Milwaukee, WI
Brown Deer DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 298ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course with Room for Improvement

5+    8/12/2013   2/10/2014
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 38  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall, Brown Deer is a great course that provides an excellent variety of shots throughout the round. The Mach 5 baskets are in decent condition, along with the tee pads. There are signs on every hole, although I believe these should be improved. The course offers plenty of long and short holes, along with holes that are in the woods and require technical shots, along with some incredibly long, open holes pushing 600+ feet. Overall, the course is quite flat, although there is some elevation change on holes 14-16. The first 5 holes are in the woods, along with the last few, which require technical shots. The other holes are quite open, with trees bordering the fairways. Hole 7 is a standout hole, being around 700 ft., along with an interesting putt on top of a hill.
Cons: The biggest con I have are the signs. There are multiple pin locations on each hole and with improved signs, the course would be easier to navigate. If you are a first time player at this course, it can be also slightly difficult to navigate. The course is also quite muddy, especially on the first few holes in the woods, which could be improved with adequate erosion control. It would also be nice to see some improvements around the tee pads, so it is easier to run up and step off them during your drives.

Also, the first hole can even be difficult to find. It is right by the tennis courts along the woods.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see Brown Deer pay-to-play, along with Dretzka. I believe that these are the best courses in the Milwaukee area, but that they could be greatly improved if they were pay-to-play. The course is definitely challenging and is a great course for those who want to work on a variety of shots and approaches throughout the round. If this course made the necessary improvements, I would definitely rate it higher.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Milwaukee

2-4    8/9/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: nickrew1
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome park, with tons of room. Many densely wooded holes, with tight alley ways. The rough is thick in places, but it is forgiving for the most part. While it's mostly wooded, there are several open holes well over 500+ feet. Definitely the most difficult course in the Milwaukee area.
Cons: Nobody out there playing! I played 3 times last week on a road-trip, and only saw two other groups playing. Tough to find the 1st hole
Would like to have seen a few longer holes, a few of the wooded shots are less than 200'
Not much elevation
Other Thoughts: A beautiful park with various types of shots. Must-play course if you are in the area, it will test your shot-making capabilities.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well Done Milwaukee P&R

2-4    8/1/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: Harky
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice technical course with a well planned flow, including a few holes 650+ft over fields to mix it up. Not one hole felt too easy or out of place. Very scenic and quiet park as well. Can't beat the cost (FREE). I will be making this one of my regular/favorite courses.
Cons: Looks like some course maintenance could be done but nothing that limits or diminishes the play. A sign proclaiming where the course starts would be appreciated, FYI-It's behind the tennis courts.
Other Thoughts: Also a great park to take the family to. Kids can play on many of the swing sets and playground areas and there are plenty of trails for walking and a good spot or two or six for picnicking. Great park. Also has a rather nice regular golf course in the park as well.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/28/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 62  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brown Deer is a very good wooded course that will provide a significant challenge for most players. A few long bombs provide for a chance to air it out, but this course is mostly for those who can navigate tight woods off the tee. Line shaping here is paramount, and being able to throw straight for distance is vital to success.

While this course is very challenging, it's fair. There are legitimate, but difficult to hit flight paths on all shots, and there's significant punishment for bad shots. There isn't much underbrush off the fairway to lose your disc, but if you do land off the fairway chances are you will have a very difficult second shot.

This is one of the best wooded courses I've played. Despite its location in a large multi use park, the course has a very secluded feel. Locals are lucky to have this course; playing here will make you better.

Other reviews mentioned that the tee signs did not have distances on them, but they were written in by hand on all signs when I played. The concrete tees are top notch and the baskets were all in good shape.
Cons: The big distance holes are pretty boring; they're just long bombs across wide open fields. #7 incorporates a big hill and a few trees, but that likely won't come into play until your second shot. These were just very long and mostly uninventive distance shots, that only offer an excuse to huck a few tee shots between the technical wooded holes.

The challenge is fantastic here, but the fun factor is reduced a little. This place is not conducive to a casual round, or a round with newer players. The challenge here is enjoyable for intermediate and advance players, but tough wooded shot after tough wooded shot, will probably frustrate and wear down most casual players by the end of the course.

Medium distance drives through tight fairways is what this course brings to the table, and it does it well, but there are no other natural features that come into play (i.e. elevation, water)

Navigation here is awful. Next tee signs are sorely needed. And none of the baskets were numbered. In a few spots where baskets from different holes are close together, numbers would have been helpful (notably #6 & #9). This would probably be a 4-star course for me if these navigation issues were fixed.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the most consistently challenging courses from hole to hole that I've played. The challenge makes this course fun and replayable, but for more casual players, Dretzka a few miles down the road is probably a better option. With some tweaks to the navigation and a little more imagination in the design of the 3 long tee shots, this course would go from very good to excellent.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/1/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: OakCreekKiller
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.8 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Tricky and long placements in wooded areas. Beautiful park. Cement tees.
Cons: Signs are poor. No yardage. Pin placements. Picnic people might get in your way.
Other Thoughts: One of Milwaukee's better courses north of the city.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, almost great

1    5/23/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.2 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a very large flat park that his mostly wooded with some open grassy areas. Other than a couple long open shots that test your distance and placement on long drives, the course plays through a mix of park style holes with scattered trees and some heavily wooded holes with some brushy rough to punish errant drives. There is a good mix here, so it doesn't feel like you spend the whole round in the same kind of setting.

There is a good balance of shorter and longer holes here, with some wooded ace runs, some long bombs, and lots of holes that are reachable with a great drive, but not easy. It felt pretty balanced between right and left turning shots too, with a good number of each.

There are good concrete tee pads, and basic but nice looking hole signs marking each tee with the hole number. The baskets show some wear, but still catch well. The park is beautifully maintained, with nice grass, and no trash or vandalism.
Cons: The course signage could use a major upgrade. The tee signs have no information about the hole, so there's no indicator of hole length or layout, and you'll end up walking up several of the fairways to see where to shoot. There are no next tee markers, which is a problem in several places. There are a couple long walks that aren't obvious unless you have someone to follow, especially the walk after hole 2. There are also a couple places on the course where the tee that's in view from the previous basket is not the right hole, you have to backtrack to avoid skipping holes.

The course can be crowded, both with lots of players, and lots of other park users on the more open holes. Some picnicking areas can be in play if you throw off line, and picnickers can spread out into the fairways a little. There's no elevation or water here, and for me a course without either just isn't as much fun.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a course to play when you're in Milwaukee, and makes a great day of disc golf when paired up with the even better course at Dretzka. Beginners may find the course a bit daunting at first, especially the wooded holes with thick rough. More experienced players will find some good challenges here, and will need to have several types of shots at their disposal to shoot well. I recommend a stop here if you're in the area.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 First time played

1    4/27/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: ThomasOrion
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging, but nothing too extreme.
Most of the holes are long enough to be able to use all 3 types of disc. Driver, Mid, and Putter. Which I really like, because on many courses i seem to use my mid's mostly and never get to bust out my drivers.
A mix of tree trunks, pine trees, open field and little nooks. There was one long hole that shot through a row of tree's then opened up and slightly went downhill, then there are wide spaced larger trees with the pin in a circled area kinda open. it had to of been a par 4 at least.

Its a fun course, not too many pedestrians and not too crazy of elevation and muck. So for being challenging, its really not too bad.

Fun, give it a try, the only reason I can't rate it a 4 or 5 is because I've played nicer courses before, but 3.5 is very good in my opinion.
Cons: I luckily went with a person who has played it enough.
If this was your first time without a "guide" good luck, there are a few holes that are hard to find the next, and at least a few holes where you might think one pin is your target when it totally isn't. SO, other than not knowing where to aim, and not being able to see the pin to a whole every time, its good.
but that can get frustrating.
Other Thoughts: word

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wooded challenge - nuf said

5+    6/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 158  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has lots of woods and lots of distance. I love this combination. Besides just lots of woods, there are some very unique and majestic trees here. On 14-16 there are many red pines that are shaped like giant banzai trees. Throughout the park there are huge majestic pines, oaks, and maples.
The wooded holes here offer extreme challenge through tight tunnels with tough rough on either side and a canopy overhead. Of note are holes 1, 12, and 16 which offer some pretty good distance through very tight corridors. Other wooded holes are a bit shorter and offer diversity with left and right balance.
There is a small muck hole on #4 but it isn't much of a unique water hazard.
Hole 7 and 9 let you air it out with 500'+ length, although 7 is pretty bland.
The use of multiple pin placements (2-3) seems to be a Milwaukee staple, and offers great variety.
The crowds here are far less than at Dretzka. The course is extremely more challenging than Dineen and Dretzka. There are alternate pin placements but just one tee.
Cons: Just one tee. In a city park like this with lots of ability to draw local younger players who can walk or bike, and also families, dual tees are a huge benefit to newcomers and ams to get them more interested in the sport, rather than tackling such a hge challenge from the long tees, and/or hoping pin placements are short.
There are a few holes which lack character and give you the same ol' feel of playing in a city park (#10 & 11 mostly). The signs are very neat, little mini-Milwaukee County parks signs on every tee. However they do not have distance or any depiction of the hole (UPDATE - some local player took it upon himself (or herself, or themselves) to make very nice hand painted depictions of the hole along with distances to all pins - VERY NICE!).
It is a bit difficult to find #1 so you'll have to look, finding some other holes could be difficult your first time too. The concrete tees are pretty poorly installed. Apparently the county would not allow deeper excavation due to tree roots. Thus, tees are slightly elevated and there is a lip on all sides which you could roll an ankle on. They are also not extermely long (the best concrete pads are like landing strips, but not these). The woodchips along the edges do little to help the problem.
As with any city of Milwaukee course, trash is a major problem.
There is not much elevation here, and not even good use of many of the sharper changes in elevation or more unique terrain except the ridge in the woods for hole 16. Greens here are lacking good risk, and are old school style wide open for the most part.
The use of multiple pins impedes the ability to judge how well you've thrown relative to other rounds because the combinations are endless (pins move seemingly without reason or pattern, unlike alternating even-short, odd-long, for example). For a 'numbers geek' like me, this annoys me a bit not being able to compare round to round because the layout changes every day.
Other Thoughts: I truly believe this is the Milwaukee course avid disc golfers should play. It offers more challenge and more variety than the other courses imo. The course is mostly flat, even flatter than Dretzka, but uses some of the few ridges in the park. There is not much of a water hazard here either. It would be nice if the trash was kept up (yeah we know the useless and worthless litterers won't help any). Without drastic elevation, water, and OB uniqueness, and being in the middle of a big city without the quiet and beautiful peacefulness of a remote setting, I can't rate the course higher.
My rating is based slightly on personal opinion that I like this best of all Milwaukee courses, but relative to my other reviews and favorites, a 4 is fitting for Brown Deer, not quite a 4.5 but definitely one of my favorite 3.5-4 disc courses.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Woods, woods, woods

5+    11/11/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -very technical wood shots
-nice park for all types of sports
-good tees(one set)
-some long ripper holes
-laid back
-lengthy course
-good cement tees
Cons: -too many of the same tight wood shots
-not beginner friendly
-may have trouble finding hole 1
-lots of "jimmies" to break toes on
-may have to play through picnickers on nice days on the open holes
-spring, summer=mosquitoes
Other Thoughts: This was the first course that intimidated me. I remember stepping up to hole 1 and looking down a tight wooded fairway and saying "you are kidding me, right?" That was when I first started, so needless to say not a beginner friendly course...BUT for mid skill and above players truly a challenge and worth a play.

A lot of the holes are the tight tree tunnel variety, but where this course shines are the ones that are long and open and the twisty fairways of the back nine. Just enough variety to make this a pretty good course. Signage is ok, not great. Can actually miss a hole or two if not careful, cement tees are very good but lacking in am/pro. Lengthy course, so it feels like you are playing a round of disc golf as opposed to shooting, then next hole, shooting, then next hole syndrome.

This is one of the Milwaukee areas better courses, especially if you like tight wood shots. Def worth a play if in the Milwaukee area!

UPDATE: A great suggestion is to park your car on the road and start at hole 12. This really makes the course spread it's "feel" out. It also takes away the intimidating feel of hole 1 till later. Really has made Brown Deer a bit more enjoyable.

5/25/09
after playing Brown Deer for a year now I am actually knocking my rating down from a 4 to a 3.5. I feel it in no way is a four star course. It is a good course but def not a great one. It has become rather monotonous and without variety except for the occassional pin placement locations.
-no pro/am tees
-poor signage. Yes, hole location numbers at every hole but there are no distance signs, or next hole signs. I have seen so many skip two specific holes on many occasions.
-flat. elevation almost nill.
-it's all about tree tunnels and tight lines with the exception of a few open holes which are just rip and rip and upshot holes.
-this is NOT the premier Milwaukee course. For that honor I bestow on Dretzka. I still feel Milwaukee doesn't have a world class course, or none that are higher than a four, and I live here.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.