Milwaukee, WI 
Brown Deer DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 184ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    8/28/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brown Deer is a very good wooded course that will provide a significant challenge for most players. A few long bombs provide for a chance to air it out, but this course is mostly for those who can navigate tight woods off the tee. Line shaping here is paramount, and being able to throw straight for distance is vital to success.

While this course is very challenging, it's fair. There are legitimate, but difficult to hit flight paths on all shots, and there's significant punishment for bad shots. There isn't much underbrush off the fairway to lose your disc, but if you do land off the fairway chances are you will have a very difficult second shot.

This is one of the best wooded courses I've played. Despite its location in a large multi use park, the course has a very secluded feel. Locals are lucky to have this course; playing here will make you better.

Other reviews mentioned that the tee signs did not have distances on them, but they were written in by hand on all signs when I played. The concrete tees are top notch and the baskets were all in good shape.
Cons: The big distance holes are pretty boring; they're just long bombs across wide open fields. #7 incorporates a big hill and a few trees, but that likely won't come into play until your second shot. These were just very long and mostly uninventive distance shots, that only offer an excuse to huck a few tee shots between the technical wooded holes.

The challenge is fantastic here, but the fun factor is reduced a little. This place is not conducive to a casual round, or a round with newer players. The challenge here is enjoyable for intermediate and advance players, but tough wooded shot after tough wooded shot, will probably frustrate and wear down most casual players by the end of the course.

Medium distance drives through tight fairways is what this course brings to the table, and it does it well, but there are no other natural features that come into play (i.e. elevation, water)

Navigation here is awful. Next tee signs are sorely needed. And none of the baskets were numbered. In a few spots where baskets from different holes are close together, numbers would have been helpful (notably #6 & #9). This would probably be a 4-star course for me if these navigation issues were fixed.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the most consistently challenging courses from hole to hole that I've played. The challenge makes this course fun and replayable, but for more casual players, Dretzka a few miles down the road is probably a better option. With some tweaks to the navigation and a little more imagination in the design of the 3 long tee shots, this course would go from very good to excellent.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 :

1    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: lordofchance
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Moderately wooded test accuracy and shot shaping
- Nice variety between open holes and wooded holes
- Cross winds can provide an interesting challenge in open areas
- Even after rain the course was not to muddy
Cons: - Holes are either miss numbered or not numbered. (i.e. Hole 16 had a sticker that said hole 1)
- Course is missing signed to indicate where a hole is located.
- Broken glass around multiple tees
- People from the soccer field parked their cars on the grass between the tees and holes
- There is no signage to direct you to the next hole
- The holes can jump around.. (i.e Holes 1 and 2 and no where near hole 3)
- Course is very flat
- People from the soccer fields will wander into the field of play and just stand in the way.
- Hole height felt inconsistent. Some holes felt to low to the ground, and a couple felt as if they were to high off the ground.
Other Thoughts: I was actually very surprised by the course after reading past reviews. Some friends and I made a trip to Milwaukee from Joliet area of IL and was very disappointed with this course due to maintenance and lack of signage. We spent more time trying to navigate around the front 9 then we did playing. The course did become easier to navigate on the back 9.

While the course does provide for some challenging play I would not make a second trip back to the course. If I were in the Milwaukee area again I would stick to playing Dretzka.

If your going to play the course I would also bring some deep woods off as the bugs can be horrible.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 bring your chainsaw

5+    7/3/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: landscapr
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: makes you bring you A game. tight with lots of trees. and 7&9 are open but really long. super tough when theres a cross wind.
Cons: no yardage markers or pin placement signs.
Other Thoughts: stay out of the woods on the right of #9 its thick and lots of tent worms.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/1/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: OakCreekKiller
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Tricky and long placements in wooded areas. Beautiful park. Cement tees.
Cons: Signs are poor. No yardage. Pin placements. Picnic people might get in your way.
Other Thoughts: One of Milwaukee's better courses north of the city.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 AGeart Course With Beautiful Scenery

5+    5/5/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 150  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.8 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course that has a little bit for everyone. There are short and long holes which offer players with technical accuracy to succeed and players who can bomb have an advantage there. There is also a nice mix of wooden and open shots that play through a park. Truely a must play if you are in the Milwaukee area along with Dretkza. The courses main challenge is the wooded aspect. You will need to have technical shots with the right amount of arm while avoiding the trees to succeed in this part of the course. Tees are concrete and the course is fairly easy to navigate once you get started.
Cons: There aren't any water holes which I would have loved to see over one of the ponds in the park. The tee signs are pretty but are lacking with telling you where to go. If you have a big arm the long holes tend to be boring because of the open area aspect. No risk reward for those of you who can bomb a shot. Also I wish there were alt. tees that were in place.
Other Thoughts: This is by far my favorite course in the Milwaukee/ SE WI area, and it is a must play.n The course offers a little of everything for your shots and still remains a very difficult which will challenge the best of players. This is a challenging course in which you can get trouble with shooting in the woods. I would really suggest playing in the summer/fall because this course is absolutely gorgeous.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Brown Deer Goodness!

2-4    6/5/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This mostly-wooded course tests accuracy but has a couple of longer open holes requiring a good arm.
-Long/mid/short pin placements adds variety and significantly alters the feel of the course. Local club members were switching pin positions during my round, so I had the opportunity to experience some holes long and a few short.
-Concrete tees; some trashcans and benches throughout.
-Almost completely flat, the course does its best to squeeze play out of the least scrap of elevation.
-Free. Located in a large park with tons of other amenities and facilities.
-Friendly and helpful locals.
Cons: -Lack of sufficient signage might lead to some confusion in one or two places, especially coupled with non-intuitive flow in a few places. Finding #3 can be difficult for first time players. Cross the roadway (w/tennis courts behind you to the right) and look for the path into the trees. The signs provide the hole number but nothing else.
-Some broken glass/litter.
Other Thoughts: -Brown Deer has a well-worn feeling (in a good way.) The underbrush is light to non-existent in most places, making it difficult to lose a disc. Although located in a bustling city park, the course tends to feel more secluded than it really is, while doing its best to avoid any interferences with other park goers.
Update: Descriptive hole signs have been added since my last visit. This alleviates much of the signage problems listed above and are a nice addition to the course.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Brown Deer

2-4    6/4/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: jrymaszewski
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of variety.

*alternate pin and tee placements are cool.
*some tight control shots.
* lots of woods which is very challenging.
* Very challenging course it is personally one of my favorite courses.
Cons: * pretty tough to navigate through so try and go with someone who knows the course.

* if you have control issues you may lose a disc beacuse this course has some pretty heavily wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: Its not a "5" course but probally one of the best courses in Wisconsin in my opinion.

It will definitley challenge you. If you are a first timer I would recomend valley view park in new berlin. or spassland in germantown.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, almost great

1    5/23/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a very large flat park that his mostly wooded with some open grassy areas. Other than a couple long open shots that test your distance and placement on long drives, the course plays through a mix of park style holes with scattered trees and some heavily wooded holes with some brushy rough to punish errant drives. There is a good mix here, so it doesn't feel like you spend the whole round in the same kind of setting.

There is a good balance of shorter and longer holes here, with some wooded ace runs, some long bombs, and lots of holes that are reachable with a great drive, but not easy. It felt pretty balanced between right and left turning shots too, with a good number of each.

There are good concrete tee pads, and basic but nice looking hole signs marking each tee with the hole number. The baskets show some wear, but still catch well. The park is beautifully maintained, with nice grass, and no trash or vandalism.
Cons: The course signage could use a major upgrade. The tee signs have no information about the hole, so there's no indicator of hole length or layout, and you'll end up walking up several of the fairways to see where to shoot. There are no next tee markers, which is a problem in several places. There are a couple long walks that aren't obvious unless you have someone to follow, especially the walk after hole 2. There are also a couple places on the course where the tee that's in view from the previous basket is not the right hole, you have to backtrack to avoid skipping holes.

The course can be crowded, both with lots of players, and lots of other park users on the more open holes. Some picnicking areas can be in play if you throw off line, and picnickers can spread out into the fairways a little. There's no elevation or water here, and for me a course without either just isn't as much fun.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a course to play when you're in Milwaukee, and makes a great day of disc golf when paired up with the even better course at Dretzka. Beginners may find the course a bit daunting at first, especially the wooded holes with thick rough. More experienced players will find some good challenges here, and will need to have several types of shots at their disposal to shoot well. I recommend a stop here if you're in the area.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Hardest Course I Have Played So Far

2-4    5/30/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: StrikerME02
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you like a challenge then this is the course for you. As the title says I have never played a harder course.

There is a great mix of holes. However, most of the holes are deeply wooded. The distances might not be long on many of the holes but there are plenty of trees to get in the way. A 300ft hole could easily turn into 6 strokes if the trees are feeling mean. As far as the open holes go they consist of some large distances from the tee box to the basket. It gives you a chance to flex your muscles if you can drive for some big D. One of the most interesting open holes is hole #7. The basket is pretty much a straight 600ft from the tee. But after about 500ft you have to shoot up this monster of a hill. If you overshoot your disk flys past the basket and rolls down a good deal into the woods of a neighboring hole. If you undershoot, then you still make for a tough next shot and have to worry about your disc rolling back down to where it came from.

Although I have probably made this course sound pretty tough. There are still a number of deuces that are sitting out there if you can weave your way around some trees and are smart with your shot and disc selection. Don't feel like you need to throw a driver on every hole. You do not. Especially on some of the wooded holes a reliable mid-range like a Buzz or Roc would be an excellent choice.
Cons: Because there are so many wooded holes, Mosquitos rule this disc golf course so come prepared. They are band enough during a hot afternoon so I can't imagine what they would be like on a cool summer night.

If this will be your first time playing the course try and find a course map or play with someone who knows the course. It can sometimes be hard to find the next tee.

A lot of people don't like this course because of its difficulty. Sure it might not be one of my favorites, but it is still very deserving of a good rating. When I play this course, I tee of knowing that it is going to kick my butt. If only easy courses existed disc golf would be too predictable.

Some of the long open holes could get boring for some people who aren't able to or aren't fond of bombing a disc.

Maybe too many trees? (You will understand once you play this course).
Other Thoughts: This course is definately worth a try. I can garuntee it is going to be one a the hardest courses you will ever play. A very good score at this course could be around a +10.

Play it with an open mind and try not to let the trees get to your head.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -A great mix of wooded and wide open holes
-Lots of long and challenging holes
-You almost never run into trafic
-Solid and large concrete tee pads
-Benches and trach bins at every tee
-You will use your driver on every hole
Cons: -Signhs only say the hole #
-Little tree stumps are sticking up all over the place so watch your step
-On some holes you can not see the pin from the tee pad
Other Thoughts: Wear closed toed shoes on this course. It's definitly one of the best courses in the area.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.