Disc Golf Store
Marshfield, WI 
Braem Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
4 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Underappreciated course in nice city

5+    9/13/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.6 Years
Pros: Very grippy, nice sized teepads on every hole. Chainstar baskets that catch very well on each hole. Multiple pin locations on holes 1, 3, 8, 10, 14, and 17 i believe. Nice bridges crossing the creek that runs throughout the course. Navigation on this course is a non issue, The flow is very easy to figure out. Wood tee signs with hole number, basic hole direction and par at each hole. Garbage pails throughout the course and is a very clean course as well. Never busy here even though its the better, more challenging of the 2 courses in Marshfield. The city is constantly improving the course too by removing trees and brush, putting wood chips down, etc. Restrooms at the beginning of the course next to the playground. Theres a solid mix of left, straight and right turning shots here. Its virtually impossible to lose a disc here unless you bury one in the snow in the winter. A few holes offer some ace opportunities and most are birdieable. Although its in the middle of Marshfield there are always deer walking around the course. They are very used to people so you can get very close to them too which is pretty cool. All in all a fun 18 hole in a nice city. I'd definately recommend checking this place out if you're in the area.
Cons: No elevation on this course. It would've been nice if they had used the creek that runs through the park on at least one hole as an extra challenge. A few holes don't have much of a discernable lane to the pin, you just have to chuck it and hope to not hit a tree. The teepads in the woods stay pretty wet for a long time after any kind of rain and can get a little slick.
Other Thoughts: I live about 2 blocks from this course so i've played it a ton of times and really like it. I didn't care for it at first with some of the tight lanes out of the woods seeming almost impossible. However the city has done a very good job over the span that the course has been in in improving the design. The 9 hole Wildwood park is only about 5 minutes down the main road thru town, and North Park of Wood County which is 20 holes is only about 15 to 20 minutes south as well. That combined with Stevens point being about 30 minutes away and Big Eau Pleine too makes for a lot of courses nearby to have a great day of discin.

 Bridges of Marathon County

1    3/20/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice big concrete tees are always a positive . . . especially for me who plays all over in the winter.

2) Nice infrastructure with well built bridges crossing over the stream in multiple places.

3) Garbage cans available in multiple places on the course. It also seems like the locals must actually use the cans because it seemed to be pretty clean . . .although I played in the winter . . . it might be a different story in the summer.

4) Posts with Hole Layout, Hole # Par and Distance. Always a welcome site for a guy like me who travels all over to play different courses.

5) Awesome variety in tree density and the types of trees. There are some more open park holes with nice deciduous trees, then some of the tighter holes are all lined with mature evergreens, some tight technical holes through dense hardwood forest. All in all a great asset to this course is this diversity.

6) Nice variety of shot shaping to do well. You will want to work your disc both ways so bring all your throws and a nice variety of discs.

7) Nice variety in hole distance . . . Although almost all the holes are between 175 -275 the foliage and tree density really makes the effective distances different.

8) Nice park with a skate park, tennis, playgrounds, bathrooms, baseball field and more.

9) Plenty of constant challenge . . no real weak holes in terms of design or challenge. Nothing super dramatic or jaw dropping but it is just a solid decent course.

Cons: 1) Flow and navigation is a little tough in a few spots . . . crossing the bridges, switchbacks from a basket to the next tee. I don't remember seeing any navigational aids so that is something that would help this courses rating improve.

2) Not beginner friendly because of all of the trees and ways for you to go offline with a slightly errant drive.

3) With the density of the wooded holes I did notice lots of piles of branches and fallen limbs . . . there isn't much access to remove this stuff, but it should have been thrown further away and more out of play . . . or maybe I should not throw my disc there! Screw that I'm blaming someone other than myself. :)

4) A little too much luck might be needed on a few holes. I agree with what some of the other reviewers have said . . . a few more trees might need to come down to make this a more fair and fun challenge rather than unlucky tree hits.

5) You will need to contain your temper here . . . lots of trees to hit and I guarantee you will hit a lot of them.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course at all . . . it is pretty, a nice walk in the woods, it has challenge on almost all holes, makes you throw a lot of different shots and different discs. I would come to this course just about anytime if it was close to me. It isn't top notch in any regard but it is just a solid course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun, yet challenging course

5+    7/14/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: danno
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes are well-kept and well-marked. Left, straight, and right-turn trajectories make the challenge, but also lets you hone your side-arm, tomahawk, and roller throws. One driver and one putter is not enough for this course; I think having under and overstable as well as some fairway drivers/approach discs is key. For only 40 sq yds of available space, they fit an 18-hole course here very well. It's easy to move from one hole to the next.
Cons: If you're a beginner, this course is frustrating. Also wish they would implement Pro tees here.
Other Thoughts: Sometimes a few deer come out to play too...if only they had thumbs, they could throw with us.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/16/2014   5/7/2009
Review By: brentwood_17
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement Tees Clear path through park not hard to follow. Hole 17 has to be one of the better holes on course major improvements on that hole removing multiple tree requiring 2 good shots to get a 3. Hole 1 is a good hole length to a basket position down the hill, and Hole 2 plays pretty fair control your disc and get out of the woods with something on it and you might have a putt. Hole 7 lost some trees and has gotten better. Multiple pins on a couple different holes have changed the feel of this course since some of the pictures were taken and most of the brush in pictures has been beaten back. Multiple holes in the wood have received wood chips and even a culvert on Hole 9; Hole 10 is immensly better than when the pictures were taken. Now could be one of the best holes on the course. Hole 18 has been changed and lengthened as well.
Cons: course has some dead branches, downed trees, some holes lose the idea of a fairway. Many holes start with a good fairway and end up with a smattering tree wall right in front or around basket. Some holes feel like they would play better with one or two or 8 trees missing. Silly mando on Hole 15
Other Thoughts: This course is a frequent hit of mine as it requires accuracy and even then you can get a bad kick and be in trouble. Like this course for the challenge. Its a decent course. Definately need to know how to throw or it could be a long trip around this place. Overall I have raised this course from 2.5 to 3 it has got better by a lot. Can still be messy at times with water but for the most part it is a good measuring stick of ones talent and control of a disc.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Decent wooded course

1    4/11/2007   12/10/2008
Review By: Geoffro
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had a really good time with this course. It's 18 holes of tough, with lots of tight fairways and some pretty good turns. A nice mix of left and right, short and medium-long. A very pretty course, with a real "walk through the woods" experience playing through the pines. Not a lot of brush and scrub growth so finding your disc is not difficult if you end up off the fairway. Nice facilities, and an "Around Nine" practice hole at the start of the course to warm up putting. Easy access from the town of Marshfield, and not hard to find. Great signage.
Cons: Very wet in the spring, with one area being completely spongy and soaked when I played. No long fairways. Some fairways are a bit "optimistic," which is to say "non-existent" - no clear path the the basket. Some interaction with other park activities, but not a lot, most of the course is in the woods. A couple holes are wide open.
Other Thoughts: A nice place to play 18, and certainly a cool experience if you like the forest. Some holes are challenging, a couple are "close your eyes, throw, and pray," but the overall experience makes up for whatever shortcomings the course has. I would play here again if in Marshfield.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable

7/1/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Next tee is usually easy to find; nice neighborhood; concrete tee pads; some variety in your shots is needed; nice hole map at each tee; generally easy to locate your disc; not much tall grass and weeds; well maintained; has some character; practice basket; a complete bathroom
Cons: Short (most holes are 150 to 250 feet); some wooded holes don't feel tremendously well thought out (there may not be any path to the basket - you'll need to be absurdly accurate or fairly lucky); a few overly simplistic holes; occasionally may have trouble figuring out which basket you're shooting for
Other Thoughts: We had a very pleasant and enjoyable time at Braem. The course is set in a nice park that's in a good neighborhood. Other activities we noticed were baseball, tennis courts, a playground, and horseshoes - lots of horseshoes! We guessed they must have leagues there.

The first tee was easy to locate, as it was next to a big sign that contained a map and general rules. The first hole was a good start, a well manicured dogleg left in the open, guarded by trees to the left, and that finished with the basket tucked into the woods.

Most holes on this course aren't anything spectacular, but there aren't any holes that completely lack obstacles. A typical hole here is short, wooded, and will require a precise shot or two to grab a 2 or a 3. Par for each hole is listed at the tee, and some are 5s, but there's no hole on this course that an advanced player should have real trouble nabbing a 3 on.

This isn't a high caliber course but I'd be very happy to have it near my house. Many of these holes start off as the equivalent of a very difficult second shot at a top tier course. You can't beat that for practice, especially if you don't have a lot of time to play that day or are looking to just work on your medium/short game.

This course falls pretty far short of 'good - 3.0' in that there aren't any long holes, some holes are a little too easy, and it doesn't require more than a couple types of discs and use of your weaker hand (be it forehand or backhand). This course is well above 'poor - 1.0' because it's well maintained, in a relaxed setting, provides good practice and experience for all skill levels, and is pleasant to play.

We really enjoyed this one and it certainly holds its own, but a few key elements are missing that leave this course at average - 2.0

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.