Milwaukee, WI 
Brown Deer DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Hardest Course I Have Played So Far

2-4    5/30/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: StrikerME02
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you like a challenge then this is the course for you. As the title says I have never played a harder course.

There is a great mix of holes. However, most of the holes are deeply wooded. The distances might not be long on many of the holes but there are plenty of trees to get in the way. A 300ft hole could easily turn into 6 strokes if the trees are feeling mean. As far as the open holes go they consist of some large distances from the tee box to the basket. It gives you a chance to flex your muscles if you can drive for some big D. One of the most interesting open holes is hole #7. The basket is pretty much a straight 600ft from the tee. But after about 500ft you have to shoot up this monster of a hill. If you overshoot your disk flys past the basket and rolls down a good deal into the woods of a neighboring hole. If you undershoot, then you still make for a tough next shot and have to worry about your disc rolling back down to where it came from.

Although I have probably made this course sound pretty tough. There are still a number of deuces that are sitting out there if you can weave your way around some trees and are smart with your shot and disc selection. Don't feel like you need to throw a driver on every hole. You do not. Especially on some of the wooded holes a reliable mid-range like a Buzz or Roc would be an excellent choice.
Cons: Because there are so many wooded holes, Mosquitos rule this disc golf course so come prepared. They are band enough during a hot afternoon so I can't imagine what they would be like on a cool summer night.

If this will be your first time playing the course try and find a course map or play with someone who knows the course. It can sometimes be hard to find the next tee.

A lot of people don't like this course because of its difficulty. Sure it might not be one of my favorites, but it is still very deserving of a good rating. When I play this course, I tee of knowing that it is going to kick my butt. If only easy courses existed disc golf would be too predictable.

Some of the long open holes could get boring for some people who aren't able to or aren't fond of bombing a disc.

Maybe too many trees? (You will understand once you play this course).
Other Thoughts: This course is definately worth a try. I can garuntee it is going to be one a the hardest courses you will ever play. A very good score at this course could be around a +10.

Play it with an open mind and try not to let the trees get to your head.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -A great mix of wooded and wide open holes
-Lots of long and challenging holes
-You almost never run into trafic
-Solid and large concrete tee pads
-Benches and trach bins at every tee
-You will use your driver on every hole
Cons: -Signhs only say the hole #
-Little tree stumps are sticking up all over the place so watch your step
-On some holes you can not see the pin from the tee pad
Other Thoughts: Wear closed toed shoes on this course. It's definitly one of the best courses in the area.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    5/15/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: droppedthenuke
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Multiple basket placements. Makes it fun, unless it's not in your favorite position.

- Lots of tight wooded holes that are a nice change of pace in the area.

- Great variety of holes. Anywhere from grip and rip to conrol and finesse. and every where inbetween.

- Despite the heavy traffic in the park, the course is designed well so that no one is in your way.

- Great, large tee pads.

-Great mix of shots. Bring everything in your bag for sure.
Cons: - Blind holes you can't see the pin. Not too good. Some people may like it, but I'd rather know what/how to throw.

-Horrid signage. Only the hole number, nothing else.

-Sometimes an idiot will wander onto the course. SEE ABOVE.

- Sometimes people there are a bit, loud, obnoxious. But hey, thats milwaukee.
Other Thoughts: For sure the best course in the area. A must play if you're in town.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best in Milwaukee

2-4    5/9/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.6 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mix of wooded and open (bomber) holes should suit all styles of play, i.e. this is a good tourney course, that tour players will feel tests their overall skills. Technical players and big arms, will each believe they have an advantage on certain holes.
Dual pin placements. These seemed split rather evenly between long and short when we were there.
Shot shaping required on most holes. No shortage of length, even on the "shorter" holes. No pitch and putt going on here. Often, baskets that are reachable, are defined by forcing low ceiling shots, or something similar, to gain access to pin. This requires a skip at the end of a good line, to actually get to pin.
My roller is currently not in good form; but Brown Deer offers opportunities to use a roller shot on just about all of the long holes.
Bonzai trees on #11 and #12 (some sort of pines) are exquisite. I have a feeling that the course ideas here were begun with these holes; i.e. designer said, these MUST be part of the course.
Long hole that finishes at top of hill....has a fence behind pin; but, locals have broken/dismantled a 10 foot section of fence;; directly behind pin. Big arms can overshoot this pin and find themselves at the bottom of the hill, with a tough, 60+ foot shot back up the hill. Nice touch.
Course represents right and left favored holes equally.
Lots of putts/upshots with trees in play on the non open holes. Brown Deer utilizes this feature much better than Dredzka's more open pin placements.
Cons: Long, bomber holes are kind of plain; but, that's what bomber holes are about. Gold level players may feel there should be a finishing difficulty that is not present? Most of them require some shaping to get to desired landing area, for mere mortal players. Less than gold level players may find these plain; but the rest of us will be forced to make a good shot to get to landing area; followed by another long, quality shot to get near pin; and a good putt for a three.
Signs are nice looking; and add to the overall golf course feel of this course. However, there is no footage, nor hole diagrams. Signs simply have number for hole and attractive oak leaf; that is park logo.
One set of tees.
Primarily flat course. I don't really hold this against Brown Deer; as you only have, what you have, to work with. However, it can't earn any bonus points for elevation or water in play.
No directional markers. After #2, you must cross the park road to find #3. Somewhere around #12, there is also an unmarked road crossing required. The first crossing is right near the main lot and so you should be able to ask a local. Cross the road by the lot and stay to the left of the pond and enter woods on path to left if no one is around.
Other Thoughts: This course is close to a 4.5; or more properly, it should be noted that it's a strong 4 rating. Less than stellar signage, slight navigational issues, single tees, and lack of terrain available make rating this one as a slightly less than very top course appropriate.
With this said, anyone coming to Milwaukee should play Brown Deer and Dredzka and consider themselves blessed.
This course is played fairly heavily, but is a breeze, compared with the much more played Dredzka.
Original Brown Deer course was beat up as heck looking, with baskets falling over and glass and litter everywhere; by the time it went extinct. By comparison, this course is beautiful, visually. Gorgeous trees, and green grass everywhere....a course with a ball golf look, feel, but lots of technical, wooded holes.
54, for mere mortals, is a good score here. Under par, is an open rated round. If you save the bomber holes, and hit your lines in the wooded portions, it is possible though.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 First time played

1    4/27/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: ThomasOrion
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging, but nothing too extreme.
Most of the holes are long enough to be able to use all 3 types of disc. Driver, Mid, and Putter. Which I really like, because on many courses i seem to use my mid's mostly and never get to bust out my drivers.
A mix of tree trunks, pine trees, open field and little nooks. There was one long hole that shot through a row of tree's then opened up and slightly went downhill, then there are wide spaced larger trees with the pin in a circled area kinda open. it had to of been a par 4 at least.

Its a fun course, not too many pedestrians and not too crazy of elevation and muck. So for being challenging, its really not too bad.

Fun, give it a try, the only reason I can't rate it a 4 or 5 is because I've played nicer courses before, but 3.5 is very good in my opinion.
Cons: I luckily went with a person who has played it enough.
If this was your first time without a "guide" good luck, there are a few holes that are hard to find the next, and at least a few holes where you might think one pin is your target when it totally isn't. SO, other than not knowing where to aim, and not being able to see the pin to a whole every time, its good.
but that can get frustrating.
Other Thoughts: word

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Brown Deer for Beginners

1    5/14/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: tbone618
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Long and tricky holes. A variety of holes types for every player. Fun for groups of varied experience.
Cons: Very narrow wooded areas makes it difficult.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful and complex course. Difficult for beginners, but awesome for moderates.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Trees are humbling...

5+    9/15/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: timmi_g
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.5 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -challenging course.
-nice tee pads.
-alt pin placements are nice, & change hole completely.
-lot's of shade on the warmer days. (comes at the cost of a lot of trees though)
-some shots are just grip it & rip it.
-some tight control shots as well.
-well rounded, tough 18 to play.
-bathroom near several holes. (the boat house thing)
-surprisingly, there are not many mosquitoes in this park.
Cons: -tons of trees, not really a beginner course.
-lots of traffic on the soccer fields in the summer, but it really only effects 2, maybe 3 holes.
-could use some signage updating.
-I'm of the mind they need to remove that tree blocking 1... (how about you?)
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first courses I played on regularly when I picked up some discs again in '07.
Nice 18 hole course to play. Starting here, then hitting Dretzka, a few miles away, is a good afternoon of throwing plastic. Browendeer kicks your ass, then you have the game of your life @ Dretzka.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult 18 holes

1    8/28/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 20.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of variety. Also lets you air it out in several places. Holes in the woods have some very majestic looking trees. First hole has an enormous tree intersecting the fairway, about 10 feet above ground. This is a really cool looking hole, and I can see why they tried to keep two holes in this area.
Cons: Somewhat tough to navigate your first time. Even the printable map is a bit inaccurate in 2-3 places. With the map, you should be O.K. however. Two holes are labeled as Pro par 4's. Holes 7 & 9 are both 700 ft of wide open driving, followed by a somewhat demanding second or third shot.
Other Thoughts: Finally got around to playing all 18 holes in the order they are supposed to be played in. Home course being Dretzka, I'll shoot a -2 to +2 there. My first round at Brown Deer today was a +22. That's right.... Granted, I was on my lunch break, and hurried through it solo, I found it very tough to park my second shot withing 25 feet of the pin. This is a course you'll want to put at least two hours aside to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wooded challenge - nuf said

5+    6/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 170  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has lots of woods and lots of distance. I love this combination. Besides just lots of woods, there are some very unique and majestic trees here. On 14-16 there are many red pines that are shaped like giant banzai trees. Throughout the park there are huge majestic pines, oaks, and maples.
The wooded holes here offer extreme challenge through tight tunnels with tough rough on either side and a canopy overhead. Of note are holes 1, 12, and 16 which offer some pretty good distance through very tight corridors. Other wooded holes are a bit shorter and offer diversity with left and right balance.
There is a small muck hole on #4 but it isn't much of a unique water hazard.
Hole 7 and 9 let you air it out with 500'+ length, although 7 is pretty bland.
The use of multiple pin placements (2-3) seems to be a Milwaukee staple, and offers great variety.
The crowds here are far less than at Dretzka. The course is extremely more challenging than Dineen and Dretzka. There are alternate pin placements but just one tee.
Cons: Just one tee. In a city park like this with lots of ability to draw local younger players who can walk or bike, and also families, dual tees are a huge benefit to newcomers and ams to get them more interested in the sport, rather than tackling such a hge challenge from the long tees, and/or hoping pin placements are short.
There are a few holes which lack character and give you the same ol' feel of playing in a city park (#10 & 11 mostly). The signs are very neat, little mini-Milwaukee County parks signs on every tee. However they do not have distance or any depiction of the hole (UPDATE - some local player took it upon himself (or herself, or themselves) to make very nice hand painted depictions of the hole along with distances to all pins - VERY NICE!).
It is a bit difficult to find #1 so you'll have to look, finding some other holes could be difficult your first time too. The concrete tees are pretty poorly installed. Apparently the county would not allow deeper excavation due to tree roots. Thus, tees are slightly elevated and there is a lip on all sides which you could roll an ankle on. They are also not extermely long (the best concrete pads are like landing strips, but not these). The woodchips along the edges do little to help the problem.
As with any city of Milwaukee course, trash is a major problem.
There is not much elevation here, and not even good use of many of the sharper changes in elevation or more unique terrain except the ridge in the woods for hole 16. Greens here are lacking good risk, and are old school style wide open for the most part.
The use of multiple pins impedes the ability to judge how well you've thrown relative to other rounds because the combinations are endless (pins move seemingly without reason or pattern, unlike alternating even-short, odd-long, for example). For a 'numbers geek' like me, this annoys me a bit not being able to compare round to round because the layout changes every day.
Other Thoughts: I truly believe this is the Milwaukee course avid disc golfers should play. It offers more challenge and more variety than the other courses imo. The course is mostly flat, even flatter than Dretzka, but uses some of the few ridges in the park. There is not much of a water hazard here either. It would be nice if the trash was kept up (yeah we know the useless and worthless litterers won't help any). Without drastic elevation, water, and OB uniqueness, and being in the middle of a big city without the quiet and beautiful peacefulness of a remote setting, I can't rate the course higher.
My rating is based slightly on personal opinion that I like this best of all Milwaukee courses, but relative to my other reviews and favorites, a 4 is fitting for Brown Deer, not quite a 4.5 but definitely one of my favorite 3.5-4 disc courses.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A Top-Notch Course In a Top-Notch Park

1    6/14/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. Holy crap, do you need to have EVERY shot in your arsenal to score well out here! Tight wooded corridors (early and late trouble), long open holes, doglegs, gentle elevation, blind shots, and more will challenge even a seasoned veteran.
2. Beautiful, well-manicured park. Brown Deer is a HUGE park, very well-cared for, and your first visit here will likely net a few surprises. Awesome variety of trees and wildlife, mowed and trimmed fairways, just a very scenic area. I think I remarked, "Man, what a beautiful park!" 6 or 7 times throughout my round.
3. Concrete tees. You'll need a stable, reliable teeing surface on most of these holes, which the course designers were considerate enough to include.
4. Trash cans/tables at every tee. This feature can never be underappreciated in a heavily used park. There were actually several trash cans at many holes, and people seem to use logic and separate their trash and recyclables. Awesome.
5. Probably the most challenging course I've played in this part of the state. The tight wooded holes aren't just finesse shots where you can take an easy 2...you've gotta be on point (or very lucky) to get anywhere close on your tee shot. Even if your drive manages to weave through without hitting many trees, chances are your approach will wind up leaving you with many more trees to navigate in the last 40 or 50 feet, so play smart. Not a course for a round of speed golf.
Cons: 1. Signage, or lack thereof. While there is a nicely sculpted wooden sign at every tee, there are no directional signs telling you where to go after you hole out, and it can be confusing walking from 2 to 3, as well as in a few other areas. Also, there is no hole layout indicated on the signs, which can sometimes be confusing (for example, Hole #6 is a sharp dogleg right, but the basket of #9 is the only thing visible off the tee, and we almost shot to that basket had it not been for the help of some friendly locals to steer us in the right direction). Bring a course map!
2. The longest holes are also just wide open, very little risk/reward involved, just a few big-arm throws to take a 3 or 4 (the latter in my case, which I was content with).
3. It would have been awesome to see some water holes out here, or maybe have them utilize some of the bigger elevation in the transition holes (7-10), but I can't really complain. I wasn't even wishing for that DURING my round; I just had to think of another "con" to place here, but I guess it's more of an afterthought/suggestion.
Other Thoughts: I went out with my wife and kids, and while they enjoyed the beauty of the park and walking through the woods, it was an extremely frustrating course for them. I'm not saying to avoid bringing the family with, but make sure you can occupy your children with something if they're not REALLY into disc golf. This is a long, extremely challenging course that requires thought and planning for nearly every shot. Don't expect to just "wing it" and take a decent score.

UPDATE: In retrospect, this course falls a bit short of the other 4.5s I have played in the last 3 years, so I am adjusting my rating (not the review, at least until I get back to play again) to reflect this perspective.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.