Milwaukee, WI 
Brown Deer DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 314ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Well Done Milwaukee P&R

2-4    8/1/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: Harky
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice technical course with a well planned flow, including a few holes 650+ft over fields to mix it up. Not one hole felt too easy or out of place. Very scenic and quiet park as well. Can't beat the cost (FREE). I will be making this one of my regular/favorite courses.
Cons: Looks like some course maintenance could be done but nothing that limits or diminishes the play. A sign proclaiming where the course starts would be appreciated, FYI-It's behind the tennis courts.
Other Thoughts: Also a great park to take the family to. Kids can play on many of the swing sets and playground areas and there are plenty of trails for walking and a good spot or two or six for picnicking. Great park. Also has a rather nice regular golf course in the park as well.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  GMO 2012

2-4    5/21/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: frolf22
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most holes have a decent amount of woods or something to challenge you
Some holes are long and you really get to open up on your shot
The tees are kept up pretty well
Cons: Kind of a sketchy place to hang around once it gets dark
The course has a soccer field on it which creates a lot of noise when trying to throw
The baskets like to spit out putts
Other Thoughts: I had shot here a couple times before and had spent another three days during the week of 5/18-5/21 shooting thise course. It was very fun and a challenge also.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Large Park

1    5/12/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: Oldstump
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played very early on a Saturday morning I played with several walkers on the park roads, a deer, and a family of geese. Talk about seclusion just 20 minutes from downtown Milwaukee. Brown Deer is a very clean large multiple use park. A lot of picnic facilities and tons of open space. The first holes played much like my home northern Mi. courses, through trees with fun risk/reward lines. Arriving at holes 6-9 the course comes out of the woods and opens into meadows with longer holes. The course itself is very flat with the exception of the end of hole #7, a 663 ft hole which features a basket atop a 35' mound. Also some slight elevation in holes 14-16 which feature some really neat old pines as well. Signs were very good with distance and basic hole features. Being new to this course and playing alone I still did find it necessary to walk a couple holes to find the basket or landing area.
Cons: I ended up parking by tee #3 and started my round here. I missed the signage on the other side of the entry road where holes #1 & 2 are located. The starting holes are tucked behind tennis courts and are not visible from this main disc parking area.

Being as flat as it is the fairways in the grassy areas were quite damp from recent heavy rains. A seasonal thing I'm sure, just like bugs.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course. Would love more opportunities to throw here. Like most good courses, familiarity will bring better scores hopefully. There is enough change-up and variety to keep most of your bag in the game.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 challenging and exciting

5+    10/24/2011   1/26/2012
Review By: discgolfinskwrl
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very long, and in a canopy forest for like half the holes.... A lot of opportunity to rebound from bad shots.... Never busy, I've been playing there since I started discing, and have maybe had to wait for people 4 times.... High level of privacy as well.
Cons: Almost too long for a lot of players, 2 holes rt around 700ft.... First timers beware! Easy to get lost after holes 2, 3, 6, and 11....
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a more challenging discgolf experience, or if u have a larger group, try brown deer instead of dretzka.....

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive

1    6/20/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: LukeMetz
Played: 111  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I was very impressed with this course. This course covers a large area and the layout is easy to navigate. I also like that hole 18 brings you back pretty close to hole 1.
Brown Deer has some of the coolest wooded /technical holes I've seen. There are also a few huge holes thrown into the mix.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    7/30/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean park, friendly locals, easy to navigate, nice variety of holes.
Cons: Nothing special about any hole in particular. Course is tucked away with little signage to tee #1. Overlaps some common park areas, but secluded for the most part.
Other Thoughts: Like the nearby Dretska Park which I played the same day while visiting Milwaukee, Brown Deer is a decent course with little to offer above the average.

That said, it was for the most part a well-maintained course with enough challenges and thought-out technical holes to keep you interested.

Little in the way of elevation changes. Locals were friendly. No water fountains or nearby bathrooms I could find.

Full community park with amenities for non discers. Good mix of open & technical holes, and stays away from other park-goers for the most part.

I preferred Brown Deer over Dretska, but would put neither in my faves list. That said, a great course for locals and if you want to get a round in if visiting the area, it's a solid, if average, course.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    6/26/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 416  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park that has lots of forest as well as some open areas. Park has lots of pavilions and such, so there might be some interference by general park users, especially by the entrance road.
- Roughly half of the holes are set in dense forest, full of tight lines and small windows. The first five and last two holes require pinpoint accuracy to avoid tree jail especially. Good mix of slight RHBH hyzers and some anny/FH shots here, with a little spot of water on #4 to spice things up. Overall, a straight shot is key. Some very tight entrances on the more "forgiving" holes, like off the tee on #16 or into the woods on #14.
- The rest of the holes are more open, either bordering the forest or containing mature trees to get around. #6 is a long RHBH anny around the forest, and #8 is a downhill sloping shot through groves of trees. These all have a lot of character and provide some challenge, a righty is going to need much more than a plain hyzer here.
- Two holes stand out, as they are both around 700' long! #7 has some interesting finishes, with one basket position on top of a hill and another behind a large group of mature trees. Getting max distance off the tee is complemented well with tougher approach shots. #9 is tough, too, as the fairway gets narrower and narrower closer to the basket, length and accuracy are both needed.
- While there are only a couple holes with significant elevation changes, many holes have a slight slope that adds fun or challenge. The super-tight holes in the forest are especially affected by this; throwing up or down while keeping it straight is noticeably tricky.
- Fantastic variety in hole length, with some long ones and short ones inside the forest and out. Multiple pin positions vary these even better; some can be quite brutal in terms of both length and difficulty.
- Good baskets, teepads, and signage, all in great shape. Navigation can be a bit tricky, like crossing the road to get to #3 from #2. Map is a big help.
Cons: - Holes in the dense forest can feel a little repetetive; having a straight accurate shot is extremely important over and over again. Not saying it's a bad thing, but it's a lot of the same thing.
- Parts of the course are pretty close to the entrance road, and other park activities. When I was there I had to navigate around some kids chilling by a teepad, and wait for some pedestrians to clear a fairway. Wouldn't be an issue but the park seems EXTREMELY popular.
Other Thoughts: - Really not that many cons here! The terrain is pretty flat overall, but it is still used well to provide some good sloping holes here and there. Great mix of tight and open holes, of varying difficulty and differing lines. The different basket positions can really change each holes in terms of fun/difficulty, which is a bonus. Probably too tough for beginners, I think everyone else should greatly enjoy it.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/22/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Not intended for beginner players. there is very little to no chucker traffic here.
- If its not a tight tunnel shot than its a well designed bomber hole.
- all of the long holes require descent shot placement off your drive and EXCELLENT shot placement on your second shot.
- ACCURACY is the name of the game. if youre more than a few inches off your line you are mostly likely not going to be pleased.
- shooting a 54 on most layouts is essentially like shooting a 1000 rated round.
- there are maybe one or two holes that are 'easy' to birdie. at the same time they are very easy to bogey as well.
- requires a strong mental game. bogeys will happen, you cant let it get to you.
- there are a few true par 4s
- the pin placements theyve added since Worlds have been very creative and greatly improved on the challenge of the course.
- there is very little to no land wasted here. without knowing the limitations the designer had from the park dept.
- they took a few of the trees out on some holes that were overly ridiculous since worlds.
- love the local routes, their crazy but work so well!
- smart play and course management are a MUST!!!
- picnic benches and trash cans at almost every teebox.
- a bag of several different shots will help greatly.
Cons: - all tho the teepads are level i have a few issues with them. first, the majority of them are raised up off ground level a couple inches (this is annoying if you want to do any kind of run-up that isnt the length of the bad. second, they were not 'roughed' up enough at installation and when slightly wet are very very slippery. third, all the long holes teepads are surrounded by mud (not wood chips) and are therefore very muddy.
- lots of standing water, bug haven in the summer. most of the natural drainage was disrupted at installation and not fixed.
- the schule is a bit much. if you go more than a cpl feet off the fairway you have to really work to get an out shot alone. there are a ton of tiny skinny trees everywhere. have your approach rollers ready.
Other Thoughts: Brown Deer is an awesome course for Advanced and Pro players to refine their game and a great place for Intermediate players to develop their accuracy and course management. because of the difficult of the park, there is almost never anyone there except the more 'serious' dgers so it makes for a more relaxing and peaceful round or two. the park is very clean and looks like it doesnt ever see chucker damage.
The teepads are very agitating for me. it makes it difficult to take my timing steps before i go into my run-up. and on top of that they are always muddy as heck when its been wet out.
I think the part i like most about this course is the fact that you can really test your current skill level. Whether you like it or not, the course will show your weak points. if you can keep your disc down the fairways youll be able to hit any line on almost any other course. also, the fact that a 54 is close to 1000 rated it helps to measure your level compared to the best.
if youre in the area PLAY this course. Dretzka Original is still my favorite Milwaukee course but Brown Deer is a very very close second. Dretzka is just a really really fun course to play, and my all time favorite course.
BRING YOUR WATERPROOF SHOES IF ITS BEEN RAINING.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/12/2010   4/18/2011
Review By: Doucette
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Always fun to play
Unique holes
Never crowded
Good for practicing unique throws
Cons: Kinda hard to find the next hole if never played there before
Bad for beginners
Other Thoughts: Good park to stop by if your in the area, its not hard to find and its in a nice area.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Premier Milwaukee Course

5+    3/25/2011   3/25/2011
Review By: Horsman
Played: 83  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2013
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - This is the Premier course in the Milwaukee Area.

- The course in maintained regularely by the area pros and you can definately tell that there was a lot of care put into the course.

- There are ever changing pin positions and more and more positions being put in every year to make the course better than it already is.

- Lots of good length with some holes being in the 600-700 range and a few in the 500.

- The easy holes still require you to hit a tight line to have a good shot and the easy holes can be made hard depending on what position they are in.

- If you like tight long courses then this is a must play for sure.
Cons: - A few of the teepads on the long holes are slightly elevated so the opportunity to get a run up is almost non existant

- If you have never played the course before you are going to want to follow a group of people if possible or get someone to play with you who has because there are times when a guide might be needed.
Other Thoughts: - Hole 1 - park by the tennis courts near the woods and walk behind the tennis courts to find the tee for hole 1.

- Hole 1 and 2 are in their own little wooded area.

- Hole 3 - After hole 2 take the path to the left and cross the road, after you cross the road walk about 100' and look for a path on the left to find Tee 3

- Holes 4 thru 11 are pretty straight forward.

- Hole 12 - After hole 11 cross the road left and look for a path in the woods and that will take you to hole 12.

- Hole 12 and 13 are over the road.

- Hole 14 - After hole 13 cross the road left to get to hole 14

- Hole 15 - After 14 take the path right NOT LEFT, right will take you to 15 and left will take you to 16.

- The rest are straight forward

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.