Easton, MA 
Borderland State Park Share
Uploaded By: Dean Hole #1 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 330ft.   4 / 545ft.   3 / 445ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 White Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 From Tee to Green

1    10/3/2013   10/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pros of Borderland: everything between the tees and the greens. This course is incredibly well-designed. It's hard to point out the great parts of the course because it's all great. It's hard to single out notable holes, because they're almost all notable.

Borderland features outstanding rubber tees and signs that give all the information that is needed.

Borderland features my favorite terrain: Wooded, with plenty of trees, and barely any brush. No pinball here. Every fairway features multiple lines that reward accurate throws but will punish misthrows with knockdowns and kickouts.

The quality is recognizable almost immediately. From the second hole, it becomes obvious that it's going to be at least 4 stars. It's that apparent that this course was designed with expertise.

Ok, I'll mention a few favorite holes since I can use it as an example of the brilliance that is featured throughout the course . 2 looks like a wide open bomb, and it is from the white tee to the white basket. From the blue tee, its a bomb after an early, narrow gap. Shoot the white tee to the blue basket and be prepared to send that bomb to a precise location if you want a decent look down the second part of the fairway towards the green. Shoot blue to blue? That's a damn hard hole. Four completely different looks at just one hole. And that's just one for example.

The other hole that has to be mentioned is 17. You emerge from the woods to fun yourself in the backyard of the 1910 stone mansion that the park is built around. From the blue tee the throw is straight towards the estate but fades to the right before climbing the hill to the structure. It would be an outstanding final hole. I wouldn't mind so much a longer walk to the parking lot from there, especially with so much course behind you to sink in.
Cons: The only reason, and really the only reason, that this course isn't a 4.5, is the stuff that happens from the basket to the tee. The issues are in large part due to the distances between the white and blue baskets, but that doesn't mean that there aren't many times where the navigation is not intuitive. Many times there are arrows that point towards the next tee. These completely fix most of the tricky situations, but there are a few times out there where a few more arrows along the longer routes would be helpful.

It doesn't completely help that there are a couple paths that cross each other, and it definitely does not help that there are two very long walks. The last one is particularly bad, as it leads from an incredible 17, a long way to a more forgettable 18. It's very anti-climactic, and I hate that you lose the chance to bask in 17 because you're entirely confuse about where 18.

The flow here, where it's broken isn't the biggest deal. It doesn't affect the enjoyment of the holes too much. To me it takes a 4.6/4.7 course, based on holes alone, down to around a 4.2.
Other Thoughts: Still, I feel that this is one course that would get better as it was played more. After taking advantage of all four possible layouts, I'm pretty sure I would not be able to deny granting it a 4.5. Amazing course, that I would make sure I played every time I was in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    8/17/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: Noahlearner
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long course with two baskets and teepads per hole.
-Challenging
-Scenic
-enjoyable changes in elevation
- enjoyed being able to throw all manner of hyzer and anhyzer shots.
- Great mix of open and tightly wooded shots
- great pin placements
Cons: Poor next tee signage. Generally speaking the next hole signage is difficult if playing the blue holes. I found that the blue tees were hard to find for a first timer. Hole three is very difficult to find from the blue basket on two.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the challenge and hope to par it next time. Loved it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course! Watch for Rocks-

1    8/13/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: dougo
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent course layout with different tee/basket combinations being challenging enough to replay several times in a day. I enjoyed the diverse pin locations and skill shots necessary to score well. Very upkept and the mansion is a beautiful side trip!!
Cons: Slow large groups block play but normally are courteous enough to let people play through. Course map is useless, please make larger and not so grainy!!
Other Thoughts: Overall awesome course, only pet peeve is with the players not the course...if you're experienced enough to carry 20+ discs play from the blues and stop bragging about -10 rounds from the whites! Free up the whites for inexperienced players to have some fun!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Borderland

5+    6/16/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: Matt DeAngelis
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Two sets of Fly Pads on every hole with two sets of pins means a wide variety of layouts can be played. If an issue exists on the course it is taken care of immediately. The club puts all of it's money back into the course to keep up with improvements.
Cons: It gets really crowded with beginner players that play in large groups on the most difficult course. Often times that will be followed up with groups of 2 players that are playing the short course and want to play through every group.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in MA

5+    1/14/2013   1/14/2013
Review By: cedman1981
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is beautifully upkept. Most holes have some seating, and there are trashcans spaced out periodically. In regards to actually playing, this course caters to all experience levels. White layout is a pretty straight forward layout of par 3s that is a great starter course for beginners. Blue layout is a long, tricky layout that will challenge even experience players. Then you can mix it up with the White to Blues or Blue to Whites. Works wonders for keeping trips to the park from feeling stagnant or repetative.
Cons: I wish there were pars listed for the Blue to White and White to Blue layouts. Only info available is for the White to White and Blue to Blue.

Lot of wetlands, so mosquitos are pretty nasty during the summer. Also, this is a VERY popular park. Aside from errant hikers, you also need to contend with vast herds of newcomers. It is wonderful seeing how popular the sport is becoming, but there are some days where they make the park almost unplayable. It is not uncommon to find yourself stuck behind a group of 10 who won't let you play through because they were there first. When I played this past Sunday, I saw 3 seperate groups of 9+.

Unfortunately if it is remotely nice out and its a weekend, I would really advise against playing here. Dacey Fields right up 495.
Other Thoughts: I can't even try to count the number of rounds I've played here. One of the courses I learned on, and keep coming back because it is just that good. The layouts are challenging, the surroundings are beautiful. One of my favorite courses to visit in less than great weather, or playing hooky from work.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A must play

1    7/19/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: NJKlotz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I enjoy the more dificult courses that force me to enhance my accuracy on my drives. the wooded areas are no joke, full of trees and large rocks. So don't count on a skip or roll at the end of your drives. If your into rock climing as well, bring your shoes and crash pad. lots of good rock to go bouldering on. a few of the baskets are on top of them too....
Cons: the park dosn't allow beer....

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/24/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 87  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 13.3 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I told a friend, and Borderland regular, that I was going to play here for the first time. His eyes lit up and he said "you are in for a treat." He was right.

Borderland is hands down the most well designed course I have ever played. With two tees and two pins on each hole, the course features four unique layouts each designed to present a different set of challenges.

The White-to-White layout is the shortest. It provides a par-3 layout with tee shots that aren't overly challenging and pin locations that are fairly easily accessible. This layout is perfect for beginners or more experienced players looking for a quick round.

The blue layout is where Borderland really shines. The designers were very creative in creating a layout that didn't just add length, but added another element of difficulty. The blue tees are positioned to require much more precise line shaping. Most blue tee shots are blind and require shots with lateral movement. The ones that are more straight-on feature tighter gaps than the white tees. The blue tees offer a number of nice risk/reward opportunities. Playing Blue-to-White really emphasizes getting off the tee. Executing a good tee shot will generally result in an easy look at the basket.

The blue baskets are positioned to create challenging upshots with clever use of vegetation, elevation and well-placed OB. Shot placement is key in getting a good look at the basket. Playing the White-to-Blue layout really emphasizes shot placement and course management.

Putting the two together for the Blue-to-Blue layout creates the best collection of par-4s that I have ever seen. Course par for this layout is 68 using 13 par-4s, one par-5 and just 4 par-3s. Generally I'm not a fan of par 4 and 5 holes and this would be a huge red flag for me. This is because on most courses, higher par holes are not well done and almost always simply reward distance. That is not the case at Borderland. The par 4s here require a tough tee shot to a landing zone that still presents a challenging long approach. Execute these two shots well and players are rewarded with a drop-in birdie.

Clearly the layout is what has me enamored with Borderland, but the amenities are all there as well. The tee signs are excellent and rubber tees are in great shape. The course is kept clean and mowed by park rangers who actually play the course and take great pride in it.

There is a practice basket and a nice open field perfect for warming up right by the parking area.
Cons: There are big gaps going from hole 4 to 5 and 17 to 18. This creates opportunities to get lost and breaks up the flow of a round. However, I'll take the walk over the alternative (boring filler holes).
Other Thoughts: For an even more rewarding experience on this course, learn the history of the park. It is a circa 1900 estate that was purchased by the state in the 1970s. The old stone mansion that the Ames family lived in is the key fixture of the park. The estate was built by buying up old farming land. The stone walls that you see throughout the course used to border farming fields as far back as the 1700s!

At the parking area there is a large info board with a map and scorecards. The scorecards have a small map on them. I grabbed one before my first round here and had no issues with navigating the course, even the long walks. Be prepared and you will not get lost.

This place is well worth the prices of admission ($2 all day). It is a must-play for anyone in New England.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging course

5+    9/11/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: Stativa44
Played: 98  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As far as I can tell, the course is almost a perfect course in so many ways. The white to white tee to pin offers a challenging amateur course to play with the option of playing white tees to blue pins for a slightly longer more challenging layout.

Now you have pro pads which are the blue pads. You can play a very challenging Blue to white or the hardest blue to blue.

Holes are clearly marked with signs to the next hole and nice rubber tee pads with good signage.
Cons: Course can get a little backed up on a crowded day with the multiple tee pads / pins.

It is a state park so you have a lot of families walking, however, mostly off the course or behind a tee pad.

The layouts only offer information on white to white or blue to blue. With measurements to all 4 tees, however, no par 3/4 on the sign when one is marked a par 4 and the other is clearly a par 3; or vice versa. Tee 2 from white to white is is 430 and wide open, however Tee 2 from white to blue is 900ft with a narrowing point in the middle of 2 fields. There are many par 4's on the blue tees and would be nice if they added correct par information for each pin combination on each tee's sign making a total of four playable five star courses.
Other Thoughts: Because the park does not run a trash program on the course but does have trash cans near the start of the disc golf course, it would be nice if patrons of the disc golf course would carry a trash bag with them once in a while since the course is littered with bottles and cans at times. This just calls for a little community effort of not playing the blame game but just picking up your own course. Love the course and hope to see the small improvements it needs to be the best course in New england.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 4 courses in 1

1    9/2/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: AceHole10000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 2 totally different pads and baskets. Shorts were still tough and technical. Longs were long and technical. 2 totally different courses. Played with a local and said they play the opposite tees to the different baskets. 4 courses in 1. Lots of diversity and cant really remember a bad shot. Had lots of fun and it was a awesome walk thru some cool scenery. A cool place to take your family. It had lots of stuff to do. You could easily spend the day out here playing the courses. $2 bucks per carload not a bad deal at all.
Cons: Though to navigate but ran into local and he played along.
Other Thoughts: The northeast disc golf community was very awesome. I played 2 courses on my vacation. All the people we ran into on the course was very helpful. What i learned about the Boston area disc golf is that it takes forever to get to the park. Not a place to go play 2 different parks. This course would make that trip happen.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Have I been here before?

1    8/18/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 7.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee positions. Long tees make a significant difference. They don't just add a few feet like at some courses. Course is in a large park with lots of trails, fields and activities. You could do a cookout and make a day out of a trip here.

Course plays mostly as a wooded technical course. There are some open shots, but the trees come into play most of the time. Lots of shade on a hot summer day is always nice.

Good variety of straight, left and right turning shots. I used all of my discs here. That kind of variety usually adds up to a nice round, and it did for me.

Good mix of challenging holes and holes where you have a real nice shot at the birdie. It wasn't an all day beat down.
Cons: No real elevation to speak of. There are a couple minor ups and downs, but nothing that will really impact your game.

Navigation was challenging. Luckily I caught up to a local guy after about 7 holes and he guided me the rest of the way. Bring a map if it's your first time, or you could do some wandering.

While this is a good, solid course, there probably only a few above average holes here. Not really any wow, that is cool or challenging looks from the teepad.
Other Thoughts: When I started playing #1 I thought I was at Nockamixon in PA. This course has the same rock strewn fairways I remember there. Several of these fairways will chew up your discs and beat up your feet. Wear good shoes and bring primo plastic. Woods and rocks. Everywhere.

I enjoyed my round here, and would recommend this course to anyone. It is just an all around solid course. The rubber tee pads were in great shape, and everything seemed very well maintained. Just don't show up expecting memorable shots or funky hole designs.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.