Boyne Falls, MI 
Boyne Mountain Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #16 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
that's tough, just tough...

1    6/15/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays on the mountain top and across thick woods. area, during the summer, is not disc golf exclusive. Watch out for zip liners and other users. Resort has a ton of other amenities but most are secluded from the dg area.

Scenic-- amazing scenery from the top and luckily, there's a ride to the top. crazy big mountain here.

Baskets-- chain stars in good condition. Could use more visibility on the wooded holes for sure.
Cons:
Routing and nav-- very tough, maps provided still weren't accurate. Finding first tee was nightmarish.

Sand-- everywhere. teepads, fairways, butt crack, everywhere.

Teesigns-- dga signs, seems the course has been redesigned and the signs aren't always accurate.

Design-- crazy. some holes are just sand pits. others are crazy thick with trees. not so much an enjoyable round.
Other Thoughts:
Avalanche is a much better course as is McSauba. Do those ones!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/27/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: nickrockey
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Beautiful yet under utilized terrain
+There are 18 baskets / if you can find them
Cons: -Maps do not match actual course or scorecard for location or distance's
-What tee pads?
-holes 1 tru 3 are really hard to figure out
where to go next.
-Lack of arrows, signage being placed randomly, tees pads without markers telling you which direction you are even suppose to go make it rough for a first timer.
-So much potential from a place that sinks so much money into everything else, it is hard to understand why Boyne has completely dropped the ball on this course!
-It says online it's $5 for a chairlift to hole 1, it's actually $7 according to the scorecard
-Course layout is at best, bad
Other Thoughts: ^Be ready to hike, wear good shoes
^Bug spray
^Water
^Pay close attention to where your disc land LOTS of areas for disc
^Really bummed, had realistic hopes based off research and was really let down. I can't recommend it,

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Steady decline

5+    9/9/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: Angry Harry
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great scenic course
overall it's a fun course
Cons: Not a single trash can on the entire 18 holes.
Posts/signs kicked down laying in the dirt
Basket height is inconsistent.
Imbecile zip line staff acts like english is a non-native language and gets in your way.
No repairs to bad holes but baskets moved on some of the great holes.
Other Thoughts: The staff slacks off all the time playing on cell phones instead of taking care of the grounds. It's a ghetto in paradise that could be a real gem if the grounds staff worked an honest day once a week.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/20/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: this was one of the best scenic courses i been to
Cons: no tee pads, didnt know what to do on hole 9-11. Honesltly the only holes that were actually disc golf holes were probably 4 out of 19 holes.
Other Thoughts: will go back when its warmer out

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Sandy Ski Slope

1    7/12/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the elevation
Nice baskets with cones on top
Easy to navigate
Great variety of shots
Good use of their surroundings
Not ever crowded
Free map at front
Cons: It is very sandy
If no shuttle, then long hike
Some baskets are getting aged and rusted
Tees are just sand or rocks
Tee sign is just little yellow pole
Zip line intersects
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought this was an alright course. It didn't have what I was expecting out of a course on a ski slope, but it was still nice. I came here on my way to Flip City and it was worth the pit stop. This course seems to have been made for bigger arms. Just be aware of that if you plan on playing. Personally I chose to hike to the top of the mountain. It was about a 15-20 minute hike uphill. It was long and tiring. If you go to the front and have a choice to take a shuttle or a lift, definitely pay the money. I was very winded by the time I got to the top. After that it's not so bad. One of the main problems that I had here was the sand. Almost every hole was playing through thick sand. It would for sure slow you down.
Its also a pain to get the sand out at the end. But still overall I liked it disregarding the few minor faults. I might come back and play again, but definitely with a shuttle. Just come out here and have some major FUN!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The cherry on top

2-4    7/11/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Elevation comes in to play on almost every hole.

Only 2 holes are <200'. While at face value, this looks like it will favor Big Arms, the distance of the throw will do you no good if you cannot place your shot properly. Lack of accuracy will be punished again and again.

Fantastic scenery, with one of the farthest distance views available in the Tip Of The Mitt.

You can stop for a tasty beverage before hole one at the top of the mountain.

Excellent blend of dogleg right/left turns and open/tight fairways. Other than backtracking a bit back up the hill for a couple holes, this course very much starts at the top and ends at the bottom.
Cons:
Sand. Sand tees, sandy fairways and sandy rough. I found footing to either be treacherous or difficult due to the loose ground, and by the end of my round my boots looked like they had just been plucked from a grave.

The tees were sometimes plain awful. It struck me as odd that there was such a fine design to the course, but not a single concrete tee, especially when considering the length of some holes.

Paths to the next hole often ended at the amateur tee, and made no indication that there was a pro tee behind it. Signage was mixed, with cheap generic metal signs at best, to laminated sheets of paper tacked to trees, or a post in the ground at the worst. Again, this struck me as odd as the rest of the signage on the property was immaculate, and to be frank, overly repetitive.

BOYNE charges you to get to the top of the hill (but we didn't end up paying).

LOTS of non-DG traffic. Hikers, bikers, facilities trucks, and more, and more, and more.

Some of the distances were highly suspect.
Other Thoughts:
I agree with Volklgirl that the staff at BOYNE often seems in the dark about anything going on outside of their narrow purview. The running joke is that BOYNE stands for Bend Over, You're Now Employed. Take it easy on them, and yourself, and just go see the concierge at the Lodge, and get a course map.

I waited till I had hit all the other courses within 60 miles of home before I played this. It was the cherry on top, and worth the wait. I really enjoyed my round, and I will certainly make multiple return trips with more time to hang out.

There is a zip line course that intersects the course at about 9 points, but only on the first hole is there any worry of hitting anyone, unless you tommy every shot. This added a entertaining aspect to the round, as I would see the same people zipping along on subsequent holes. It looked like they were having almost as much fun as I was.

While there isn't much to be done about the amount of sand, concrete tees and a small investment in accurate, descriptive signage would zoom this course into the stratosphere. I would easily hand out another disc in my rating.

It is a blast to play on a beautiful day, and one you shouldn't miss.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Boyne Mountain

1    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: Kent18
Played: 122  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting. Great elevation changes and lots of great opportunities to drive off the tee box and watch the disc fly. Good mix of hyzer and anhyzer designed holes. Staff on the resort are proud of this course and usually if you ask you can get a free ride up the mountain.
Cons: By far the tee boxes are in most cases too sandy. In addtion holes 8-11 the whole entire hole is sandy and you feel like your playing in one long sand trap not on a disc golf course. In some spots and even with the disc golf map the resort provides you can get lost as where to go for the next hole.
Other Thoughts: If you have never played on a course yet on top of a mountain then Boyne is worth the trip. It was fun on pretty much all of my drives to watch the disc go. I would have rated higher if even rubber tee pads were in place on even 1/3 of the holes and holes 9-11 I didn't feel like i was playing on the beach.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/5/2008   4/6/2010
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Was a nice place to play. we got a free ride up the hill because we went to the front desk to ask how to get to it.(did tip the guy a few bucks to bring us there) Was on a ski course so it is seasonal. Found a disc(which was one of the rentals from the front desk)
Cons: Lost the disc after the first throw. It can be really sunny on a few holes. Make sure to bring some sunscreen.
Other Thoughts: Had a lot of fun, but did get a good amount of sun. Played here on a weekend trip was was the second best under flip city(rated number one over all). Want to go back and check it out agian.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Down is good!!

1    10/17/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a way to start a round - a free chairlift ride to the top of the mountain, a stunning view, and a brew from the Eagle's Nest!

This course starts at the top of the Boyne Mountain ski runs, just past the Eagle's Nest restaurant. Ride the lift up (I was told there's no charge for the lift here), then follow the sidewalk at the top a few yards past the restaurant to find the first tee marker just off the path to the left. The first pin is in the woods across the dip.

Most tee areas are marked with brightly colored and numbered paddle-shaped posts. They've also topped most baskets with a flag or cone to make them more visible. It appears that numerous trash cans have been added for this year, as well.

Distances vary widely with 6 holes over 375'! Many of the shorter holes have more closed-in or difficult fairways. Holes #1, #5, #7-#10, and #13-#18 are all mostly open while the remainder are mostly wooded. Fairways in the wooded areas are all very well defined, and several holes start in close wooded areas then open up past the initial drive. Basket placement was interesting on most holes, with several being on hill sides or surrounded by trees. Uphill, downhill, cross-valley, and over hill shots abound as many of the elevation changes and terrain undulations inherent in a ski area were put to good use.

Holes #3, with its wooded tee area, uphill drive, left turn in the open around a giant sand pit and back into the woods, then its basket buried behind the sand hill in the woods; #6 with its short, sharp right through the woods and its sidehill basket placement; #11 with its elevated tee area on a steepish hiking path and its downhill, wooded basket; and #16's short right turn behind the woods are the highlight holes on this course. They are all challenging and very creative in their use of elevation, vegetation, and basket placement.
Cons: Loose, sandy terrain can make walking this course a bit treacherous, so you'll want to wear supportive shoes or hikers.

Poor or missing signage in a few places didn't cause any real problems in navigation, but it did detract from the experience a bit.

A lack of true tee boxes and loose sand footing in most places made teeing off a pain on many holes. The footing on holes #9-#11, in particular, is horrendous (not just the tee areas, either)!

Holes #14-#18 just work their way back and forth across mostly open ski runs and they got a bit repetitive, especially compared to the challenge and variety of the earlier holes. Fortunately, the wooded bottle neck and hidden basket on #17 and the long downhill bomb on #18 meant they weren't completely ho-hum.

This is a big course, and there's no refreshment available once you've passed the Eagle's Nest, so bring water.
Other Thoughts: If you're not a skier and haven't spent any time in the base area, finding your way around can be a challenge. The roundabout in the main village is technically a no parking zone, but they're not real picky about it most of the summer.

The food in the bar right at the tip of the roundabout is pretty good although a bit pricey. Take a tour through the toy and candy shop downstairs in the village and get some giant Smartys to snack on while you're playing. The store directly across the way also has beverages and such for sale.

As is usual with Boyne properties, no one really seems to know what's going on, so don't be surprised if you get the blank look from some employees. While the site says there's a charge for the chairlift, I was told it runs most of the summer and can be ridden for free. If the fam doesn't play make sure they bring their swim gear and drop them off at Avalanche Bay.

JMHO, but, given a choice to play Avalanche Park or here, I'd pick Boyne every time.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Views!

1    7/31/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: Jayl3ird
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Excellent mountaintop scenery. Freindly, helpful staff. Free ride to Tee #1. Fairly quick and easy compared to it's neighbor Avalanche Park.
Cons: Confusing hole placement. Poor signage. Only 2 or 3 different types of holes. Full of trash - bottles and cans all over the woods.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.