Easton, MA 
Borderland State Park Share
Uploaded By: Dean Hole #3 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 310ft.   4 / 425ft.   3 / 325ft.   4 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not bad, odd criss crossing layout

1    8/3/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: jnicola
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good baskets
Relatively easy to navigate
Most tees are not excessively wooded
Lots of tee signs with measured distances
Multiple basket and tee combos scales course to any skill level and/or keeps course fresh.
Cons: Many tee/basket combos result in potential collision situations as the paths cross and cannot see each other. Watched a group almost huck into another group but fortunately they spotted a disc flying by.

Some baskets are heavily wooded and I could see easily losing a disc.

Many sections are used as shortcuts by wandering park goers.
Other Thoughts: I like what they tried to do with the multiple tee pads and baskets, but this opens up a fair bit of confusion and on a few holes risks of throwing at others.

A few holes are quite heavily wooded and throwing a disc off the fairway not only yields a wasted throw, but stands a good chance of causing you to lose the disc entirely.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Have I been here before?

1    8/18/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee positions. Long tees make a significant difference. They don't just add a few feet like at some courses. Course is in a large park with lots of trails, fields and activities. You could do a cookout and make a day out of a trip here.

Course plays mostly as a wooded technical course. There are some open shots, but the trees come into play most of the time. Lots of shade on a hot summer day is always nice.

Good variety of straight, left and right turning shots. I used all of my discs here. That kind of variety usually adds up to a nice round, and it did for me.

Good mix of challenging holes and holes where you have a real nice shot at the birdie. It wasn't an all day beat down.
Cons: No real elevation to speak of. There are a couple minor ups and downs, but nothing that will really impact your game.

Navigation was challenging. Luckily I caught up to a local guy after about 7 holes and he guided me the rest of the way. Bring a map if it's your first time, or you could do some wandering.

While this is a good, solid course, there probably only a few above average holes here. Not really any wow, that is cool or challenging looks from the teepad.
Other Thoughts: When I started playing #1 I thought I was at Nockamixon in PA. This course has the same rock strewn fairways I remember there. Several of these fairways will chew up your discs and beat up your feet. Wear good shoes and bring primo plastic. Woods and rocks. Everywhere.

I enjoyed my round here, and would recommend this course to anyone. It is just an all around solid course. The rubber tee pads were in great shape, and everything seemed very well maintained. Just don't show up expecting memorable shots or funky hole designs.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very Enjoyable Course In The State Park!

1    8/10/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Borderland is a nice well maintained course with a variety of holes from technical, wooded ones to some more wide open ones. For the most part the course is flat however there is some minor elevation to deal with. The course has very nice tee signs with all the useful information. The teepads are mostly rubber and there is usually a broom for sweeping them available at each hole. Having two baskets and two pads for each hole is a major positve when you're familiar with the course but it was a little confusing the first time out. The course and park itself is very scenic with the rock fences, the mansion, the rocky grounds in general, all in all, it's very New England like. It probably felt the most "New England" of the ten NE courses I played on this trip. The challenge would definitely be there playing from the blues to the blues.

# 1 gets my vote as the signature hole on this course. Although it has it's flaws (see cons) it's pretty and I always enjoy a good downhill toss.
You can see that a tremendous amount of time and effort has gone into the building of this course. All the pathways and boardwalks across the wetlands areas. The multiples pads, brooms, practice basket, etc. all contribute to the course enjoyment factor.
Cons: Despite all it's pros, Borderland is not without it's flaws. It's like the foxy blonde with the heavy makeup. She's hiding something underneath. Borderland's cons are numerous and everyone seems to mentions one or two and gloss the rest over. Well, I think they add up.

So here goes. First of all, I'd be very concerned about the wetlands here. All the boardwalks are here for a reason. This course would be very wet and soggy during much of the year.
Wet and soggy adds up to misquitos and lots of them!
The course is flat for the most part. It's missing the "Wow" factor. It doesn't have that EPIC hole. # 1 is a nice little downhill throw. I loved it but the Blues and the Whites are crossing fairways. That's never good!
The two long walkouts that have been mentioned by almost all of the reviews, going from 4 to 5 and later from 17 to 18. Even with the on-line map, I stumbled around on both of them for a while. Hole to hole navigation is general could be improved here.
Lots of Poison Ivy doesn't excite me much.

Other Thoughts: Don't despair Borderland fans. This is a fun little course. Plus you still have the Red Sox and the Pats. I'm from the Seattle area and I'm stuck with the Mariners and the Seahawks and Oklahoma City stole our basketball team.
The two pads/two baskets system gives you much variety. You've got a good thing going here. Nice enjoyable course. Enjoy it as it there aren't many other choices in the area other than that $12 a day fun campground course at Normandy Farms.

But you might want to play a few other courses nationally before you give Borderland a 4.5 or 5 score. Those ratings are few and far between and the courses that receive them are usually pretty spectacular.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Borderlands

5+    5/13/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: cplatt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Clean
-Realistic windows through trees
-Blue tees really give your arm a work out
-Plenty of variety with 2 tee and 2 pin options
Cons: -Gets real busy on weekends because it's the one of the better courses serving BOTH Boston and Providence
-Intersection of blue and white tees/pins can cause big back-ups on occasion, nothing a little courtesy and patience can smooth over though
-holes can get a little repetitive
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned the sport on. Play blue to blue and you've played the longest course in New England.

All of the vets I talked with out on the course consider it a strong course for a public park; with it's good conditionyou're able to see where your 2 dollar park entrance fee is going, which is nice. It's a heavily wooded course that's all about threading it through windows (very few true fairways), so that might be a deterrent to some. Bottom line though is that this place kicks butt (even if it kicks your butt).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.