Fremont, MI 
Branstrom Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #6 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 334ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Fairway



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 SPOTTERS A MUST!

1    9/17/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -SO MUCH VARIETY
-challenging and technical holes
-perfect use of the available terrain
-interesting carpeted/sand bag tees (great traction)
-cool blue plastic tee signs that stand out
-in a very well maintained park
-right down the street from the quaint downtown of Fremont
Cons: -THE ROUGH. UNFORGIVING. NUMERO UNO CON
-course layout super confusing without map
-next hole signs small and miss-able
Other Thoughts: This course is a super tough one to rate. One major pro, and super major con. But lets have at it.

This course is right down the road from downtown Fremont. Easy to find with signs that point the way. The park is well maintained and has bathrooms, picnic places, and a playground. Tee one is easy to find...but there are no maps and this will matter once you hit tee 6 and the alternates start.

VARIETY. Man, more than I have ever played. Through the woods, over creeks, over valleys, down hills, through an open field, around trees, by swamps. This course takes full advantage of the entire park. I could have just walked this course for it's uniqueness...well maybe, ok, no way could I walk by a basket without playing. Lengths range from short to long with well placed baskets. The course designers did this course proud. Word is that Flip City's Bill McKenzie had a hand in designing it.

Ok now, the MAJOR CON. The rough. Thick bushes, cattails by water, fern...every imaginable worst case rough scenario for a course. It's so bad that when I got to tee 3 I had to take a whiz, took five steps off the tee into the ferns, and stepped on a pink orc! It had mud on it so it must have been sitting there for awhile. Hole 7 I helped a kid (also playing alone) look for his tye-dye disc he lost in the brush...

***INTERUPT FOR A DG WARNING-DO NOT USE TYE-DYE IN DEEP ROUGH COURSES-DUH***

...needless to say I was not having a good time because I had never played the course and I was alone. Every other hole I was afraid I would lose a disc on a blind shot. It would take a lot of work to clear the rough but it would make this course an incredible course.

SUMMARY. Such a very cool course worth a visit. It's a short distance from Flip City and would compliment a play if you are in the area. Is it a destination stop like Flip is? no. Is it a course worth considering, indeed it is...and it is only a little elbow grease away from making it a 4 star course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Does anyone have a map????

1    8/31/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: edwellerii
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This place is beautiful, with many challenging holes, tons of terrain diversity and setting changes. Tight fairways or crazy doglegs make each hole challenge and loads of fun.
Cons: Navigation between holes and the lack of a map!!!!! The distance (approx 1/4 mile) and lack of trail markers between #5 & #6 is enough to make a novice give up looking and go home. I never could find hole 6a
Other Thoughts: Overall I loved this course and cant wait to play again Please post a map!!!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Lots of fun!

5+    8/4/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: Caseyrk
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love this place! I have played it over and over.
"A" holes are alot of fun
Hole 16 and 18 will make your day
Lots of hard holes to keep you sharp
And lots of berries to eat along the way!
I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a couple of fun disc golf hours!!
Cons: Broken Glass....LOTS of trees....lost a disc
Other Thoughts: Wear shoes! Bring bug spray! and watch your disc! lots of places to lose a disc, and a lot of trees to hit! We have lost 4 discs the past 2 years. 3 of which were found/returned

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 2-7 have challenging, Oshtemo-style narrow fairways in deciduous woods in the 250-350 foot range, and also have some of the better tee pads on the course (carpet lined cement, unusual but effective).

Hole 8 is a unique short drive over a ravine in dense woods.

Holes 16 through 18 offer a much needed contrast to the forest holes with drives over short grass.

Hole 16 is a highlight of the course, a grip-and-rip 350 footer from the top of a hill. Hole 18 is by far the longest at 637 feet.

Most baskets in good shape, though one was missing a chain. 24 total holes offer a full two-plus hours of play.

Good signs for all holes with the exception of the alternates. Free admission.
Cons: Lots of thick undergrowth bordering fairways that swallows discs (lost a disc on hole 5).

Navigation is difficult despite the signage.

Many tee pads are dirt, including all of the alternate holes. Holes 8 through 15 are as tightly wooded as Whitehall, but are slightly wetter and muddier. Some of the bluffs along the creek would likely be difficult to traverse in winter.

Course is easier to navigate if you play the alternates, but some holes are difficult to find anyway (8 and 14).

Not many benches after Hole 9. Some locals picnicking on Hole 18 caused some grief and didn't allow a play-through.
Other Thoughts: A nice course worth checking out, and could be first rate with trimming and updated tee pads.

Technical, accurate play offers an advantage. Lots of mosquitos, don't forget the bug spray.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 DISCING IN TIME!

5+    5/15/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: Azar002
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: LOVE THIS COURSE! The "sandbag" tees are something else. The old, rotting woods, and deep, dugout ravines are unlike any scenery I've golfed in. BEST part of this course is exploring "glass island" .. you will know it when you see it. GREAT course for "tree lovers." AWESOME open downhill shot on hole 16. Alternate holes are placed well, you can play all 6 without veering off the main course or backtracking.
Cons: It is a challenging course for singles, yet fun course for doubles. Hole 18 is extremely long, and will put a damper on your final score. You will find yourself spending too much time exploring the antique glass by the water's edge. The course takes almost 2 hours to complete!
Other Thoughts: Last time I was there I found an old pair of glasses, Roosevelt style. Also found red, blue, and orange glass. Not many complete bottles, but if you dig down deep enough, you can find pieces that haven't been crushed by explorers. Always a treasure to be found every time you go there!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Course for Accurate Throwers in Good Condition.

2-4    5/1/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful park with almost no traffic (at least when we went). The terrain is varied and stunning and the wildlife numerous. Hole layout was interesting and well-marked with really nice tee signs on the main 18. Navigation was simple with "next tee" markings on each tee sign and little stakes with tee number and direction at each basket and trail intersection (see pictures for #10). The alternate 6 are marked with posts painted white with tee number and sometimes directional arrows painted on. The course layout flows really well, particularly when playing the full 24, and usually does a fine job of avoiding cross-trail throws and most other park activities. This course rewarded both big arms and accuracy pretty evenly with wide open field shots, lightly wooded uphill, downhill, and dog leg shots, and heavily wooded '"thread the needle" shots. Holes #1A and #8 over the gully were particularly challenging, but be prepared for the scramble down the gully and back up to get to the basket....it's really, really steep! Hole #18 was equally challenging at 637 feet across a wide open field.
Cons: No course map or scorecards were available for this course, either on-line or on location. These were some of the least consistent tee pads I've ever seen (an odd combination of carpet, sand, dirt, mud, etc...)! Loooong but beautiful hikes between holes 5 & 6 and 7 & 8 when not playing the alternate holes. HUGE, STEEP uphill and downhill hikes in rugged terrain made this course quite an arduous workout. The penalty for missing a couple of shots meant even greater climbs or hikes and the occasional wade in the creek or river. Early in the season, several tees and fairways were covered with standing (#7) or even running (#1 and #8) water. There was no bridge of any kind to cross the stream in the gulley at #8, either.

Very heavy foliage and thick brush in the rough means you'll spend lots of time searching for lost discs after errant throws or ricocheting tree hits. #1A is particularly punishing with overhanging trees, water, mud, thick brush, heavy foliage, downed trees, berry bushes, and ugly nasty nettles in the gully.
Other Thoughts: I had a hard time rating this course because the pros were really good but repeatedly searching for lost discs in heavy brush and some scary descents almost outweighed the pros for me. Most likely part of the disappointment I feel while playing this course is from playing it directly after playing Flip City - the contrast between them is glaring and Branstrom suffers greatly in this comparison.

Sturdy hiking boots, bug spray, and hydration highly recommended for survival on this course. Watch for berry bushes, poison ivy, and nettles!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Freemont

1    5/1/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: Andrew
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide mixture of paths. Well laid out course except for a few holes.
Cons: Plan on walking Branstrom is huge. Ohh and there are lots of bugs. Swampy in some areas.
Other Thoughts: Confusing layout needs to have better markers.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Beautiful

5+    10/20/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: david_hedstrom
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2010
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course has a wide variety of shots, and lengths. The course is laid out very well contrary to what others say. There are hikes between holes but this allows you to take in the beauty of the park. Even though this course is not extraordinarily long it is one of the best I have ever played thanks to Bill M! Super tough pin placements, the course forces you to shoot the fairway or you will be punished. Elevation changes come into play on most holes. This course is super tough and you can learn a lot about your game. Risk reward on most holes. This course will definitely teach you to to club down to keep it in the fairway and make you into a solid golfer if you shoot it daily.
Cons: Tee pads are terrible, some of the worst I've ever played on. Some of the pads are ok but there are pads that aweful; carpet :(
Other Thoughts: I would recommend that if you are playing here for the first time you play with a local or someone who has knowledge of the course; this will make for easier navigation and so you don't miss any of the 6 alternates. If you live in Michigan this is a must play course, well worth the trip.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/7/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: DAN E.
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hard course.I played with experianced players that got into tree problems and I par'd.Good equilizer holes into the course.Love the gully holes.good work out.My son and I tied with a 16 over, Dominating our partners that night.We were happy.
Cons: Better direction to next hole.We missed a hole last spring.Not complaining but cement T pads would be good.
Other Thoughts: Not for beginners,But if it's a learning place and a home course for a beginner,Watch Out!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tough hiking, rewarding course

1    8/15/2008   8/15/2008
Review By: dandther
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some of the holes are beautifully laid out, with outstanding use of elevation changes, narrow fairways with excellent curves. One of the holes (8 I think) is one of the most beautifully designed holes I've ever played. You tee off on one side of a ravine trying to hit the basket on the other side. However, that hole, like many others on the first 18 we played, is uncomfortably tight in dense woods. See cons below...
Cons: The previous review has it right. You'll wish you had hiking boots for this course. There is almost a quarter mile hike up a steep ridge between holes 5 and 6. Many of the other holes have very long walks through narrow and steep trails to find the next tee. You'll get lost out there if you miss the small signs pointing you to the next tee (but the 18 we played are all marked). Most of the holes are in dense woods, rewarding lucky shots rather than intelligently crafted curves. The downhill "path" on 13 is suicidally dangerous, don't slip. 18 is insanely long for a par 3, well over 600 feet.
Other Thoughts: I really liked the course, despite my complaints about the terrain and the dense woods. I wouldn't go out of my way to play it again (this was a 50+ mile round trip for me) but my son and I really enjoyed our game today. We stopped at Spanky's Pizza on N. Main afterwards, great food! (Turn R on M-82 at Darling after you leave the park, Spanky's is in a strip mall on your right about a mile after you get on M-82/N. Main).

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center