Milwaukee, WI 
Brown Deer DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
This Noobs Favorite New Course!

1    9/1/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: XChiTown
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.3 Years
Pros: Concrete Tees boxes are great. All other Discers out there were very nice and helpful. Great mix of hole types.
Cons: Very difficult to find. Even 4 of the maintenance crew did not know where the 1st Tee was. Next tee arrows were on some holes, but not all. We almost skipped 15 all together. You need a sign for when you are crossing the street from 2 basket to 3 tee box. There are a some very dark holes that make spotting the basket difficult. A little more bright tape and some numbers on the all of the baskets would go a long way.
Other Thoughts: GREAT course. I am very new to the sport, but I am completely hooked. My son and I hit 6 courses throughout WI this weekend and this was by far our favorite. 7 and 9 are MONSTER holes. Nice change of pace! I live 2 hours north of Brown Deer, but will most definitely be making it a regular stop!

HINT: The 1st Tee is behind the Tennis Courts!

One of my favorites

2-4    7/6/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 88  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the best courses in the Milwaukee area, Brown Deer is sure to please.

Grippy concrete tee pad on every hole. 12' long and solid.

DGA baskets in good shape, and all caught well.

Tee signs show possible pins, distances and topography. It would be nice if the current pin position was shown, though.

2-4 pin positions on every hole keep it fresh. The layout has been different every time I've been here.

Very nice mix of distances. Tight, technical holes in the 200's, all the way up to 675' open bombers, and just about everything in between. Rarely is there this much variety in a single course. Every hole seems to produce a new challenge, especially in the long positions.

Plenty of variety from wooded, open, and combination holes. None of the wooded lines felt particularly unfair, although some are tight. Accuracy is king here.
Cons: Navigation can be a little tough for first timers. Three times you cross the road to get to the next tee, and two of those aren't immediately seen. A few "Next Tee" signs would go a long way here. Also, Hole 1 isn't the easiest to find...stuck behind some tennis courts and random debris that look more suited to a colony of raccoons than the beginning of a top level disc golf course.

2 tee pads on every hole would totally put this place over the top, especially with the numerous pin positions.

No elevation or water to speak of here. The land it's on just doesn't offer it.
Other Thoughts: My favorite Milwaukee course. In the long positions, it's long and surprisingly grueling for such a flat course. Personally, I dig that, as it helps keep the crowds down.

The park also includes a PGA level golf course and many other amenities. You'll see lots of bikers and joggers while you're here, soccer matches, etc.

If you're visiting Milwaukee, don't miss out on Brown Deer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course with Room for Improvement

5+    8/12/2013   2/10/2014
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 39  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall, Brown Deer is a great course that provides an excellent variety of shots throughout the round. The Mach 5 baskets are in decent condition, along with the tee pads. There are signs on every hole, although I believe these should be improved. The course offers plenty of long and short holes, along with holes that are in the woods and require technical shots, along with some incredibly long, open holes pushing 600+ feet. Overall, the course is quite flat, although there is some elevation change on holes 14-16. The first 5 holes are in the woods, along with the last few, which require technical shots. The other holes are quite open, with trees bordering the fairways. Hole 7 is a standout hole, being around 700 ft., along with an interesting putt on top of a hill.
Cons: The biggest con I have are the signs. There are multiple pin locations on each hole and with improved signs, the course would be easier to navigate. If you are a first time player at this course, it can be also slightly difficult to navigate. The course is also quite muddy, especially on the first few holes in the woods, which could be improved with adequate erosion control. It would also be nice to see some improvements around the tee pads, so it is easier to run up and step off them during your drives.

Also, the first hole can even be difficult to find. It is right by the tennis courts along the woods.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see Brown Deer pay-to-play, along with Dretzka. I believe that these are the best courses in the Milwaukee area, but that they could be greatly improved if they were pay-to-play. The course is definitely challenging and is a great course for those who want to work on a variety of shots and approaches throughout the round. If this course made the necessary improvements, I would definitely rate it higher.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best in the Area

5+    9/18/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: pr0phetx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Teepads are nice and big and don't have that big puddle of mud in front of them.
-Signs are highly visible and provide a decent idea of pin locations. (It would be nice to have some sort of system like Grey Fox uses that denotes the current pin location.)
-Great variety of holes. From wooded tunnel shots to wide open field bombers, it pretty much has everything. Extremely technical shape shots through super narrow windows to "lets see how far you can chuck it" holes. You will need multiple discs for all the different situations presented here.
-Holes play completely differently from one pin location to another as well. So come back often!
-None of the holes are gimmies. Even the ones that are birdie opportunities present challenges.
-Rarely is it ever crowded so you usually can play straight through without any stopping.
-Pretty easy to navigate. Although I did skip 15 the first few times not knowing it was even there.
-Extremely well kept. It is almost impossible to lose a disc here. The trees and brush aren't dense at all and you can see clearly through all of it. I wish all courses were like this!
-I could go on and on about all the great things here but the best thing I could say about it, is that its the greatest course in the area, bar none.
Cons: -I guess it would be nice to have multiple sets of tees, but the multitude of pin placements make it almost unnecessary.
Other Thoughts: On average, a round with 2 people takes about an hour so its good to bring something to drink along the way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Brewtown's best

2-4    9/7/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is definitely the best in Milwaukee. Either this or Dretzka but I'd give the edge to Brown Deer. There are good sized level and grippy concrete tees on every hole. There's a solid mix of heavily wooded to completely open holes. There isn't a ton of elevation here but it is used well in the spots that there is some. There is a really good amount of different hole lengths. A few of the holes are super long. The Mach 5 baskets are all in pretty good shape and catch well. There are also multiple pin locations on every hole. This is a really nice aspect here. Some holes have up to four pin locations and they change them up pretty frequently. The park was very well maintained when we went. There are large brown painted wood signs by each hole that show a basic hole layout with all the multiple pin locations. These aren't the best signs ever but they serve their purpose. Shot shaping is probably the biggest challenge here. If you can't shape your shot you will not score well here. If you can't stay on the fairway your score will show it. You'll need to use left, right and straight shots here. This is a challenging course for sure.
Cons: The course can get very crowded. Expect to wait for larger groups at times here. A few of the holes have longer walks between them. Hole 1 starts right by the tennis courts. If I didn't play this course with someone who had played it before I think I would've had quite a few problems finding the next hole. The two really long open holes are REALLY long. They don't really fit with the tighter wooded holes. The park road comes pretty close on a number of holes too.
Other Thoughts: This course definitely is one of the best around. It has a good mix of shot types, distances and challenges throughout. Definitely worth a stop here if in the area. Also Dretzka and Estabrook aren't too far away either.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Brown Deer is GOLD

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: GREAT!
Incredibly challenging course. A few 500+ holes, and a bunch of holes in the 400's.
A good mix of very tight wooded holes (some of which are very long) and some nice open bombs.
Cons: It can be difficult to find your way around without a guide, but it's not impossible.

Bugs can be terrible at times, and after a heavy rain it can be quite muddy - but it's no worse than any other course.
Other Thoughts: Park by the tennis courts for holes 1 & 2, and then cross the street for hole 3. Cross the street after hole 11 to play 12 & 13, then cross again to play the rest.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 First time was a charm

1    5/16/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: Randy Ramirez
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was a delight. Majority of the holes were wooded which is great. Challenging course with several tunnel shots, annies, and hyzies. Had to use every trick in the bag. When during league and flow was great. Didn't run in any noobs and the flow was perfect. Nothing like playing at your own pace helps me find my zen.
Cons: Don't think I would have been able to find the first tee if I was by myself. Luckily I went there with a veteran. Going hole to hole wasn't a walk in the park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fear the Deer

2-4    10/6/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course feels a little different everytime I play it.
It's always good for a challenge either way.
In and out of the woods. Some holes in dense forest. Some on the edge of the forest.
Shooting into the forest from out in the open. And those long long open holes that play like legit par 4's.
Those long ones are hard to forget. I remember them specifically.
There are a handful of holes that are still Birdie opportunities. Get em while you can. You'll need some stroke insurance for the holes that seem extremely difficult to par if one little thing goes wrong.
Every hole is manageable though. 3 well placed Shots will earn a par on any hole regardless of the length or difficulty.
Multiple pins. Seems like new ones are set up everytime I play this course.
Cons: Tee pads are a little uneven. That's about it. Players might want some extra run up space for those 700 footers.
Other Thoughts: Don't try to get slick here this course can ruin your round in one hole. Great course overall.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Wooded Course

5+    6/5/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 172  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a great variety here. There are tight wooded holes, open bombers, tight par 4s, technical par 3s, and some elevation. The concrete tees are great and so are the non intrusive brown tee signs. There are tons of pin positions which really makes the course play uniquely each time I've been there. This course will teach you accuracy and especially how to throw dead straight shots. I like this course best when it plays tough with many long pin placements. The wooded tunnels at this course are terrific as there is not that much else like that in the surrounding areas.
Cons: Some of the par 3s could use a little more length. Holes 4 and 5 have similar lines in a row. Hole 10 is pretty week as it is mostly open and only around 300 feet. Hole 11 is not much better but the trees force a line a little better than hole 10. There are a few too many very short wooded holes near the end of the course and it feel repetitive to me. There are no holes that really stick out in my mind as particularly great.
Other Thoughts: Best course in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Milwaukee

2-4    8/9/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: nickrew1
Played: 71  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome park, with tons of room. Many densely wooded holes, with tight alley ways. The rough is thick in places, but it is forgiving for the most part. While it's mostly wooded, there are several open holes well over 500+ feet. Definitely the most difficult course in the Milwaukee area.
Cons: Nobody out there playing! I played 3 times last week on a road-trip, and only saw two other groups playing. Tough to find the 1st hole
Would like to have seen a few longer holes, a few of the wooded shots are less than 200'
Not much elevation
Other Thoughts: A beautiful park with various types of shots. Must-play course if you are in the area, it will test your shot-making capabilities.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.