Fremont, MI 
Branstrom Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: lcra0825 Hole #16 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Tough hiking, rewarding course

1    8/15/2008   8/15/2008
Review By: dandther
Played: 43  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 40.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some of the holes are beautifully laid out, with outstanding use of elevation changes, narrow fairways with excellent curves. One of the holes (8 I think) is one of the most beautifully designed holes I've ever played. You tee off on one side of a ravine trying to hit the basket on the other side. However, that hole, like many others on the first 18 we played, is uncomfortably tight in dense woods. See cons below...
Cons: The previous review has it right. You'll wish you had hiking boots for this course. There is almost a quarter mile hike up a steep ridge between holes 5 and 6. Many of the other holes have very long walks through narrow and steep trails to find the next tee. You'll get lost out there if you miss the small signs pointing you to the next tee (but the 18 we played are all marked). Most of the holes are in dense woods, rewarding lucky shots rather than intelligently crafted curves. The downhill "path" on 13 is suicidally dangerous, don't slip. 18 is insanely long for a par 3, well over 600 feet.
Other Thoughts: I really liked the course, despite my complaints about the terrain and the dense woods. I wouldn't go out of my way to play it again (this was a 50+ mile round trip for me) but my son and I really enjoyed our game today. We stopped at Spanky's Pizza on N. Main afterwards, great food! (Turn R on M-82 at Darling after you leave the park, Spanky's is in a strip mall on your right about a mile after you get on M-82/N. Main).

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your hiking boots

1    6/26/2008   6/27/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 143  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good variety of holes lengths, doglegs, and elevation changes
- Great signs and clearly marked pathways keep you from getting lost
- Abundant wildlife (I threw over two deer in the 10th fairway who didn't flinch as the disc went flying over their heads)
Cons: - Mosquitoes galore, don't leave home without your bug spray
- Long walks between holes, especially if you chose to not play the alternates
- Several holes require you to walk up and down extremely steep hills, probably a good idea to have someone with you in case you fall or twist an ankle - not a course for the casual disc golfer
Other Thoughts: Despite having a hard time making it to the course due to construction I enjoyed playing it. Other than the long hikes between holes it is layed out well and rewards both the technical game and the big arms. Hole 11 brings you out of the woods with a teebox in a clearing and offers a nice pin placement back in the woods. Holes 15-18 are out in the open. Hole 16 is a satisfying downhill ace oppurtunity. Hole 18 seems to be longer than it needs to be; it really tests you to see if you have anything left in your tank.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Into the Woods

2-4    4/28/2007   5/23/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Challenging, with lots of beautiful scenery, woods, elevation, trees, wildlife, water. Good mix of shots required, and a few open holes to 'really let it fly'. Additional nine holes added recently to bring the park up to 27.
Cons: Excessive trees and tight fairways can be frustrating for beginners, especially the 'newer' holes which are even more tightly wooded. Bugs can be a problem at different times during the year (mosquitos, gnats, flies, etc) so bring bug spray.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.