Easton, MA 
Borderland State Park Share
Uploaded By: Dean Hole #3 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 310ft.   4 / 425ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Wonderful wooded course

1    6/18/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 81  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Set in an absolutely beautiful wooded state park.

2 rubber tee pads on each hole, with a tee sign for each. Tee signs are good, with distances to both baskets (see below), as well as accurate topography. I don't usually love rubber teepads, but these were almost all completely flat, and even a bit wet, they performed well.

2 different baskets on each hole (DGA and Discatcher). White/blue placement. I LOVE this concept. You can play this course in 4 different configurations, which offers a very high replay factor. All baskets caught well.

Navigation was pretty simple, with signs at nearly every hole pointing out the proper direction. Hole 4 to 5's transition is long, and not overly intuitive.

Heavily wooded course, but there were fair lines on every hole. Some were tight, but if you're throwing well that day, very satisfying to hit.

Brooms on nearly every hole to sweep off the tee pads was a nice touch.

Great course for all skill levels, as the white/white configuration isn't overly long.

Decent elevation changes in many spots, although no "top o' the world" shots are found here.
Cons: Not many to speak of.

Rubber tee pads aren't the greatest, but these are about as good as they get.

$2 for parking, but it's a pittance for what you're getting. If anything, it probably helps to keep the chuckers away.

No water in play here (with the exception of some marshy areas).
Other Thoughts: This is probably one of my new favorite courses. If you prefer open courses, this probably won't be your cup of tea.

Parking is ample here.

Lost disc box near the visitor center.

In my opinion, this is a must play if you're in the area. Be prepared to hike a bit, though, as the terrain is rough. Lots of rocks and boulders to be found. Wear good shoes!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

1    8/17/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: Noahlearner
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long course with two baskets and teepads per hole.
-Challenging
-Scenic
-enjoyable changes in elevation
- enjoyed being able to throw all manner of hyzer and anhyzer shots.
- Great mix of open and tightly wooded shots
- great pin placements
Cons: Poor next tee signage. Generally speaking the next hole signage is difficult if playing the blue holes. I found that the blue tees were hard to find for a first timer. Hole three is very difficult to find from the blue basket on two.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the challenge and hope to par it next time. Loved it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course! Watch for Rocks-

1    8/13/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: dougo
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent course layout with different tee/basket combinations being challenging enough to replay several times in a day. I enjoyed the diverse pin locations and skill shots necessary to score well. Very upkept and the mansion is a beautiful side trip!!
Cons: Slow large groups block play but normally are courteous enough to let people play through. Course map is useless, please make larger and not so grainy!!
Other Thoughts: Overall awesome course, only pet peeve is with the players not the course...if you're experienced enough to carry 20+ discs play from the blues and stop bragging about -10 rounds from the whites! Free up the whites for inexperienced players to have some fun!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Borderland

5+    6/16/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: Matt DeAngelis
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Two sets of Fly Pads on every hole with two sets of pins means a wide variety of layouts can be played. If an issue exists on the course it is taken care of immediately. The club puts all of it's money back into the course to keep up with improvements.
Cons: It gets really crowded with beginner players that play in large groups on the most difficult course. Often times that will be followed up with groups of 2 players that are playing the short course and want to play through every group.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  A must play

1    7/19/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: NJKlotz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I enjoy the more dificult courses that force me to enhance my accuracy on my drives. the wooded areas are no joke, full of trees and large rocks. So don't count on a skip or roll at the end of your drives. If your into rock climing as well, bring your shoes and crash pad. lots of good rock to go bouldering on. a few of the baskets are on top of them too....
Cons: the park dosn't allow beer....

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging course

5+    9/11/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: Stativa44
Played: 87  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As far as I can tell, the course is almost a perfect course in so many ways. The white to white tee to pin offers a challenging amateur course to play with the option of playing white tees to blue pins for a slightly longer more challenging layout.

Now you have pro pads which are the blue pads. You can play a very challenging Blue to white or the hardest blue to blue.

Holes are clearly marked with signs to the next hole and nice rubber tee pads with good signage.
Cons: Course can get a little backed up on a crowded day with the multiple tee pads / pins.

It is a state park so you have a lot of families walking, however, mostly off the course or behind a tee pad.

The layouts only offer information on white to white or blue to blue. With measurements to all 4 tees, however, no par 3/4 on the sign when one is marked a par 4 and the other is clearly a par 3; or vice versa. Tee 2 from white to white is is 430 and wide open, however Tee 2 from white to blue is 900ft with a narrowing point in the middle of 2 fields. There are many par 4's on the blue tees and would be nice if they added correct par information for each pin combination on each tee's sign making a total of four playable five star courses.
Other Thoughts: Because the park does not run a trash program on the course but does have trash cans near the start of the disc golf course, it would be nice if patrons of the disc golf course would carry a trash bag with them once in a while since the course is littered with bottles and cans at times. This just calls for a little community effort of not playing the blame game but just picking up your own course. Love the course and hope to see the small improvements it needs to be the best course in New england.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 4 courses in 1

1    9/2/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: AceHole10000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 2 totally different pads and baskets. Shorts were still tough and technical. Longs were long and technical. 2 totally different courses. Played with a local and said they play the opposite tees to the different baskets. 4 courses in 1. Lots of diversity and cant really remember a bad shot. Had lots of fun and it was a awesome walk thru some cool scenery. A cool place to take your family. It had lots of stuff to do. You could easily spend the day out here playing the courses. $2 bucks per carload not a bad deal at all.
Cons: Though to navigate but ran into local and he played along.
Other Thoughts: The northeast disc golf community was very awesome. I played 2 courses on my vacation. All the people we ran into on the course was very helpful. What i learned about the Boston area disc golf is that it takes forever to get to the park. Not a place to go play 2 different parks. This course would make that trip happen.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Borderland

5+    8/13/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: sandford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2011
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: OVERALL FUN FACTOR (16% weight) - 5 - This is a very fun course - even the hike around the course itself is fun if you take away the disc part alltogether.
COURSE DESIGN (14% weight) - 4.5 - One of the strongest points for borderland. The course layout is excellent with 2 tee and 2 basket placements for each hole helps keep the course interesting if you play it over and over again. Only downside is the distance between holes 4 and 5.
SIGNS/MAPS/MARKERS (11% weight) - 5 - All tees well marked and "next tee" signs make navigating the course easy.
TEE PADS (8% weight) - 5 - great rubber teepads with shovels and brooms to keep them cleaned off.
ELEVATION (8% weight) - 5 - Lots of great elevation changes.
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 5 - On the grounds of a beautiful state park with pond, stone walls, gardens and a stone mansion. Lots of weddings held on the grounds in the summertime.
BASKETS (5% weight) - 5 - Nice baskets in good condition and excellent placements make for interesting and fun putting.
EPIC HOLES (5% weight) - 5 - I love holes 3, 4 and 12 - keep me coming back!
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 5 - Excellent mix of short and long holes and even more variety from whites to blues.
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 5 - Layout requires shots to turn left, right and weave through trees.
FOLIAGE MAINTENANCE (3% weight) - 3 - Generally well kept, but there's lots of poison ivy so keep an eye out in the summer.
BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 4 - Benches and sitting logs on a few holes. Trash cans all along the way.
MIX OF TIGHT AND OPEN (3% weight) - 5 - a few long open holes to air it out as well as technical woodsy holes
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 5 - Blue to Blue is especially challenging for any skill level.
Cons: CROWDED (3% weight) - 2 - The downside of Borderland is the crowds, lots of large groups playing on Saturdays and Sundays makes play slow, especially in nice weather. Plenty of non-disc golfers out in the park also but they generally stay clear of the throwing areas.
Other Thoughts: Yes, this is my home course, but i'm rating it objectively against the other courses I have played around the country and I am very lucky to have such a gem so close to my home. The more I play other courses the more I appreaciate this one!

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

5+    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: aboule13
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I play here a couple times a week. Its about 45 minutes from Boston, where I live. The course is well designed, well maintained, and offerers tremendous diversity. White to white is a standard disc golf course, while blue to blue is a fun, long adventure. Mixing it up adds plenty of new looks to the holes. Signs are well posted. Why would you pay 10 bucks to play normandy with this gem 10 minutes away?
Cons: Gets crowded on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: If you havent played it before, start white to white.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play for any Skill Level

2-4    8/28/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: andapos
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees offer challenges for all players and great variety. Very well maintained course on a great location. Signs are extremely helpful. Holes a great mix of long holes to let it rip, and shorter, tighter holes with challenging trees.
Cons: Nothing major... holes 5 and 18 are a ways away from 4 and 17 respectively. The park is very popular so you'll run into people not playing DG, but this rarely happens.
Other Thoughts: The best course I have played yet! Beautiful location on the grounds of an old mansion just a half hour from Boston. The course has the best variety of holes that I've every played, with some holes extremely long (like the 910 ft hole 2) and some very challenging winding between trees.

The only real downside to this course is that the park is so popular that you might see a lot of other DGers or hikers around the park. I played on a Friday afternoon and there were several people, but it was never problem, and we never had to wait to tee off.

This truly is a must play for any DGer, at any skill level.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.