Disc Golf Store
Easton, MA 
Borderland State Park Share
Uploaded By: Dean Hole #10 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 400ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Blue Basket



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
"I want my $2 !"

5+    6/19/2014   6/19/2014
Review By: HomemadeBasket
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two very well kept, level, rubber pads on each hole.
Two excellent condition baskets on each hole.
4 available layouts to challenge all skill levels.
Excellent layout, flow, and design of course.
Good blend of shots needed to score well here.
Fair lines and basket placement on each hole.
Course favors placement and approach much more than distance.
Practice basket and open field next to parking lot.
Clean, beautiful park, clean beautiful course.
Upkeep is very good here.
Plenty of parking, only $2 to park.
Drinking fountains available in season, bottle water for purchase outside bathrooms.
Bathrooms at hole one (ranger station).
Cons: Course takes on and retains water. Things can get muddy after rains.
No set par for alternate course layouts.
No water holes.
High volume of traffic at peak times.
High volume of rec players lacking etiquette.
Other Thoughts: Great course. I would pay $5 to $10 a day to play this gem. The 45min drive from my home is well worth the pleasure and peace I get from playing here. There really isn't a standout signature hole (Blue 2 maybe?) but that doesn't seem to matter. Each hole presents a different challenge in a very even and consistent manner. This is a solid 4 star course that will have you comparing the other coursers you play to it. If you are thinking about playing this one, stop thinking, pack your bag, and hit the tee.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lucky to live nearby

5+    3/16/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: Tuckerman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full disclosure: I am a beginner player and this is my home course. Consider this an addendum to the reviews written by more experienced players.

The setting is beautiful. You could spend a whole day hiking, biking, golfing, napping, and learning the history of the Ames family. (The owners of the original estate.) The disc golf course takes you through only a small part of it.

The course is challenging, without being daunting. You'll need to make a wide variety of throws to have a good game, but there are safe landing zones for short distance throwers. Some undergrowth can be prickly or cause rashes. It is well-managed on the fairways, but grows like crazy in out-of-bounds areas. Tees and baskets are well maintained. See other reviews for details.

The white and blue fairways overlap. This gives players the options of playing pure white or true blue, along with blight and whue if you mix them.

Technically, there is a yellow course. However, there are no permanent tees for it. It is marked with painted wood blocks in the fairways. It is suitable for first-timers, young children, or that girlfriend who is curious about what you're doing with your Sunday mornings.

Lots of skilled players to learn from.

There's a practice basket near the parking lot. If you get there before the day campers, you can warm up your arm with long throws over a wide-open field.
Cons: Trash. Trash is becoming an issue. I'm the guy with the labrador pup. (Apologies if the mouthy little brat has nibbled your throwing hand.) He has chewed about a hundred coffee cups and three glass beer bottles. It is not fun trying to get shards of broken glass out of a frisky puppy's maw. There are barrels in the picnic areas. A short detour after holes 1, 4, 7, and 18 will bring you to them.

While there are brooms (and snow shovels) at most every hole, many need replacing. The rain and weather has rotted the bristles or the joints connecting the head to the handle.

**Edit** Several of the brooms have been replaced. Many of the tees have been rebuilt with crushed stone under the rubber matts. A few holes have new plank walkways over the swampy bits. This course just keeps getting better and better.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    8/23/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 29  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 2 quality rubber tees and 2 permanent baskets on every hole, so there is plenty of variety in distance, as well as hole shape, as the baskets and tees are often in very different places. The setup is almost like 4 different courses if you wanted to play each combination. There are both open and wooded shots, requiring a variety of shots. Nice tee signs at each set of tees, but they only provide information for white-white or blue-blue. Set in a scenic, well-maintained park with nice amenities at the parking lot. Some fun rock formations near the baskets on a couple of the holes. Nice boardwalks across the wetlands between holes. The more open holes had nice mowed-grass fairways.
Cons: Pace of play is a little slow due to crowds. Course navigation was a little tricky for a first timer, especially the walk from #4 to #5 and also between #17 and #18, but if you pay attention to the tee signs, there are next tee indicators there, and usually additional indicators near the baskets, but when you forget to look at the tee sign for where the next tee is, you sometimes need to pause to look for the next tee. There was also a fair amount of poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: I only played white-white, and really enjoyed the course layout. There was plenty of variety in the holes, and felt the course was a lot of fun. Having looked at the teeshots from some of the blue tees, it looked to be very challenging. A couple of the teeshots I almost laughed at, but if you want a challenge, it looked like the blue tees would be great for that. There are a couple of very long as well as very technical holes in the blue layout. The white-white layout was great for a quick round, as I did not have a lot of time, and I don't really enjoy punishing myself on disc golf courses. For an amateur, white-white is still plenty challenging and requires decent execution for scoring opportunities. The 17th was a fun hole to look at, with the mansion straight in front of the hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

From Tee to Green

1    10/3/2013   10/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pros of Borderland: everything between the tees and the greens. This course is incredibly well-designed. It's hard to point out the great parts of the course because it's all great. It's hard to single out notable holes, because they're almost all notable.

Borderland features outstanding rubber tees and signs that give all the information that is needed.

Borderland features my favorite terrain: Wooded, with plenty of trees, and barely any brush. No pinball here. Every fairway features multiple lines that reward accurate throws but will punish misthrows with knockdowns and kickouts.

The quality is recognizable almost immediately. From the second hole, it becomes obvious that it's going to be at least 4 stars. It's that apparent that this course was designed with expertise.

Ok, I'll mention a few favorite holes since I can use it as an example of the brilliance that is featured throughout the course . 2 looks like a wide open bomb, and it is from the white tee to the white basket. From the blue tee, its a bomb after an early, narrow gap. Shoot the white tee to the blue basket and be prepared to send that bomb to a precise location if you want a decent look down the second part of the fairway towards the green. Shoot blue to blue? That's a damn hard hole. Four completely different looks at just one hole. And that's just one for example.

The other hole that has to be mentioned is 17. You emerge from the woods to fun yourself in the backyard of the 1910 stone mansion that the park is built around. From the blue tee the throw is straight towards the estate but fades to the right before climbing the hill to the structure. It would be an outstanding final hole. I wouldn't mind so much a longer walk to the parking lot from there, especially with so much course behind you to sink in.
Cons: The only reason, and really the only reason, that this course isn't a 4.5, is the stuff that happens from the basket to the tee. The issues are in large part due to the distances between the white and blue baskets, but that doesn't mean that there aren't many times where the navigation is not intuitive. Many times there are arrows that point towards the next tee. These completely fix most of the tricky situations, but there are a few times out there where a few more arrows along the longer routes would be helpful.

It doesn't completely help that there are a couple paths that cross each other, and it definitely does not help that there are two very long walks. The last one is particularly bad, as it leads from an incredible 17, a long way to a more forgettable 18. It's very anti-climactic, and I hate that you lose the chance to bask in 17 because you're entirely confuse about where 18.

The flow here, where it's broken isn't the biggest deal. It doesn't affect the enjoyment of the holes too much. To me it takes a 4.6/4.7 course, based on holes alone, down to around a 4.2.
Other Thoughts: Still, I feel that this is one course that would get better as it was played more. After taking advantage of all four possible layouts, I'm pretty sure I would not be able to deny granting it a 4.5. Amazing course, that I would make sure I played every time I was in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in MA

5+    1/14/2013   1/14/2013
Review By: cedman1981
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is beautifully upkept. Most holes have some seating, and there are trashcans spaced out periodically. In regards to actually playing, this course caters to all experience levels. White layout is a pretty straight forward layout of par 3s that is a great starter course for beginners. Blue layout is a long, tricky layout that will challenge even experience players. Then you can mix it up with the White to Blues or Blue to Whites. Works wonders for keeping trips to the park from feeling stagnant or repetative.
Cons: I wish there were pars listed for the Blue to White and White to Blue layouts. Only info available is for the White to White and Blue to Blue.

Lot of wetlands, so mosquitos are pretty nasty during the summer. Also, this is a VERY popular park. Aside from errant hikers, you also need to contend with vast herds of newcomers. It is wonderful seeing how popular the sport is becoming, but there are some days where they make the park almost unplayable. It is not uncommon to find yourself stuck behind a group of 10 who won't let you play through because they were there first. When I played this past Sunday, I saw 3 seperate groups of 9+.

Unfortunately if it is remotely nice out and its a weekend, I would really advise against playing here. Dacey Fields right up 495.
Other Thoughts: I can't even try to count the number of rounds I've played here. One of the courses I learned on, and keep coming back because it is just that good. The layouts are challenging, the surroundings are beautiful. One of my favorite courses to visit in less than great weather, or playing hooky from work.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    11/27/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: Beable
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I recently traveled to Boston for the holidays and played three courses: here, Pyramids, and Newton. This course was by far my favorite of the three.

I played blue tees to blue baskets, which is probably out of my skill range, but I didn't want to play par 3's. I was very happy with the mix of par 3's and 4's. Some of the holes were quite challenging and it was heavily wooded compared to what I'm used to in Western Pennsylvania.

I loved the rocky terrain. I tend to enjoy a course more if there's a significant amount of walking needed, and this course delivered that very well.

It is obvious that there is a lot of love going into this course. There was a bench at every hole and the course was maintained very nicely. In response to another commenter below, it rained the night and day before I went and the ground was not very soggy.
Cons: The only significant thing that bothered me was that in certain places, navigation was quite difficult. The first few holes were great. But when I got to the middle of the course, holes 7-10 specifically, things got a little hairy.

A very simple fix would be to label the baskets with their hole number. I was not able to figure out which baskets were for 8 vs 9. I played one of those holes wrong, because I think I ended up at the same baskets for both. Another simple enhancement would be to write the number of the tee on the back of the tee sign, so that if you're walking towards a tee from far away, you can tell if you're going to the right one.

I feel somewhat bad complaining about this, because it's obvious that the course maintainers have put a lot of work into trying to provide adequate navigation. They have a good map on the back of the scorecard, be sure to get one and use it. The tee signs are great...except that they don't show the location of the alternate tee. I didn't realize there was anything but a blue tee until I had played several holes.
Other Thoughts: I wish I had had more time to play a second round, this course was just great.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 i love borderland state park

5+    9/10/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: eastcoastf
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a great course with 18 holes and 2 levels. Course is well mapped out and very fun to play.

I go 1 or 2 times a week easily. If i didn't have a job i'd go everyday.

free , restrooms
Cons: it can be very busy. really easy to lose a disc

hole 4 to hole 5 is about a 5 minutes walk away.
Other Thoughts: Great park , lots of things to do other than disc golf.

Mountain biking , hiking trails, fishing.

Make sure you know what poisen ivy, oak, and sumac look like!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Treat

5+    7/18/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: CummaquidDiscgolfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Water Fountains
Clean Tee Boxes
Clean Course
Beautiful scenery
Great open field shots
Great elevation change
Scenic trails
Historical Mansion
Longest course in New England



Cons: None I can think of at this time except, some of the pins can be confusing at times as far as location goes. I would find myself from second or third shot aiming for the wrong pin/ wrong fairway. This was only on maybe 1 or 2 holes. No more than three.
Other Thoughts: I have played disc golf here many of times mixing it up blue to blue, white to white, blue to white. It has especially been a real treat playing here during my college years to get off campus. Blue tees to Blue pins is challenging to make par or birdie but not impossible. The more times you play this course there are the risks/rewards that you run into especially on the front nine.

I try to play here as often as I can since I am 50 minutes from the Cape. Great place to bring the family and kids. If you want to improve your game, then play this course. White to white can be challenging. Blue to blue may seem intimidating, but it's not all that bad. This is an excellent course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Borderland

5+    11/12/2011   8/7/2010
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 well maintained holes with baskets in great shape and tee pads in great shape as well. White course is par 54 challenge with lots of woods and a few birdie opportunities. Blue course offers par 68 for those looking to step up their game (or for me, a chance to see whether or not i can stay in double digits). Little elevation, not too rocky, and length depends upon layout you play. Scorecards are available. New white hole 14 takes away an ace run, but is still very birdieable.
Cons: Two long walks break up the course, but it still plays rather quickly. A few swampy places in between holes, but usually very little casual water on holes.
Other Thoughts: Despite a few complaints and events that have resulted in ALL parking being banned from Massapoag Ave., the course remains a standout in an area whwere you're looking at an hour commute just to find another very solid 4 disc or better course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just a real solid course

5+    1/16/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: wannabeVT
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenges your arm, and has enough variety to let you practice all your shots. Length of course and distance between holes give make it a good hike. Well maintained, but I have gotten some poison ivy in the past. Likely to keep all your discs, with a little hunting. Have met some really cool people here; many coming from cape area.
Cons: Popular course means waiting at times, and although there is availability of playing white to blue and blue to white, it is often a challenge at peak times due to traffic.
Other Thoughts: First four holes are not so private, so taking a break can be tricky. Recommended break points are before 3, before 5, before 8, before 14, and before 16.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.