Disc Golf Store
Fremont, MI 
Branstrom Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #3 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Branstrom

1    7/10/2012   1/15/2013
Review By: nickrockey
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lot's of land to cover!
Beautiful trails
It's hard for beginners
Some really dificult shots
Cons: It's hard for beginners
Too many really long holes
I can't remember what hole it is, maybe 18? They have picinic tables on the fairway! Some lady was trying to read as we came through and the wind was agianst us, I was worried about hitting her
Other Thoughts: wear hiking shoes, bring bug spray

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Happy Ending

2-4    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: MDeezy
Played: 80  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very nice park setting with mix of woods, fields, and elevation changes. Provides a good challenge using accurate placement shots. Last three holes (16, 17, and 18) are the best of the course, and a great way to end.
Cons: Course needs some work. Found it hard to navigate even with a map. Holes that cross water have no bridges, very steep inclines without stairs or trails. Alternate holes were poorly marked and cannot easily be avoided. Course can be very wet depending on the time of year and rainfall. The mix of carpet tee pads and very hungry bugs is a big downfall.
Other Thoughts: I personally think this course is good, but not great. With some work Branstrom could be exceptional. I have played this course a few times and found the wetness mixed with the carpet tee pads inconvenient. I also didn't like that the alternate holes could not easily be skipped. I think this is a great piece of land to have a course, I just wish the layout was a little better. If you are in the area, I think Whitehall DGC or Flip City is a better option.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Course for Accurate Throwers in Good Condition.

2-4    5/1/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful park with almost no traffic (at least when we went). The terrain is varied and stunning and the wildlife numerous. Hole layout was interesting and well-marked with really nice tee signs on the main 18. Navigation was simple with "next tee" markings on each tee sign and little stakes with tee number and direction at each basket and trail intersection (see pictures for #10). The alternate 6 are marked with posts painted white with tee number and sometimes directional arrows painted on. The course layout flows really well, particularly when playing the full 24, and usually does a fine job of avoiding cross-trail throws and most other park activities. This course rewarded both big arms and accuracy pretty evenly with wide open field shots, lightly wooded uphill, downhill, and dog leg shots, and heavily wooded '"thread the needle" shots. Holes #1A and #8 over the gully were particularly challenging, but be prepared for the scramble down the gully and back up to get to the basket....it's really, really steep! Hole #18 was equally challenging at 637 feet across a wide open field.
Cons: No course map or scorecards were available for this course, either on-line or on location. These were some of the least consistent tee pads I've ever seen (an odd combination of carpet, sand, dirt, mud, etc...)! Loooong but beautiful hikes between holes 5 & 6 and 7 & 8 when not playing the alternate holes. HUGE, STEEP uphill and downhill hikes in rugged terrain made this course quite an arduous workout. The penalty for missing a couple of shots meant even greater climbs or hikes and the occasional wade in the creek or river. Early in the season, several tees and fairways were covered with standing (#7) or even running (#1 and #8) water. There was no bridge of any kind to cross the stream in the gulley at #8, either.

Very heavy foliage and thick brush in the rough means you'll spend lots of time searching for lost discs after errant throws or ricocheting tree hits. #1A is particularly punishing with overhanging trees, water, mud, thick brush, heavy foliage, downed trees, berry bushes, and ugly nasty nettles in the gully.
Other Thoughts: I had a hard time rating this course because the pros were really good but repeatedly searching for lost discs in heavy brush and some scary descents almost outweighed the pros for me. Most likely part of the disappointment I feel while playing this course is from playing it directly after playing Flip City - the contrast between them is glaring and Branstrom suffers greatly in this comparison.

Sturdy hiking boots, bug spray, and hydration highly recommended for survival on this course. Watch for berry bushes, poison ivy, and nettles!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Into the Woods

2-4    4/28/2007   5/23/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Challenging, with lots of beautiful scenery, woods, elevation, trees, wildlife, water. Good mix of shots required, and a few open holes to 'really let it fly'. Additional nine holes added recently to bring the park up to 27.
Cons: Excessive trees and tight fairways can be frustrating for beginners, especially the 'newer' holes which are even more tightly wooded. Bugs can be a problem at different times during the year (mosquitos, gnats, flies, etc) so bring bug spray.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.