Boyne Falls, MI 
Boyne Mountain Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #14 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 385ft.   3 / 425ft. Par / Distance:
The view from the #14 fairway

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Potential Wasted

1    10/11/2015   10/12/2015
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Unbelievable elevation changes in a mostly wooded course.
- Second most scenic course I have ever played.
- I love downhill holes and there are a bunch here.
- Well thought out tee and pin placements making for interesting golf.
- The chairlift ride is well worth the money. You'll get PLENTY of exercise on the course.
- The shule is present but not absurdly thick which is really appreciated since tree hits are inevitable at a course like this.
Cons: - Baskets are starting to get in pretty rough shape. Wire frames on some are bent like on #17 and a lot of them are now leaning.
- Not one bench anywhere. Seriously? This is such a physically demanding course and no benches? My 43 year old knees hate you.
- Almost all of the tees are just garbage. Just sandy rutted out pits just waiting to twist an ankle.
- The tee signs are razor sharp blades waiting to slice open human flesh. What a great thing to have next to the tee box distracting you on your follow through.
- 9 and 10 are throw away holes. Just pieces of craptastic disc golf that is NOTHING like the rest of the course. These are sandy uphill hell holes with - you guessed it - sandy rutted out tees. Of all the holes that disparately need every ounce of power on the first shot these are it and yet...We get loose sand. Just aggravating.
- Several of the holes play over a well used paved path. Some of the those bikers come screaming downhill so be very careful.
- The walk back to the parking lot is a little silly. With all the space out here we couldn't squeeze in a few more holes?
Other Thoughts: This course was one big let down in many ways. Some of the holes were just an absolute blast to play and I really enjoyed them but the utter lack of typical amenities really takes away from my rating. There is no excuse for this course to be in better shape with better signage and solid tee pads. This place could easily be a 4.5 no problem.

It's tough for me to rate this course so low with holes that I just love and such beautiful scenery. If I were back in Boyne and had the time, yes I would play it again and you should do the same. Just don't expect a top notch disc golf experience.

Solid footwear is key to this course. So is hydration. This is a long and physical course even though a lot of it is downhill.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Interesting but dissappointing

1    8/20/2015   8/25/2015
Review By: dalenoel
Played: 160  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.5 Years
Pros: Good use of elevation with great views. Cones on baskets helped once you find the baskets. Baskets were in good condition. Ride to the top helped instead of walking.
Cons: Maps were not much help. Tee signs were not the most accurate, seem outdated. Next tee signs would help. Some tee signs were down. Tee pads were actually dangerous when they existed.
Other Thoughts: For such a great facility they could invest in pads, accurate signs, and better maintenance. Would play here before playing Avalanche or Mt. McSauba again.

that's tough, just tough...

1    6/15/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 261  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Aesthetic-- plays on the mountain top and across thick woods. area, during the summer, is not disc golf exclusive. Watch out for zip liners and other users. Resort has a ton of other amenities but most are secluded from the dg area.

Scenic-- amazing scenery from the top and luckily, there's a ride to the top. crazy big mountain here.

Baskets-- chain stars in good condition. Could use more visibility on the wooded holes for sure.
Routing and nav-- very tough, maps provided still weren't accurate. Finding first tee was nightmarish.

Sand-- everywhere. teepads, fairways, butt crack, everywhere.

Teesigns-- dga signs, seems the course has been redesigned and the signs aren't always accurate.

Design-- crazy. some holes are just sand pits. others are crazy thick with trees. not so much an enjoyable round.
Other Thoughts:
Avalanche is a much better course as is McSauba. Do those ones!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/27/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: nickrockey
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Beautiful yet under utilized terrain
+There are 18 baskets / if you can find them
Cons: -Maps do not match actual course or scorecard for location or distance's
-What tee pads?
-holes 1 tru 3 are really hard to figure out
where to go next.
-Lack of arrows, signage being placed randomly, tees pads without markers telling you which direction you are even suppose to go make it rough for a first timer.
-So much potential from a place that sinks so much money into everything else, it is hard to understand why Boyne has completely dropped the ball on this course!
-It says online it's $5 for a chairlift to hole 1, it's actually $7 according to the scorecard
-Course layout is at best, bad
Other Thoughts: ^Be ready to hike, wear good shoes
^Bug spray
^Pay close attention to where your disc land LOTS of areas for disc
^Really bummed, had realistic hopes based off research and was really let down. I can't recommend it,

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Steady decline

5+    9/9/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: Angry Harry
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great scenic course
overall it's a fun course
Cons: Not a single trash can on the entire 18 holes.
Posts/signs kicked down laying in the dirt
Basket height is inconsistent.
Imbecile zip line staff acts like english is a non-native language and gets in your way.
No repairs to bad holes but baskets moved on some of the great holes.
Other Thoughts: The staff slacks off all the time playing on cell phones instead of taking care of the grounds. It's a ghetto in paradise that could be a real gem if the grounds staff worked an honest day once a week.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    4/20/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: this was one of the best scenic courses i been to
Cons: no tee pads, didnt know what to do on hole 9-11. Honesltly the only holes that were actually disc golf holes were probably 4 out of 19 holes.
Other Thoughts: will go back when its warmer out

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Sandy Ski Slope

1    7/12/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: Ben17
Played: 65  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the elevation
Nice baskets with cones on top
Easy to navigate
Great variety of shots
Good use of their surroundings
Not ever crowded
Free map at front
Cons: It is very sandy
If no shuttle, then long hike
Some baskets are getting aged and rusted
Tees are just sand or rocks
Tee sign is just little yellow pole
Zip line intersects
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought this was an alright course. It didn't have what I was expecting out of a course on a ski slope, but it was still nice. I came here on my way to Flip City and it was worth the pit stop. This course seems to have been made for bigger arms. Just be aware of that if you plan on playing. Personally I chose to hike to the top of the mountain. It was about a 15-20 minute hike uphill. It was long and tiring. If you go to the front and have a choice to take a shuttle or a lift, definitely pay the money. I was very winded by the time I got to the top. After that it's not so bad. One of the main problems that I had here was the sand. Almost every hole was playing through thick sand. It would for sure slow you down.
Its also a pain to get the sand out at the end. But still overall I liked it disregarding the few minor faults. I might come back and play again, but definitely with a shuttle. Just come out here and have some major FUN!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The cherry on top

2-4    7/11/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Elevation comes in to play on almost every hole.

Only 2 holes are <200'. While at face value, this looks like it will favor Big Arms, the distance of the throw will do you no good if you cannot place your shot properly. Lack of accuracy will be punished again and again.

Fantastic scenery, with one of the farthest distance views available in the Tip Of The Mitt.

You can stop for a tasty beverage before hole one at the top of the mountain.

Excellent blend of dogleg right/left turns and open/tight fairways. Other than backtracking a bit back up the hill for a couple holes, this course very much starts at the top and ends at the bottom.
Sand. Sand tees, sandy fairways and sandy rough. I found footing to either be treacherous or difficult due to the loose ground, and by the end of my round my boots looked like they had just been plucked from a grave.

The tees were sometimes plain awful. It struck me as odd that there was such a fine design to the course, but not a single concrete tee, especially when considering the length of some holes.

Paths to the next hole often ended at the amateur tee, and made no indication that there was a pro tee behind it. Signage was mixed, with cheap generic metal signs at best, to laminated sheets of paper tacked to trees, or a post in the ground at the worst. Again, this struck me as odd as the rest of the signage on the property was immaculate, and to be frank, overly repetitive.

BOYNE charges you to get to the top of the hill (but we didn't end up paying).

LOTS of non-DG traffic. Hikers, bikers, facilities trucks, and more, and more, and more.

Some of the distances were highly suspect.
Other Thoughts:
I agree with Volklgirl that the staff at BOYNE often seems in the dark about anything going on outside of their narrow purview. The running joke is that BOYNE stands for Bend Over, You're Now Employed. Take it easy on them, and yourself, and just go see the concierge at the Lodge, and get a course map.

I waited till I had hit all the other courses within 60 miles of home before I played this. It was the cherry on top, and worth the wait. I really enjoyed my round, and I will certainly make multiple return trips with more time to hang out.

There is a zip line course that intersects the course at about 9 points, but only on the first hole is there any worry of hitting anyone, unless you tommy every shot. This added a entertaining aspect to the round, as I would see the same people zipping along on subsequent holes. It looked like they were having almost as much fun as I was.

While there isn't much to be done about the amount of sand, concrete tees and a small investment in accurate, descriptive signage would zoom this course into the stratosphere. I would easily hand out another disc in my rating.

It is a blast to play on a beautiful day, and one you shouldn't miss.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Boyne Mountain

1    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: Kent18
Played: 147  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting. Great elevation changes and lots of great opportunities to drive off the tee box and watch the disc fly. Good mix of hyzer and anhyzer designed holes. Staff on the resort are proud of this course and usually if you ask you can get a free ride up the mountain.
Cons: By far the tee boxes are in most cases too sandy. In addtion holes 8-11 the whole entire hole is sandy and you feel like your playing in one long sand trap not on a disc golf course. In some spots and even with the disc golf map the resort provides you can get lost as where to go for the next hole.
Other Thoughts: If you have never played on a course yet on top of a mountain then Boyne is worth the trip. It was fun on pretty much all of my drives to watch the disc go. I would have rated higher if even rubber tee pads were in place on even 1/3 of the holes and holes 9-11 I didn't feel like i was playing on the beach.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    7/5/2008   4/6/2010
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 82  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Was a nice place to play. we got a free ride up the hill because we went to the front desk to ask how to get to it.(did tip the guy a few bucks to bring us there) Was on a ski course so it is seasonal. Found a disc(which was one of the rentals from the front desk)
Cons: Lost the disc after the first throw. It can be really sunny on a few holes. Make sure to bring some sunscreen.
Other Thoughts: Had a lot of fun, but did get a good amount of sun. Played here on a weekend trip was was the second best under flip city(rated number one over all). Want to go back and check it out agian.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.