Disc Golf Store
Easton, MA 
Borderland State Park Share
Uploaded By: Dean Hole #3 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 310ft.   4 / 425ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 very nice

1    8/11/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: really liked this one. great layout. blue and white course. i thought it had a good balance between woods and openess. Still a technical course but u feel like you can still throw long shots. My wife and a friend came and really liked the layout from wemons tee's. Well maintained.
Cons: very very flat. Almost zero elevation.
walk from 4 to 5. one other hole didnt have a sign and took awhile to find.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Come One Come All

1    8/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: tbostonfish
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off this is a very well designed course. I enjoyed playing this very much. Not much of a chance at losing a disc. Which is always a plus. Every hole pretty much has two tee boxes and two baskets giving you almost 4 courses in one! If you are DG who likes view you will get some picturesque (sp?) views (especially 17). I played white tees because I was with my sister and cousin. I would have like to play blues. Some monster wholes. Almost a 476 average for a mostly wooded course!

Shots can be technical. Really dont need a variety. Backhand can sustain you. I did throw 2 thumbers and maybe 3 flicks off the drive.

Kudos for the brooms on all the tee boxes!!!
Cons: Limited trash cans. Maybe due to the whole state park feel.

Long walk from 4 to 5. Be sure to look at the map at the entrance. Take a picture if you have too.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray.
Can be muddy.
Watch for footing on the rocks. I swear they will jump up at you.
Be ready for a long spread out course.

WORTH THE TRIP!!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Soggy but Solid!

1    7/13/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Unique setting for disc golf playing around the grounds of a historic mansion/estate. Great amenities, multiple tees and baskets, brooms on the flypad tees and rakes on the crushed gravel holes. Perfect signs and places to sit and hang bags on most holes. Plenty of distance here. Long wooded holes combined with a few semi-open holes. I really appreciated how the shorter baskets on many of the holes were tucked off to the side or played a different route so that you were rarely confused as to which basket to play for. Designers maximized the potential of the property. Enjoyed how the open holes utilized danger early, danger late, or danger midway to add some thought to the more open holes often shooting through a gap or out of/into woods. Enjoyed the boulder placement of rolling hole #2 and the big Anny out of woods into field of 910 ft #2. Never did any of those super long wooded fairways seem unfair....If I scored poorly it was my fault. Makes for an addictive course as you always feel you can do better the next time but requires you to really throw on point to score well. A really solid course that will challenge the pro in you to shoot well and provides the novice a chance to play a premium course as well utilizing shorter tees and baskets.
Cons: $2 to park ( I snuck in on foot at 6AM ala the fugitive) Not much can be done about the cons that has already been done...so I am afraid the course really can't improve much. It's really wet....not in a good way either. Essentially it's a floodplain wetlands area throughout half the course. This causes mushy to soaked fairways and often you are required to traverse boardwalks to get from tee to landing area. If you hit a tree early you gonna be muddy and pickered a bit as it's not easy to clear a wetlands area. For this reason I am sure newcomers won't enjoy the course much. Kind of have to hardcore to not be bothered by marshy swamp footing. There also is not much elevation outside of the boulders and 5 foot rise drop here or there that is barely noticeable over the great distances of these holes. I had some difficulty finding discs in shule but I can be honest...those were awful throws on my part. That walk from hole 4-5 was really long and not easy to figure out. (basically just head towards the park entrance after holing out on hole 4)
Other Thoughts: This course is worth a play. If there is a drought or the ground is frozen I would think the enjoyability of this course increases dramatically. 1st hole is directly behind the Park office building not near the Kiosk and shoots down into the woods.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great...But Wet

1    8/3/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: xalzan10
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of awesome views from the T's, lots of challenging shots. Quite a bit of elevation changes, and lots and lots of Dog Legs. This course might be the best maintained I've ever played on, and the duplicate baskets and T's make it ridiculously fresh and fun. Great lay out, tough shots, a great course.
Cons: I went 2 days after a big storm....and half the holes had areas underwater. Hole 5 was an absolute swamp, I almost lost my shoe in the muck. Half the holes were dry, the others insanely wet. The walk from 4 to 5 is tough on some one unfamiliar with the course, even with a map.
Other Thoughts: Other reviews have said the course has a mix of open and wooded holes...I disagree. The "open" holes tended to have large trees in/around the fair way, not really giving the course any grip n rip holes besides 3. Not exactly a con, but slightly disappointing.

Highly recommended, but bring a spare pair of shoes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Updated review after flypads

5+    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: treemagnet
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A total of four available courses allows for the ultimate flexibility as players mature. A fifth counting the forward tees which is a great way to start them young. Rubber pads have been installed on all of the white tees at least. The layout was very well thought out and the blue course is there when you're ready for a long day (>8000') Best course in MA.
Cons: Only con I've had is crowds, but you can't blame the course for being good. Hole 5 can get flooded, so be ready after rainy days.
Other Thoughts: Nothing I would change about the course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Borderland State Park

5+    6/23/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: bjs1293
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very diverse course. The white course is not too difficult for beginners while still providing a chance for more expierenced players to improve on their skill shots. The blue course is amazing. Holes are long and almost always the pin is in a straight line with the tee but trees and other obstacles force players to make shots that will navigate.
Cons: A little hard to find next tee at times(but really just look at the sign at the tee before throwing and it shows you the way). The walk from 4 to 5 is long but nice.
Other Thoughts: I would give this course a five just in my opinion but it is the only course I have played so I have no comparison. Well worth 2 dollars for parking. For first time players it makes more sense to try and stay in the fairway rather than the go for pin drives(disc can get lost very easily when straying off the fairway).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 will be going back often

1    5/30/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: Rbuzz9
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: really liked the course - two sets of tees and two baskets per hole makes it easy to mix up and change the course each time. Each hole has a long or a short option. A combination of open and woods which is something that is fairly rare in New England. Most teepads are gravel and are fine condition. Some pads are being turned into rubber. All baskets had orange flags on them. Have a field you can warm up on as well as a practice basket to toss some pre / post game putts. friendly atmosphere. the pay to park machine was busted and was free. it's worth two bucks anyways
Cons: Not too many - for the newcomer it takes a little to figure out how to navigate to the next hole. you get the hang of it after the first few holes -ie how to distinguish the blue or white tees. pretty minor cons. the walk from 4-5 but whatever its a nice walk.
Other Thoughts: great course

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Best Start

5+    4/22/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: Esiersdale
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Interchangeable tees and baskets
Friendly Players
Practice Basket (it does underrated on most courses)
Wicked pretty layout
Cons: So good = So crowded
The non-flypad tees get disgusting on wet days
Other Thoughts: It could spoil you, since most of the other near-Boston courses (topsfield, burlington, foxboro) don't stand up to it in quality

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/15/2005   4/15/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice layout and maintenance when I was there.
Cons: I played it after a long layoff of disc golf and struggled with the difficulty. That's my fault but it may be a bit tough on true newbies.
Other Thoughts: It's been a few years since I played it, but my recollection is that is a good course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great character

5+    8/28/2009   11/2/2008
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has character. Throwing over rock fences that used to delineate the different properties, random old plowing equipment along the fairway, wooden plank bridges over streambeds, and an ivy-covered mansion...just a beautiful place. And basket positions take advantage of the topography, like the blue basket on #4 on the rock ledge, the blue #8 on the hill beyond a little swamp, both baskets beyond the "gate" of trees on 13.

The signage is very good. There are two tee pads and two baskets per hole, so there are a lot of ways to play the course and add some variety. The white tees now have all rubber tee pads rather than the former natural tee pads that were a pain after rain. Although it is fairly wooded, there is not much undergrowth, so it's not a pain to play in the summer. The amount of trees feels just right. You need to be accurate, but you won't necessarily be punished for every bad shot (just most). There is a lost and found closet in the lodge, and I've gotten several discs back.
Cons: Can be a little rough on true newbies, but I've still brought several people here for their first round and they enjoyed it. There are other functions at the park, so you'll sometimes get people walking through the fairway, but not on most holes. There is not a lot of elevation here. One time a third of the holes were closed due to camping, which was annoying after making the 40-minute trip from Boston. Holes 5 and 10 can get pretty swampy after rainfall, and drainage in general here is not great.
Other Thoughts: The blue tees play very long and are pretty difficult. They have tighter windows, more distance, and you need to think about where you are landing your drive to have a good second shot. Every time I get my confidence up on the whites, the blues shoot me down. The pars on both tees seem fair, and it's nice to play at a place that isn't all par 3s (the whites are all par 3, but not the blues). I'm really happy I discovered this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.