Brighton, MI 
Brighton High School Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
2 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
pitch and putt

1    3/31/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 234  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays around a retention pond behind the high school by the athletic fields. Plays intermingled with walking trails, be careful

Baskets-- the ones that are there are in nice shape.

Routing/nav-- fairly easy, just follow the lake clockwise from the parking lot.

Teesigns-- at the very least, they were interesting. distances in yards.
Cons: Challenge-- very low. no lake involvement, very very short holes. par 2's

Construction issues-- more than half the course is unavailable d/t construction issues. this was a fun course to play safari though.
Other Thoughts:
This course is partially unavailable due to construction. #1, #2, #4, #8 &#9 are not in the ground.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not good

5+    7/14/2011   10/24/2013
Review By: jswoods1984
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great if you are looking for a course that you can bring nothing but a putter. Right near downtown Brighton, so it's good for a lunch break course if you're local.
Cons: Tiny holes, no challenges, at a high school so no smoking/drinking/anything. Really hard to even consider it a "course"

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Putter Paradise

2-4    5/31/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 163  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pleasant little "Putters Only" course that plays around a small pond providing nice ambience for some quality time with your putter(s). Good for practicing putt & approach, small kids, or quick, quiet rounds if you're already nearby.

Given what this place is, it offers fair shot variety in in that most holes are pretty wide open with nice, short looks at the basket that don't force any specific lines,so you can choose how you want to run it. A couple of them have tucked/guarded baskets which, despite the short distance, would be respectable Aces because of the line required. Elevation changes come into play on a few holes to make things a bit more interesting. Good use of trees to make about half the holes here more interesting than "See that basket straight ahead? OK - go for it!"

Holes play clockwise around a quiet little pond that creates a pleasant ambience.
Cons: Limited availability, but understandably: no playing during school hours.

Putter only courses by their very nature, are pretty much one-dimensional, this is no exception: only 1 hole over 150' with the longest clocking in at just under 200'.

There's a pond I would love to throw over, but there's no reason to.

Holes 5, 6, 7 seem to be a jumble of tees and baskets crammed in a fairly small area to make a "full" nine holes. Not really clear which tee goes with which basket, and it's not really important either; I played them as intended, and found it more interesting to safari them afterwards.
Other Thoughts: Neat little course, serves a useful purpose, and I've had fun here. Don't take my 1.5 as hating on this course. I simply can't give 9 holes worth of upshots a rating of 2 discs. Riverview Grasslands and Bay Court are far more complete courses, and I have them at 2.0. In my opinion, this course simply doesn't merrit that rating, and to do so would be misleading and imply there's more going on here than there really is.

Worth playing if you have a reason to be in/near Brighton, but please don't drive here for the disc golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Practice your game!

5+    4/1/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: cheesegrater
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great practice course
-Nice, short shots to practice your mid range and putting.
-Hole #3 is a pretty decent hole :D
Cons: -Watch out for the pond, i've had numerous friends throw discs into said pond.
-Deer randomly run down the paths and trails
-Watch out for the old lady walking her dog
Other Thoughts: Love working the short game here, i also love that they have the football field to fine tune some distance throws

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad short course

1    12/4/2010   12/22/2010
Review By: Jabanger
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
Pros: Great for mid-range/putter work.
Easy to create safari rounds
Easy to Navigate
Quick Rounds
Cons: Not being able to play during school hours.
Other Thoughts: Great little course. I played my first round here after 8 months off after a back injury. It was great for my game and built up my confidence quickly.

  Good Short 9

5+    9/10/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: ffdisch
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: Yes.... It is a very short 9! but if you live in the area and want to throw a few discs this is a good place. I bring a mid range and a putter and I am good to go. Great place to work on short game! You can drive from the parking lot next to the school to hole 8 and make it as far as you want.... its close to the water so you can make it a good challenge. Overall it is a quick fun course to do if your bored!
Cons: can not play mon-fri during school hours.... You will get yelled at or the school police might come ask what your doing.
Other Thoughts: Quick fun course that has an interesting design. If your not so hot on your short game this is a great place to go! Park by the tennis courts when you get behind the school and the first tee is between the softball field and the tennis court.... You can't miss it! Grip it and rip it! Have fun!!

 A fun little course...

1    9/26/2009   7/31/2010
Review By: laschus
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Easy to navigate, varied scenery, just a whiff of challenge at time to time.
Cons: Obviously a little short, but great to work on your short game.
Other Thoughts: As I understand this course was created as a senior project by some BHS students, and my hat is off to them!! This was a great little project and a fun course to whip out a quick nine. The design around the lake was brilliant, with the water always in sight as a nice attraction while at the same time being an interesting challenge. A great course to work on your short game or have a fun, quick round.

 

1    6/30/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees are marked with stakes in the ground. Nice Mach III baskets. Several "next tee" signs throughout. Course plays around a small pond/lake behind the high school, and wind comes into play. A nice course for children.
Cons: Holes simply too short for my liking; I didn't pull out my driver once. For a course that goes around a lake, it would have been nice to have it come into play at some point. Seems like a wasted opportunity. Baskets packed fairly close together; it was difficult to tell which one to aim for at times.
Other Thoughts: I came away impressed. For a small high school course, it was pretty well-designed. Like I said above, they should put the lake into play. The course pretty much goes like this: two holes, a short walk, two holes, another walk, etc. until you're back where you started. Hole #1 tee is betwixt the baseball field and tennis courts.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

6/19/2008   6/20/2008
Review By: Pizatman
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Laid out around a lake, looks nice. Nice variety of hills, forest and scenery. Different landscape keeps course from being boring.
Cons: Holes are not well marked, some signs are missing, tees aren't always obvious. Course isn't well kept and bugs are abundant.
A few too many holes are just straight shots from the tee.
Other Thoughts: With regular maintenance and replacing the missing signs, this course could be something good. A little hard to figure out where to start, but course is a large circle, so you can always follow the course around to finish all 9 holes.
Not a whole lot of varience in game play, but a forgiving course to come out and practice the approach and putting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.