Milwaukee, WI 
Brown Deer DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
One of my favorites

2-4    7/6/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 74  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the best courses in the Milwaukee area, Brown Deer is sure to please.

Grippy concrete tee pad on every hole. 12' long and solid.

DGA baskets in good shape, and all caught well.

Tee signs show possible pins, distances and topography. It would be nice if the current pin position was shown, though.

2-4 pin positions on every hole keep it fresh. The layout has been different every time I've been here.

Very nice mix of distances. Tight, technical holes in the 200's, all the way up to 675' open bombers, and just about everything in between. Rarely is there this much variety in a single course. Every hole seems to produce a new challenge, especially in the long positions.

Plenty of variety from wooded, open, and combination holes. None of the wooded lines felt particularly unfair, although some are tight. Accuracy is king here.
Cons: Navigation can be a little tough for first timers. Three times you cross the road to get to the next tee, and two of those aren't immediately seen. A few "Next Tee" signs would go a long way here. Also, Hole 1 isn't the easiest to find...stuck behind some tennis courts and random debris that look more suited to a colony of raccoons than the beginning of a top level disc golf course.

2 tee pads on every hole would totally put this place over the top, especially with the numerous pin positions.

No elevation or water to speak of here. The land it's on just doesn't offer it.
Other Thoughts: My favorite Milwaukee course. In the long positions, it's long and surprisingly grueling for such a flat course. Personally, I dig that, as it helps keep the crowds down.

The park also includes a PGA level golf course and many other amenities. You'll see lots of bikers and joggers while you're here, soccer matches, etc.

If you're visiting Milwaukee, don't miss out on Brown Deer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Brewtown's best

2-4    9/7/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 140  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is definitely the best in Milwaukee. Either this or Dretzka but I'd give the edge to Brown Deer. There are good sized level and grippy concrete tees on every hole. There's a solid mix of heavily wooded to completely open holes. There isn't a ton of elevation here but it is used well in the spots that there is some. There is a really good amount of different hole lengths. A few of the holes are super long. The Mach 5 baskets are all in pretty good shape and catch well. There are also multiple pin locations on every hole. This is a really nice aspect here. Some holes have up to four pin locations and they change them up pretty frequently. The park was very well maintained when we went. There are large brown painted wood signs by each hole that show a basic hole layout with all the multiple pin locations. These aren't the best signs ever but they serve their purpose. Shot shaping is probably the biggest challenge here. If you can't shape your shot you will not score well here. If you can't stay on the fairway your score will show it. You'll need to use left, right and straight shots here. This is a challenging course for sure.
Cons: The course can get very crowded. Expect to wait for larger groups at times here. A few of the holes have longer walks between them. Hole 1 starts right by the tennis courts. If I didn't play this course with someone who had played it before I think I would've had quite a few problems finding the next hole. The two really long open holes are REALLY long. They don't really fit with the tighter wooded holes. The park road comes pretty close on a number of holes too.
Other Thoughts: This course definitely is one of the best around. It has a good mix of shot types, distances and challenges throughout. Definitely worth a stop here if in the area. Also Dretzka and Estabrook aren't too far away either.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 First time was a charm

1    5/16/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: Randy Ramirez
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was a delight. Majority of the holes were wooded which is great. Challenging course with several tunnel shots, annies, and hyzies. Had to use every trick in the bag. When during league and flow was great. Didn't run in any noobs and the flow was perfect. Nothing like playing at your own pace helps me find my zen.
Cons: Don't think I would have been able to find the first tee if I was by myself. Luckily I went there with a veteran. Going hole to hole wasn't a walk in the park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fear the Deer

2-4    10/6/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course feels a little different everytime I play it.
It's always good for a challenge either way.
In and out of the woods. Some holes in dense forest. Some on the edge of the forest.
Shooting into the forest from out in the open. And those long long open holes that play like legit par 4's.
Those long ones are hard to forget. I remember them specifically.
There are a handful of holes that are still Birdie opportunities. Get em while you can. You'll need some stroke insurance for the holes that seem extremely difficult to par if one little thing goes wrong.
Every hole is manageable though. 3 well placed Shots will earn a par on any hole regardless of the length or difficulty.
Multiple pins. Seems like new ones are set up everytime I play this course.
Cons: Tee pads are a little uneven. That's about it. Players might want some extra run up space for those 700 footers.
Other Thoughts: Don't try to get slick here this course can ruin your round in one hole. Great course overall.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Wooded Course

5+    6/5/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a great variety here. There are tight wooded holes, open bombers, tight par 4s, technical par 3s, and some elevation. The concrete tees are great and so are the non intrusive brown tee signs. There are tons of pin positions which really makes the course play uniquely each time I've been there. This course will teach you accuracy and especially how to throw dead straight shots. I like this course best when it plays tough with many long pin placements. The wooded tunnels at this course are terrific as there is not that much else like that in the surrounding areas.
Cons: Some of the par 3s could use a little more length. Holes 4 and 5 have similar lines in a row. Hole 10 is pretty week as it is mostly open and only around 300 feet. Hole 11 is not much better but the trees force a line a little better than hole 10. There are a few too many very short wooded holes near the end of the course and it feel repetitive to me. There are no holes that really stick out in my mind as particularly great.
Other Thoughts: Best course in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  GMO 2012

2-4    5/21/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: frolf22
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most holes have a decent amount of woods or something to challenge you
Some holes are long and you really get to open up on your shot
The tees are kept up pretty well
Cons: Kind of a sketchy place to hang around once it gets dark
The course has a soccer field on it which creates a lot of noise when trying to throw
The baskets like to spit out putts
Other Thoughts: I had shot here a couple times before and had spent another three days during the week of 5/18-5/21 shooting thise course. It was very fun and a challenge also.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Large Park

1    5/12/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: Oldstump
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played very early on a Saturday morning I played with several walkers on the park roads, a deer, and a family of geese. Talk about seclusion just 20 minutes from downtown Milwaukee. Brown Deer is a very clean large multiple use park. A lot of picnic facilities and tons of open space. The first holes played much like my home northern Mi. courses, through trees with fun risk/reward lines. Arriving at holes 6-9 the course comes out of the woods and opens into meadows with longer holes. The course itself is very flat with the exception of the end of hole #7, a 663 ft hole which features a basket atop a 35' mound. Also some slight elevation in holes 14-16 which feature some really neat old pines as well. Signs were very good with distance and basic hole features. Being new to this course and playing alone I still did find it necessary to walk a couple holes to find the basket or landing area.
Cons: I ended up parking by tee #3 and started my round here. I missed the signage on the other side of the entry road where holes #1 & 2 are located. The starting holes are tucked behind tennis courts and are not visible from this main disc parking area.

Being as flat as it is the fairways in the grassy areas were quite damp from recent heavy rains. A seasonal thing I'm sure, just like bugs.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course. Would love more opportunities to throw here. Like most good courses, familiarity will bring better scores hopefully. There is enough change-up and variety to keep most of your bag in the game.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    6/26/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park that has lots of forest as well as some open areas. Park has lots of pavilions and such, so there might be some interference by general park users, especially by the entrance road.
- Roughly half of the holes are set in dense forest, full of tight lines and small windows. The first five and last two holes require pinpoint accuracy to avoid tree jail especially. Good mix of slight RHBH hyzers and some anny/FH shots here, with a little spot of water on #4 to spice things up. Overall, a straight shot is key. Some very tight entrances on the more "forgiving" holes, like off the tee on #16 or into the woods on #14.
- The rest of the holes are more open, either bordering the forest or containing mature trees to get around. #6 is a long RHBH anny around the forest, and #8 is a downhill sloping shot through groves of trees. These all have a lot of character and provide some challenge, a righty is going to need much more than a plain hyzer here.
- Two holes stand out, as they are both around 700' long! #7 has some interesting finishes, with one basket position on top of a hill and another behind a large group of mature trees. Getting max distance off the tee is complemented well with tougher approach shots. #9 is tough, too, as the fairway gets narrower and narrower closer to the basket, length and accuracy are both needed.
- While there are only a couple holes with significant elevation changes, many holes have a slight slope that adds fun or challenge. The super-tight holes in the forest are especially affected by this; throwing up or down while keeping it straight is noticeably tricky.
- Fantastic variety in hole length, with some long ones and short ones inside the forest and out. Multiple pin positions vary these even better; some can be quite brutal in terms of both length and difficulty.
- Good baskets, teepads, and signage, all in great shape. Navigation can be a bit tricky, like crossing the road to get to #3 from #2. Map is a big help.
Cons: - Holes in the dense forest can feel a little repetetive; having a straight accurate shot is extremely important over and over again. Not saying it's a bad thing, but it's a lot of the same thing.
- Parts of the course are pretty close to the entrance road, and other park activities. When I was there I had to navigate around some kids chilling by a teepad, and wait for some pedestrians to clear a fairway. Wouldn't be an issue but the park seems EXTREMELY popular.
Other Thoughts: - Really not that many cons here! The terrain is pretty flat overall, but it is still used well to provide some good sloping holes here and there. Great mix of tight and open holes, of varying difficulty and differing lines. The different basket positions can really change each holes in terms of fun/difficulty, which is a bonus. Probably too tough for beginners, I think everyone else should greatly enjoy it.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/22/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Not intended for beginner players. there is very little to no chucker traffic here.
- If its not a tight tunnel shot than its a well designed bomber hole.
- all of the long holes require descent shot placement off your drive and EXCELLENT shot placement on your second shot.
- ACCURACY is the name of the game. if youre more than a few inches off your line you are mostly likely not going to be pleased.
- shooting a 54 on most layouts is essentially like shooting a 1000 rated round.
- there are maybe one or two holes that are 'easy' to birdie. at the same time they are very easy to bogey as well.
- requires a strong mental game. bogeys will happen, you cant let it get to you.
- there are a few true par 4s
- the pin placements theyve added since Worlds have been very creative and greatly improved on the challenge of the course.
- there is very little to no land wasted here. without knowing the limitations the designer had from the park dept.
- they took a few of the trees out on some holes that were overly ridiculous since worlds.
- love the local routes, their crazy but work so well!
- smart play and course management are a MUST!!!
- picnic benches and trash cans at almost every teebox.
- a bag of several different shots will help greatly.
Cons: - all tho the teepads are level i have a few issues with them. first, the majority of them are raised up off ground level a couple inches (this is annoying if you want to do any kind of run-up that isnt the length of the bad. second, they were not 'roughed' up enough at installation and when slightly wet are very very slippery. third, all the long holes teepads are surrounded by mud (not wood chips) and are therefore very muddy.
- lots of standing water, bug haven in the summer. most of the natural drainage was disrupted at installation and not fixed.
- the schule is a bit much. if you go more than a cpl feet off the fairway you have to really work to get an out shot alone. there are a ton of tiny skinny trees everywhere. have your approach rollers ready.
Other Thoughts: Brown Deer is an awesome course for Advanced and Pro players to refine their game and a great place for Intermediate players to develop their accuracy and course management. because of the difficult of the park, there is almost never anyone there except the more 'serious' dgers so it makes for a more relaxing and peaceful round or two. the park is very clean and looks like it doesnt ever see chucker damage.
The teepads are very agitating for me. it makes it difficult to take my timing steps before i go into my run-up. and on top of that they are always muddy as heck when its been wet out.
I think the part i like most about this course is the fact that you can really test your current skill level. Whether you like it or not, the course will show your weak points. if you can keep your disc down the fairways youll be able to hit any line on almost any other course. also, the fact that a 54 is close to 1000 rated it helps to measure your level compared to the best.
if youre in the area PLAY this course. Dretzka Original is still my favorite Milwaukee course but Brown Deer is a very very close second. Dretzka is just a really really fun course to play, and my all time favorite course.
BRING YOUR WATERPROOF SHOES IF ITS BEEN RAINING.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/12/2010   4/18/2011
Review By: Doucette
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Always fun to play
Unique holes
Never crowded
Good for practicing unique throws
Cons: Kinda hard to find the next hole if never played there before
Bad for beginners
Other Thoughts: Good park to stop by if your in the area, its not hard to find and its in a nice area.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.