Ann Arbor, MI 
BRATS Share
Uploaded By: Innovadude Hole #15 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 170ft.   3 / 190ft.   3 / 215ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Long Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    7/1/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: mcphatty
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Private course, so you wont be waiting for large, slow groups.
The owners of the course take great care of the grounds, and are very friendly and informative.
Good mix of holes. This course will definitely require you to vary your throw.
Blind baskets are well marked with tall poles.
Cons: OB areas are very thick with brush. Expect to lose a disc if you wander too far from the fairway

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/1/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: Gifted
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintained and trimmed course
-Good selection of shots with good am and pro tees
-Owners are extremely helpful and friendly
-No traffic as you are the only group playing
-Swinging basket is memorable
Cons: -No cement tees
-THICK brush (not anyones fault, but if you lose track of your disc, safe to bet it's gone)
Other Thoughts: Check out their pro shop at The Ponds @ Lakeshore in Ypsi!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The yard of my dreams...

2-4    7/4/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 16.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of different kinds of shots were necessary to excel at this course. It was well maintained, attractive grounds, with interesting things to look at while taking quality shots. There's a big lion statue on the course, salvaged from a local mall's redesign. The people who run it are also very friendly and knowledgeable about disc golf. Truly a treat. One of the baskets swings.
Cons: Some of the roughs are ROUGH. Buckthorns can have you considering giving up on a disc that's 6 inches from arm's reach. It was a dry day, but even still the soil was a little wet at places, it could certainly be bad on a wet day. One of the baskets swings.
Other Thoughts: Ozzy gets a bad rep, but he helped me find one of my discs and sabotaged a friend's game for hilarious results.If you're in the area, it's well worth it to make the effort to play this course, even if you have to call ahead.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 2 thumbs up

5+    1/31/2010   2/11/2010
Review By: cassidymayne
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - well maintained
- uses every shot in book
hyzer, anhyzer, overhead
- a couple nice ace run holes
- lots of area to bring out the long drives
- very little risk of loosing a disc (unless ozzy gets a hold of it)
- the hanging basket for 9 and 18 is an awesome added touch.
- tee markers are a great addition to the course
- the owners are a great bunch of people
- for the amount of land they did a killer job with the design
Cons: - only a couple holes have cement tee pads
- ozzy when he is outside (didn't mark down for this but it is annoying)

That's all i see as a con with this course
Other Thoughts: Put in cement tee pads and I will be calling a lot more often to play.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Red Chainstars?

5+    7/9/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: discinboogs
Played: 110  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very cool layout. On the given acreage, one couldn't ask for better. The holes are very well thought out from both pro and am tees. Red painted baskets to reduce spit-outs (It is Ben's course he can do whatever he wants). Actually works in my opinion. The Calhouns are a great family and will play with you and it's a lot of fun. The holes give you lots of opportunities and challenges. If you ace here you can move the lion statue to anywhere you want on the course which is a fun incentive but aces are sometimes risky to run here. Hanging basket on 9/18 which you can swing via course rules if you are stuck behind the tree that guards it. It's all about timing with the swinging basket and a fun aspect to the two holes. Lot's of room to air out drives here. Lots of fun for those of us who throw 400+. Course is well marked but still requires a guide; #1 because it is private #2 because it's still tricky at times. After playing it one time over it all makes sense and makes you want to play it again because I assure you will want your revenge. Tough course, 4 out of 5 discs for sure.
Cons: The rough hates you. If the buckthorns had ink on the thorns you would leave this course with a new tattoo. Very rough rough at times. DO NOT PLAY WITH OZZY Impossible to play if they don't put the dog away he will chase your discs after standing next to your lead leg until you release, very aggravating. Water is drained from across the street onto Ben's property which sucks because it's not really the Calhouns fault but their property holds water pretty good.
Other Thoughts: Great course. My best score is a 55 leaving me wanting more. Course record is 48, par 54 if that gives you an idea of the type of shots you need to conquer BRATS. Ben is a great golfer and if you let him have perma-honors he will show you the right way to play the holes. Lot's of fun. One of my favorite courses and designs of all time. Good stuff

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Biased-it's my yard

1    5/4/2004   6/15/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great design featuring tough accuracy shots, several multi-stage holes and variety. Free to play, never packed and dog-friendly.
Cons: Can be rough in off-season as it's hard to keep up with the maintenance. Can be wet after a big rain.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to call AND have permission, it is our private, backyard course.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.