Ardmore, OK 
Broadlawn Park Share
Uploaded By: Longstride Hole #11 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Vanilla, but Well-Maintained

1    9/16/2014   9/16/2014
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a pretty good flow for having the neighborhoods to the north and south confining the park. Not much in the way of crossover either. But some adjacent tee/pin alignments force you to double check the map a few times. By the way, the course map is adjacent to the #1 tee. Each tee has adequate-sized concrete tees and the vast majority of the baskets are in great shape (DGA's). The front plays pretty straight and open with the only real challenge being to keep your disc out of some of the adjacent back-yards on a couple of shots (#1 is a forced RH turn for example). Some good risk and reward on the back 9 as you play along the creek, but very little on the front. Plenty of benches, some in the shade too! The walking trail ends up being a good footpath for the majority of the course too.
Cons: Not a lot of length variety between most holes (I'd estimate the vast majority is below about 330' with a couple under 200'). Down to one tee sign (#1) though the poles are intact throughout the course. I saw a couple of handwritten distances on a few posts as the top 6 inches of the posts are typically painted white (I assume to help identify them). Two baskets are inexplicably in markedly worse condition than the rest (#17, #18) and appear to have been painted at some point in their abusive relationship with Mother Nature and vandals. A handful of tee pads are cracked, often at the front foot or two. A couple of pins are partially obscured from the primary flightline by overgrown shrubs. Just needs a touch of maintenance. Tee on #16 is across the creek though the post for the missing tee sign is not. Should you play from the tee (means twice crossing the creek without the aid of a bridge) or the sign post? It needs a bridge if the intent is still to play the tee (which isn't mowed apparently either). The biggest con is that the walking path is in play on about two-thirds of the holes. Definitely keep an eye out for walkers/runners during the round.
Other Thoughts: The course runs along a walking trail that wraps a long, thin strip of land between two neighborhoods. The north side of the park as bounded by a small creek. The park features a pavilion at the east end and a playground at the west. There's also a parking lot at each end and benches scattered throughout the park. Overall, it's a borderline repetitive drive and putt course. What I mean is that there are very few obstacles and the variety comes mainly in the form of whether you want to throw RHFH or work on your anny shots. However the fact that it forces some righty forehand or RH anny shots in a handful of places makes it one of the more lefty-friendly parks of this difficulty level. The course is nominally flat with only a few subtle slopes outside of two bosom-like hills that are featured on #9 and #10. Not a bad course, just not a destination course or even particularly memorable one. You could probably add a half disc to the score with a bridge for #16. I didn't have much wind on the day I played, but a westerly wind would impact play as a headwind/tailwind on the front and back 9, respectively.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

That was Easy!

1    1/4/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the easy flow of this course. There is parking on either end and you can start on hole #1 or hole #10.

There is a nice playground area just far enough away to be out of the way, but close enough to watch your children from pretty much the whole course. Also, a nice walking trail, picnic tables, and benches make this a great place to take your family.

Course map at hole one.

The maintenance on the park (mowing, trash clean up, etc.) seems to be well taken care of.

Very good use of available obstacles! I especially appreciated the way the creek was incorporated to add a little risk/reward.

Overall just a relaxing round.
Cons: Not much challenge at all. Really.

Only two tee signs. The rest have went to where all good tee signs go.

The vandals also pulled a couple of baskets up, but they are still usable.

A couple of pads are broken, though this course is so short it shouldn't matter.
Other Thoughts: This course is right up my alley. I love to play with my wife and two young children and this course is incredible for that. If you are very skilled, you shouldn't have much trouble getting a birdie on pretty much every hole. If I lived in Ardmore, I would play here a lot, but its probably not ever going to be a must play for anyone.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Playing in the Lawn

1    10/14/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent concrete tees
Good baskets
Good map at hole 1
Quick round (30-45 min max)
Ace chances
Easy navigation
Good use of the trees that are there
A few chances to stretch out and use a driver
Chance to work on your midrange accuracy.
Good to take a family or newbies to
Cons: Some pads need a little TLC
So narrow and short
Tee signs missing on almost every hole
A couple of baskets are kinda loose
Walking path in play on several holes
Few chances to work on distance driving
Slight chance of landing in someone's backyard on several holes
Other Thoughts: This is a decent little course.
Worth the stop if you happen to be in Ardmore.
Watch out for walkers, the path is usually in use.
The creek that is in play on the back nine is usually clean and shallow.
It is fun enough to hit if you haven't been.
Fun enough for repeat if you're in the area and have a few minutes.
Just not worth a trip of very many miles, unless just to bag another course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It is what it is

1    3/14/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 270  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice beginner level course. Not a whole lot of holes that are super long. #9 and #10 are up on a terrace and #9's basket is sunken down a bit. Both baskets are side by side. #14 has 2 trees right off the tee box to the right. #16 makes you tee off from across the creek. I wouldn't say the water threat is severe, but when the creek was full I could see where you might lose a disc. The tee pads were good. Some holes where slightly guarded by trees.
If I had to compare this course to another course that I have played, I would say it resembles Leonard Woods in Lewisville TX, but without the length.
Cons: #17,18 baskets need to be repaired. Many of the distance signs are non existent. I can only recall there being 2-4 sign that were actually there. Navigation was confusing. There is a map under the links/files for this course, as well as the map at the park itself, but it was not the best in the world for a first timer.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for what it is. You can get an ace here pretty easily, if you are lucky and have the skill. I was within 3 feet on #9 and #18 myself and I am an amateur who has only been playing a year. There was only 1 other group of disc golfers there the day that I played. There were about 5 people walking in the park so be aware.
About the only trouble that I could see a disc golfer getting into at this course would be if you shanked a shot on the front or back nine to the left, you might end up in someones backyard. Also on the back 9 you could end up in the creek, which could be troublesome if there was more water in it then when I played. If I lived in the area I am sure that I would play this course often, but this is not a must play by any means. I stopped here on my way from Wichita KS to Dallas TX, A: to see what it was like and B: to stretch my legs. If you are looking for something to do to break up drive up or down I-35 then this would be a great place to get out and stretch your legs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 okay but needs work

1    10/30/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: wide open course to work on your drives.
mostly shorter holes, feel good about your low score.
work on your windy day game.
fairly easy to navigate.
Cons: course is somewhat in disrepair. baskets on #11 & 18 are broken. some holes have signs others just have a pole (a few have distances written on them).
not a lot of variety here. just wide open shots that aren't even that far.
not really the best plot of land and perhaps not utilized as well as it could have been. design is 9 holes up and 9 holes back so on a relatively small plot there are several possible destination baskets on holes that don't have any signs. be sure to bring a map, or snap a pic of the map near the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: if you are driving between DFW and OKC and looking for a place to stop and play, go to flightline in pauls valley instead. great course.
http://www.dgcoursereview.com...se.php?id=299

with a couple new baskets and proper signage, this could be a nice mediocre course. at present, it leaves something to be desired.

i don't know if there is a local club that could raise some money or put in the time to repair and upgrade the course but it needs it.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ardmore

5+    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ok course with lots of different shots. Can throw almost any type of shot and it will work, except maybe a roller if the grass hadn't been mowed. The tee pads are concrete and the baskets are in good shape. Good course for all levels of players ranging from the very new to the pro/adv player. Everything is pretty short so that a very low round is available to someone who is on "fire". Not alot of places to lose plastic which is a plus too. Lots of ace runs as well. You can play this course very fast due to not much traffic.
Cons: Pretty open so it can get hot very fast. Lots of people walking around and playing in the park. The wind is always here just like everywhere else in Oklahoma. Too short to be ranked higher with other courses. Tee signs are missing for the most part and navigation can get tricky for first timers to the park but not to terrible.
Other Thoughts: Parking can be an issue if its a nice day. Not worth the trip just for this, but you can use it for a leg break if you are driving from OKC to Dallas.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 decent course

1    5/20/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: sensei
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We played the day after a heavy rain storm. There was some standing water on a few fariways but virtually no mud outside the creek.

It's disc golf in Southern Oklahoma!
Cons: Very short

Poorly marked

The tee box for hole 16 was completely inaccessible due to the washed out creek. Looks like it has been that way a while as a tree branch is literally three feet above the concrete.
Other Thoughts: We were in Thackerville OK for a wedding and this was the closest 18 hole course that I hadn't played before. I was surprised at the lack of mud given the conditions the night before. I think it's because this course doesn't get much play.

The locals must not see many disc golfers, most of them were oblivious to us and would walk right between us and the basket. The few who did notice us watched us like we were from mars.

As mentioned, most of the signs that tell you which basket you're supposed to be throwing at are missing. I took a picture of the course map on my phone before we started and that really helped us find our way around.

Be warned, there is a new hospital being built right in the middle of one of the streets on the Google Maps directions and some of the neighborhood streets are tricky (they go for a few blocks then end and then start over again). Have a backup route or a smartphoneGPS until Google gets the directions fixed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Stop!

1    3/22/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.8 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a small park "almost" dedicated to walkers and disc golfers. The cement tee pads are fine. There is a layout map on the nice message board (the first tee is behind it). There is a deep creek along the back 9 and these holes have some fun pin placements among the few trees that do exist. There are some nice risk/reward shots and baby elevation. This is a fairly simple course, but it was actually quite enjoyable.
Cons: Some of the poles marking the tee signs are missing and only some of them have footages on them. However, they may not be that accurate. On hole 18, the picnic table and kids water spot might be a bit in play for a RHBH thrower. You will need to keep the map in mind as the holes are close enough you might get confused the first time through as the front 9 and back 9 cross in the middle of the park a couple of times. It is a bit difficult crossing the creek in spots to make it to the tees and baskets that rest there, but not impossible.
Other Thoughts: For me, the fun factor was higher than I thought it would be. I actually enjoyed this course. It is not a difficult course and has many approach type driving holes, but the pin placements & creek area shots were fun. As an indifferent comment, the creek is shallow and narrow. So unless there is a big rain, you shouldn't lose a disc here. If you are driving through here or even near by, it is well worth the stop, but I wouldn't make this a focal point of a road trip. Nice job Ardmore, OK!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Narrow and family friendly

2-4    8/16/2004   10/17/2008
Review By: okjazz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.8 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: easy to walk on and play, plays along a nice creek, access to small park for children, picnic area with covered gazebo, great for beginners
Cons: overall short course, due to narrow lay-out must be careful of crossing fairways
Other Thoughts: Locals friendly and the park is well maintained

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.