Milwaukee, WI 
Brown Deer DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  First time was a charm

1    5/16/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: Randy Ramirez
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was a delight. Majority of the holes were wooded which is great. Challenging course with several tunnel shots, annies, and hyzies. Had to use every trick in the bag. When during league and flow was great. Didn't run in any noobs and the flow was perfect. Nothing like playing at your own pace helps me find my zen.
Cons: Don't think I would have been able to find the first tee if I was by myself. Luckily I went there with a veteran. Going hole to hole wasn't a walk in the park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fear the Deer

2-4    10/6/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course feels a little different everytime I play it.
It's always good for a challenge either way.
In and out of the woods. Some holes in dense forest. Some on the edge of the forest.
Shooting into the forest from out in the open. And those long long open holes that play like legit par 4's.
Those long ones are hard to forget. I remember them specifically.
There are a handful of holes that are still Birdie opportunities. Get em while you can. You'll need some stroke insurance for the holes that seem extremely difficult to par if one little thing goes wrong.
Every hole is manageable though. 3 well placed Shots will earn a par on any hole regardless of the length or difficulty.
Multiple pins. Seems like new ones are set up everytime I play this course.
Cons: Tee pads are a little uneven. That's about it. Players might want some extra run up space for those 700 footers.
Other Thoughts: Don't try to get slick here this course can ruin your round in one hole. Great course overall.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Wooded Course

5+    6/5/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 225  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a great variety here. There are tight wooded holes, open bombers, tight par 4s, technical par 3s, and some elevation. The concrete tees are great and so are the non intrusive brown tee signs. There are tons of pin positions which really makes the course play uniquely each time I've been there. This course will teach you accuracy and especially how to throw dead straight shots. I like this course best when it plays tough with many long pin placements. The wooded tunnels at this course are terrific as there is not that much else like that in the surrounding areas.
Cons: Some of the par 3s could use a little more length. Holes 4 and 5 have similar lines in a row. Hole 10 is pretty week as it is mostly open and only around 300 feet. Hole 11 is not much better but the trees force a line a little better than hole 10. There are a few too many very short wooded holes near the end of the course and it feel repetitive to me. There are no holes that really stick out in my mind as particularly great.
Other Thoughts: Best course in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Milwaukee

2-4    8/9/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: nickrew1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome park, with tons of room. Many densely wooded holes, with tight alley ways. The rough is thick in places, but it is forgiving for the most part. While it's mostly wooded, there are several open holes well over 500+ feet. Definitely the most difficult course in the Milwaukee area.
Cons: Nobody out there playing! I played 3 times last week on a road-trip, and only saw two other groups playing. Tough to find the 1st hole
Would like to have seen a few longer holes, a few of the wooded shots are less than 200'
Not much elevation
Other Thoughts: A beautiful park with various types of shots. Must-play course if you are in the area, it will test your shot-making capabilities.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well Done Milwaukee P&R

2-4    8/1/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: Harky
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice technical course with a well planned flow, including a few holes 650+ft over fields to mix it up. Not one hole felt too easy or out of place. Very scenic and quiet park as well. Can't beat the cost (FREE). I will be making this one of my regular/favorite courses.
Cons: Looks like some course maintenance could be done but nothing that limits or diminishes the play. A sign proclaiming where the course starts would be appreciated, FYI-It's behind the tennis courts.
Other Thoughts: Also a great park to take the family to. Kids can play on many of the swing sets and playground areas and there are plenty of trails for walking and a good spot or two or six for picnicking. Great park. Also has a rather nice regular golf course in the park as well.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  GMO 2012

2-4    5/21/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: frolf22
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most holes have a decent amount of woods or something to challenge you
Some holes are long and you really get to open up on your shot
The tees are kept up pretty well
Cons: Kind of a sketchy place to hang around once it gets dark
The course has a soccer field on it which creates a lot of noise when trying to throw
The baskets like to spit out putts
Other Thoughts: I had shot here a couple times before and had spent another three days during the week of 5/18-5/21 shooting thise course. It was very fun and a challenge also.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Large Park

1    5/12/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: Oldstump
Played: 99  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played very early on a Saturday morning I played with several walkers on the park roads, a deer, and a family of geese. Talk about seclusion just 20 minutes from downtown Milwaukee. Brown Deer is a very clean large multiple use park. A lot of picnic facilities and tons of open space. The first holes played much like my home northern Mi. courses, through trees with fun risk/reward lines. Arriving at holes 6-9 the course comes out of the woods and opens into meadows with longer holes. The course itself is very flat with the exception of the end of hole #7, a 663 ft hole which features a basket atop a 35' mound. Also some slight elevation in holes 14-16 which feature some really neat old pines as well. Signs were very good with distance and basic hole features. Being new to this course and playing alone I still did find it necessary to walk a couple holes to find the basket or landing area.
Cons: I ended up parking by tee #3 and started my round here. I missed the signage on the other side of the entry road where holes #1 & 2 are located. The starting holes are tucked behind tennis courts and are not visible from this main disc parking area.

Being as flat as it is the fairways in the grassy areas were quite damp from recent heavy rains. A seasonal thing I'm sure, just like bugs.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course. Would love more opportunities to throw here. Like most good courses, familiarity will bring better scores hopefully. There is enough change-up and variety to keep most of your bag in the game.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 challenging and exciting

5+    10/24/2011   1/26/2012
Review By: discgolfinskwrl
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very long, and in a canopy forest for like half the holes.... A lot of opportunity to rebound from bad shots.... Never busy, I've been playing there since I started discing, and have maybe had to wait for people 4 times.... High level of privacy as well.
Cons: Almost too long for a lot of players, 2 holes rt around 700ft.... First timers beware! Easy to get lost after holes 2, 3, 6, and 11....
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a more challenging discgolf experience, or if u have a larger group, try brown deer instead of dretzka.....

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive

1    6/20/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: LukeMetz
Played: 111  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I was very impressed with this course. This course covers a large area and the layout is easy to navigate. I also like that hole 18 brings you back pretty close to hole 1.
Brown Deer has some of the coolest wooded /technical holes I've seen. There are also a few huge holes thrown into the mix.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    7/30/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 68  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 16.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean park, friendly locals, easy to navigate, nice variety of holes.
Cons: Nothing special about any hole in particular. Course is tucked away with little signage to tee #1. Overlaps some common park areas, but secluded for the most part.
Other Thoughts: Like the nearby Dretska Park which I played the same day while visiting Milwaukee, Brown Deer is a decent course with little to offer above the average.

That said, it was for the most part a well-maintained course with enough challenges and thought-out technical holes to keep you interested.

Little in the way of elevation changes. Locals were friendly. No water fountains or nearby bathrooms I could find.

Full community park with amenities for non discers. Good mix of open & technical holes, and stays away from other park-goers for the most part.

I preferred Brown Deer over Dretska, but would put neither in my faves list. That said, a great course for locals and if you want to get a round in if visiting the area, it's a solid, if average, course.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.