Easton, MA 
Borderland State Park Share
Uploaded By: Dean Hole #12 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 320ft.   4 / 480ft.   4 / 420ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 White Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
One of the best in MA

5+    1/14/2013   1/14/2013
Review By: cedman1981
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is beautifully upkept. Most holes have some seating, and there are trashcans spaced out periodically. In regards to actually playing, this course caters to all experience levels. White layout is a pretty straight forward layout of par 3s that is a great starter course for beginners. Blue layout is a long, tricky layout that will challenge even experience players. Then you can mix it up with the White to Blues or Blue to Whites. Works wonders for keeping trips to the park from feeling stagnant or repetative.
Cons: I wish there were pars listed for the Blue to White and White to Blue layouts. Only info available is for the White to White and Blue to Blue.

Lot of wetlands, so mosquitos are pretty nasty during the summer. Also, this is a VERY popular park. Aside from errant hikers, you also need to contend with vast herds of newcomers. It is wonderful seeing how popular the sport is becoming, but there are some days where they make the park almost unplayable. It is not uncommon to find yourself stuck behind a group of 10 who won't let you play through because they were there first. When I played this past Sunday, I saw 3 seperate groups of 9+.

Unfortunately if it is remotely nice out and its a weekend, I would really advise against playing here. Dacey Fields right up 495.
Other Thoughts: I can't even try to count the number of rounds I've played here. One of the courses I learned on, and keep coming back because it is just that good. The layouts are challenging, the surroundings are beautiful. One of my favorite courses to visit in less than great weather, or playing hooky from work.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A must play

1    7/19/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: NJKlotz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I enjoy the more dificult courses that force me to enhance my accuracy on my drives. the wooded areas are no joke, full of trees and large rocks. So don't count on a skip or roll at the end of your drives. If your into rock climing as well, bring your shoes and crash pad. lots of good rock to go bouldering on. a few of the baskets are on top of them too....
Cons: the park dosn't allow beer....

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/24/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 72  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.4 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I told a friend, and Borderland regular, that I was going to play here for the first time. His eyes lit up and he said "you are in for a treat." He was right.

Borderland is hands down the most well designed course I have ever played. With two tees and two pins on each hole, the course features four unique layouts each designed to present a different set of challenges.

The White-to-White layout is the shortest. It provides a par-3 layout with tee shots that aren't overly challenging and pin locations that are fairly easily accessible. This layout is perfect for beginners or more experienced players looking for a quick round.

The blue layout is where Borderland really shines. The designers were very creative in creating a layout that didn't just add length, but added another element of difficulty. The blue tees are positioned to require much more precise line shaping. Most blue tee shots are blind and require shots with lateral movement. The ones that are more straight-on feature tighter gaps than the white tees. The blue tees offer a number of nice risk/reward opportunities. Playing Blue-to-White really emphasizes getting off the tee. Executing a good tee shot will generally result in an easy look at the basket.

The blue baskets are positioned to create challenging upshots with clever use of vegetation, elevation and well-placed OB. Shot placement is key in getting a good look at the basket. Playing the White-to-Blue layout really emphasizes shot placement and course management.

Putting the two together for the Blue-to-Blue layout creates the best collection of par-4s that I have ever seen. Course par for this layout is 68 using 13 par-4s, one par-5 and just 4 par-3s. Generally I'm not a fan of par 4 and 5 holes and this would be a huge red flag for me. This is because on most courses, higher par holes are not well done and almost always simply reward distance. That is not the case at Borderland. The par 4s here require a tough tee shot to a landing zone that still presents a challenging long approach. Execute these two shots well and players are rewarded with a drop-in birdie.

Clearly the layout is what has me enamored with Borderland, but the amenities are all there as well. The tee signs are excellent and rubber tees are in great shape. The course is kept clean and mowed by park rangers who actually play the course and take great pride in it.

There is a practice basket and a nice open field perfect for warming up right by the parking area.
Cons: There are big gaps going from hole 4 to 5 and 17 to 18. This creates opportunities to get lost and breaks up the flow of a round. However, I'll take the walk over the alternative (boring filler holes).
Other Thoughts: For an even more rewarding experience on this course, learn the history of the park. It is a circa 1900 estate that was purchased by the state in the 1970s. The old stone mansion that the Ames family lived in is the key fixture of the park. The estate was built by buying up old farming land. The stone walls that you see throughout the course used to border farming fields as far back as the 1700s!

At the parking area there is a large info board with a map and scorecards. The scorecards have a small map on them. I grabbed one before my first round here and had no issues with navigating the course, even the long walks. Be prepared and you will not get lost.

This place is well worth the prices of admission ($2 all day). It is a must-play for anyone in New England.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging course

5+    9/11/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: Stativa44
Played: 92  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As far as I can tell, the course is almost a perfect course in so many ways. The white to white tee to pin offers a challenging amateur course to play with the option of playing white tees to blue pins for a slightly longer more challenging layout.

Now you have pro pads which are the blue pads. You can play a very challenging Blue to white or the hardest blue to blue.

Holes are clearly marked with signs to the next hole and nice rubber tee pads with good signage.
Cons: Course can get a little backed up on a crowded day with the multiple tee pads / pins.

It is a state park so you have a lot of families walking, however, mostly off the course or behind a tee pad.

The layouts only offer information on white to white or blue to blue. With measurements to all 4 tees, however, no par 3/4 on the sign when one is marked a par 4 and the other is clearly a par 3; or vice versa. Tee 2 from white to white is is 430 and wide open, however Tee 2 from white to blue is 900ft with a narrowing point in the middle of 2 fields. There are many par 4's on the blue tees and would be nice if they added correct par information for each pin combination on each tee's sign making a total of four playable five star courses.
Other Thoughts: Because the park does not run a trash program on the course but does have trash cans near the start of the disc golf course, it would be nice if patrons of the disc golf course would carry a trash bag with them once in a while since the course is littered with bottles and cans at times. This just calls for a little community effort of not playing the blame game but just picking up your own course. Love the course and hope to see the small improvements it needs to be the best course in New england.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 4 courses in 1

1    9/2/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: AceHole10000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 2 totally different pads and baskets. Shorts were still tough and technical. Longs were long and technical. 2 totally different courses. Played with a local and said they play the opposite tees to the different baskets. 4 courses in 1. Lots of diversity and cant really remember a bad shot. Had lots of fun and it was a awesome walk thru some cool scenery. A cool place to take your family. It had lots of stuff to do. You could easily spend the day out here playing the courses. $2 bucks per carload not a bad deal at all.
Cons: Though to navigate but ran into local and he played along.
Other Thoughts: The northeast disc golf community was very awesome. I played 2 courses on my vacation. All the people we ran into on the course was very helpful. What i learned about the Boston area disc golf is that it takes forever to get to the park. Not a place to go play 2 different parks. This course would make that trip happen.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Have I been here before?

1    8/18/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee positions. Long tees make a significant difference. They don't just add a few feet like at some courses. Course is in a large park with lots of trails, fields and activities. You could do a cookout and make a day out of a trip here.

Course plays mostly as a wooded technical course. There are some open shots, but the trees come into play most of the time. Lots of shade on a hot summer day is always nice.

Good variety of straight, left and right turning shots. I used all of my discs here. That kind of variety usually adds up to a nice round, and it did for me.

Good mix of challenging holes and holes where you have a real nice shot at the birdie. It wasn't an all day beat down.
Cons: No real elevation to speak of. There are a couple minor ups and downs, but nothing that will really impact your game.

Navigation was challenging. Luckily I caught up to a local guy after about 7 holes and he guided me the rest of the way. Bring a map if it's your first time, or you could do some wandering.

While this is a good, solid course, there probably only a few above average holes here. Not really any wow, that is cool or challenging looks from the teepad.
Other Thoughts: When I started playing #1 I thought I was at Nockamixon in PA. This course has the same rock strewn fairways I remember there. Several of these fairways will chew up your discs and beat up your feet. Wear good shoes and bring primo plastic. Woods and rocks. Everywhere.

I enjoyed my round here, and would recommend this course to anyone. It is just an all around solid course. The rubber tee pads were in great shape, and everything seemed very well maintained. Just don't show up expecting memorable shots or funky hole designs.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very Enjoyable Course In The State Park!

1    8/10/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Borderland is a nice well maintained course with a variety of holes from technical, wooded ones to some more wide open ones. For the most part the course is flat however there is some minor elevation to deal with. The course has very nice tee signs with all the useful information. The teepads are mostly rubber and there is usually a broom for sweeping them available at each hole. Having two baskets and two pads for each hole is a major positve when you're familiar with the course but it was a little confusing the first time out. The course and park itself is very scenic with the rock fences, the mansion, the rocky grounds in general, all in all, it's very New England like. It probably felt the most "New England" of the ten NE courses I played on this trip. The challenge would definitely be there playing from the blues to the blues.

# 1 gets my vote as the signature hole on this course. Although it has it's flaws (see cons) it's pretty and I always enjoy a good downhill toss.
You can see that a tremendous amount of time and effort has gone into the building of this course. All the pathways and boardwalks across the wetlands areas. The multiples pads, brooms, practice basket, etc. all contribute to the course enjoyment factor.
Cons: Despite all it's pros, Borderland is not without it's flaws. It's like the foxy blonde with the heavy makeup. She's hiding something underneath. Borderland's cons are numerous and everyone seems to mentions one or two and gloss the rest over. Well, I think they add up.

So here goes. First of all, I'd be very concerned about the wetlands here. All the boardwalks are here for a reason. This course would be very wet and soggy during much of the year.
Wet and soggy adds up to misquitos and lots of them!
The course is flat for the most part. It's missing the "Wow" factor. It doesn't have that EPIC hole. # 1 is a nice little downhill throw. I loved it but the Blues and the Whites are crossing fairways. That's never good!
The two long walkouts that have been mentioned by almost all of the reviews, going from 4 to 5 and later from 17 to 18. Even with the on-line map, I stumbled around on both of them for a while. Hole to hole navigation is general could be improved here.
Lots of Poison Ivy doesn't excite me much.

Other Thoughts: Don't despair Borderland fans. This is a fun little course. Plus you still have the Red Sox and the Pats. I'm from the Seattle area and I'm stuck with the Mariners and the Seahawks and Oklahoma City stole our basketball team.
The two pads/two baskets system gives you much variety. You've got a good thing going here. Nice enjoyable course. Enjoy it as it there aren't many other choices in the area other than that $12 a day fun campground course at Normandy Farms.

But you might want to play a few other courses nationally before you give Borderland a 4.5 or 5 score. Those ratings are few and far between and the courses that receive them are usually pretty spectacular.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 So Much Variety

5+    3/22/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: wraich88
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 7/13/2012
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with white and blue tees AND baskets. The holes all have great design, and there is a great variety. The holes range from short to long, open to wooded, etc. Almost impossible to get tired of the course, and if you do, you can do white to blue, blue to white, or blue to blue. Every combination offers new challenges and seems like an entirely different course.
Cons: Holes 1-4 are isolated and the walk from 4-5 can be confusing for a new golfer.
Other Thoughts: The course does get very busy on weekends and nice days. Also, check the website before you go to find out there is an all-day tourney taking up the entire course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    11/27/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: Beable
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I recently traveled to Boston for the holidays and played three courses: here, Pyramids, and Newton. This course was by far my favorite of the three.

I played blue tees to blue baskets, which is probably out of my skill range, but I didn't want to play par 3's. I was very happy with the mix of par 3's and 4's. Some of the holes were quite challenging and it was heavily wooded compared to what I'm used to in Western Pennsylvania.

I loved the rocky terrain. I tend to enjoy a course more if there's a significant amount of walking needed, and this course delivered that very well.

It is obvious that there is a lot of love going into this course. There was a bench at every hole and the course was maintained very nicely. In response to another commenter below, it rained the night and day before I went and the ground was not very soggy.
Cons: The only significant thing that bothered me was that in certain places, navigation was quite difficult. The first few holes were great. But when I got to the middle of the course, holes 7-10 specifically, things got a little hairy.

A very simple fix would be to label the baskets with their hole number. I was not able to figure out which baskets were for 8 vs 9. I played one of those holes wrong, because I think I ended up at the same baskets for both. Another simple enhancement would be to write the number of the tee on the back of the tee sign, so that if you're walking towards a tee from far away, you can tell if you're going to the right one.

I feel somewhat bad complaining about this, because it's obvious that the course maintainers have put a lot of work into trying to provide adequate navigation. They have a good map on the back of the scorecard, be sure to get one and use it. The tee signs are great...except that they don't show the location of the alternate tee. I didn't realize there was anything but a blue tee until I had played several holes.
Other Thoughts: I wish I had had more time to play a second round, this course was just great.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 i love borderland state park

5+    9/10/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: eastcoastf
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a great course with 18 holes and 2 levels. Course is well mapped out and very fun to play.

I go 1 or 2 times a week easily. If i didn't have a job i'd go everyday.

free , restrooms
Cons: it can be very busy. really easy to lose a disc

hole 4 to hole 5 is about a 5 minutes walk away.
Other Thoughts: Great park , lots of things to do other than disc golf.

Mountain biking , hiking trails, fishing.

Make sure you know what poisen ivy, oak, and sumac look like!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.