Milwaukee, WI 
Brown Deer DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
4 / 698ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Best in the Area

5+    9/18/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: pr0phetx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Teepads are nice and big and don't have that big puddle of mud in front of them.
-Signs are highly visible and provide a decent idea of pin locations. (It would be nice to have some sort of system like Grey Fox uses that denotes the current pin location.)
-Great variety of holes. From wooded tunnel shots to wide open field bombers, it pretty much has everything. Extremely technical shape shots through super narrow windows to "lets see how far you can chuck it" holes. You will need multiple discs for all the different situations presented here.
-Holes play completely differently from one pin location to another as well. So come back often!
-None of the holes are gimmies. Even the ones that are birdie opportunities present challenges.
-Rarely is it ever crowded so you usually can play straight through without any stopping.
-Pretty easy to navigate. Although I did skip 15 the first few times not knowing it was even there.
-Extremely well kept. It is almost impossible to lose a disc here. The trees and brush aren't dense at all and you can see clearly through all of it. I wish all courses were like this!
-I could go on and on about all the great things here but the best thing I could say about it, is that its the greatest course in the area, bar none.
Cons: -I guess it would be nice to have multiple sets of tees, but the multitude of pin placements make it almost unnecessary.
Other Thoughts: On average, a round with 2 people takes about an hour so its good to bring something to drink along the way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Brown Deer is GOLD

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: GREAT!
Incredibly challenging course. A few 500+ holes, and a bunch of holes in the 400's.
A good mix of very tight wooded holes (some of which are very long) and some nice open bombs.
Cons: It can be difficult to find your way around without a guide, but it's not impossible.

Bugs can be terrible at times, and after a heavy rain it can be quite muddy - but it's no worse than any other course.
Other Thoughts: Park by the tennis courts for holes 1 & 2, and then cross the street for hole 3. Cross the street after hole 11 to play 12 & 13, then cross again to play the rest.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 challenging and exciting

5+    10/24/2011   1/26/2012
Review By: discgolfinskwrl
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very long, and in a canopy forest for like half the holes.... A lot of opportunity to rebound from bad shots.... Never busy, I've been playing there since I started discing, and have maybe had to wait for people 4 times.... High level of privacy as well.
Cons: Almost too long for a lot of players, 2 holes rt around 700ft.... First timers beware! Easy to get lost after holes 2, 3, 6, and 11....
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a more challenging discgolf experience, or if u have a larger group, try brown deer instead of dretzka.....

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive

1    6/20/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: LukeMetz
Played: 111  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I was very impressed with this course. This course covers a large area and the layout is easy to navigate. I also like that hole 18 brings you back pretty close to hole 1.
Brown Deer has some of the coolest wooded /technical holes I've seen. There are also a few huge holes thrown into the mix.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Premier Milwaukee Course

5+    3/25/2011   3/25/2011
Review By: Horsman
Played: 83  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2013
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - This is the Premier course in the Milwaukee Area.

- The course in maintained regularely by the area pros and you can definately tell that there was a lot of care put into the course.

- There are ever changing pin positions and more and more positions being put in every year to make the course better than it already is.

- Lots of good length with some holes being in the 600-700 range and a few in the 500.

- The easy holes still require you to hit a tight line to have a good shot and the easy holes can be made hard depending on what position they are in.

- If you like tight long courses then this is a must play for sure.
Cons: - A few of the teepads on the long holes are slightly elevated so the opportunity to get a run up is almost non existant

- If you have never played the course before you are going to want to follow a group of people if possible or get someone to play with you who has because there are times when a guide might be needed.
Other Thoughts: - Hole 1 - park by the tennis courts near the woods and walk behind the tennis courts to find the tee for hole 1.

- Hole 1 and 2 are in their own little wooded area.

- Hole 3 - After hole 2 take the path to the left and cross the road, after you cross the road walk about 100' and look for a path on the left to find Tee 3

- Holes 4 thru 11 are pretty straight forward.

- Hole 12 - After hole 11 cross the road left and look for a path in the woods and that will take you to hole 12.

- Hole 12 and 13 are over the road.

- Hole 14 - After hole 13 cross the road left to get to hole 14

- Hole 15 - After 14 take the path right NOT LEFT, right will take you to 15 and left will take you to 16.

- The rest are straight forward

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 AGeart Course With Beautiful Scenery

5+    5/5/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 152  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course that has a little bit for everyone. There are short and long holes which offer players with technical accuracy to succeed and players who can bomb have an advantage there. There is also a nice mix of wooden and open shots that play through a park. Truely a must play if you are in the Milwaukee area along with Dretkza. The courses main challenge is the wooded aspect. You will need to have technical shots with the right amount of arm while avoiding the trees to succeed in this part of the course. Tees are concrete and the course is fairly easy to navigate once you get started.
Cons: There aren't any water holes which I would have loved to see over one of the ponds in the park. The tee signs are pretty but are lacking with telling you where to go. If you have a big arm the long holes tend to be boring because of the open area aspect. No risk reward for those of you who can bomb a shot. Also I wish there were alt. tees that were in place.
Other Thoughts: This is by far my favorite course in the Milwaukee/ SE WI area, and it is a must play.n The course offers a little of everything for your shots and still remains a very difficult which will challenge the best of players. This is a challenging course in which you can get trouble with shooting in the woods. I would really suggest playing in the summer/fall because this course is absolutely gorgeous.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -A great mix of wooded and wide open holes
-Lots of long and challenging holes
-You almost never run into trafic
-Solid and large concrete tee pads
-Benches and trach bins at every tee
-You will use your driver on every hole
Cons: -Signhs only say the hole #
-Little tree stumps are sticking up all over the place so watch your step
-On some holes you can not see the pin from the tee pad
Other Thoughts: Wear closed toed shoes on this course. It's definitly one of the best courses in the area.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    5/15/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: droppedthenuke
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Multiple basket placements. Makes it fun, unless it's not in your favorite position.

- Lots of tight wooded holes that are a nice change of pace in the area.

- Great variety of holes. Anywhere from grip and rip to conrol and finesse. and every where inbetween.

- Despite the heavy traffic in the park, the course is designed well so that no one is in your way.

- Great, large tee pads.

-Great mix of shots. Bring everything in your bag for sure.
Cons: - Blind holes you can't see the pin. Not too good. Some people may like it, but I'd rather know what/how to throw.

-Horrid signage. Only the hole number, nothing else.

-Sometimes an idiot will wander onto the course. SEE ABOVE.

- Sometimes people there are a bit, loud, obnoxious. But hey, thats milwaukee.
Other Thoughts: For sure the best course in the area. A must play if you're in town.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Brown Deer for Beginners

1    5/14/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: tbone618
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Long and tricky holes. A variety of holes types for every player. Fun for groups of varied experience.
Cons: Very narrow wooded areas makes it difficult.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful and complex course. Difficult for beginners, but awesome for moderates.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A for Awesome!

2-4    7/27/2007   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A (Overall, the wooded holes are superb! Even the open holes have tricky approaches to the pin that can punish you hard for lack of execution. I mark down this category from an A+ to an A since 5 & 14 present too much "poke and hope" dumb luck.)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A+ (This course was designed for me!....and people of my skill level. 5 & 15 are a little too easy to be really rewarding deuces, but that is more than made up for by the rest of the course.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A (Great variety of holes that take perfect throws along a typical flight path, but also a lot that force creatively weird yet make-able flight paths. Terrain and water are the only things missing.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A- (There is a county club feeling to this course - nice!)
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == B- (Hole 6 is the best - an incredible S shaped hole that requires a well placed drive off a wide open tee, but then a very touchy approach to a wooded basket. 7 is a little ho-hum although the trees near the basket add a little punishment and force you to make a loooong drive if you want an easy birdie 3. Ditto on 9, but the dense shrubbery near the basket will exact even more punishment for errant approaches than the trees on 7. The only thing missing on the course in the multi-shot area is 1-3 more good dogleg holes.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

Check out this video I made for a friend of mine in honor of his 1020 rated final round in AM Worlds 2007. It gives a good feel for the course: http://www.charlottedgc.com/f...WithHenry.wmv

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.