is rough. Lots of rocks and boulders to be found. Wear good shoes!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lucky to live nearby

5+    3/16/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: Tuckerman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full disclosure: I am a beginner player and this is my home course. Consider this an addendum to the reviews written by more experienced players.

The setting is beautiful. You could spend a whole day hiking, biking, golfing, napping, and learning the history of the Ames family. (The owners of the original estate.) The disc golf course takes you through only a small part of it.

The course is challenging, without being daunting. You'll need to make a wide variety of throws to have a good game, but there are safe landing zones for short distance throwers. Some undergrowth can be prickly or cause rashes. It is well-managed on the fairways, but grows like crazy in out-of-bounds areas. Tees and baskets are well maintained. See other reviews for details.

The white and blue fairways overlap. This gives players the options of playing pure white or true blue, along with blight and whue if you mix them.

Technically, there is a yellow course. However, there are no permanent tees for it. It is marked with painted wood blocks in the fairways. It is suitable for first-timers, young children, or that girlfriend who is curious about what you're doing with your Sunday mornings.

Lots of skilled players to learn from.

There's a practice basket near the parking lot. If you get there before the day campers, you can warm up your arm with long throws over a wide-open field.
Cons: Trash. Trash is becoming an issue. I'm the guy with the labrador pup. (Apologies if the mouthy little brat has nibbled your throwing hand.) He has chewed about a hundred coffee cups and three glass beer bottles. It is not fun trying to get shards of broken glass out of a frisky puppy's maw. There are barrels in the picnic areas. A short detour after holes 1, 4, 7, and 18 will bring you to them.

While there are brooms (and snow shovels) at most every hole, many need replacing. The rain and weather has rotted the bristles or the joints connecting the head to the handle.

**Edit** Several of the brooms have been replaced. Many of the tees have been rebuilt with crushed stone under the rubber matts. A few holes have new plank walkways over the swampy bits. This course just keeps getting better and better.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    8/23/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 29  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 2 quality rubber tees and 2 permanent baskets on every hole, so there is plenty of variety in distance, as well as hole shape, as the baskets and tees are often in very different places. The setup is almost like 4 different courses if you wanted to play each combination. There are both open and wooded shots, requiring a variety of shots. Nice tee signs at each set of tees, but they only provide information for white-white or blue-blue. Set in a scenic, well-maintained park with nice amenities at the parking lot. Some fun rock formations near the baskets on a couple of the holes. Nice boardwalks across the wetlands between holes. The more open holes had nice mowed-grass fairways.
Cons: Pace of play is a little slow due to crowds. Course navigation was a little tricky for a first timer, especially the walk from #4 to #5 and also between #17 and #18, but if you pay attention to the tee signs, there are next tee indicators there, and usually additional indicators near the baskets, but when you forget to look at the tee sign for where the next tee is, you sometimes need to pause to look for the next tee. There was also a fair amount of poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: I only played white-white, and really enjoyed the course layout. There was plenty of variety in the holes, and felt the course was a lot of fun. Having looked at the teeshots from some of the blue tees, it looked to be very challenging. A couple of the teeshots I almost laughed at, but if you want a challenge, it looked like the blue tees would be great for that. There are a couple of very long as well as very technical holes in the blue layout. The white-white layout was great for a quick round, as I did not have a lot of time, and I don't really enjoy punishing myself on disc golf courses. For an amateur, white-white is still plenty challenging and requires decent execution for scoring opportunities. The 17th was a fun hole to look at, with the mansion straight in front of the hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

From Tee to Green

1    10/3/2013   10/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 200  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pros of Borderland: everything between the tees and the greens. This course is incredibly well-designed. It's hard to point out the great parts of the course because it's all great. It's hard to single out notable holes, because they're almost all notable.

Borderland features outstanding rubber tees and signs that give all the information that is needed.

Borderland features my favorite terrain: Wooded, with plenty of trees, and barely any brush. No pinball here. Every fairway features multiple lines that reward accurate throws but will punish misthrows with knockdowns and kickouts.

The quality is recognizable almost immediately. From the second hole, it becomes obvious that it's going to be at least 4 stars. It's that apparent that this course was designed with expertise.

Ok, I'll mention a few favorite holes since I can use it as an example of the brilliance that is featured throughout the course . 2 looks like a wide open bomb, and it is from the white tee to the white basket. From the blue tee, its a bomb after an early, narrow gap. Shoot the white tee to the blue basket and be prepared to send that bomb to a precise location if you want a decent look down the second part of the fairway towards the green. Shoot blue to blue? That's a damn hard hole. Four completely different looks at just one hole. And that's just one for example.

The other hole that has to be mentioned is 17. You emerge from the woods to fun yourself in the backyard of the 1910 stone mansion that the park is built around. From the blue tee the throw is straight towards the estate but fades to the right before climbing the hill to the structure. It would be an outstanding final hole. I wouldn't mind so much a longer walk to the parking lot from there, especially with so much course behind you to sink in.
Cons: The only reason, and really the only reason, that this course isn't a 4.5, is the stuff that happens from the basket to the tee. The issues are in large part due to the distances between the white and blue baskets, but that doesn't mean that there aren't many times where the navigation is not intuitive. Many times there are arrows that point towards the next tee. These completely fix most of the tricky situations, but there are a few times out there where a few more arrows along the longer routes would be helpful.

It doesn't completely help that there are a couple paths that cross each other, and it definitely does not help that there are two very long walks. The last one is particularly bad, as it leads from an incredible 17, a long way to a more forgettable 18. It's very anti-climactic, and I hate that you lose the chance to bask in 17 because you're entirely confuse about where 18.

The flow here, where it's broken isn't the biggest deal. It doesn't affect the enjoyment of the holes too much. To me it takes a 4.6/4.7 course, based on holes alone, down to around a 4.2.
Other Thoughts: Still, I feel that this is one course that would get better as it was played more. After taking advantage of all four possible layouts, I'm pretty sure I would not be able to deny granting it a 4.5. Amazing course, that I would make sure I played every time I was in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

1    8/17/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: Noahlearner
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long course with two baskets and teepads per hole.
-Challenging
-Scenic
-enjoyable changes in elevation
- enjoyed being able to throw all manner of hyzer and anhyzer shots.
- Great mix of open and tightly wooded shots
- great pin placements
Cons: Poor next tee signage. Generally speaking the next hole signage is difficult if playing the blue holes. I found that the blue tees were hard to find for a first timer. Hole three is very difficult to find from the blue basket on two.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the challenge and hope to par it next time. Loved it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course! Watch for Rocks-

1    8/13/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: dougo
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent course layout with different tee/basket combinations being challenging enough to replay several times in a day. I enjoyed the diverse pin locations and skill shots necessary to score well. Very upkept and the mansion is a beautiful side trip!!
Cons: Slow large groups block play but normally are courteous enough to let people play through. Course map is useless, please make larger and not so grainy!!
Other Thoughts: Overall awesome course, only pet peeve is with the players not the course...if you're experienced enough to carry 20+ discs play from the blues and stop bragging about -10 rounds from the whites! Free up the whites for inexperienced players to have some fun!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Borderland

5+    6/16/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: Matt DeAngelis
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Two sets of Fly Pads on every hole with two sets of pins means a wide variety of layouts can be played. If an issue exists on the course it is taken care of immediately. The club puts all of it's money back into the course to keep up with improvements.
Cons: It gets really crowded with beginner players that play in large groups on the most difficult course. Often times that will be followed up with groups of 2 players that are playing the short course and want to play through every group.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.