Easton, MA
Borderland State Park Share
Uploaded By: Dean   (Taken 4/2011)
Practice Basket



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Borderlands

5+    5/13/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: cplatt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Clean
-Realistic windows through trees
-Blue tees really give your arm a work out
-Plenty of variety with 2 tee and 2 pin options
Cons: -Gets real busy on weekends because it's the one of the better courses serving BOTH Boston and Providence
-Intersection of blue and white tees/pins can cause big back-ups on occasion, nothing a little courtesy and patience can smooth over though
-holes can get a little repetitive
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned the sport on. Play blue to blue and you've played the longest course in New England.

All of the vets I talked with out on the course consider it a strong course for a public park; with it's good conditionyou're able to see where your 2 dollar park entrance fee is going, which is nice. It's a heavily wooded course that's all about threading it through windows (very few true fairways), so that might be a deterrent to some. Bottom line though is that this place kicks butt (even if it kicks your butt).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just a real solid course

5+    1/16/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: wannabeVT
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenges your arm, and has enough variety to let you practice all your shots. Length of course and distance between holes give make it a good hike. Well maintained, but I have gotten some poison ivy in the past. Likely to keep all your discs, with a little hunting. Have met some really cool people here; many coming from cape area.
Cons: Popular course means waiting at times, and although there is availability of playing white to blue and blue to white, it is often a challenge at peak times due to traffic.
Other Thoughts: First four holes are not so private, so taking a break can be tricky. Recommended break points are before 3, before 5, before 8, before 14, and before 16.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 a walk in the park

5+    9/19/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: MadChillMojo
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course thats seen some PDGA official tournaments as well as being the site of some Hollywood filming.
Its got a good variety of short, tight, technical holes and some BIG, long, open fairways. Elevation changes are minimal except on a couple holes. The combination of two tee's and two pins per hole makes for a lot of variety. The course is always in good shape (i.e. mowed grass, trimmed undergrowth along the fairway edges, etc) and very enjoyable to play. There's a nice open practice field and putting basket right by the parking lot for pre-round warm up. The course is open for play year round if you happen to be into playing in the snow.
There's usually loaner discs in the Ranger Station as well as a Lost & Found. Score cards are in the kiosk at the end of the parking lot nearest the Ranger station.
Cons: The walk from #4 to #5 and #17 to #18 are my only real complaints as far as the layout goes.
The fact that its in a Wetlands area means well, a lot of wet land and in Spring, some standing water. This is especially true off the fairway on #2 and sometimes ON the fairway on holes #5 through #9.
All this wetness also means LOTS of mosquitos so bring your favorite industrial strength repellant.

One more important note; there's also a TON of poison ivy throughout the course, so if you are alergic you might want to invest in some Ivy Wipes for your discs if you happen to stray into the underbrush off-fairway and applying Ivy Block (its just like applying sun block if you're not familiar with it) ahead of time will help reduce your danger from almost certain exposure.
Other Thoughts: You will undoubtedly encounter joggers, bikers, dog-walkers, and other random folks along the course as this is primarily a public park.
On one occasion, my teammate hit a guy who was basking unseen in the grass on the fairway on #18. He was a BIG guy and none too happy about being hit by a nice hard-edged Champion Beast. Explaining to him that he was on a fairway didn't seem to mollify him one bit either.
Keep an eye out for Non Playing Characters!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

5+    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: aboule13
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I play here a couple times a week. Its about 45 minutes from Boston, where I live. The course is well designed, well maintained, and offerers tremendous diversity. White to white is a standard disc golf course, while blue to blue is a fun, long adventure. Mixing it up adds plenty of new looks to the holes. Signs are well posted. Why would you pay 10 bucks to play normandy with this gem 10 minutes away?
Cons: Gets crowded on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: If you havent played it before, start white to white.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice ladscape

1    9/9/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: shamroc333
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It has a wide range of holes. Beautiful looking course from the first to the last hole. A great hike!
Cons: The gravel tees where my least favorite part of the course. You also better bring a tight game because if you stray to far off you will be digging and climbing though prickers and I meen alot!
Other Thoughts: I would requimend this course just for the sceniory. Well and all the cute girls hiking.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play for any Skill Level

2-4    8/28/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: andapos
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees offer challenges for all players and great variety. Very well maintained course on a great location. Signs are extremely helpful. Holes a great mix of long holes to let it rip, and shorter, tighter holes with challenging trees.
Cons: Nothing major... holes 5 and 18 are a ways away from 4 and 17 respectively. The park is very popular so you'll run into people not playing DG, but this rarely happens.
Other Thoughts: The best course I have played yet! Beautiful location on the grounds of an old mansion just a half hour from Boston. The course has the best variety of holes that I've every played, with some holes extremely long (like the 910 ft hole 2) and some very challenging winding between trees.

The only real downside to this course is that the park is so popular that you might see a lot of other DGers or hikers around the park. I played on a Friday afternoon and there were several people, but it was never problem, and we never had to wait to tee off.

This truly is a must play for any DGer, at any skill level.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Another Mass. Mecca

5+    5/30/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic piece of land that reminds me of the old aristocrat estate of Wickham, CT. Truly a peaceful experience of birds chirping and discs occasionally hitting lumber. Great signs, four layouts with dual tees and pins (like Warwick NY). The layout is magnificent, challenging and fair - White to white is the easiest layout, with many ace runs that are also challenging. The mixes of white to blue & blue to white are even tougher, and the blue to blue is a long and tough challenge mixing in several par 4's. it would be hard to get bored with all the variety here.

Locals were friendly and seemed to know how lucky they were. There are not a lot of options in the greater Boston area, so this is just what the doctor ordered. Ample parking and facilities and not much to want
Cons: Very slight elevation changes , but this is minor.
One very long walk to #5 but the sign on #4 did lead me the right direction.
Drainage is an issue after a big rainfall - I experienced this on one occasion - where hole 5 in particular caused us to leap frog from rock to rock to avoid getting our feet wet!
Other Thoughts: The locals were very cool - I joined up with a couple of guys on a crowded Saturday who really enhanced the experience and helped me learn the course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 very nice

1    8/11/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: really liked this one. great layout. blue and white course. i thought it had a good balance between woods and openess. Still a technical course but u feel like you can still throw long shots. My wife and a friend came and really liked the layout from wemons tee's. Well maintained.
Cons: very very flat. Almost zero elevation.
walk from 4 to 5. one other hole didnt have a sign and took awhile to find.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Come One Come All

1    8/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: tbostonfish
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off this is a very well designed course. I enjoyed playing this very much. Not much of a chance at losing a disc. Which is always a plus. Every hole pretty much has two tee boxes and two baskets giving you almost 4 courses in one! If you are DG who likes view you will get some picturesque (sp?) views (especially 17). I played white tees because I was with my sister and cousin. I would have like to play blues. Some monster wholes. Almost a 476 average for a mostly wooded course!

Shots can be technical. Really dont need a variety. Backhand can sustain you. I did throw 2 thumbers and maybe 3 flicks off the drive.

Kudos for the brooms on all the tee boxes!!!
Cons: Limited trash cans. Maybe due to the whole state park feel.

Long walk from 4 to 5. Be sure to look at the map at the entrance. Take a picture if you have too.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray.
Can be muddy.
Watch for footing on the rocks. I swear they will jump up at you.
Be ready for a long spread out course.

WORTH THE TRIP!!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Soggy but Solid!

1    7/13/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Unique setting for disc golf playing around the grounds of a historic mansion/estate. Great amenities, multiple tees and baskets, brooms on the flypad tees and rakes on the crushed gravel holes. Perfect signs and places to sit and hang bags on most holes. Plenty of distance here. Long wooded holes combined with a few semi-open holes. I really appreciated how the shorter baskets on many of the holes were tucked off to the side or played a different route so that you were rarely confused as to which basket to play for. Designers maximized the potential of the property. Enjoyed how the open holes utilized danger early, danger late, or danger midway to add some thought to the more open holes often shooting through a gap or out of/into woods. Enjoyed the boulder placement of rolling hole #2 and the big Anny out of woods into field of 910 ft #2. Never did any of those super long wooded fairways seem unfair....If I scored poorly it was my fault. Makes for an addictive course as you always feel you can do better the next time but requires you to really throw on point to score well. A really solid course that will challenge the pro in you to shoot well and provides the novice a chance to play a premium course as well utilizing shorter tees and baskets.
Cons: $2 to park ( I snuck in on foot at 6AM ala the fugitive) Not much can be done about the cons that has already been done...so I am afraid the course really can't improve much. It's really wet....not in a good way either. Essentially it's a floodplain wetlands area throughout half the course. This causes mushy to soaked fairways and often you are required to traverse boardwalks to get from tee to landing area. If you hit a tree early you gonna be muddy and pickered a bit as it's not easy to clear a wetlands area. For this reason I am sure newcomers won't enjoy the course much. Kind of have to hardcore to not be bothered by marshy swamp footing. There also is not much elevation outside of the boulders and 5 foot rise drop here or there that is barely noticeable over the great distances of these holes. I had some difficulty finding discs in shule but I can be honest...those were awful throws on my part. That walk from hole 4-5 was really long and not easy to figure out. (basically just head towards the park entrance after holing out on hole 4)
Other Thoughts: This course is worth a play. If there is a drought or the ground is frozen I would think the enjoyability of this course increases dramatically. 1st hole is directly behind the Park office building not near the Kiosk and shoots down into the woods.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.