Ardmore, OK 
Broadlawn Park Share
Uploaded By: Longstride Hole #5 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Basket behind rocks



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Vanilla, but Well-Maintained

1    9/16/2014   9/16/2014
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a pretty good flow for having the neighborhoods to the north and south confining the park. Not much in the way of crossover either. But some adjacent tee/pin alignments force you to double check the map a few times. By the way, the course map is adjacent to the #1 tee. Each tee has adequate-sized concrete tees and the vast majority of the baskets are in great shape (DGA's). The front plays pretty straight and open with the only real challenge being to keep your disc out of some of the adjacent back-yards on a couple of shots (#1 is a forced RH turn for example). Some good risk and reward on the back 9 as you play along the creek, but very little on the front. Plenty of benches, some in the shade too! The walking trail ends up being a good footpath for the majority of the course too.
Cons: Not a lot of length variety between most holes (I'd estimate the vast majority is below about 330' with a couple under 200'). Down to one tee sign (#1) though the poles are intact throughout the course. I saw a couple of handwritten distances on a few posts as the top 6 inches of the posts are typically painted white (I assume to help identify them). Two baskets are inexplicably in markedly worse condition than the rest (#17, #18) and appear to have been painted at some point in their abusive relationship with Mother Nature and vandals. A handful of tee pads are cracked, often at the front foot or two. A couple of pins are partially obscured from the primary flightline by overgrown shrubs. Just needs a touch of maintenance. Tee on #16 is across the creek though the post for the missing tee sign is not. Should you play from the tee (means twice crossing the creek without the aid of a bridge) or the sign post? It needs a bridge if the intent is still to play the tee (which isn't mowed apparently either). The biggest con is that the walking path is in play on about two-thirds of the holes. Definitely keep an eye out for walkers/runners during the round.
Other Thoughts: The course runs along a walking trail that wraps a long, thin strip of land between two neighborhoods. The north side of the park as bounded by a small creek. The park features a pavilion at the east end and a playground at the west. There's also a parking lot at each end and benches scattered throughout the park. Overall, it's a borderline repetitive drive and putt course. What I mean is that there are very few obstacles and the variety comes mainly in the form of whether you want to throw RHFH or work on your anny shots. However the fact that it forces some righty forehand or RH anny shots in a handful of places makes it one of the more lefty-friendly parks of this difficulty level. The course is nominally flat with only a few subtle slopes outside of two bosom-like hills that are featured on #9 and #10. Not a bad course, just not a destination course or even particularly memorable one. You could probably add a half disc to the score with a bridge for #16. I didn't have much wind on the day I played, but a westerly wind would impact play as a headwind/tailwind on the front and back 9, respectively.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It is what it is

1    3/14/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 267  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 4.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice beginner level course. Not a whole lot of holes that are super long. #9 and #10 are up on a terrace and #9's basket is sunken down a bit. Both baskets are side by side. #14 has 2 trees right off the tee box to the right. #16 makes you tee off from across the creek. I wouldn't say the water threat is severe, but when the creek was full I could see where you might lose a disc. The tee pads were good. Some holes where slightly guarded by trees.
If I had to compare this course to another course that I have played, I would say it resembles Leonard Woods in Lewisville TX, but without the length.
Cons: #17,18 baskets need to be repaired. Many of the distance signs are non existent. I can only recall there being 2-4 sign that were actually there. Navigation was confusing. There is a map under the links/files for this course, as well as the map at the park itself, but it was not the best in the world for a first timer.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for what it is. You can get an ace here pretty easily, if you are lucky and have the skill. I was within 3 feet on #9 and #18 myself and I am an amateur who has only been playing a year. There was only 1 other group of disc golfers there the day that I played. There were about 5 people walking in the park so be aware.
About the only trouble that I could see a disc golfer getting into at this course would be if you shanked a shot on the front or back nine to the left, you might end up in someones backyard. Also on the back 9 you could end up in the creek, which could be troublesome if there was more water in it then when I played. If I lived in the area I am sure that I would play this course often, but this is not a must play by any means. I stopped here on my way from Wichita KS to Dallas TX, A: to see what it was like and B: to stretch my legs. If you are looking for something to do to break up drive up or down I-35 then this would be a great place to get out and stretch your legs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ardmore

5+    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ok course with lots of different shots. Can throw almost any type of shot and it will work, except maybe a roller if the grass hadn't been mowed. The tee pads are concrete and the baskets are in good shape. Good course for all levels of players ranging from the very new to the pro/adv player. Everything is pretty short so that a very low round is available to someone who is on "fire". Not alot of places to lose plastic which is a plus too. Lots of ace runs as well. You can play this course very fast due to not much traffic.
Cons: Pretty open so it can get hot very fast. Lots of people walking around and playing in the park. The wind is always here just like everywhere else in Oklahoma. Too short to be ranked higher with other courses. Tee signs are missing for the most part and navigation can get tricky for first timers to the park but not to terrible.
Other Thoughts: Parking can be an issue if its a nice day. Not worth the trip just for this, but you can use it for a leg break if you are driving from OKC to Dallas.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Narrow and family friendly

2-4    8/16/2004   10/17/2008
Review By: okjazz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.8 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: easy to walk on and play, plays along a nice creek, access to small park for children, picnic area with covered gazebo, great for beginners
Cons: overall short course, due to narrow lay-out must be careful of crossing fairways
Other Thoughts: Locals friendly and the park is well maintained

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.